Checked 25 September 2026. From the SPLE Applicant Guide (Sep 2025) and SCFHS's membership criteria (Aug 2025, Arabic; translated by us). The criteria do not mention Pharm.D; SCFHS decides each qualification.
Two separate SCFHS rules decide an Indian pharmacist's path to Saudi Arabia. The first says who may sit the SPLE, and it is generous. The second says who SCFHS will classify as a practitioner, and for anyone trained outside the Kingdom it asks for a year of experience. This guide separates the two, sets out the grades SCFHS's August 2025 criteria give pharmacy qualifications, and is plain about the one thing those criteria do not say: how they treat a Pharm.D.
SPLE Applicant Guide (Sep 2025); SCFHS membership criteria (Aug 2025).
Sitting the exam versus being classified
| Question | What SCFHS says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who may sit the SPLE? | Holders of a recognised primary degree from an accredited programme, those who have commenced the internship year, or students one year away from graduation | SPLE Applicant Guide (Sep 2025) |
| What about final-year students? | A separate note says Saudi university students can sit during the final year | SPLE Applicant Guide |
| Who may be classified? | A non-Saudi with a basic qualification from outside the Kingdom needs at least twelve months' experience | Membership criteria STD-101-006 §5.1 |
| Who is exempt from the 12 months? | Those who completed their internship year entirely inside the Kingdom, or whose foreign qualification is equated at master's level or higher | Membership criteria §5.2 |
Where other pages get this wrong
You do not need a year of experience to sit the SPLE — only to be classified.
Commonly published instead: "One year of post-graduation experience is required to apply for the SPLE."
The SPLE guide lets graduates, interns and students one year from graduating sit the exam. The twelve-month experience rule is in SCFHS's membership criteria and applies when SCFHS classifies a practitioner trained outside the Kingdom.
In practice an Indian pharmacist can pass the SPLE early and hold the result while gaining the experience. Plan around the classification rule: an employer may make an offer before classification, but you cannot be registered to practise until SCFHS has classified you, and it will not classify a non-Saudi without twelve months' experience. The SPLE guide states no general validity period for a pass, so do not sit years ahead of applying.
The pharmacy grades in the August 2025 criteria
| Qualification level | Grade | Assessment | Experience |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's (level 6) | Pharmacist (صيدلي) | Professional practice licence exam or classification exam | 1 year for non-Saudis |
| Master's (level 7) | Senior Pharmacist (صيدلي أول) | Exam or evaluation | 2 years |
| Doctorate (level 8) | Consultant Pharmacist (صيدلي استشاري) | Exam or evaluation | 3 years |
Appendix B of SCFHS's membership criteria (August 2025, in Arabic), translated by us, subject to the criteria's experience and assessment-exemption rules. For pharmacy the entry requirement is a professionally equated bachelor's in pharmacy; master's and doctorate qualifications earned after the bachelor's are graded by Appendix B. The fee schedule also lists a "Pharmacist trainee" grade; the criteria that grant it are not published.
Where Indian qualifications land
| Indian qualification | Most likely grade | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| B.Pharm (four years) | Pharmacist | High — a bachelor's in pharmacy |
| B.Pharm + M.Pharm | Senior Pharmacist, if SCFHS equates the M.Pharm at master's level | Moderate — SCFHS decides the equivalence |
| Pharm.D (six years) | Not stated | The August 2025 criteria we translated do not mention Pharm.D or Doctor of Pharmacy |
| B.Pharm + Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) | Not stated | As above |
| D.Pharm (two-year diploma) | Not a Pharmacist grade | The Pharmacist grade requires a bachelor's |
The experience in the grade table and the twelve-month rule are separate tests: the twelve months is the minimum for any non-Saudi trained abroad, while Senior and Consultant grades carry their own two- and three-year experience requirements. A qualification equated at master's level lifts the first, not the second.
The Pharm.D question is genuinely open. SCFHS's criteria tie the Pharmacist grade to a bachelor's and higher grades to a master's or doctorate after the bachelor's. An Indian Pharm.D is a six-year first degree, not a doctorate after a bachelor's, and nothing in the August 2025 criteria says which way SCFHS reads it. (Older SCFHS material addressed Pharm.D certificates separately; whether it still applies is not stated.) Do not assume it earns a senior grade; submit it for classification and let SCFHS decide. A practical consequence: the master's-level exemption from the 12-month rule may or may not apply to a Pharm.D.
Where are you on the SPLE route?
A worked timeline for an Indian B.Pharm
| Stage | SPLE | SCFHS classification |
|---|---|---|
| Final year of B.Pharm | Possibly — the guide allows students a year from graduating; confirm in Mumaris+ | Not yet — no degree |
| Graduated, practising under 12 months | May sit | Not yet — under 12 months' experience |
| Practising 12 months or more | Pass needed if not already held | Can apply, with verification and documents |
| Job offer from a Saudi employer | — | Registration once you have lawful residence |
Our illustration of the SPLE guide and the membership criteria. Sitting early is not wasted: the result is what classification uses, and a pass leaves you free to spend the year gaining the experience.
