Checked 25 September 2026. SMLE from SCFHS's 2025 guide and 2026 blueprint; DHA from its CBT guideline updated September 2026; Qatar from the DHP qualifying-exam page. Oman figures are reported, not official.
Many Indian doctors aiming at the Gulf ask which licence exam to sit first. The answer depends on where you want to work — each licence is issued by its own regulator — but the exams are close enough in content that preparation carries across. This guide lines up the Saudi SMLE, the Dubai Health Authority's General Practice exam, Qatar's GP qualifying exam and Oman's, using each regulator's own documents where they exist.
SMLE Blueprint 2026; DHA CBT guideline (Sep 2026); Qatar DHP.
The four exams side by side
| Feature | SMLE (Saudi Arabia) | DHA General Practice (Dubai) | Qatar GP | Oman GP |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Questions | 200 (up to 20 unscored pilot) | 150 | 150 | 150 (reported) |
| Time | 2 × 120 min + 30-min break | 3 hours, including registration and introduction | 3 hours | 2 h 45 min (reported) |
| Pass mark | 560 on a 200–800 scale | 60% | 60% | 60% (reported) |
| Result | Scaled score + feedback report, 2–6 weeks after the window | Pass or fail; the score is not shared | Not stated on the page | Not found |
| Attempts | Up to four a year (guide); see the attempts guide | Not in the guideline | 5 consecutive attempts, whatever the gap | Not found |
| Official fee | Not published | USD 280 (code GEN5331) | Not on the page | Not found |
| Test vendor | Prometric | Prometric | Prometric | Pearson VUE |
| Also used for | Saudi Board residency matching (55% weight) | Dubai licensing only | Qatar licensing only | Oman licensing only |
Oman's figures come from a third-party exam site; Pearson VUE's own OMSB page confirms only that OMSB exams run through Pearson VUE. Treat them as reported until OMSB publishes its own.
The pace is the same; the length is not
Our arithmetic: SMLE 240 minutes of blocks for 200 questions and Qatar 180 minutes for 150 are both 72 seconds a question. DHA's 3 hours include registration and the introduction, so its answering time — not published — is somewhat less than 72 seconds a question. Oman is left out: its figures are not official.
At about 72 seconds a question — a little less for DHA — the three exams ask for much the same working speed. The SMLE is simply longer — four hours of testing against three — and its 30-minute break is the only rest, so stamina matters more. A candidate who finishes DHA-style mocks comfortably but fades in the fourth hour will find the SMLE harder than the per-question pace suggests.
Scaled score versus percentage
DHA and Qatar publish a percentage pass mark (60%). The SMLE publishes 560 on a 200–800 scale, set by standard-setting and applied through equating, so harder and easier forms lead to the same standard. There is no official percentage for 560 and it cannot be derived by dividing by 800. What it means in practice: you cannot aim for "60% correct" on the SMLE, and a score from a coaching mock is only a rough guide. DHA's pass/fail result, meanwhile, never tells you your score — only whether you passed.
One reading list, two exams
| Discipline | SMLE references | DHA GP references |
|---|---|---|
| Medicine | Toronto Notes; Davidson's (22e); Harrison's (19e); Kumar & Clark (9e) | The same titles and editions |
| OB/GYN | Hacker & Moore; Current Diagnosis & Treatment OB/GYN; Ten Teachers; Llewellyn-Jones | The same titles |
| Pediatrics | Bernstein & Shelov; Nelson Essentials (7e); Lissauer | Bernstein & Shelov; Nelson Essentials (7e) — no Lissauer |
| Surgery | Bailey & Love (26e); Cameron (12e); Mont Reid (7e) | None listed |
Editions for the SMLE are from the 2025 applicant guide; the DHA list is from its CBT guideline (Sep 2026). DHA's General Practice list is ten books: the SMLE's medicine and OB/GYN titles, in the same editions, plus two of its three paediatric books. It names no surgery text, although common surgical problems are on its coverage list. SCFHS stresses that its list is a study aid and questions are not necessarily drawn from it — but a doctor preparing for both exams can work from one shelf of books.
What the DHA exam covers that the SMLE weights differently
| Area | SMLE | DHA General Practice |
|---|---|---|
| Women's health and paediatrics | Half the exam (OB/GYN 25%, paediatrics 25%) | Listed as "women's health" and "common paediatric" areas, no percentages |
| Emergency and acute medicine | Inside medicine, surgery and paediatrics (critical care, trauma, acute paediatrics) | A named area |
| Eye, ENT, dermatology, psychiatry | Ophthalmology under surgery; psychiatry under medicine | Named areas |
| Epidemiology, screening, family medicine | The patient safety, preventive medicine and ethics outline | Basic epidemiology and EBM, screening and periodic health examination, family-medicine concepts |
| Local emphasis | Brucellosis, MERS-CoV, sickle cell, haemoglobinopathies appear in the outline; Saudi health-system rules and Islamic ethics in SaudiMEDs | None stated |
Where other pages get this wrong
The DHA guideline publishes no subject percentages for the GP exam.
