ProSyllabus Journal

SPPU OEE Exam Pattern: 100 Marks, Sections A and B, Negative Marking

How the SPPU campus entrance paper is built — 20 + 80 marks in 2 hours, why question counts differ by programme, the stated ¼ deduction and the 2026 puzzle, online-proctored mode and a calculator.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 3 days agoSPPU OEE · Exam Pattern · PG Entrance
#SPPU OEE exam pattern#Pune University entrance exam pattern#SPPU OEE negative marking#SPPU OEE 2027#SPPU PG entrance exam#SPPU OEE marking scheme
SPPU OEE Exam Pattern: 100 Marks, Sections A and B, Negative Marking

Checked 25 September 2026. From SPPU's 2025 and 2026 OEE notifications (Circulars 30/2025, 58/2026 and 80/2026), the revised 2026 schedule and the programme syllabi. The 2027 notification is not out; SPPU may change the pattern.

Savitribai Phule Pune University fills the master's programmes in its own campus departments — Ganeshkhind plus the sub-centres listed in its notification, not its hundreds of affiliated colleges — through the Online Entrance Examination (OEE). It is often searched as the "SPPU PG entrance" or "Pune University entrance exam", and it is not one paper: every programme sets its own 100-mark test from its own syllabus. This guide explains the rules that are the same for all of them, the details that differ, and the one thing no official document settles — whether negative marking was applied in 2026.

Where other pages get this wrong

The number of questions in the SPPU OEE differs by programme; only the total of 100 marks and the 2 hours are common.

Commonly published instead: "The SPPU OEE is 100 MCQs in 120 minutes for every programme."

The notification fixes 100 marks, 2 hours and a 20 + 80 split between Sections A and B. The 2026 syllabi then print different structures: LL.M. and Anthropology use 100 one-mark questions; M.A. History and M.Sc. Microbiology 20 one-mark plus 40 two-mark questions (60 in all); M.Sc. Zoology, M.A. Social and Public Policy and M.A. Ambedkar Thoughts 50 two-mark questions.

100
marks in every OEE paper
2 hours
for both sections together
20 + 80
Section A (aptitude) + Section B (subject)
¼
of a question's marks deducted per wrong answer, "wherever relevant"

SPPU OEE notifications 2025 and 2026.

The rules every programme shares

RuleWhat SPPU saysSource
Total100 marks, multiple choice; "in case of some Programs, the exam may include few descriptive type questions"Notification 2026 (and 2025)
Section A"General knowledge /aptitude /logic /comprehension/ as per the syllabus" — 20 marksNotification
Section B"Subject specific questions as per the syllabus" — 80 marks; both sections are sat togetherNotification
Duration2 hours, both sections includedNotification
Negative marking"Negative marking system will be applied for evaluation wherever relevant. For every wrong answer 1/4 (one fourth) of the allotted marks of the question will be deducted."Notification 2025 and 2026
MeritOn the total of Sections A and B; ties go to the higher Section B score, then qualifying-exam marks in the subjectNotification
Admit card5 days before the exam (notification); the revised 2026 schedule said admit cards and proctoring instructions would come "by 8th June, 2025" — a typo for 2026, ahead of the 9–10 June mock testNotification; revised schedule
Result certificate"No separate certificate of result will be issued"Notification

How the question count differs by programme

Programme (2026 syllabus)Section ASection BQuestions
LL.M.20 questions × 1 mark80 × 1 (Jurisprudence, Constitutional Law, Law of Crimes, Law of Contracts — 20 each)100
M.A./M.Sc. Anthropology20 marks80 questions × 1 mark; "for each wrong answer 1/4th marks will be deducted"100
M.Sc. Virology20 questions / 20 marks80 questions / 80 marks100
M.A. History20 × 1 mark40 × 2 marks60
M.Sc. Microbiology20 × 1 mark40 × 2 marks60
M.Sc. Zoology10 × 2 marks40 × 2 marks50
M.A. Social and Public Policy · M.A. Ambedkar Thoughts in National Security10 × 2 marks40 × 2 marks50
M.Sc. Biotechnology (5-year)"Paper I": English 5, reasoning 5, aptitude 5, GK 5"Paper II": 80 marksnot stated
M.Sc. Computer Science, Chemistry, Geology, Geography, Health Sciences and others20 marks80 marksnot stated

From the 2026 OEE syllabus PDF of each programme on the CCEP portal. Programmes whose 2026 syllabus we could not find (Economics, M.Com., Politics, Physics and others) are covered in the syllabus guide in this series.

