Checked 3 October 2026. Banks change the test every few cycles. Bank of India’s test is on 04.10.2026; Bank of Baroda’s last test was 22.11.2025; Union Bank’s date was to be intimated. Bank of Maharashtra’s pattern is from its 2024 policy. Union Bank’s syllabus annexure is visibly old.
There is no common syllabus or pattern for the clerk to officer promotion test. Bank of Baroda tests candidates on 60 marks in two subjects; Union Bank runs one 100-mark paper for one channel and four 100-mark papers for the other; PNB sets two 100-mark papers with 30% or 40% needed in each; Bank of India sets 130 questions worth 65 marks in 130 minutes; Bank of Maharashtra sets 160 marks of banking and IT plus a qualifying English paper. Preparing from a generic bank-exam syllabus therefore wastes time. This guide lists what each bank printed and where our five quiz topics sit inside it.
Two limits first. Only Bank of India states the duration and the absence of negative marking in the circular we read; the others are silent, so we state nothing for them. And only Union Bank and PNB print syllabus text. Bank of Baroda, Bank of India and Bank of Maharashtra print the subject names and leave the content to "banking" and "your bank’s own guidelines". The bank circulars quoted here are the banks’ own staff documents. None of them is on a bank’s public careers page, so we read them in copies hosted by exam-preparation sites and name the host in the source list. Check the current circular on your own bank’s HR portal before you act.
The test, bank by bank
| Bank (circular) | Test | Subjects and maximum marks | Qualifying marks | Interview |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda (21.10.2025) | Online, objective. Seniority and All India channels | Bank’s internal products, guidelines and banking operations: 40 (All India), 30 (Seniority). Digital banking and banking technology: 20 in both | All India 20 + 8 = 28 of 60. Seniority 12 + 8 = 20 of 50 | 25 marks (All India), 20 marks (Seniority); no second chance if absent |
| Union Bank of India (03.02.2026): State Services | Online, objective, bilingual. One paper | Practical Banking and Computer Application on Core Banking Solution (CBS): 100 | 35% (30% for SC/ST/PwD) | Not stated for this channel in the circular |
| Union Bank of India: All India Services | Online, objective. Four subjects | Banking 100; CBS/IT 100; Commercial Law or Accountancy (or both) 100; English 100 | 35% in each subject (30% for SC/ST/PwD). English is qualifying only and not used for ranking | 20 marks, no minimum; up to 25 marks for service, rural service, experience and qualifications |
| Punjab National Bank (12.11.2025) | Online, objective, bilingual (Hindi and English). Two papers; Special Customer Service Associates sit Paper I only | Paper I: banking routine, deposits, customer service, priority sector, special credit schemes, loans, loan documentation, practice and law of banking. Paper II: economics, general knowledge, accountancy. 100 each | 40% in each paper (30% for SC/ST) | None mentioned; qualification marks (up to 25) and service marks (up to 25) are added |
| Bank of India (13.08.2026) | Online, objective, multiple choice; 130 questions in 130 minutes; no negative marking | Banking and Banking Law and Practice: 65 marks | 22.00 of 65 (18.75 for SC/ST/PwD) | None; service (20) and qualification (15) marks are added |
| Bank of Maharashtra (policy, 2024) | Written, three papers. Duration not stated | Banking 130 questions, 130 marks; Information Technology 30 questions, 30 marks; English 40 questions, 40 marks | 80 of 160 (72 for SC/ST) and 15 of 30 in IT (14 for SC/ST); English 14 of 40 (12 for SC/ST), not counted in the total | Merit channel 20 marks (minimum 8); Seniority channel 50 marks (minimum 20) |
Duration and negative marking are printed only in the Bank of India notice. For every other bank we state nothing about them.
From the circulars above. The Bank of Baroda and PNB circulars do not print a full marks split, so they are left out. Union Bank’s total is our addition; its circular states no total.
The test is not one standard paper
- Bank of Baroda tests two subjects: banking operations and digital banking.
- Bank of India tests banking and banking law only.
- PNB adds economics, general knowledge and accountancy.
- Union Bank’s All India channel includes commercial law or accountancy and an English paper that only qualifies.
- None of the five circulars prints a reasoning or quantitative paper.
Our reading of the five circulars; each bank sets its own test.
