Updates as of September 22, 2026
Punjab National Bank's promotion notification of 14 October 2025 covered MMG Scale-II to MMG Scale-III alongside the other officer steps, with the willingness window 14 to 21 October 2025, controlling-office approval by 23 October 2025 and the written test on 07 December 2025. The Scale-II to Scale-III feeder cut-offs were set at 01 April 2021 for the normal non-rural channel and 01 April 2023 for the merit, fast track and technical channels.
Adda247 (coaching, sole source seen)Punjab National Bank applied a distinct rural condition at this rung. For the Scale-II to Scale-III normal rural channel the feeder cut-off was 01 October 2021 with four years of rural service required, and unlike the Scale-I to Scale-II step no prior rural incentive was carried forward. Officers reading across from their last promotion frequently miscount on exactly this clause.
Adda247 (coaching, sole source seen)Canara Bank's promotion process covered MMG Scale-II, MMG Scale-III and SMG Scale-IV in one circular. For Scale-III the merit channel required officers to be in the feeder cadre on or before 01 April 2023 with three years of qualifying service, while the normal channel required promotion to Scale-II by 01 April 2021 with five years. Willingness closed 30 September 2025 and the online test was held 23 November 2025.
Bankers Adda (coaching, sole source seen)The subject emphasis shifts at this rung. The Scale-II to Scale-III paper is described as weighted towards advanced banking operations, credit management and risk assessment, against the operational knowledge, customer service and basic banking law focus reported for Scale-I to Scale-II. No source reviewed publishes a question count or duration binding on all banks.
JAIIB CAIIB Online (coaching, sole source seen)Bank of India's public notice of 01 August 2026 under Project 2026-27/02, with applications from 10 to 25 September 2026, recruits MMGS-III officers from the open market and is not an internal promotion notice. Its scheme, a 25-mark qualifying English test with a 100-mark professional knowledge paper, one-fourth negative marking and 60:40 weighting between test and interview, applies to that recruitment only.
Bank of India (official)Scale II to Scale III promotion, bank by bank, as sourced
| Bank | Feeder requirement | Rural condition | Latest cycle seen |
|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab National Bank, normal non-rural | In MMG Scale-II on or before 01.04.2021 | None stated for this channel | Notified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025 |
| Punjab National Bank, normal rural | In MMG Scale-II on or before 01.10.2021 | Four years rural service, no prior rural incentive carried forward | Notified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025 |
| Punjab National Bank, merit, fast track and technical | In MMG Scale-II on or before 01.04.2023 | None stated for these channels | Notified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025 |
| Canara Bank, merit channel | In the feeder cadre on or before 01.04.2023 with three years qualifying service | Not stated in the source seen | Willingness 30.09.2025, online test 23.11.2025 |
| Canara Bank, normal channel | Promoted to Scale-II by 01.04.2021 with five years qualifying service | Not stated in the source seen | Willingness 30.09.2025, online test 23.11.2025 |
The two banks that could be sourced use different machinery for the same rung. Punjab National Bank defines eligibility purely by a feeder cut-off date that varies by channel; Canara Bank pairs a feeder date with an explicit years-of-service figure reckoned as on 01 April 2026. Canara Bank also folds Scale-III into one circular with Scale-II and Scale-IV, so a single willingness deadline governs three rungs.
Dates and windows
| What | When | Status |
|---|---|---|
| PNB promotion notification covering MMGS-II to MMGS-III | 14 October 2025 | Closed |
| PNB willingness window and controlling-office approval | 14 to 21 October 2025, approval by 23 October 2025 | Closed |
| PNB promotion written test | 07 December 2025 | Closed |
| Canara Bank willingness for Scale-II, Scale-III and Scale-IV | 30 September 2025 | Closed |
| Canara Bank online promotion test | 23 November 2025 | Closed |
| Canara Bank eligibility reckoning date | 01 April 2026 | Confirmed |
| Canara Bank retirement cut-off for the cycle | 31 March 2026 | Confirmed |
| Next Scale II to Scale III cycle at any bank | Not announced publicly; issued on each bank's intranet | Tentative |
These dates belong to two named banks and to one cycle each. No source reviewed publishes a forward 2026-27 date for a Scale II to Scale III process at any public sector bank, and nothing here should be read as a common calendar.
What this means for your preparation
Officers reaching this rung usually assume the Scale II to Scale III process mirrors the Scale I to Scale II one they already cleared at the same bank. The sourced circulars show it does not. Punjab National Bank moved the rural channel's feeder date from 01 April 2022 at the lower rung to 01 October 2021 here, and withdrew the prior rural incentive that applied below. The rules are rewritten rung by rung and cycle by cycle.
