SMLE vs DHA vs Qatar GP Exam: Format, Pass Mark and Shared Books

The Saudi SMLE beside the Dubai DHA General Practice exam, Qatar's GP qualifying exam and Oman's — questions, time, pass marks, results and attempts, plus the textbook list the SMLE and DHA share.

Page 1 free
Must-have cheatsheetEvery important point, on 7 pagesfor JAIIB / CAIIB (IIBF)The Acts, RBI rules, recovery laws, accounting rules and financial-maths formulas — all four papers.
✓ Acts & RBI rules✓ Formulas✓ Accounting rules✓ Exam traps
7-page PDFInstant downloadYours to keep
SMLE vs DHA vs Qatar GP Exam: Format, Pass Mark and Shared BooksOpen the full article →

Checked 25 September 2026. SMLE from SCFHS's 2025 guide and 2026 blueprint; DHA from its CBT guideline updated September 2026; Qatar from the DHP qualifying-exam page. Oman figures are reported, not official.

Many Indian doctors aiming at the Gulf ask which licence exam to sit first. The answer depends on where you want to work — each licence is issued by its own regulator — but the exams are close enough in content that preparation carries across. This guide lines up the Saudi SMLE, the Dubai Health Authority's General Practice exam, Qatar's GP qualifying exam and Oman's, using each regulator's own documents where they exist.

200 vs 150
questions: SMLE vs DHA, Qatar and Oman
≤72 s
per question on the SMLE, Qatar and DHA exams
560 vs 60%
SMLE scaled pass vs a percentage in DHA and Qatar
10 of 14
SMLE clinical textbooks that are also on the DHA GP list

SMLE Blueprint 2026; DHA CBT guideline (Sep 2026); Qatar DHP.

The four exams side by side

FeatureSMLE (Saudi Arabia)DHA General Practice (Dubai)Qatar GPOman GP
Questions200 (up to 20 unscored pilot)150150150 (reported)
Time2 × 120 min + 30-min break3 hours, including registration and introduction3 hours2 h 45 min (reported)
Pass mark560 on a 200–800 scale60%60%60% (reported)
ResultScaled score + feedback report, 2–6 weeks after the windowPass or fail; the score is not sharedNot stated on the pageNot found
AttemptsUp to four a year (guide); see the attempts guideNot in the guideline5 consecutive attempts, whatever the gapNot found
Official feeNot publishedUSD 280 (code GEN5331)Not on the pageNot found
Test vendorPrometricPrometricPrometricPearson VUE
Also used forSaudi Board residency matching (55% weight)Dubai licensing onlyQatar licensing onlyOman licensing only

Oman's figures come from a third-party exam site; Pearson VUE's own OMSB page confirms only that OMSB exams run through Pearson VUE. Treat them as reported until OMSB publishes its own.

The pace is the same; the length is not

Questions per exam
SMLE200 · 240 min of testing
Qatar GP150 · 3 hours
DHA General Practice150 · 3 hours incl. registration

Our arithmetic: SMLE 240 minutes of blocks for 200 questions and Qatar 180 minutes for 150 are both 72 seconds a question. DHA's 3 hours include registration and the introduction, so its answering time — not published — is somewhat less than 72 seconds a question. Oman is left out: its figures are not official.

At about 72 seconds a question — a little less for DHA — the three exams ask for much the same working speed. The SMLE is simply longer — four hours of testing against three — and its 30-minute break is the only rest, so stamina matters more. A candidate who finishes DHA-style mocks comfortably but fades in the fourth hour will find the SMLE harder than the per-question pace suggests.

Scaled score versus percentage

DHA and Qatar publish a percentage pass mark (60%). The SMLE publishes 560 on a 200–800 scale, set by standard-setting and applied through equating, so harder and easier forms lead to the same standard. There is no official percentage for 560 and it cannot be derived by dividing by 800. What it means in practice: you cannot aim for "60% correct" on the SMLE, and a score from a coaching mock is only a rough guide. DHA's pass/fail result, meanwhile, never tells you your score — only whether you passed.

One reading list, two exams

DisciplineSMLE referencesDHA GP references
MedicineToronto Notes; Davidson's (22e); Harrison's (19e); Kumar & Clark (9e)The same titles and editions
OB/GYNHacker & Moore; Current Diagnosis & Treatment OB/GYN; Ten Teachers; Llewellyn-JonesThe same titles
PediatricsBernstein & Shelov; Nelson Essentials (7e); LissauerBernstein & Shelov; Nelson Essentials (7e) — no Lissauer
SurgeryBailey & Love (26e); Cameron (12e); Mont Reid (7e)None listed

Editions for the SMLE are from the 2025 applicant guide; the DHA list is from its CBT guideline (Sep 2026). DHA's General Practice list is ten books: the SMLE's medicine and OB/GYN titles, in the same editions, plus two of its three paediatric books. It names no surgery text, although common surgical problems are on its coverage list. SCFHS stresses that its list is a study aid and questions are not necessarily drawn from it — but a doctor preparing for both exams can work from one shelf of books.