Questions in the paper, by structure (2026 syllabi)
100 × 1 mark (LL.M., Anthropology, Virology)100 questions · 72 sec each
20 × 1 + 40 × 2 (History, Microbiology)60 questions · 2 min each
50 × 2 (Zoology, Social and Public Policy)50 questions · 2.4 min each

Question counts from the 2026 syllabi; time per question is our arithmetic on 2 hours.

The practical point: if the ¼ rule is applied, a two-mark question costs half a mark when you get it wrong (a quarter of two) and gains two when you get it right — the same ratio as a one-mark question, but each decision matters twice as much. SPPU does not say how many options each question has. If there are four, a ¼ penalty makes guessing break even at a one-in-five hit rate, so even a blind guess gains slightly on average (1 in 4 right) and a guess after eliminating one option gains clearly; the penalty mainly punishes confident wrong answers. In a 50-question paper you also have 2.4 minutes a question, which is time to eliminate options properly.

Negative marking: what the documents say, and what the lists show

Both the 2025 and 2026 notifications carry the same sentence — a quarter of the question's marks off for each wrong answer, "wherever relevant". The 2025 PG schedule letter was blunter: "The examination is of 100 marks and it is based on negative marking system." The 2026 revised schedule says only that the examination "is of 100 marks", and the 2026 Anthropology syllabus still prints the ¼ rule.

The merit lists add a puzzle. In the 2025 lists we read, totals run in quarter marks (.25, .75) and even go below zero — the Chemistry list's lowest total was −2 — which is exactly what a ¼ deduction produces. In the 2026 lists with a text layer, every one of about 2,850 scores is a whole number. That is consistent with no deduction being applied in 2026 — but no 2026 document says so. The safe assumption for 2027 is the one the notification states: a quarter off per wrong answer. The calculator below lets you see both.

YearOfficial wordingWhat the merit lists show
2025¼ deduction "wherever relevant"; schedule: "based on negative marking system"Quarter-mark totals; negative totals (Chemistry lowest −2)
2026¼ deduction "wherever relevant" (notification; Anthropology syllabus)Whole-number scores only, in every text-readable list

Our reading of the 2025 and 2026 department merit lists on CCEP (text-layer PDFs; about 2,100 rows in 2025 and 2,850 in 2026). Observed, not explained by SPPU.

Work out your OEE score

Choose the question pattern your programme's syllabus prints, then enter how many you got right and wrong in each section of a mock. Unattempted questions score zero.

Patterns from the 2026 OEE syllabi; the 1/4 deduction "wherever relevant" is in the 2025 and 2026 notifications. Check your own programme's syllabus for its pattern.

Online from home, or at a centre?

In 2026 the two official documents disagree, and the later one governs. The notification said the OEE "will be conducted on Centre base online mode". The revised schedule of 5 June 2026 changed it: "Online Human Proctored Mode", with candidates logging in "from a convenient location" on a "Mobile phone, laptop, PC, Tab, I-pad with working front camera". A mock (demo) test on 9–10 June was mandatory. In 2025 the PG OEE was also home-based: "online Proctored Mode (Home base)", on Moodle, with a mandatory mock test on 28–30 May. So for two years running the PG OEE has been taken from home — but the 2027 mode will only be known from the 2027 notification and schedule.

YearModeMock testPG OEE
2025Online proctored, home base (Moodle)28–30 May 2025 (mandatory)3–5 June 2025
2026Notification: centre-based online. Revised schedule: online human-proctored from a convenient location9–10 June 2026 (mandatory)11–13 June 2026

If it is home-based again, the practical risks are technical, not academic: a front camera that works, a stable connection for two hours, and a quiet room. Take the mock test seriously — it is where a proctoring or login problem shows up while there is still time to fix it.

What the aggregators get wrong

Claim you will seeOfficial position
"100 MCQs, 120 minutes" for every programme100 marks and 2 hours; question counts range from 50 to 100 by programme
"PG OEE 2026 was a CBT at a centre"The revised schedule made it online human-proctored from a convenient location
"OEE held 1–13 June 2026"1–13 June was the tentative window; it was held 11–13 June 2026
M.Sc. Biotechnology "three hours, 0.5 marks deducted"2 hours; ¼ of the question's marks
M.Com. "60 questions in one hour"2 hours, 100 marks, Sections A 20 / B 80 (2026 M.Com. syllabus not found)
M.A. English "no negative marking"The notification's ¼ rule applies "wherever relevant"; the English syllabus is silent

Claims from Buddy4Study, AglaSem and Careers360 pages listed under Sources (marked "reported").

