Checked 3 October 2026. Each bank re-issues its notice every cycle with new cut-off dates and sometimes new rules. Bank of Baroda’s circular cites a 10.10.2025 settlement we could not find; Bank of Maharashtra’s policy is the 2024 version. Read your bank’s current circular.
There is no single national rule for promotion from clerk to officer in an Indian bank. Each bank runs its own promotion exercise under its own settlement or policy, and the circulars say so in their first paragraph. Five banks published full text we could read, and they ask for anything from 1 year to 12 years of clerical service depending on your qualification and the channel you choose. This guide sets them side by side, bank by bank, with the exact cut-off date each one uses.
Three things catch candidates out. First, the channel: Bank of Baroda and Bank of Maharashtra run a seniority channel that needs 12 years and a merit or All India channel that needs far fewer. Second, JAIIB and CAIIB do different jobs in different banks: in one they shorten the service you need, in another they only earn marks. Third, the cut-off date: it is not the day you apply, and a few weeks can decide whether a year counts. The bank circulars quoted here are the banks’ own staff documents. None of them is on a bank’s public careers page, so we read them in copies hosted by exam-preparation sites and name the host in the source list. Check the current circular on your own bank’s HR portal before you act.
Our count from the circulars listed under Sources.
Eligibility as each bank printed it
| Bank, circular and channel | Minimum clerical service | Other conditions printed | Cut-off date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda, circular of 21.10.2025 (2026-27 exercise): Seniority channel | 12 years of active service | Maximum age 55 at the cut-off date; no qualification condition | 01.04.2026 |
| Bank of Baroda: All India channel | 1 year (CA, cost accountant, company secretary, PhD/D.Lit in banking subjects); 3 years (graduate or postgraduate, or non-graduate with CAIIB both parts); 4 years (non-graduate with JAIIB or CAIIB Part I); 7 years (other non-graduates) | Confirmed employees; maximum age 55; no sabbatical leave during the exercise | 01.04.2026 |
| Union Bank of India, staff circular of 03.02.2026: State Services (Seniority cum Merit) | 3 years | Only twice the vacancies per State and category, ranked on seniority-cum-weightage, sit the test | 31.01.2026 |
| Union Bank of India: All India Services (Merit) | 2 years | No age or qualification condition printed in the circular | 31.01.2026 |
| Punjab National Bank, HRMD circular 859 of 12.11.2025: Selectivity channel | 3 years; 2 years for SC/ST | Matriculation pass; priority marks of at least 6 (4 for SC/ST) | 01.04.2026 for service; 01.01.2026 for priority marks; 20.11.2025 for matriculation |
| Bank of India, circular of 13.08.2026 (813 vacancies) | 1 year (CA, CS, ICWA, CFA); 2 years (MBA, MCA, MMS, PGDM); 3 years (graduate); 8 years (SSC, matriculation or 12th pass); 10 years (any other clerk) | Service means full-time permanent clerk in Bank of India only; no sabbatical leave | 31.08.2026 for service; 20.08.2026 for qualifications |
| Bank of Maharashtra, Award Staff Promotion Policy (Board 07.06.2024): Merit channel | 5 years (all employees); 3 years (graduate with JAIIB or CAIIB Part I); 2 years (graduate with CAIIB Part II) | At least 2 years of residual service; full-time clerk service from the date of probation | 1 April of the year the process runs |
| Bank of Maharashtra: Seniority channel | 12 years | At least 2 years of residual service; a candidate who meets both channels may apply under both | 1 April of the year the process runs |
Sources: the circulars named in the first column, each read in full. Bank of Baroda’s circular quotes a "Settlement on Policy for Promotion from Clerical to Officers’ cadre in India – 2025" dated 10.10.2025 for the definition of "active service"; we could not find that settlement.
Read from the table above; cut-off dates differ by bank. Union Bank’s State Services channel also limits who may sit the test to twice the vacancies.
Where other pages get this wrong
JAIIB or CAIIB is not compulsory for clerk to officer promotion in any of the five banks, and it does not shorten the years everywhere.