What the DHA exam covers that the SMLE weights differently

AreaSMLEDHA General Practice
Women's health and paediatricsHalf the exam (OB/GYN 25%, paediatrics 25%)Listed as "women's health" and "common paediatric" areas, no percentages
Emergency and acute medicineInside medicine, surgery and paediatrics (critical care, trauma, acute paediatrics)A named area
Eye, ENT, dermatology, psychiatryOphthalmology under surgery; psychiatry under medicineNamed areas
Epidemiology, screening, family medicineThe patient safety, preventive medicine and ethics outlineBasic epidemiology and EBM, screening and periodic health examination, family-medicine concepts
Local emphasisBrucellosis, MERS-CoV, sickle cell, haemoglobinopathies appear in the outline; Saudi health-system rules and Islamic ethics in SaudiMEDsNone stated

Where other pages get this wrong

The DHA guideline publishes no subject percentages for the GP exam.

Commonly published instead: "DHA GP: internal medicine 35–40%, paediatrics…" and similar splits.

The DHA CBT guideline (September 2026) lists the areas the General Practice exam covers but gives no weights. Splits you find online are coaching estimates. The SMLE, by contrast, has an official 30/25/25/20 blueprint.

Results, retakes and what they mean for planning

The four exams report and repeat differently, and that changes how you should plan. The SMLE gives a scaled score and a feedback report comparing you with other candidates, but only 2–6 weeks after the testing window closes — so a result from an October sitting may not arrive until December. The DHA exam reports only pass or fail and does not share the score, which makes it hard to know how far you missed by. Qatar allows five consecutive attempts whatever the gap between them, and says nothing on its page about how the result is reported.

Planning questionSMLEDHAQatar
Can I tell how close I came?Yes — scaled score and a feedback reportNo — pass or fail onlyNot stated
When can I retry?Not in the same window; attempt rules in the attempts guideNot stated in the guidelineUp to five consecutive attempts, any gap
Does a higher pass matter?Yes, for Saudi Board matching (55% weight)No — pass is passNot stated

From the SMLE blueprint, the DHA CBT guideline and the Qatar DHP page. Where a regulator's document is silent, we say so rather than fill the gap from coaching sites.

On the day: what is the same and what is not

Three of the four exams run at Prometric centres, so the experience of the day is similar: identification checks, a locker for your belongings, a computer-based test with a timer on screen. The SMLE's rules, from its blueprint, are the most detailed: centres open at 7:30 a.m., arriving more than 30 minutes late counts as an attempt, and your passport name must match the scheduling permit exactly. DHA notes that its three hours include registration and the introduction, so the time spent answering is a little less than the headline. Oman's exams run through Pearson VUE, which has its own check-in rules — read them from Pearson VUE, not from a Prometric guide.

Doing more than one

Because the DHA list is drawn almost entirely from the SMLE's, a doctor keeping both options open can prepare once. The SMLE is the longer exam and has the explicit blueprint, so preparing to its 30/25/25/20 weights covers the DHA areas too; the DHA adds named areas — dermatology, ENT, eye, psychiatry, family-medicine concepts — that the SMLE covers more thinly under other headings, and those deserve a final pass before a DHA sitting. What does not carry across is paperwork: each regulator runs its own verification, eligibility and licensing, and each charges its own fees.

A sensible order for someone unsure where they will work is the one whose result is most useful beyond the licence: the SMLE, because its score also counts for Saudi residency and it tells you how far above or below the standard you were. That is our suggestion, not a rule — if you already have a job offer in Dubai or Doha, sit that regulator's exam first.

Which should you sit first?

Which Gulf GP exam fits your plan? works on the full page only.Open it →

Each licence is separate: passing one exam does not license you in another country, and none of these regulators accepts another's exam in place of its own — at least, none of the documents we read says so.

Practise it, don't just read it

The SMLE and DHA reading lists overlap heavily. SMLE topic quizzes are a quick way to find gaps for either exam.

The ProSyllabus SMLE library has topic quizzes for Internal Medicine (cardiology and respiratory; endocrine, renal and gastroenterology), General Surgery and Trauma, Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Infectious Disease and Microbiology, Emergency Medicine and Critical Care and Community Medicine, Ethics and Saudi Health Practice. Each question comes with an explanation.

Start a SMLE quiz →

Is the SMLE harder than the DHA exam?

It is longer — 200 questions over four hours of testing against 150 in three hours — at about the same pace (72 seconds a question, a little less for DHA). Its pass mark is a scaled 560 rather than 60%, so the two cannot be compared as percentages.

What is the DHA GP exam pattern?

The DHA General Practice exam (GEN5331) has 150 questions in 3 hours, costs USD 280 and needs 60% to pass. The result is pass or fail and the score is not shared.

What is the Qatar GP exam pass mark?

60%. Qatar's GP qualifying exam has 150 questions in 3 hours, and candidates may sit it five consecutive times whatever the gap between attempts.

Can I use SMLE preparation for the DHA exam?

Largely, yes. All ten books on the DHA GP reference list are on the SMLE list too, in the same editions; DHA lists no surgery textbook. The SMLE weights OB/GYN and paediatrics at 25% each; DHA publishes no weights.

Does passing the SMLE let me work in Dubai or Qatar?

No. Each regulator licenses separately with its own exam.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.

Exam pagePreparing for SMLE — Saudi Medical Licensing Exam?Syllabus, exam pattern, dates and every guide we have on SMLE — Saudi Medical Licensing Exam, in one place.Open the SMLE — Saudi Medical Licensing Exam page →
Page 1 free
Must-have cheatsheetEvery important point, on 7 pagesfor JAIIB / CAIIB (IIBF)The Acts, RBI rules, recovery laws, accounting rules and financial-maths formulas — all four papers.
✓ Acts & RBI rules✓ Formulas✓ Accounting rules✓ Exam traps
7-page PDFInstant downloadYours to keep