ProSyllabus Journal

RRB Office Assistant Pattern 2026: 25+20 Minute Prelims, 120-Min Mains

IBPS RRB Clerk (Office Assistant) 2026 pattern from the notification: sectionally timed Prelims since 2025, Mains marks that are not one per question, what a wrong answer costs, and no interview.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 2 days agoIBPS RRB Office Assistant · Exam Pattern · Banking
#ibps rrb clerk exam pattern 2026#rrb office assistant sectional timing#rrb clerk negative marking#rrb clerk mains marks per question#rrb clerk prelims 80 marks#rrb office assistant hindi or english
Page 1 free
Must-have cheatsheet · IBPS RRB Office Assistant 2026Every important point, on 7 pagesfor IBPS RRB Office Assistant (Multipurpose)Formulas with twelve worked examples, reasoning rules, computer and English rules, and the banking and RRB facts.Quant formulasReasoning rulesComputer factsBanking & RRB facts7-page PDFInstant download1 hr to read all of itSee what's inside →
Source: The IBPS CRP RRBs-XV notification dated 01.09.2026 and 2 more
RRB Office Assistant Pattern 2026: 25+20 Minute Prelims, 120-Min Mains

Checked 29 September 2026. From the CRP RRBs-XV notification (clauses D, E, F, G), compared with the XIV (2025) and XIII (2024) notifications and the XIV prelims information handout. IBPS “reserves the right to modify the structure (including duration)”.

The Office Assistant (Multipurpose) exam in CRP RRBs-XV has two objective, online stages: a Preliminary of 80 questions and a Mains of 200 questions. Both are now sectionally timed — each test has its own clock — which is a change IBPS made in 2025. And the Mains does not give one mark per question in every test: Reasoning and Numerical Ability carry more, Computer Knowledge less. Those two facts change how you should practise, and this guide lays them out from IBPS’s own tables.

80 Q / 45 min
Prelims: Reasoning 25 min + Numerical 20 min
200 Q / 120 min
Mains: five tests, each separately timed
0.25
of the question’s marks lost per wrong answer
No interview
final merit on Mains marks only

CRP RRBs-XV notification, clauses D, E and G.

Where other pages get this wrong

The figures 40/40 and 50/20/40/40/50 in the RRB Office Assistant pattern are MAXIMUM marks per test.

Commonly published instead: Pattern tables headed “Minimum Marks” listing 40 and 40 for the Prelims and 50, 20, 40, 40 and 50 for the Mains (Embibe’s Office Assistant cut-off page).

The notification’s column is “Maximum Marks”. The CRP RRBs-XV notification does not print any numeric minimum: it requires candidates to secure “minimum cut-off marks” in the Prelims tests and “a minimum score in each test” of the Mains, without stating the figures.

Preliminary: 80 questions, two clocks

TestQuestionsMaximum marksTime
Reasoning404025 minutes
Numerical Ability404020 minutes
Total808045 minutes

CRP RRBs-XV notification, clause D, Preliminary Examination (objective), Office Assistants (Multipurpose).

There is no English test in the Office Assistant Preliminary — a difference from the IBPS Clerk Preliminary, which has one. Candidates must “qualify in both the tests by securing minimum cut-off marks”, and then an “adequate number of candidates in each category, depending upon requirements” is shortlisted for the Mains. A strong Numerical score does not rescue a weak Reasoning score if Reasoning falls below its own minimum.

The 2025 Preliminary information handout (the closest one available; the 2026 handout had not been released on 29 September 2026) says each question has five options, that the tests are “separately timed”, and that you should expect to be at the venue for about 110 minutes. Its sample questions give the flavour of each test: word rearrangement, direction and position ordering, ranking in a row and letter-position puzzles in Reasoning; profit and cost, divisibility, decimal multiplication, simplification and fraction products in Numerical Ability. It also warns that the actual paper may contain “questions of a higher difficulty level”.

Mains: 200 questions, five tests, uneven marks

TestQuestionsMaximum marksTimeMarks per question (ours)
Reasoning405030 minutes1.25
Computer Knowledge402015 minutes0.5
General Awareness404015 minutes1
English Language OR Hindi Language404030 minutes1
Numerical Ability405030 minutes1.25
Total200200120 minutes—

CRP RRBs-XV notification, clause D, Main Examination (objective), Office Assistants. “Candidates can opt either 4 a or 4 b” — English or Hindi. Marks per question are our division, assuming equal marks within a test.

Read the marks column before you plan your hours. (The per-question column is ours: IBPS prints marks per test, and dividing assumes every question within a test carries equal marks, which the notification does not state.) Reasoning and Numerical Ability are 100 of the 200 Mains marks. General Awareness is 40 marks in only 15 minutes. Computer Knowledge is 40 questions for just 20 marks. The language test is your choice — English or Hindi, 40 marks either way — and it is the only test whose medium is fixed by the choice itself. For the other tests, the notification lists the “version of tests (medium of examination)” available in each State/UT — English and Hindi everywhere, plus one or more regional languages in 20 of them — and you pick one of your State’s options in the online application (see the State-choice guide in this series).

