Checked 29 September 2026. From IBPS Annexure I (01.09, 09.09, 15.09 and 25.09.2026 versions) and the CRP RRBs-XIV and XIII notifications. IBPS calls every figure “indicative”; allotment uses the vacancies RRBs actually report.
“IBPS RRB Clerk” is the popular name for the post IBPS calls Office Assistant (Multipurpose) in the Regional Rural Banks, recruited through the Common Recruitment Process CRP RRBs-XV. The notification is dated 1 September 2026, registration closed on 27 September 2026 after an extension from 21 to 27 September, and the Preliminary is scheduled for 6, 12 and 13 December 2026 in IBPS’s tentative calendar. The number every candidate wants is the vacancy count for their own State — because under this process you compete only inside the State you chose on the form. This guide prints that number from IBPS’s own Annexure I, with the category split, the reserved seats inside it, and how each State moved since 2024.
IBPS Annexure I updated as on 25.09.2026.
Where other pages get this wrong
The current IBPS figure is 8,222 Office Assistant vacancies — not 8,183.
Commonly published instead: “8,183 vacancies” (for example in the title of Sreedhar’s CCE’s notification post), and old State tables that still show 2025 numbers such as Rajasthan 1,725 or Karnataka 800.
8,183 was the total in the notification of 01.09.2026, where Tripura was marked “NR” (not reported). The Annexure I updated on 09.09.2026 added 39 Tripura seats, making 8,222; the versions of 15.09.2026 and 25.09.2026 did not change the total. The 2025 State numbers belong to CRP RRBs-XIV.
How the total moved during September 2026
IBPS republished Annexure I three times after the notification. Only the first revision changed the Office Assistant total. If a page still presents 8,183 as the current total, it is using the superseded 01.09.2026 figure rather than the updated Annexure I total of 8,222.
| Version | OA total | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| Notification, 01.09.2026 | 8,183 | Tripura printed as NR (not reported) |
| Annexure I updated 09.09.2026 | 8,222 | Tripura Gramin Bank: 39 seats added |
| Annexure I updated 15.09.2026 | 8,222 | No change to the OA total |
| Annexure I updated 25.09.2026 (current) | 8,222 | No change to the OA total |
IBPS corrigenda of 09.09, 15.09 and 25.09.2026 with the updated Annexure I; the 01.09.2026 notification. OA = Office Assistant (Multipurpose).
2026 vacancies by State and category
The table below is Annexure I as on 25.09.2026, row by row. Every row adds up to its printed total, and the columns add up to SC 1,258, ST 774, OBC-NCL 1,914, EWS 806 and General 3,470 — 8,222 (our check of IBPS’s figures). The PwBD and ex-servicemen columns are headed “(Out of which)” in the PDF: they are inside the category counts, not extra seats. Across the country that is 99 HI, 85 OC, 81 VI and 90 ID seats for persons with benchmark disabilities, 809 for ex-servicemen and 352 for “DESM” — the column where IBPS clubs disabled ex-servicemen with dependants of servicemen killed in action.
| State/UT | RRB (2026 name) | SC | ST | OBC-NCL | EWS | General | Total | PwBD (HI/OC/VI/ID) | ESM | DESM |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | Andhra Pradesh Grameena Bank | 144 | 63 | 243 | 90 | 360 | 900 | 9/9/9/9 | 90 | 41 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank | 0 | 12 | 0 | 2 | 12 | 26 | 0/1/0/0 | 3 | 1 |
| Assam | Assam Gramin Bank | 27 | 14 | 49 | 18 | 73 | 181 | 2/2/2/1 | 18 | 8 |
| Bihar | Bihar Gramin Bank | 75 | 38 | 135 | 50 | 202 | 500 | 5/5/5/5 | 50 | 20 |
| Chhattisgarh | Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank | 46 | 49 | 22 | 31 | 148 | 296 | 3/3/3/3 | 31 | 13 |
| Gujarat | Gujarat Gramin Bank | 35 | 76 | 137 | 51 | 211 | 510 | 6/3/5/6 | 51 | 22 |
| Haryana | Haryana Gramin Bank | 40 | 0 | 56 | 21 | 94 | 211 | 3/2/2/2 | 21 | 10 |