Commonly published instead: Third-party pages say JAIIB is "mandatory" or a "prerequisite" for some banks, and an explainer lists JAIIB or CAIIB alongside a degree and 2 years of clerical service for the merit or fast-track channel.
In the five circulars we read it is never compulsory. In Bank of Baroda it cuts the years only for non-graduates, and graduates need 3 either way. In Bank of Maharashtra it cuts a graduate’s Merit-channel years from 5 to 3 or 2. In Bank of India, PNB and Union Bank it earns marks and changes no years. The same qualification means three different things depending on your bank. We make no claim about banks whose circulars we could not find.
What JAIIB and CAIIB do, bank by bank
| Bank | JAIIB or CAIIB Part I | CAIIB, both parts | Where it is printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | Non-graduate: service falls from 7 to 4 years. Graduate: no change (3 years) | Non-graduate: service falls from 7 to 3 years. Graduate: no change | Annexure I, All India channel table |
| Union Bank of India | 4 marks towards the 25 for service, rural service and qualifications; 1 year of weightage in the State Services channel | 6 marks; 2 years of weightage in the State Services channel | Annexure III, paragraphs g and h |
| Punjab National Bank | 2 priority marks for eligibility; 6 qualification marks in the merit list | 2 priority marks for CAIIB Part II; 9 qualification marks for Part II | Priority marks table and merit marks table |
| Bank of India | 5 of the 15 qualification marks | 10 of the 15 qualification marks (includes the Part I marks) | Notice, paragraph 2(b) |
| Bank of Maharashtra | Graduate in Merit channel: 3 years instead of 5; 2 marks | Graduate in Merit channel: 2 years; 4 marks for Part II | Policy, paragraphs 1.2 and 1.3 |
If you are choosing between sitting JAIIB or CAIIB now and waiting for the next notice, the useful question is what your bank does with it. For the exam and pay side of those qualifications see our guides to the JAIIB and CAIIB syllabus and JAIIB and CAIIB increments and PQP.
Check your own service against the circulars
Do you meet the service rule? A checker for five bank circulars
Pick the bank and channel, then enter your details. The checker applies only what each circular prints for the cycle named in the table above. It does not check disciplinary, sabbatical or refusal bars, and it cannot see your bank’s records.
Our reading of the circulars, not an official eligibility decision. The cut-off dates differ by bank. Your bank’s HR portal decides.
Dates that decide whether a year counts
Every circular fixes a cut-off date for service, and most fix a different one for qualifications. A year of service completed after the cut-off does not count for that exercise, however soon it falls. Bank of India counted service to 31.08.2026 and qualifications to 20.08.2026, which means a degree or a JAIIB result declared in the last ten days of August 2026 did not help in that round. Union Bank used 31.01.2026 for everything. Bank of Baroda used 01.04.2026 and Punjab National Bank used 01.04.2026 for service, 01.01.2026 for priority marks and 20.11.2025 for matriculation.
Notice how far the cut-off sits from the application window. Bank of Baroda opened applications on 21 October 2025 for an exercise whose service cut-off was 1 April 2026, more than five months later. On that arithmetic (ours), a clerk with two years and eight months of service on the application date would already have three completed years at the cut-off: the bank counts to the later date.
Punjab National Bank: why 3 years is not enough on its own
PNB asks for 3 years of clerical service (2 for SC/ST) and, separately, 6 priority marks (4 for SC/ST) as on 1 January 2026. The circular says priority marks are one mark for each completed year of service from appointment as probationer, one mark deducted for every increment permanently withheld as punishment, plus marks for qualifications: graduate 2, master’s degree 1, law degree 1, CAIIB Part I or JAIIB 2, CAIIB Part II 2, ICWA or CA 2, an integrated graduation-plus-postgraduation degree 3, with one extra mark for a business administration degree.