What the published syllabi say
Union Bank prints the longest syllabus (Annexure II to its circular). It is also visibly old: its IT section lists Windows 98, 2000 and XP and its accountancy section refers to Schedule VI of the Companies Act, 1956, so treat it as a list of topics, not a description of today’s paper. PNB prints a one-line description of each paper. The other three banks print subject names only.
| Bank | Area | What is printed |
|---|---|---|
| Union Bank of India, Annexure II | Practical Banking | Deposits (savings, who can open, minors and illiterate persons; current; term; NRI accounts; dormant accounts); banking operations; the Negotiable Instruments Act; remittances; cash department; customer service (Goiporia committee, consumer protection, ombudsman); changing trends in banking, income recognition norms and the Narasimham committee |
| Union Bank of India, Annexure II | Commercial Law | Contract; indemnity and guarantee; bailment and pledge; agency; negotiable instruments; sale of goods and partnership; bills of lading and letter of credit; insurance; insolvency; company law; transfer of actionable claims (mortgages and charges); Stamp, Registration and Limitation Acts |
| Union Bank of India, Annexure II | Accountancy, CBS/IT, English | Journal rules to company accounts; IT awareness and the bank’s technology products; Core Banking (Finacle) general ledger, customer accounts, payment system, posting and reports; functional grammar and comprehension |
| Union Bank of India, Annexure II | Negotiable Instruments Act sections named | 4, 5, 6, 10, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 31, 45, 47, 48, 49, 64, 84, 85, 87, 118, 123 to 131 and 138 to 142 |
| Punjab National Bank | Paper I | Knowledge of banking routine, deposit mobilisation schemes, customer service, priority sector, special credit schemes, conventional loans, loan documentation, practice and law of banking |
| Punjab National Bank | Paper II | Economics, general knowledge and accountancy |
| Bank of India | Written test | "various areas of Banking / Banking Law and Practice"; no topic list |
| Bank of Baroda | Online test | Subject names only: bank’s internal products and guidelines, banking operations; digital banking and banking technology |
| Bank of Maharashtra | Written test | Subject names only: banking, information technology, English. The interview is described as judging awareness of general banking, the bank’s products, procedures and systems |
Where our five quiz topics sit in those texts
Our five practice quizzes were written from the subject matter banks name in this exam: banking law and practice, RBI guidelines, priority sector lending, KYC and anti-money-laundering norms, and deposits and advances. Here is how that maps onto what the five circulars actually print.
| Quiz topic | Union Bank | PNB | Bank of India, Bank of Baroda, Bank of Maharashtra |
|---|---|---|---|
| Banker-customer relationship and deposits | Named: deposit accounts, minors, dormant accounts, customer service | Named: deposit mobilisation schemes, customer service | Inside "banking" and "banking operations"; no topic list |
| Negotiable Instruments Act and cheques | Named, with section numbers | Inside "practice and law of banking" | Bank of India names "Banking Law and Practice"; the others print nothing more |
| KYC and anti-money laundering | Not named | Not named | Not named |
| Priority sector lending | Not named | Named: "priority sector" | Not named |
| Loans, securities and NPAs | Named in part: income recognition norms, indemnity and guarantee, bailment and pledge, mortgages and charges | Named: conventional loans, loan documentation | Inside "banking"; no topic list |
Read the KYC row carefully: none of the five circulars names KYC or anti-money-laundering. It is a standard part of banking operations and law, and a branch clerk meets it daily, but no circular lists it, so we cannot tell you any bank tests it in a given year. Our NI Act quiz and Union Bank’s list overlap fully on section numbers: every section the quiz names (6, 85, 87, 124, 130, 131, 138 and 142) sits inside Union Bank’s list (our comparison).
A checklist built from the published areas
Syllabus tracker: published areas by topic
Tick each area as you finish it. Every line below comes from the Union Bank or PNB syllabus text, or from a quiz topic named in this exam; your own bank’s circular decides what is tested.
0 of 22 done
Ticks are saved only in this browser on this device.
How much time you get, and how to use it
Only Bank of India publishes the clock: 130 questions in 130 minutes, one minute a question (our arithmetic). With no negative marking printed, leaving a question blank can only cost marks at Bank of India, so a first pass that answers everything is the sensible plan there. At Bank of Maharashtra the policy prints 130 banking and 30 IT questions plus 40 in English, 200 questions in all, but no duration; a candidate preparing for that test has to rely on the bank’s own information handout.