Mains marks available per minute of test time (our arithmetic)
General Awareness (40 marks / 15 min)2.67
Reasoning (50 / 30)1.67
Numerical Ability (50 / 30)1.67
Computer Knowledge (20 / 15)1.33
English or Hindi (40 / 30)1.33

Maximum marks ÷ minutes, from the notification’s Mains table. General Awareness is the densest test: recall, not calculation.

Sectional timing: new in 2025, and still here

Until CRP RRBs-XIII (2024) the Office Assistant exam ran on a composite clock: 45 minutes for the whole Preliminary and 2 hours for the whole Mains, to divide between tests as you liked. CRP RRBs-XIV (2025) split both into separately timed tests, and CRP RRBs-XV (2026) keeps the split. Guides and mock series written before 2025 may still train you to “bank” time from one test and spend it on another. That is no longer possible.

CyclePrelims timingMains timingSource
XIII (2024)Composite 45 minutesComposite 2 hoursNotification revised 26.06.2024
XIV (2025)Reasoning 25 + Numerical 20 minutes30 / 15 / 15 / 30 / 30 minutesNotification 2025; prelims handout
XV (2026)Reasoning 25 + Numerical 20 minutes30 / 15 / 15 / 30 / 30 minutesNotification 01.09.2026

Question counts and maximum marks are the same in all three cycles; only the clock changed.

What the split means in seconds (our arithmetic from the tables): Prelims Reasoning gives you 37.5 seconds a question and Prelims Numerical only 30. In the Mains, Reasoning, Numerical and the language test give 45 seconds a question, while General Awareness and Computer Knowledge give 22.5. The two 15-minute Mains tests are the fastest part of the whole process — recognition speed matters there more than anywhere else.

What a wrong answer costs

Clause E applies to every stage: “one fourth or 0.25 of the marks assigned to that question will be deducted as penalty”. A blank costs nothing. Because Mains questions are not all worth one mark, the penalty is not the same size everywhere.

Stage and testMarks per question (ours)Penalty per wrong (ours)Seconds per question (ours)
Prelims — Reasoning / Numerical10.2537.5 / 30
Mains — Reasoning1.250.312545
Mains — Numerical Ability1.250.312545
Mains — General Awareness10.2522.5
Mains — English or Hindi10.2545
Mains — Computer Knowledge0.50.12522.5

Penalty rule: notification clause E. Per-question figures assume equal marks within a test (IBPS prints only per-test marks).

With five options, a blind guess is right one time in five. Our arithmetic: on a one-mark question the expected value of a blind guess is 0.2 × 1 − 0.8 × 0.25 = 0, so it gains nothing on average and only adds risk. Rule out even one option and the odds become one in four, and the expected value turns positive (0.25 − 0.75 × 0.25 = +0.0625 on a one-mark question). The same logic holds on the 1.25 and 0.5 mark questions, because the penalty is always a quarter of the question’s own marks.

Net score with the quarter-mark penalty

Enter right and wrong answers per test. Blanks cost nothing. Each wrong answer loses a quarter of that question’s marks. This is only an illustrative pre-normalisation estimate, and it assumes equal marks for every question in a test (our assumption). If an examination is held in more than one session, IBPS equates corrected scores by the equi-percentile method, so the official score may differ.

Prelims (80 marks)

Reasoning (40 Q, 1 each)
Numerical Ability (40 Q, 1 each)

Mains (200 marks)

Reasoning (40 Q, 1.25 each)
Computer Knowledge (40 Q, 0.5 each)
General Awareness (40 Q, 1 each)
English or Hindi Language (40 Q, 1 each)
Numerical Ability (40 Q, 1.25 each)

Notification CRP RRBs-XV clause D (structure) and clause E (penalty: “one fourth or 0.25 of the marks assigned to that question”). Marks per question are our arithmetic, assuming every question in a test carries equal marks (IBPS prints marks per test, not per question). Qualifying needs a minimum in every test; the CRP RRBs-XV notification does not print those numbers.

How the scores become a result

Cut-off: for Office Assistants “each candidate will be required to obtain a minimum score in each test of Online Main examination”, and then candidates are shortlisted “depending on the number of vacancies available in each state”. The notification adds that merely passing individual tests may not be enough. Normalisation: where a test runs in several sessions, IBPS equates scores across them with an equi-percentile method and reports scores to two decimals. Merit: final selection is on Mains marks only — the Preliminary is a gate, not a score you keep. Tie: the older candidate ranks higher.

