Checked 29 September 2026. From Table A and the medium-of-examination list of the CRP RRBs-XV notification (01.09.2026), its eligibility clauses and corrigenda, and the CRP CSA-XVI (IBPS Clerk) notification for comparison.
Every RRB Office Assistant is recruited for one Regional Rural Bank in the State chosen on the application, and the 2026 notification makes proficiency in the local language prescribed for that State an essential qualification. The State you pick on the form is also permanent. IBPS’s allotment notice for the 2025 cycle adds that proficiency “will be checked at the time of joining”. With registration closed on 27 September 2026, this guide is about understanding the position you are now in: which bank and language your State means, which medium you can write the test in, what counts as “proficient”, and what happens if you are not.
CRP RRBs-XV notification dated 01.09.2026.
Where other pages get this wrong
The banks in CRP RRBs-XV carry 2026 names — six of them differ from 2025.
Commonly published instead: Participating-bank lists still headed “CRP RRBs XIV” with Sarva Haryana, Assam Gramin Vikash, Chhattisgarh Rajya, Jharkhand Rajya, Kerala Gramin and Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank (Testbook’s RRB Clerk page, as read on 27 Sep 2026), and the 2025 age window of 02.09.1997–01.09.2007.
Table A of the 2026 notification names Haryana Gramin, Assam Gramin, Chhattisgarh Gramin, Jharkhand Gramin, Kerala Grameena and Puducherry Grama Bank. The 2026 age window is born 02.09.1998 to 01.09.2008.
The rule, word for word
The notification says: “Candidates who have already studied the language of the State in standard VIII or any level above standard VIII in Government recognized Boards of Education/School or having any certificate to the effect for standard VIII or any level above standard VIII would be considered proficient in that local language.” And: “Where the candidate does not meet the aforesaid requirement in local language at the time of selection, he will be given a time of six months from the date of joining to acquire the proficiency. This period can be extended by the Boards of RRBs … provided that such extension should not be beyond the probation period.”
Three things follow. The test is a school record, not a skill test on the day. A candidate who did not study the language has a route in — six months after joining, extendable by the RRB’s Board but not beyond probation. And there is no separate Local Language Proficiency Test in the RRB process: we searched the full notification text and found none. The notification does not say how proficiency is certified at the end of the six months, and it does not state the probation period.
| Point | RRB Office Assistant (CRP RRBs-XV) | IBPS Clerk (CRP CSA-XVI) |
|---|---|---|
| Who is proficient | Studied the State’s language in Class VIII or above, or holds a certificate to that effect for Class VIII or above | Produces a 10th-standard or above mark sheet/certificate showing the opted language (exempt from the LLPT) |
| If not proficient | Six months from joining to acquire it; the RRB Board may extend, not beyond probation | Takes the Local Language Proficiency Test (LLPT) before joining |
| Separate test | None in the notification | LLPT, marks-based and qualifying |
| Consequence of failing | Not stated in the notification | “will not be offered appointment and will be disqualified” |
| Local-language requirement | Proficiency in the local language(s) prescribed for the State/RRB in Table A; the notification does not describe choosing one | Opt for ONE language from the State’s list |
CRP RRBs-XV notification, educational qualification clause (p.18–19); CRP CSA-XVI notification dated 01.08.2026, clause H.
All 28 RRBs: head office, language and test medium
Table A of the notification lists one RRB for each of the 28 States/UTs, with its head office and the local language(s) it prescribes. A separate list sets the “version of tests” — the medium in which you can take the exam. The two are not the same thing, and the table below puts them side by side with this year’s seats.
