Bank Clerk to Officer Promotion Exam: Pattern and Syllabus by Bank

Marks, subjects, qualifying marks and interview weight from five bank circulars, from 60 marks at Bank of Baroda to four 100-mark papers at Union Bank, and the syllabus mapped to five quiz topics.

Bank Clerk to Officer Promotion Exam: Pattern and Syllabus by BankOpen the full article →

Checked 3 October 2026. Banks change the test every few cycles. Bank of India’s test is on 04.10.2026; Bank of Baroda’s last test was 22.11.2025; Union Bank’s date was to be intimated. Bank of Maharashtra’s pattern is from its 2024 policy. Union Bank’s syllabus annexure is visibly old.

There is no common syllabus or pattern for the clerk to officer promotion test. Bank of Baroda tests candidates on 60 marks in two subjects; Union Bank runs one 100-mark paper for one channel and four 100-mark papers for the other; PNB sets two 100-mark papers with 30% or 40% needed in each; Bank of India sets 130 questions worth 65 marks in 130 minutes; Bank of Maharashtra sets 160 marks of banking and IT plus a qualifying English paper. Preparing from a generic bank-exam syllabus therefore wastes time. This guide lists what each bank printed and where our five quiz topics sit inside it.

Two limits first. Only Bank of India states the duration and the absence of negative marking in the circular we read; the others are silent, so we state nothing for them. And only Union Bank and PNB print syllabus text. Bank of Baroda, Bank of India and Bank of Maharashtra print the subject names and leave the content to "banking" and "your bank’s own guidelines". The bank circulars quoted here are the banks’ own staff documents. None of them is on a bank’s public careers page, so we read them in copies hosted by exam-preparation sites and name the host in the source list. Check the current circular on your own bank’s HR portal before you act.

The test, bank by bank

Bank (circular)TestSubjects and maximum marksQualifying marksInterview
Bank of Baroda (21.10.2025)Online, objective. Seniority and All India channelsBank’s internal products, guidelines and banking operations: 40 (All India), 30 (Seniority). Digital banking and banking technology: 20 in bothAll India 20 + 8 = 28 of 60. Seniority 12 + 8 = 20 of 5025 marks (All India), 20 marks (Seniority); no second chance if absent
Union Bank of India (03.02.2026): State ServicesOnline, objective, bilingual. One paperPractical Banking and Computer Application on Core Banking Solution (CBS): 10035% (30% for SC/ST/PwD)Not stated for this channel in the circular
Union Bank of India: All India ServicesOnline, objective. Four subjectsBanking 100; CBS/IT 100; Commercial Law or Accountancy (or both) 100; English 10035% in each subject (30% for SC/ST/PwD). English is qualifying only and not used for ranking20 marks, no minimum; up to 25 marks for service, rural service, experience and qualifications
Punjab National Bank (12.11.2025)Online, objective, bilingual (Hindi and English). Two papers; Special Customer Service Associates sit Paper I onlyPaper I: banking routine, deposits, customer service, priority sector, special credit schemes, loans, loan documentation, practice and law of banking. Paper II: economics, general knowledge, accountancy. 100 each40% in each paper (30% for SC/ST)None mentioned; qualification marks (up to 25) and service marks (up to 25) are added
Bank of India (13.08.2026)Online, objective, multiple choice; 130 questions in 130 minutes; no negative markingBanking and Banking Law and Practice: 65 marks22.00 of 65 (18.75 for SC/ST/PwD)None; service (20) and qualification (15) marks are added
Bank of Maharashtra (policy, 2024)Written, three papers. Duration not statedBanking 130 questions, 130 marks; Information Technology 30 questions, 30 marks; English 40 questions, 40 marks80 of 160 (72 for SC/ST) and 15 of 30 in IT (14 for SC/ST); English 14 of 40 (12 for SC/ST), not counted in the totalMerit channel 20 marks (minimum 8); Seniority channel 50 marks (minimum 20)

Duration and negative marking are printed only in the Bank of India notice. For every other bank we state nothing about them.

Where the marks sit: the written test against everything else
Written testInterviewService, rural service and qualificationsConfidential reports
Bank of India, maximum 100
65
35
Bank of Maharashtra, Merit channel, maximum 200
160
20
15
5
Bank of Maharashtra, Seniority channel, maximum 75 (test is qualifying only)
50
20
5
Union Bank, All India channel, three ranked subjects plus 25 plus interview 20 = 345 (our sum)
300
20
25

From the circulars above. The Bank of Baroda and PNB circulars do not print a full marks split, so they are left out. Union Bank’s total is our addition; its circular states no total.

The test is not one standard paper

  • Bank of Baroda tests two subjects: banking operations and digital banking.
  • Bank of India tests banking and banking law only.
  • PNB adds economics, general knowledge and accountancy.
  • Union Bank’s All India channel includes commercial law or accountancy and an English paper that only qualifies.
  • None of the five circulars prints a reasoning or quantitative paper.

Our reading of the five circulars; each bank sets its own test.

What the published syllabi say

Union Bank prints the longest syllabus (Annexure II to its circular). It is also visibly old: its IT section lists Windows 98, 2000 and XP and its accountancy section refers to Schedule VI of the Companies Act, 1956, so treat it as a list of topics, not a description of today’s paper. PNB prints a one-line description of each paper. The other three banks print subject names only.