Commonly published instead: "DHA GP: internal medicine 35–40%, paediatrics…" and similar splits.
The DHA CBT guideline (September 2026) lists the areas the General Practice exam covers but gives no weights. Splits you find online are coaching estimates. The SMLE, by contrast, has an official 30/25/25/20 blueprint.
Results, retakes and what they mean for planning
The four exams report and repeat differently, and that changes how you should plan. The SMLE gives a scaled score and a feedback report comparing you with other candidates, but only 2–6 weeks after the testing window closes — so a result from an October sitting may not arrive until December. The DHA exam reports only pass or fail and does not share the score, which makes it hard to know how far you missed by. Qatar allows five consecutive attempts whatever the gap between them, and says nothing on its page about how the result is reported.
| Planning question | SMLE | DHA | Qatar |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can I tell how close I came? | Yes — scaled score and a feedback report | No — pass or fail only | Not stated |
| When can I retry? | Not in the same window; attempt rules in the attempts guide | Not stated in the guideline | Up to five consecutive attempts, any gap |
| Does a higher pass matter? | Yes, for Saudi Board matching (55% weight) | No — pass is pass | Not stated |
From the SMLE blueprint, the DHA CBT guideline and the Qatar DHP page. Where a regulator's document is silent, we say so rather than fill the gap from coaching sites.
On the day: what is the same and what is not
Three of the four exams run at Prometric centres, so the experience of the day is similar: identification checks, a locker for your belongings, a computer-based test with a timer on screen. The SMLE's rules, from its blueprint, are the most detailed: centres open at 7:30 a.m., arriving more than 30 minutes late counts as an attempt, and your passport name must match the scheduling permit exactly. DHA notes that its three hours include registration and the introduction, so the time spent answering is a little less than the headline. Oman's exams run through Pearson VUE, which has its own check-in rules — read them from Pearson VUE, not from a Prometric guide.
Doing more than one
Because the DHA list is drawn almost entirely from the SMLE's, a doctor keeping both options open can prepare once. The SMLE is the longer exam and has the explicit blueprint, so preparing to its 30/25/25/20 weights covers the DHA areas too; the DHA adds named areas — dermatology, ENT, eye, psychiatry, family-medicine concepts — that the SMLE covers more thinly under other headings, and those deserve a final pass before a DHA sitting. What does not carry across is paperwork: each regulator runs its own verification, eligibility and licensing, and each charges its own fees.
A sensible order for someone unsure where they will work is the one whose result is most useful beyond the licence: the SMLE, because its score also counts for Saudi residency and it tells you how far above or below the standard you were. That is our suggestion, not a rule — if you already have a job offer in Dubai or Doha, sit that regulator's exam first.
Which should you sit first?
Which Gulf GP exam fits your plan?
Each licence is separate: passing one exam does not license you in another country, and none of these regulators accepts another's exam in place of its own — at least, none of the documents we read says so.
Practise it, don't just read it
The SMLE and DHA reading lists overlap heavily. SMLE topic quizzes are a quick way to find gaps for either exam.
The ProSyllabus SMLE library has topic quizzes for Internal Medicine (cardiology and respiratory; endocrine, renal and gastroenterology), General Surgery and Trauma, Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Infectious Disease and Microbiology, Emergency Medicine and Critical Care and Community Medicine, Ethics and Saudi Health Practice. Each question comes with an explanation.
Is the SMLE harder than the DHA exam?
It is longer — 200 questions over four hours of testing against 150 in three hours — at about the same pace (72 seconds a question, a little less for DHA). Its pass mark is a scaled 560 rather than 60%, so the two cannot be compared as percentages.
What is the DHA GP exam pattern?
The DHA General Practice exam (GEN5331) has 150 questions in 3 hours, costs USD 280 and needs 60% to pass. The result is pass or fail and the score is not shared.
What is the Qatar GP exam pass mark?
60%. Qatar's GP qualifying exam has 150 questions in 3 hours, and candidates may sit it five consecutive times whatever the gap between attempts.
Can I use SMLE preparation for the DHA exam?
Largely, yes. All ten books on the DHA GP reference list are on the SMLE list too, in the same editions; DHA lists no surgery textbook. The SMLE weights OB/GYN and paediatrics at 25% each; DHA publishes no weights.
Does passing the SMLE let me work in Dubai or Qatar?
No. Each regulator licenses separately with its own exam.
Sources
- official — SCFHS — SMLE Blueprint 2026
- official — SCFHS — SMLE Applicant Guide (Sep 2025)
- official — DHA computer-based test guideline (updated Sep 2026)
- official — Qatar DHP — qualifying examination
- official — Pearson VUE — OMSB
- official — SCFHS — Saudi Board matching 2025
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