| Example (our arithmetic) | Service marks | Qualification marks | Priority marks | Meets the bar? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, 3 completed years, no IIBF | 3 | 2 | 5 | No: the bar is 6, though the 3-year rule is met |
| Graduate, 4 completed years, no IIBF | 4 | 2 | 6 | Yes: the bar is 6 |
| Graduate with JAIIB, 3 completed years | 3 | 2 + 2 | 7 | Yes: the bar is 6 |
| Non-graduate matriculate, 6 completed years | 6 | 0 | 6 | Yes: the bar is 6 |
| SC/ST graduate, 2 completed years | 2 | 2 | 4 | Yes: the bar for SC/ST is 4 |
The examples simply add the printed marks. They ignore other items in the circular, such as deductions for increments withheld as punishment, so they show the arithmetic and are not a decision on anyone’s eligibility.
What bars or delays a candidate, as printed
| Bank | Sabbatical leave | Refusing an offer | Reverting at own request | Ex-servicemen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | Not eligible to participate during the sabbatical | Not eligible for the next two promotion exercises | Allowed within 12 months, then ineligible for the next two exercises | 1 year of weightage per 5 years in the armed forces, at most 2 years, after 3 years in the bank |
| Bank of India | Not eligible; the period is not counted as service | Not eligible for the next immediate occasion or one year, whichever is earlier | Same bar as refusal; a bank-ordered reversion carries no bar | 1 year for armed forces service above 5 and below 10 years; 2 years for 10 years or more; only after 3 years in the bank |
| Bank of Maharashtra | Not stated in the policy text | An offer not accepted is presumed to show no interest; conditional acceptance counts as refusal | Allowed within 3 months of promotion; one year without allowance-carrying posts | 5:1 weightage, at most 2 years, after 3 years actual service in the bank |
| Union Bank of India | Not stated in the circular | Governed by the promotion policy, not reproduced | Governed by the promotion policy, not reproduced | 1 year for every 5 years, at most 2 years, if the option was not used earlier |
| Punjab National Bank | Not stated in the circular | Debar rules are in HRMD circular 494 of 26.03.2020, not reproduced | Same circular | Not stated in the circular |
Where this guide stops
We did not find a promotion circular for Canara Bank, Indian Bank, UCO Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Overseas Bank or Punjab and Sind Bank, and we do not state a rule for them. We also found no primary document for regional rural banks and co-operative banks, whose clerical staff are promoted under each bank’s own service regulations. SBI runs its own scheme for Junior Associates; our notice-board page on SBI clerk to officer promotion records what is public. Private-sector banks do not have an award-staff cadre of this kind, so nothing here applies to them. Where your bank is not listed, the only reliable source is its own HR circular.
The same logic applies one rung up: promotion from Scale I to Scale II and from Scale II to Scale III follows different bank rules; see Scale I to Scale II and Scale II to Scale III. The next guides in this series cover the exam pattern and syllabus, merit and seniority selection, officer pay and banking-law preparation.
Practise it, don't just read it
Eligibility gets you to the test. The test is the part you can still improve, and four of its published areas are banking law, deposits, lending and customer service.
Five practice quizzes of ten questions each are live: Banker-Customer Relationship and Deposits, Negotiable Instruments Act and Cheques, KYC and Anti-Money Laundering, Priority Sector Lending, and Loans, Securities and NPAs. Every answer carries an explanation.
More in this series
- Exam pattern and syllabus by bank
- Selection: merit, seniority, vacancies and posting
- Officer pay after promotion: Scale I, DA and allowances
- Preparation: banking law, KYC, PSL and NPAs
- SBI clerk to officer promotion (Trainee Officer / JMGS-I): what is public
- Bank promotion Scale I to Scale II: cycles we could source
- Bank promotion Scale II to Scale III: cycles we could source
- JAIIB and CAIIB increments and PQP: pay calculator
- JAIIB and CAIIB syllabus: every paper and module on one map
- Alerts and updates for JAIIB / CAIIB (IIBF)
Is JAIIB or CAIIB compulsory for promotion from clerk to officer?