RuleWhat the notification saysClause
Prelims qualifyingMinimum cut-off in both tests; adequate number per category shortlistedD
Mains qualifyingMinimum score in each Mains test; shortlisting by State vacanciesF
NormalisationEqui-percentile across sessions; two decimalsG
Final meritMains marks only; no interview for Office AssistantsG, K
Tie-breakOlder candidate placed higherK
Compensatory timeTwenty minutes per hour of examination “or otherwise advised”, for candidates eligible under IBPS’s scribe and disability guidelines who registered for it when applyingB.III

What IBPS does not publish

There is no official topic-wise syllabus for the Office Assistant exam. The notification names the tests; the information handout adds a handful of illustrative questions. Every “RRB Clerk syllabus” list you meet online — number series, syllogism, data interpretation, banking awareness — is somebody’s reading of past papers, and IBPS does not release the question papers either. Treat those lists as a reasonable guide to question types, not as a promise of what will appear.

If you want the whole pattern, the formulas and the rules the five tests turn on in one place, ProSyllabus has a seven-page IBPS RRB Office Assistant 2026 revision kit, arranged in order of official marks; its first page is free to read.

Is the IBPS RRB Office Assistant Prelims sectionally timed in 2026?

Yes. Reasoning has 25 minutes and Numerical Ability 20 minutes, as in 2025. Until 2024 the 45 minutes were composite.

Is there English in the RRB Clerk Prelims?

No. The Office Assistant Preliminary has only Reasoning and Numerical Ability, 40 questions each.

How many marks is each Mains Reasoning question worth?

IBPS prints only per-test marks: 50 for 40 questions. If every question in the test carries equal marks — our assumption, not stated by IBPS — that is 1.25 each.

What is the negative marking in RRB Office Assistant?

A quarter of the marks of the question for each wrong answer, at every stage. A blank costs nothing.

Can I take Hindi instead of English in the RRB Clerk Mains?

Yes. Test 4 is English Language or Hindi Language, 40 questions for 40 marks either way.

Is there an interview for RRB Office Assistant?

No. Selection is on Mains marks and the vacancies reported by the RRB of your State.

Do Prelims marks count in the final merit?

No. Final merit is on Mains marks only.

How many options does each RRB Clerk question have?

Five, according to the 2025 Preliminary information handout.

Does IBPS publish an official RRB Office Assistant syllabus?

No topic-wise syllabus is published — only test names and sample questions.

How long is the RRB Office Assistant Mains?

120 minutes for 200 questions, in five separately timed tests.

Is the RRB Clerk Mains score normalised?

Yes, where there are several sessions: IBPS uses an equi-percentile method and reports scores to two decimals.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.

This chapter is part of the IBPS RRB Office Assistant (Multipurpose) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Page 1 free
Must-have cheatsheet · IBPS RRB Office Assistant 2026Every important point, on 7 pagesfor IBPS RRB Office Assistant (Multipurpose)Formulas with twelve worked examples, reasoning rules, computer and English rules, and the banking and RRB facts.Quant formulasReasoning rulesComputer factsBanking & RRB facts7-page PDFInstant download1 hr to read all of itSee what's inside →
Source: The IBPS CRP RRBs-XV notification dated 01.09.2026 and 2 more

More on IBPS RRB Office Assistant (Multipurpose)6 guides

RRB Office Assistant: Prelims-to-Mains Revision SystemUse the CRP RRBs-XV two-test and five-test pattern, your mock errors and a dated source ledger to build a stage-specific RRB Clerk revision queue.RRB Office Assistant vs IBPS Clerk 2026: Age, Pattern, Seats and DatesIBPS RRB Clerk and IBPS Clerk 2026 side by side from both notifications: age 18 vs 20, 80 vs 100 prelims questions, 8,222 vs 11,663 seats, language rules, and one calendar with both exams on it.RRB Office Assistant Salary 2026: ₹24,050 Scale, Allowances by StageRRB Clerk (Office Assistant) pay from the documents: the 2024 DFS approval extending 12th Bipartite pay to RRB staff, the ₹24,050–₹64,480 clerical scale, HRA 10.25%, Special Allowance 26.5% and DA.RRB Office Assistant Cut-Off by State: Official Mains, Prelims Out of 80IBPS RRB Clerk (Office Assistant) cut-offs State by State: IBPS’s own 2025–26 Mains minimum and maximum for all 28 States, the reported 2025 prelims out of 80 (not 100), and the 2020–2025 trend.RRB Office Assistant Local Language Rule, Exam Medium and State ChoiceThe RRB Clerk language rule from the 2026 notification: Class VIII proficiency, six months to learn after joining, no language test, the exam medium in each State, and why the State is fixed.IBPS RRB Office Assistant 2026 Vacancies: 8,222 Across 28 RRBs by StateRRB Clerk (Office Assistant) 2026 vacancies from IBPS’s Annexure I of 25.09.2026: 8,222 not 8,183, every State by category, 2024 to 2026 compared, Manipur at zero, and six renamed banks.

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article