| Himachal Pradesh | Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank | 7 | 3 | 13 | 5 | 23 | 51 | 0/2/0/0 | 5 | 0 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | Jammu and Kashmir Grameen Bank | 0 | 23 | 61 | 18 | 98 | 200 | 2/2/2/3 | 19 | 8 |
| Jharkhand | Jharkhand Gramin Bank | 46 | 21 | 76 | 27 | 115 | 285 | 3/3/3/2 | 27 | 12 |
| Karnataka | Karnataka Grameena Bank | 45 | 19 | 75 | 28 | 112 | 279 | 3/3/3/2 | 28 | 13 |
| Kerala | Kerala Grameena Bank | 35 | 4 | 94 | 35 | 182 | 350 | 4/4/3/3 | 35 | 15 |
| Madhya Pradesh | Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank | 63 | 146 | 63 | 42 | 170 | 484 | 4/4/4/4 | 42 | 19 |
| Maharashtra | Maharashtra Gramin Bank | 45 | 22 | 81 | 30 | 122 | 300 | 3/3/3/3 | 30 | 12 |
| Manipur | Manipur Rural Bank | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0/0/0/0 | 0 | 0 |
| Meghalaya | Meghalaya Rural Bank | 0 | 11 | 1 | 2 | 12 | 26 | 0/1/0/0 | 3 | 1 |
| Mizoram | Mizoram Rural Bank | 0 | 12 | 4 | 4 | 25 | 45 | 1/1/0/0 | 3 | 1 |
| Nagaland | Nagaland Rural Bank | 0 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0/0/0/0 | 0 | 0 |
| Odisha | Odisha Grameen Bank | 96 | 132 | 72 | 60 | 240 | 600 | 6/6/6/6 | 60 | 27 |
| Puducherry | Puducherry Grama Bank | 2 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 6 | 11 | 1/1/0/0 | 2 | 0 |
| Punjab | Punjab Gramin Bank | 24 | 0 | 17 | 8 | 36 | 85 | 1/1/1/0 | 8 | 3 |
| Rajasthan | Rajasthan Gramin Bank | 33 | 25 | 39 | 19 | 109 | 225 | 15/2/5/16 | 19 | 9 |
| Tamil Nadu | Tamil Nadu Grama Bank | 47 | 2 | 65 | 24 | 106 | 244 | 3/3/2/2 | 24 | 10 |
| Telangana | Telangana Grameena Bank | 120 | 52 | 202 | 75 | 301 | 750 | 8/8/7/7 | 75 | 33 |
| Tripura | Tripura Gramin Bank | 6 | 12 | 0 | 3 | 18 | 39 | 1/0/0/0 | 4 | 1 |
| Uttar Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank | 252 | 12 | 324 | 120 | 492 | 1,200 | 12/12/12/12 | 120 | 54 |
| Uttarakhand | Uttarakhand Gramin Bank | 39 | 6 | 28 | 21 | 120 | 214 | 2/2/2/2 | 21 | 10 |
| West Bengal | West Bengal Gramin Bank | 31 | 15 | 55 | 21 | 82 | 204 | 2/2/2/2 | 20 | 9 |
| Total | 28 RRBs | 1,258 | 774 | 1,914 | 806 | 3,470 | 8,222 | 99/85/81/90 | 809 | 352 |
Source: IBPS Annexure I, updated vacancies as on 25.09.2026, Office Assistants (Multipurpose). PwBD: HI hearing impaired, OC orthopedically challenged, VI visually impaired, ID intellectual disability and multiple disabilities (IBPS’s abbreviations). Totals row: our column sums, matching the printed rows.
IBPS Annexure I as on 25.09.2026. The ten States shown hold 5,890 of the 8,222 seats (our sum).
Two things stand out. First, concentration: Uttar Pradesh (1,200), Andhra Pradesh (900), Telangana (750), Odisha (600), Gujarat (510) and Bihar (500) together hold 4,460 of the 8,222 seats — a little over half (our arithmetic). Second, the small States: Nagaland has 6 seats and only 1 of them is General; Puducherry has 11; Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya have 26 each. In those States a single category can hold one or two seats, and one extra reported vacancy changes the picture entirely.
Some category columns are empty by design. Haryana, Punjab and Puducherry have no ST seats; Jammu & Kashmir, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh have no SC seats; Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura have no OBC-NCL seats. A reserved-category candidate in those States competes for the unreserved seats only.
2024 → 2025 → 2026: the swings behind the headline
The national total barely moved — 8,022 in 2025 to 8,222 in 2026, up 200 — but the State numbers were reshuffled almost completely. Rajasthan fell from 1,725 to 225, a drop of 1,500 seats. Karnataka fell from 800 to 279 and Tamil Nadu from 468 to 244. On the other side Andhra Pradesh rose from 150 to 900, Telangana from 450 to 750, Odisha from 309 to 600, and Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand and Maharashtra each gained at least 200. The table has every State; the chart shows each State that moved by 100 or more.