Not in any of the five circulars we read (Bank of Baroda, Union Bank, PNB, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra). It shortens the service you need in Bank of Baroda for non-graduates and in Bank of Maharashtra for graduates in the Merit channel, and it earns marks in Union Bank, PNB, Bank of India and Bank of Maharashtra.
How many years of service does a graduate clerk need?
It depends on the bank. A graduate needs 3 years in Bank of Baroda (All India channel), PNB (plus 6 priority marks) and Bank of India, 2 or 3 years in Union Bank depending on the channel, and 5 years in Bank of Maharashtra’s Merit channel unless he or she holds JAIIB or CAIIB.
Can a clerk who is not a graduate be promoted?
Yes in the five circulars: Bank of Baroda 7 years (or 4 with JAIIB, 3 with CAIIB), Bank of India 8 years, PNB with a matriculation pass and 3 years plus priority marks, Bank of Maharashtra 5 years in the Merit channel. Bank of Baroda’s non-graduate rows apply to clerks who were non-graduates on the date of its 2025 settlement.
Is there an age limit?
Bank of Baroda prints a maximum age of 55 at the cut-off date for both channels. The Union Bank, PNB and Bank of India circulars print none. Bank of Maharashtra requires at least 2 years of residual service instead.
Which date do banks use to count my service?
A cut-off date fixed in each circular, not the application date: 01.04.2026 for Bank of Baroda, 31.01.2026 for Union Bank, 01.04.2026 for PNB service, 31.08.2026 for Bank of India service and 20.08.2026 for its qualifications, and 1 April of the process year for Bank of Maharashtra.
Does SBI follow the same eligibility?
We state no SBI rule here. SBI runs its own scheme for clerical staff, and its promotion circulars are internal. Our notice-board page for SBI records what is public.
Sources
- reported — Bank of Baroda circular HO:BR:117:239 of 21.10.2025 with its Notice (Annexure I) and application guide: promotion from Clerical to Officers’ cadre in JMG/Scale I, 2026-27 (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by Adda247)
- reported — Union Bank of India Staff Circular 101648-2026 of 03.02.2026: Promotion Process from Clerical to Officer Cadre (JMGS-I) 2025-26, with Annexures I-III (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- reported — Punjab National Bank HRMD Circular No. 859/2025 of 12.11.2025: Selection of Officers in JMG Scale-I from Clerical Cadre 2026-27 (Selectivity Channel) (full text of the bank’s own circular, marked internal; copy hosted by Adda247)
- reported — Bank of India Circular letter 2026-27/029 (Ref HO:HR:PROM:108) of 13.08.2026 with Notice of 13.08.2026: Promotion from Clerical Cadre to General Banking Officers’ Cadre, JMGS-I (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- reported — Bank of India Circular letter 2025-26/039 (Ref HO:HR:PROM:141) of 06.09.2025 with Notice of 06.09.2025: same promotion, 983 vacancies, test 12.10.2025 (full text; copy hosted by Adda247)
- reported — Bank of Maharashtra circular AX-1/HRM/BM/RP/Cir_72/2024-25 of 28.08.2024 with the Award Staff Promotion Policy approved by its Board on 07.06.2024 (clerical to officer cadre, JMGS-I) (full text of the bank’s own policy; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- official — 12th Bipartite Settlement dated 08.03.2024 between IBA and the workmen unions: clerical scale of pay (clause 5) and DA (clause 13) (copy hosted by Union Bank of India)
- official — IBA and Officers’ Associations: 9th Joint Note dated 08.03.2024 (salary revision for officers w.e.f. 01.11.2022): pay scales, Pay definition, DA, HRA, CCA, special and learning allowance, fitment on promotion (clause 7) (copy hosted by Union Bank of India)
- reported — Bankopedia, "Bank promotion" index page (one-line summaries per bank; shown only where we contradict it)
- reported — Oliveboard, "Promotion of clerks to officer cadre in PSU banks" (general explainer; no bank-wise circulars)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.