BankAreaWhat is printed
Union Bank of India, Annexure IIPractical BankingDeposits (savings, who can open, minors and illiterate persons; current; term; NRI accounts; dormant accounts); banking operations; the Negotiable Instruments Act; remittances; cash department; customer service (Goiporia committee, consumer protection, ombudsman); changing trends in banking, income recognition norms and the Narasimham committee
Union Bank of India, Annexure IICommercial LawContract; indemnity and guarantee; bailment and pledge; agency; negotiable instruments; sale of goods and partnership; bills of lading and letter of credit; insurance; insolvency; company law; transfer of actionable claims (mortgages and charges); Stamp, Registration and Limitation Acts
Union Bank of India, Annexure IIAccountancy, CBS/IT, EnglishJournal rules to company accounts; IT awareness and the bank’s technology products; Core Banking (Finacle) general ledger, customer accounts, payment system, posting and reports; functional grammar and comprehension
Union Bank of India, Annexure IINegotiable Instruments Act sections named4, 5, 6, 10, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 31, 45, 47, 48, 49, 64, 84, 85, 87, 118, 123 to 131 and 138 to 142
Punjab National BankPaper IKnowledge of banking routine, deposit mobilisation schemes, customer service, priority sector, special credit schemes, conventional loans, loan documentation, practice and law of banking
Punjab National BankPaper IIEconomics, general knowledge and accountancy
Bank of IndiaWritten test"various areas of Banking / Banking Law and Practice"; no topic list
Bank of BarodaOnline testSubject names only: bank’s internal products and guidelines, banking operations; digital banking and banking technology
Bank of MaharashtraWritten testSubject names only: banking, information technology, English. The interview is described as judging awareness of general banking, the bank’s products, procedures and systems

Where our five quiz topics sit in those texts

Our five practice quizzes were written from the subject matter banks name in this exam: banking law and practice, RBI guidelines, priority sector lending, KYC and anti-money-laundering norms, and deposits and advances. Here is how that maps onto what the five circulars actually print.

Quiz topicUnion BankPNBBank of India, Bank of Baroda, Bank of Maharashtra
Banker-customer relationship and depositsNamed: deposit accounts, minors, dormant accounts, customer serviceNamed: deposit mobilisation schemes, customer serviceInside "banking" and "banking operations"; no topic list
Negotiable Instruments Act and chequesNamed, with section numbersInside "practice and law of banking"Bank of India names "Banking Law and Practice"; the others print nothing more
KYC and anti-money launderingNot namedNot namedNot named
Priority sector lendingNot namedNamed: "priority sector"Not named
Loans, securities and NPAsNamed in part: income recognition norms, indemnity and guarantee, bailment and pledge, mortgages and chargesNamed: conventional loans, loan documentationInside "banking"; no topic list

Read the KYC row carefully: none of the five circulars names KYC or anti-money-laundering. It is a standard part of banking operations and law, and a branch clerk meets it daily, but no circular lists it, so we cannot tell you any bank tests it in a given year. Our NI Act quiz and Union Bank’s list overlap fully on section numbers: every section the quiz names (6, 85, 87, 124, 130, 131, 138 and 142) sits inside Union Bank’s list (our comparison).

A checklist built from the published areas

Syllabus tracker: published areas by topic works on the full page only.Open it →

How much time you get, and how to use it

Only Bank of India publishes the clock: 130 questions in 130 minutes, one minute a question (our arithmetic). With no negative marking printed, leaving a question blank can only cost marks at Bank of India, so a first pass that answers everything is the sensible plan there. At Bank of Maharashtra the policy prints 130 banking and 30 IT questions plus 40 in English, 200 questions in all, but no duration; a candidate preparing for that test has to rely on the bank’s own information handout.

The qualifying marks matter as much as the ranking marks. At Bank of Baroda a candidate who scores well in banking but under 8 of 20 in digital banking fails the All India channel regardless of the total. At Bank of Maharashtra a candidate needs 15 of 30 in IT even with 80 or more of 160 overall. At PNB each paper has its own bar. Check the sectional bars first, then the total.

Practise it, don't just read it

Four of the topics above are law and regulation, and they are the ones with fixed answers you can drill. Try one quiz, read every explanation, then move to the next.

Five practice quizzes of ten questions each are live: Banker-Customer Relationship and Deposits, Negotiable Instruments Act and Cheques, KYC and Anti-Money Laundering, Priority Sector Lending, and Loans, Securities and NPAs. Every answer carries an explanation.

Start a Bank Promotion quiz →

What is the exam pattern for bank clerk to officer promotion?

It differs by bank. Bank of Baroda: 60 marks in two subjects (All India channel) or 50 (Seniority). Union Bank: one 100-mark paper (State Services) or four 100-mark papers (All India Services). PNB: two papers of 100 marks. Bank of India: 130 questions, 65 marks, 130 minutes. Bank of Maharashtra: 160 marks of banking and IT plus a qualifying English paper.

Is there negative marking in the promotion test?

Only the Bank of India notice says: it states there is no negative marking. The Bank of Baroda, Union Bank, PNB and Bank of Maharashtra documents we read do not say either way.

Is there an interview in clerk to officer promotion?

Bank of Baroda: yes, 25 marks (All India) or 20 (Seniority). Union Bank: yes in the All India channel, 20 marks. Bank of Maharashtra: yes, 20 marks (Merit) or 50 (Seniority). PNB and Bank of India: no interview is mentioned in the circulars; marks for qualification and service are added to the test.

Is KYC or anti-money laundering in the syllabus?

None of the five circulars names it. It sits within banking operations and banking law, so it is reasonable to know it, but no circular we read lists it as a topic.

Is there a syllabus for the promotion test?

Union Bank prints a detailed one (Annexure II, which is dated) and PNB describes its two papers in a line each. Bank of Baroda, Bank of India and Bank of Maharashtra print subject names only.

Which language is the test in?

Union Bank and PNB print that the question paper is bilingual, in Hindi and English. The other circulars do not say.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.

Exam pagePreparing for Bank Promotion Examination?Syllabus, exam pattern, dates and every guide we have on Bank Promotion Examination, in one place.Open the Bank Promotion Examination page →