| State/UT | 2024 (XIII) | 2025 (XIV) | 2026 (XV) | Change 2025→2026 (ours) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uttar Pradesh | 538 (Baroda UP Bank NR) | 1,000 | 1,200 | +200 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 274 | 150 | 900 | +750 |
| Telangana | 420 (includes AP Grameena Vikas Bank) | 450 | 750 | +300 |
| Odisha | 245 | 309 | 600 | +291 |
| Gujarat | 150 (Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank NR) | 300 | 510 | +210 |
| Bihar | 234 (Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank NR) | 365 | 500 | +135 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 657 | 538 | 484 | -54 |
| Kerala | 100 | 350 | 350 | +0 |
| Maharashtra | 172 | 100 | 300 | +200 |
| Chhattisgarh | 308 | 295 | 296 | +1 |
| Jharkhand | 214 | 85 | 285 | +200 |
| Karnataka | 200 | 800 | 279 | -521 |
| Tamil Nadu | 377 | 468 | 244 | -224 |
| Rajasthan | 450 (Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya Gramin Bank NR) | 1,725 | 225 | -1,500 |
| Uttarakhand | 150 | 218 | 214 | -4 |
| Haryana | 182 | 190 | 211 | +21 |
| West Bengal | 155 (Paschim Banga Gramin Bank 0) | 144 | 204 | +60 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 136 | 100 | 200 | +100 |
| Assam | 224 | 167 | 181 | +14 |
| Punjab | 348 | 57 | 85 | +28 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 99 | 51 | 51 | +0 |
| Mizoram | 30 | 30 | 45 | +15 |
| Tripura | 60 | 50 | 39 | -11 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 15 | 35 | 26 | -9 |
| Meghalaya | 33 | 22 | 26 | +4 |
| Puducherry | 15 | 7 | 11 | +4 |
| Nagaland | 4 | 8 | 6 | -2 |
| Manipur | 10 | 8 | 0 | -8 |
| Total | 5,800 | 8,022 | 8,222 | +200 |
2024: CRP RRBs-XIII notification (revised 26.06.2024), sum of the State’s RRB rows, with “NR” (not reported) rows noted — the 2024 total of 5,800 is our sum. 2025: CRP RRBs-XIV as on 27.09.2025 (8,022; the first version of 01.09.2025 had 7,972 before Jammu & Kashmir went from 50 to 100). 2026: Annexure I as on 25.09.2026. Changes are our arithmetic.
Green = more seats in 2026, red = fewer. Our arithmetic from the CRP RRBs-XIV (27.09.2025) and XV (25.09.2026) vacancy tables.
The 2024 column is not strictly comparable. In 2024 several States still had two or more RRBs, and four banks sent no figure at all (“NR”: Uttar Bihar, Baroda Gujarat, Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya and Baroda U.P.). The 2026 notification lists exactly one RRB per State/UT — 28 in all — so a 2024 State figure is the sum of several banks’ rows, and for Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Bihar and Rajasthan it is missing a bank. Use it to see direction, not to compute a growth rate.
Six RRBs have new names in 2026
If you are reading an older list of “participating banks”, check the names. Six of the 28 banks in the 2026 notification are named differently from the 2025 notification. The State, head office and local language are the same in each case.
| State | Name in 2025 (XIV) | Name in 2026 (XV) |
|---|---|---|
| Haryana | Sarva Haryana Gramin Bank | Haryana Gramin Bank |
| Assam | Assam Gramin Vikash Bank | Assam Gramin Bank |
| Chhattisgarh | Chhattisgarh Rajya Gramin Bank | Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank |
| Jharkhand | Jharkhand Rajya Gramin Bank | Jharkhand Gramin Bank |
| Kerala | Kerala Gramin Bank | Kerala Grameena Bank |
| Puducherry | Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank | Puducherry Grama Bank |
Table A of the CRP RRBs-XIV notification (2025) against Table A of the CRP RRBs-XV notification (01.09.2026).
What “indicative” means for your seat
IBPS attaches the same sentence to every version of Annexure I: the vacancies “are indicative and anticipated as communicated by the RRBs. However, Provisional allotment will be made based on the actual vacancies reported by the RRBs.” In other words, the number that decides your allotment is the one the RRB reports after the Mains, not the one printed in September. It can go up — Tripura went from not reported to 39 within eight days this year, and Jammu & Kashmir doubled from 50 to 100 during the 2025 registration window — and it can go down.
The notification also provides a reserve list “to the extent of vacancies” in each category. If RRBs report further vacancies within one year of the provisional allotment, IBPS says allotment from the reserve list “will be carried out three to four times” — that is, three to four rounds, not three to four times the seats. The reserve list, and the validity of the CRP itself, expire one year after the date of provisional allotment or when a fresh provisional allotment is made, whichever is earlier.
