Updated : 4 hours ago
View Complete ArticleChecked 23 September 2026. The pay level comes from the 2022 service rules and is stable. Take-home pay depends on DA and HRA rates, which change — this page does not state them.
Where other pages get this wrong
Passing both SAS parts does not give you a Section Officer post.
Commonly published instead: Most pages present SAS as "pass the exam, become Section Officer".
Under the 2022 service rules, candidates who pass both parts are placed on a merit list by total marks of both parts, and appointed only against sanctioned vacant posts. The rules state in terms that passing confers no right to appointment. Only 70% of the 523 Section Officer posts are filled through the exam; the other 30% go to direct recruits.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Post | Section Officer, Haryana State Accounts Subordinate (Group C) Service |
| Number of posts | 523 |
| Pay | Functional Pay Level-7, Cell 1 — Rs 44,900 to Rs 1,42,400 |
| Filled through SAS exam | 70% |
| Filled by direct recruitment | 30% |
| Rules | G.S.R.144/Const./Art.309/2022, 13 December 2022 |
Rs 44,900 is the basic pay at the entry cell of Level 7. Your gross salary adds dearness allowance and house rent allowance at the rates in force, plus any other allowances you draw, less deductions. We are not publishing a take-home figure: DA and HRA rates change, and a salary page that prints a stale number is worse than one that prints none.
Both letters are listed on the SAS Related Instructions page. They are scanned, and we have not summarised their contents.
One consequence: marks matter after you pass. A higher aggregate puts you higher on the merit list, which decides when you are appointed and your seniority afterwards. That is a reason to aim above the 50% line — and to use the pass calculator with that in mind.
| Post | Pay level | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Section Officer (SO) | Level 7 | G.S.R.144/2022 |
| Accounts Officer (AO) | Level 9 (7th Pay Commission) | Finance Dept promotion order, 31.12.2024 |
| Senior Accounts Officer (SAO) | Not stated in sources we could read | Cadre named in orders, e.g. 21.07.2026 |
| Chief Accounts Officer (CAO) | Not stated in sources we could read | Cadre named in NOCs and orders |
A direct-recruit Section Officer must pass both parts after appointment, within two attempts at each (the Administrative Secretary may allow one more on compassionate grounds). Until both parts are passed, no annual increment is admissible; if the attempts run out, services are dispensed with.
Practise on ProSyllabus
Past SAS-I and SAS-II papers (with the official solutions HIPA released for the practical papers), plus topic-wise practice quizzes for both parts, are on the Haryana SAS exam page. The first quiz in each topic is free.
The post is at Functional Pay Level-7, Cell 1, in the range Rs 44,900 to Rs 1,42,400, under the 2022 service rules. Gross salary adds DA and HRA at the rates in force; we do not state a take-home figure because those rates change.
No. The 2022 rules say passing gives no right to appointment. Candidates who pass both parts go on a merit list by total marks and are appointed against vacant posts. Only 70% of Section Officer posts are filled through the exam.
By aggregate marks of both parts on the merit list; ties are broken by higher previous pay, then by age, with the elder candidate ranked higher.
Accounts Officer, at Pay Level 9 under the 7th Pay Commission matrix, per a Finance Department promotion order of 31 December 2024. The cadre continues to Senior Accounts Officer and Chief Accounts Officer.
523, in the Haryana State Accounts Subordinate (Group C) Service, under the 2022 service rules.
No. Under the 2022 rules no annual increment is admissible until both parts are passed, and the recruit has two attempts at each part.
official = a Haryana Government or HIPA document. reported = a news or coaching site's transcription, which we could not check against the original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking a winner.
Every page carries a "checked on" date and stamps each source as official or reported. Spotted something out of date? These pages are rebuilt from one file, so a correction fixes it everywhere at once.