Practise it, don't just read it

Section A is 20 marks in every programme and rewards speed. Timed topic quizzes are the easiest way to practise both sections.

The ProSyllabus SPPU OEE library has topic quizzes for English, Economics, Commerce, Political Science and Computer Science — the first one is free.

Start a SPPU OEE quiz →

What is the SPPU OEE exam pattern?

A 100-mark, 2-hour online paper per programme: Section A (general knowledge, aptitude, logic, comprehension) for 20 marks and Section B (the subject) for 80.

How many questions are there in the SPPU OEE?

It depends on the programme. The 2026 syllabi print 100 for LL.M. and Anthropology, 60 for M.A. History and M.Sc. Microbiology, and 50 for M.Sc. Zoology.

Is there negative marking in the SPPU OEE?

The notification says a quarter of the question's marks is deducted for each wrong answer "wherever relevant". 2025 merit lists show quarter-mark totals; 2026 lists show only whole numbers, and no 2026 document explains why.

Is the SPPU OEE online from home?

In 2025 and 2026 the PG OEE was online proctored from a convenient location, with a mandatory mock test. The 2027 mode will be in the 2027 notification.

How long is the SPPU OEE?

Two hours, both sections together.

Is the SPPU OEE the same for every PG programme?

No. Each programme has its own paper and syllabus; only the 100 marks, 2 hours and 20/80 split are common.

How is the SPPU OEE merit decided?

On the total of Sections A and B. Ties go to the higher Section B score, then the qualifying-exam marks in the subject.

Is there a descriptive part in the SPPU OEE?

The notification says some programmes may include "few descriptive type questions"; none of the 2026 syllabi we read prints one.

Does SPPU give a scorecard for the OEE?

No. The result is shown on the CCEP portal and "no separate certificate of result will be issued".

Is SPPU OEE for affiliated colleges?

No. It is for SPPU's own campus departments and the sub-centres named in the notification.

This chapter is part of the SPPU OEE (Savitribai Phule Pune University Online Entrance Exam) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Practice Quiz

Test your SPPU OEE (Savitribai Phule Pune University Online Entrance Exam) prep

Dual AI-verified questions Real exam pattern 1 free quiz every month, then ₹9 per quiz — or a monthly plan

#1

SPPU OEE — Computer Science

Start here
10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

4.5/10avg score
6/10best
#2

SPPU OEE — English

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

4.5/10avg score
5/10best
#3

SPPU OEE — Political Science

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#4

SPPU OEE — Commerce

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#5

SPPU OEE — Economics

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

More on SPPU OEE (Savitribai Phule Pune University Online Entrance Exam)6 guides

SPPU OEE Syllabus and Preparation: Programme-Wise Topics and a PlanThe official SPPU OEE syllabi for Computer Science, Mathematics, Chemistry, English, Economics, History and LL.M., which ones carry sample questions, why past papers do not exist, and a plan.SPPU OEE 2027: Expected Timeline, Application Steps and Admission RoundsWhat the 2025 and 2026 SPPU OEE cycles show about 2027 — notification, two extensions, June exams, department merit lists — plus how to apply on CCEP and how admission rounds work.SPPU OEE Reservation: the 70/30 Quota, Domicile Rules and FeesHow SPPU splits campus PG seats — 70% for its own Maharashtra-domiciled graduates, 30% for other universities — what that means for out-of-state candidates, with fees and a seat-split calculator.SPPU OEE Merit Lists 2026: Score Levels, Seats and What a Cut-off MeansWhat the 2026 SPPU OEE merit lists show — candidates, seats, highest, median and lowest scores for 10 programmes, the 2025 comparison, and why SPPU publishes no cut-off.SPPU OEE Programmes, Seats and Eligibility: Every Campus PG CourseEvery SPPU campus PG programme in the 2026-27 OEE notification with its intake, whether it was examined, the 10% extra seats, eligibility conditions and which courses use MAH-CET or GATE instead.Alerts and Updates for SPPU OEE (Savitribai Phule Pune University Online Entrance Exam)What is verifiable about the 2026-27 SPPU Online Entrance Examination cycle, where the aggregator sources contradict each other, and why the university portal could not be read directly

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article