The qualifying marks matter as much as the ranking marks. At Bank of Baroda a candidate who scores well in banking but under 8 of 20 in digital banking fails the All India channel regardless of the total. At Bank of Maharashtra a candidate needs 15 of 30 in IT even with 80 or more of 160 overall. At PNB each paper has its own bar. Check the sectional bars first, then the total.
Practise it, don't just read it
Four of the topics above are law and regulation, and they are the ones with fixed answers you can drill. Try one quiz, read every explanation, then move to the next.
Five practice quizzes of ten questions each are live: Banker-Customer Relationship and Deposits, Negotiable Instruments Act and Cheques, KYC and Anti-Money Laundering, Priority Sector Lending, and Loans, Securities and NPAs. Every answer carries an explanation.
Next in this series: how selection works between merit and seniority and a preparation plan built on banking law. For eligibility by bank see the eligibility guide.
More in this series
- Eligibility by bank: years, JAIIB/CAIIB, age
- Selection: merit, seniority, vacancies and posting
- Officer pay after promotion: Scale I, DA and allowances
- Preparation: banking law, KYC, PSL and NPAs
- SBI clerk to officer promotion (Trainee Officer / JMGS-I): what is public
- Bank promotion Scale I to Scale II: cycles we could source
- Bank promotion Scale II to Scale III: cycles we could source
- JAIIB and CAIIB increments and PQP: pay calculator
- JAIIB and CAIIB syllabus: every paper and module on one map
- Alerts and updates for JAIIB / CAIIB (IIBF)
What is the exam pattern for bank clerk to officer promotion?
It differs by bank. Bank of Baroda: 60 marks in two subjects (All India channel) or 50 (Seniority). Union Bank: one 100-mark paper (State Services) or four 100-mark papers (All India Services). PNB: two papers of 100 marks. Bank of India: 130 questions, 65 marks, 130 minutes. Bank of Maharashtra: 160 marks of banking and IT plus a qualifying English paper.
Is there negative marking in the promotion test?
Only the Bank of India notice says: it states there is no negative marking. The Bank of Baroda, Union Bank, PNB and Bank of Maharashtra documents we read do not say either way.
Is there an interview in clerk to officer promotion?
Bank of Baroda: yes, 25 marks (All India) or 20 (Seniority). Union Bank: yes in the All India channel, 20 marks. Bank of Maharashtra: yes, 20 marks (Merit) or 50 (Seniority). PNB and Bank of India: no interview is mentioned in the circulars; marks for qualification and service are added to the test.
Is KYC or anti-money laundering in the syllabus?
None of the five circulars names it. It sits within banking operations and banking law, so it is reasonable to know it, but no circular we read lists it as a topic.
Is there a syllabus for the promotion test?
Union Bank prints a detailed one (Annexure II, which is dated) and PNB describes its two papers in a line each. Bank of Baroda, Bank of India and Bank of Maharashtra print subject names only.
Which language is the test in?
Union Bank and PNB print that the question paper is bilingual, in Hindi and English. The other circulars do not say.
Sources
- reported — Bank of Baroda circular HO:BR:117:239 of 21.10.2025 with its Notice (Annexure I) and application guide: promotion from Clerical to Officers’ cadre in JMG/Scale I, 2026-27 (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by Adda247)
- reported — Union Bank of India Staff Circular 101648-2026 of 03.02.2026: Promotion Process from Clerical to Officer Cadre (JMGS-I) 2025-26, with Annexures I-III (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- reported — Punjab National Bank HRMD Circular No. 859/2025 of 12.11.2025: Selection of Officers in JMG Scale-I from Clerical Cadre 2026-27 (Selectivity Channel) (full text of the bank’s own circular, marked internal; copy hosted by Adda247)
- reported — Bank of India Circular letter 2026-27/029 (Ref HO:HR:PROM:108) of 13.08.2026 with Notice of 13.08.2026: Promotion from Clerical Cadre to General Banking Officers’ Cadre, JMGS-I (full text of the bank’s own circular; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- reported — Bank of Maharashtra circular AX-1/HRM/BM/RP/Cir_72/2024-25 of 28.08.2024 with the Award Staff Promotion Policy approved by its Board on 07.06.2024 (clerical to officer cadre, JMGS-I) (full text of the bank’s own policy; copy hosted by BankersAdda)
- official — Our audited practice-quiz bank for this exam (50 questions, five quizzes, all matching the live quizzes on 03.10.2026)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.