The rural clause changes between rungs at the same bank
At Punjab National Bank the Scale-I to Scale-II normal rural channel worked off a 01 April 2022 feeder date with a four-year rural service requirement, and a three-year variant shifted the date to 01 October 2021. At Scale-II to Scale-III the normal rural channel sits at 01 October 2021 with four years of rural service and, per the source, no prior rural incentive carried forward. An officer who banked rural service against the earlier promotion cannot assume it counts again. Recompute rural service from the current circular's wording rather than from the arithmetic that worked last time.
One circular, three rungs, one deadline
Canara Bank issued a single promotion process document covering MMG Scale-II, MMG Scale-III and SMG Scale-IV, with willingness closing 30 September 2025 and the online test on 23 November 2025 across the set. That structure has a practical consequence: a Scale-II officer marginal on the Scale-III merit channel and comfortable on the normal channel must resolve which channel to opt for inside the same short window, with eligibility reckoned as on 01 April 2026 and a retirement cut-off of 31 March 2026 also in play. There is no separate, later Scale-III window to fall back on.
Two years separate the merit and normal routes
Both sourced banks put roughly a two-year gap between the fast route and the seniority route at this rung. Canara Bank requires three years of qualifying service for the merit channel against five for the normal channel; Punjab National Bank sets 01 April 2023 for merit, fast track and technical against 01 April 2021 for normal non-rural. The merit route is therefore available to officers with barely half the service of their normal-channel peers, but it competes on test performance rather than seniority. Deciding between the two is a judgement about the paper, not about waiting.
The paper moves from operations to credit and risk
The only description of syllabus emphasis that could be sourced holds that Scale-II to Scale-III weighs advanced banking operations, credit management and risk assessment, where Scale-I to Scale-II weighs day-to-day operational knowledge, customer service and basic banking law. That is consistent with the role: Scale-III typically carries larger sanctioning powers. It is a coaching-site characterisation rather than an official syllabus, and no question count, duration or negative-marking rule for a Scale-II to Scale-III paper could be sourced from any bank, so the credit and risk emphasis should be treated as direction, not specification.
Verify against the intranet copy, not a search result
Promotion circulars are issued on staff systems. Punjab National Bank routed willingness through its HRMS portal and Union Bank of India used its internal employee portal for a separate exercise, so the versions reachable by public search are secondhand reproductions on coaching sites. None of the reproductions located here carried the pattern or qualifying-mark sections at all. Before acting on any figure on this page, open your own bank's current circular and confirm the feeder date, the channel definition and the reckoning date as it is written there.
Common questions
How many years in Scale II are needed for promotion to Scale III?
It varies by bank and channel. Canara Bank required three years of qualifying service for the merit channel and five years for the normal channel, with the normal channel also requiring promotion to Scale-II by 01 April 2021 and everything reckoned as on 01 April 2026. Punjab National Bank instead used feeder cut-off dates: 01 April 2021 for normal non-rural, 01 October 2021 for normal rural and 01 April 2023 for merit, fast track and technical.
Does rural service count towards Scale II to Scale III promotion?
At Punjab National Bank it defines a separate channel. The Scale-II to Scale-III normal rural route was set at a feeder date of 01 October 2021 with four years of rural service required, and the source states that no prior rural incentive is carried forward at this rung, unlike the position at Scale-I to Scale-II. The Canara Bank source seen does not state a rural condition for Scale-III. Confirm the clause in your own bank's circular.
Is the Scale II to Scale III syllabus different from Scale I to Scale II?
According to the one source that addresses it, yes. Scale-II to Scale-III is described as emphasising advanced banking operations, credit management and risk assessment, while Scale-I to Scale-II is described as focused on operational knowledge, customer service and basic banking laws. This is a coaching-site characterisation, not an official syllabus document, and no bank-issued syllabus for the Scale-II to Scale-III paper could be sourced in this review.
When was the last Scale II to Scale III promotion test held?
Two cycles could be dated. Canara Bank held its online promotion test, covering Scale-II, Scale-III and Scale-IV together, on 23 November 2025 after closing willingness on 30 September 2025. Punjab National Bank held its promotion written test on 07 December 2025, following a notification dated 14 October 2025 and a willingness window of 14 to 21 October 2025. No source reviewed announces the next cycle at either bank.
Is the Bank of India MMGS-III notice a promotion exam?
No. Bank of India's notice dated 01 August 2026 under Project 2026-27/02, with applications from 10 to 25 September 2026, is open-market recruitment into Scales I to IV. Its scheme, a 25-mark qualifying English test, a 100-mark professional knowledge paper over 100 composite minutes, one-fourth negative marking and a 60:40 test-to-interview weighting, describes that recruitment and does not describe internal promotion at Bank of India or anywhere else.
Where do I find my bank's Scale II to Scale III circular?
On the bank's internal HR system. Punjab National Bank collected promotion willingness through its HRMS portal and Union Bank of India used its internal employee portal for a separate promotion exercise, which is why these documents rarely appear on a bank's public recruitment page. Copies circulating on open coaching sites are reproductions and, in this review, omitted the pattern and qualifying-mark sections entirely. Treat the intranet version as the operative document.