Your State: 2026 seats by category, and the last two cycles
IBPS Annexure I as on 25.09.2026 (indicative), CRP RRBs-XIV as on 27.09.2025 and CRP RRBs-XIII (June 2024, sum of the State’s RRB rows — before the RRB mergers). PwBD and ex-servicemen seats are printed by IBPS “out of which”, i.e. inside the category counts. Allotment is made on the vacancies the RRB actually reports.
Reading the numbers against the competition
IBPS’s own “Growth” page gives national Office Assistant totals for two older years only: 7.56 lakh registered and 5.33 lakh tested in 2021–22, and 6.56 lakh registered and 4.83 lakh tested in 2022–23 (official). It has not published State- or category-wise figures, or any figure for 2025 or 2026, so there is no defensible current applicants-per-seat number for your State — pages that print one are estimating. What the vacancy table does tell you is how thin the margin can be. Take Himachal Pradesh: 51 seats, of which 23 General. Or Kerala: 350 seats, 182 General, but only 4 ST. Your competition is the pool of candidates in your State and your category, and the last merit rank that gets a seat moves with the vacancies the RRB finally reports.
Two practical consequences follow. Your State was fixed on the application form and cannot be edited, so the table above is your market for this cycle — there is no switching to a State with more seats. And because final selection is on Mains marks alone, with no interview, the Mains score is the whole contest once you clear the Preliminary.
The facts that decide who gets these seats
- One State/UT per candidate, chosen at application; the field cannot be edited later (notification, “How to apply”).
- Preliminary: a minimum in both Reasoning and Numerical Ability, then an “adequate number” per category go to the Mains.
- Mains: a minimum in each of the five tests, then shortlisting by the State’s vacancies. There is no interview for Office Assistants.
- Final merit is on Mains marks only; Prelims marks do not carry forward. A tie goes to the older candidate.
CRP RRBs-XV notification dated 01.09.2026, clauses D, F, G and K.
How many vacancies are there in IBPS RRB Office Assistant 2026?
8,222, according to IBPS Annexure I updated as on 25.09.2026. The notification of 01.09.2026 showed 8,183 before Tripura’s 39 seats were added.
Which State has the most RRB Office Assistant vacancies in 2026?
Uttar Pradesh, with 1,200 seats at Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank, followed by Andhra Pradesh (900) and Telangana (750).
Does Manipur have RRB Office Assistant vacancies in 2026?
No. Annexure I prints a zero row for Manipur Rural Bank. Manipur had 8 seats in 2025.
Why did Rajasthan’s RRB Clerk vacancies fall so much?
IBPS does not give reasons. The figure went from 1,725 in 2025 to 225 in 2026 as communicated by the RRB.
Are PwBD and ex-servicemen seats extra to the 8,222?
No. Annexure I prints them under “(Out of which)”, so they sit inside the SC, ST, OBC, EWS and General counts.
How many General seats are there in RRB Office Assistant 2026?
3,470 of the 8,222, by our column sum of Annexure I.
Can the vacancies change after the exam?
Yes. IBPS says they are indicative and that provisional allotment uses the actual vacancies the RRBs report.
How many RRBs take part in CRP RRBs-XV?
28, one for each State/UT listed in Table A of the notification.
How many candidates apply for IBPS RRB Office Assistant?
IBPS’s Growth page lists 7.56 lakh registered and 5.33 lakh tested in 2021–22, and 6.56 lakh registered and 4.83 lakh tested in 2022–23. It has published no State-wise figures and nothing for 2025 or 2026.
What were the RRB Office Assistant vacancies in 2025?
8,022 in the updated CRP RRBs-XIV notification of 27.09.2025; the first version of 01.09.2025 showed 7,972.
Can I change my State after applying?
No. IBPS says the State/UT chosen for vacancies cannot be edited, even in the edit window.
What does DESM mean in the vacancy table?
IBPS clubs vacancies for disabled ex-servicemen and dependants of servicemen killed in action under DESM.
More in this series
Sources
- official — IBPS — Annexure I, updated vacancies as on 25.09.2026 (current)
- official — IBPS — Corrigendum dated 25.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Corrigendum 15.09.2026 and Annexure I updated 15.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Corrigendum 09.09.2026 and Annexure I updated 09.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Detailed Notification CRP RRBs-XV (Officers and Office Assistants), dated 01.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Corrigendum dated 21.09.2026: registration extended to 27.09.2026
- official — IBPS — CRP RRBs-XIV notification, updated vacancies as on 27.09.2025
- official — IBPS — CRP RRBs-XIV notification as issued 01.09.2025
- official — IBPS — CRP RRBs-XIII notification (revised 26.06.2024)
- official — IBPS — “Growth” page: candidates registered and tested, Office Assistants 2021–22 and 2022–23
- reported — Sreedhar’s CCE — RRB XV Office Assistant notification (“8,183 vacancies” title)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.