| State/UT | RRB (2026) | Head office | Local language(s) | Test medium offered | 2026 OA seats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | Andhra Pradesh Grameena Bank | Amaravati | Telugu | English, Hindi, Telugu | 900 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank | Naharlagun | English | English, Hindi | 26 |
| Assam | Assam Gramin Bank | Guwahati | Assamese, Bengali, Bodo | English, Hindi, Assamese | 181 |
| Bihar | Bihar Gramin Bank | Patna | Hindi | English, Hindi | 500 |
| Chhattisgarh | Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank | Raipur | Hindi | English, Hindi | 296 |
| Gujarat | Gujarat Gramin Bank | Vadodara | Gujarati | English, Hindi, Gujarati | 510 |
| Haryana | Haryana Gramin Bank | Rohtak | Hindi | English, Hindi | 211 |
| Himachal Pradesh | Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank | Mandi | Hindi | English, Hindi | 51 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | Jammu and Kashmir Grameen Bank | Jammu | Dogri, Kashmiri, Punjabi, Urdu, Gojri, Pahari, Ladakhi, Balti (Palli), Dardi, Hindi | English, Hindi, Urdu | 200 |
| Jharkhand | Jharkhand Gramin Bank | Ranchi | Hindi | English, Hindi | 285 |
| Karnataka | Karnataka Grameena Bank | Ballari | Kannada | English, Hindi, Kannada, Konkani | 279 |
| Kerala | Kerala Grameena Bank | Mallapuram (as printed) | Malayalam | English, Hindi, Malayalam | 350 |
| Madhya Pradesh | Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank | Indore | Hindi | English, Hindi | 484 |
| Maharashtra | Maharashtra Gramin Bank | Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar | Marathi | English, Hindi, Marathi, Konkani | 300 |
| Manipur | Manipur Rural Bank | Imphal | Manipuri | English, Hindi, Manipuri | 0 |
| Meghalaya | Meghalaya Rural Bank | Shillong | Khasi, Garo | English, Hindi | 26 |
| Mizoram | Mizoram Rural Bank | Aizawl | Mizo | English, Hindi | 45 |
| Nagaland | Nagaland Rural Bank | Kohima | English | English, Hindi | 6 |
| Odisha | Odisha Grameen Bank | Bhubaneswar | Odia | English, Hindi, Odia | 600 |
| Puducherry | Puducherry Grama Bank | Puducherry | Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu | English, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam | 11 |
| Punjab | Punjab Gramin Bank | Kapurthala | Punjabi | English, Hindi, Punjabi | 85 |
| Rajasthan | Rajasthan Gramin Bank | Jaipur | Hindi | English, Hindi | 225 |
| Tamil Nadu | Tamil Nadu Grama Bank | Salem | Tamil | English, Hindi, Tamil | 244 |
| Telangana | Telangana Grameena Bank | Hyderabad | Telugu, Urdu | English, Hindi, Telugu, Urdu | 750 |
| Tripura | Tripura Gramin Bank | Agartala | Bengali, Kokborok | English, Hindi, Bengali | 39 |
| Uttar Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank | Lucknow | Hindi, Urdu, Sanskrit | English, Hindi, Urdu | 1,200 |
| Uttarakhand | Uttarakhand Gramin Bank | Dehradun | Hindi, Sanskrit | English, Hindi | 214 |
| West Bengal | West Bengal Gramin Bank | Kolkata | Bengali, Nepali | English, Hindi, Bengali | 204 |
CRP RRBs-XV notification: Table A (RRB, head office, local language) and the medium-of-examination list (p.21). Seats: Annexure I as on 25.09.2026. Kerala’s head office is printed “Mallapuram”.
A few rows deserve a second look. Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland prescribe English as the local language — the only two States where that is so. Karnataka and Maharashtra offer the test in Konkani as well as the State language, though Konkani is not listed as a prescribed local language for either State (our reading of the two tables). Puducherry lists three languages — Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu — and offers the test in all three. Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu & Kashmir prescribe languages that are not offered as a test medium (Khasi, Garo, Mizo, Dogri, Kashmiri and others), so candidates there write in English, Hindi or, in J&K, Urdu. And Manipur prescribes Manipuri and offers it as a medium, but has no Office Assistant seats this cycle.
Our count from the medium-of-examination list: Puducherry 5; Karnataka, Maharashtra and Telangana 4; Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Manipur, Odisha, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal 3; Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand 2.
On a discrepancy between the English version of a question and a translation, the English version prevails. The medium choice was made in the online application; the notification warns candidates to be “careful in exercising this option”. The Mains language test is separate: it is English or Hindi only, whatever medium you chose for the other tests.
State lookup: bank, language, test medium, seats
Notification CRP RRBs-XV Table A (RRB, head office, local language) and the medium-of-examination list; seats from Annexure I as on 25.09.2026. The 2025 prelims General cut-off is reported (Oliveboard) — IBPS shows cut-offs only inside the candidate login.
The State field is permanent
Under “How to apply”, IBPS says a candidate can apply for vacancies in one State/UT only, and that the State/UT chosen for vacancies cannot be edited — not even in the two-day edit window that follows the close of registration. Provisional allotment is then made only among the RRBs of that State. In 2026 every State has exactly one RRB, so choosing the State fixed the bank as well (our reading of Table A).
| Question | Answer | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Can I change my State after submitting? | No — the State/UT field is not editable | Notification, “How to apply” |
| Can I apply for two States? | No — one State/UT only | Notification, clause K |
| Can I be allotted a bank in another State? | No — allotment is within the RRBs of the State applied for | Notification, clause K |
| Can I apply for OA and an Officer post? | Yes — OA and one Officer post, with a separate application and fee for each | Notification, p.1 |
| Where do I sit the exam? | At the centre allotted; the medium you chose applies | Notification, centres clause |
For a candidate who applied in a State whose seats collapsed — Rajasthan went from 1,725 in 2025 to 225 in 2026, Karnataka from 800 to 279 — there is nothing to do about it this cycle except score higher. For a candidate in Manipur, the arithmetic is harder still: zero Office Assistant seats. The notification does not say what happens to Manipur applications; it says only that allotment follows the vacancies RRBs report.
Two dates to check on your own record
Degree date. The notification fixes eligibility “as on the last date of Online Registration i.e. 21.09.2026”, and says the graduation result must have been declared on or before 21.09.2026. The corrigendum of 21.09.2026 extended registration to 27.09.2026 and said all other terms and conditions remain unchanged. On that wording, 21.09.2026 still governs: a result declared between 22 and 27 September 2026 is after the cut-off, and the eligibility tool in the comparison guide in this series treats it as not eligible. Only the registration and fee dates moved.
Category certificate. An OBC-NCL candidate needs a certificate issued on or after 01.04.2026, according to the notification. Language proficiency, the degree result and the caste certificate are all verified at document verification or joining, not at the exam.
| Item | Date or rule | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Degree result | Declared on or before 21.09.2026 | Registration extended to 27.09.2026 “all other terms … unchanged” |
| Age | Born 02.09.1998 to 01.09.2008 (18–28 on 01.09.2026) | Relaxation: SC/ST 5, OBC 3, PwBD 10 years |
| OBC-NCL certificate | Issued on or after 01.04.2026 | Checked at verification |
| Local language | Studied in Class VIII or above | Or six months after joining |
| Computer | “Desirable: Working knowledge of Computer” | Not mandatory for OA |
Is there a local language test for IBPS RRB Office Assistant?
No separate test appears in the 2026 notification. You count as proficient if you studied the State’s language in Class VIII or above at a Government-recognised board or school, or hold a certificate to that effect for Class VIII or above.
What if I did not study the local language in school?
The notification gives six months from joining to acquire proficiency, extendable by the RRB Board but not beyond the probation period.
Can I change my State in RRB Clerk 2026 after applying?
No. IBPS says the State/UT field cannot be edited, even in the edit window.
In which languages can I write the RRB Office Assistant exam?
English, Hindi and the regional media listed for your State; Puducherry offers five, most States two or three.
Is Konkani a medium in RRB Clerk?
Yes, in Karnataka and Maharashtra, according to the medium-of-examination list.
Which States prescribe English as the local language?
Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland.
Is the Mains language test available in regional languages?
No. Test 4 is English Language or Hindi Language only.
Which bank will I join if selected?
The RRB of the State you applied for; in 2026 each State has one RRB.
Is my degree result on 25 September 2026 valid?
Not on the notification’s wording. The result had to be declared on or before 21.09.2026, and the extension corrigendum moved only registration, saying all other terms remain unchanged.
Does RRB Office Assistant require computer knowledge?
Only as “desirable” — it is not an essential qualification for Office Assistants.
Can I apply for both Office Assistant and Officer Scale I?
Yes, with a separate application and fee for each.
Sources
- official — IBPS — Detailed Notification CRP RRBs-XV (Officers and Office Assistants), dated 01.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Corrigendum dated 21.09.2026: registration extended to 27.09.2026
- official — IBPS — Annexure I, updated vacancies as on 25.09.2026 (current)
- official — IBPS — CRP RRBs-XIV notification, updated vacancies as on 27.09.2025
- official — IBPS — CRP RRBs-XIV Office Assistants (Multipurpose): notice of provisional allotment dated 15.03.2026, with Annexure B State-wise maximum and minimum Mains scores
- official — IBPS — Detailed Notification CRP CSA-XVI (Customer Service Associates / Clerks), dated 01.08.2026
- reported — Oliveboard — IBPS RRB Clerk cut-off (prelims 2020–2025, XIV mains minimum/maximum; updated 22 Sep 2026)
- reported — Testbook — IBPS RRB Clerk page (read 27 Sep 2026; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.