If you hold an M.Pharm
A master's in pharmacy opens the Senior Pharmacist grade in SCFHS's criteria — but only if SCFHS equates your M.Pharm as a master's-level qualification in the specialty, and the route is "exam or evaluation" with two years' experience rather than the SPLE alone. A qualification equated at master's level also exempts a non-Saudi from the twelve-month experience rule under §5.2 of the criteria. Both depend on SCFHS's equivalence decision for your particular degree, so submit it for classification and treat the senior grade as possible rather than certain.
Registration at home and verification
SCFHS asks for a licence or registration from your home country with a verification letter, and every qualification, experience letter and licence is verified with the body that issued it — directly, through its official website, or through SCFHS's approved verifier. For an Indian pharmacist that means the university, each employer and the State Pharmacy Council where you are registered under the Pharmacy Act, 1948 (our reading; SCFHS names no Indian body). If an issuing body does not respond within 20 working days, SCFHS records it as unable to verify and the application is rejected; a negative result is referred to SCFHS's violations committee. Warn your college and employers before verification starts.
What counts as experience
The experience rules
- In your specialty. The criteria say experience must be in the practitioner's specialty, with the professional councils setting its nature and minimum length.
- After the internship, on the safe reading — the only internship-based exemption is an internship done entirely inside Saudi Arabia.
- Verifiable. SCFHS or its approved verifier contacts the issuing body; if it does not respond within 20 working days, the application is rejected as unverifiable (procedural guide, Aug 2025).
- Current. A break in practice is dealt with through extra training, assessment or CPD, case by case.
SCFHS membership criteria (Aug 2025); procedural guide (Aug 2025).
Before you apply: a checklist
- Name consistency. Passport, degree, transcripts, council registration and experience letters should carry the same spelling — your SPLE scheduling permit uses one name.
- Registration at home. Current State Pharmacy Council registration, and a verification letter from it.
- Experience you can prove. At least twelve months, in pharmacy practice, from employers who will answer a verification request within 20 working days.
- Your grade question answered. If you hold a Pharm.D or M.Pharm, expect SCFHS to decide the grade; do not plan on a senior grade until it has.
Our checklist, built on SCFHS's requirements and procedural guide.
Documents for classification
| Document | Note |
|---|---|
| Pharmacy degree (and any later qualifications) | The qualification to be classified |
| Internship certificate | Where your programme included an internship (e.g. a Pharm.D) |
| Academic transcript | Classification cannot be done with the transcript alone |
| Home registration and a verification letter | For an Indian pharmacist, State Pharmacy Council registration (our reading) |
| Verification report for qualifications, experience and licences | From SCFHS's approved verifier |
| Experience letter (at least one year) and a recent employment letter | The employment letter issued within the last three months |
| Passport | Non-Saudis |
From SCFHS's classification requirements and Mumaris FAQ, which list the same documents for every profession.
Practise it, don't just read it
You can sit the SPLE before you have the year of experience. Start practising while you work toward it.
The ProSyllabus SCFHS pharmacist library has topic quizzes for Pharmacology and Mechanisms of Action, Pharmaceutics and Dosage Forms, Pharmacokinetics and Biopharmaceutics, Therapeutics: Cardiovascular and Endocrine, Therapeutics: Infectious Disease and Antimicrobials, Pharmacy Practice, Dispensing and Patient Counseling, Drug Interactions, Adverse Effects and Toxicology and Pharmacy Law, Ethics and Saudi (SCFHS) Regulations. Each question comes with an explanation.
Can a B.Pharm graduate take the SPLE?
Yes. A recognised pharmacy degree is enough to sit the SPLE. Classification as Pharmacist afterwards needs, for non-Saudis, at least 12 months' experience.
Does a Pharm.D get Senior Pharmacist in Saudi Arabia?
Not necessarily. SCFHS's August 2025 criteria tie Senior Pharmacist to a master's after the bachelor's and never mention Pharm.D, so SCFHS decides how to grade it.
How much experience is required for SCFHS pharmacist classification?
At least twelve months for a non-Saudi with a qualification from outside the Kingdom, unless the internship was done entirely in Saudi Arabia or the qualification is equated at master's level or higher.
Can I take the SPLE during my internship?
Yes. The SPLE guide allows candidates who have commenced their internship year to apply.
Can I apply for SCFHS classification from India?
Yes. SCFHS says classification can be applied for from outside the Kingdom through Mumaris+, without a Saudi work permit; registration later needs lawful residence in Saudi Arabia.
What is the difference between classification and registration?
Classification is SCFHS's decision on your grade, made after verifying your documents and assessing you; it can be done from India. Registration puts you on the professional register so you can practise, lasts two years, and needs lawful residence in Saudi Arabia.
Does the internship count toward the 12 months?
The criteria's only internship-based exemption is an internship completed entirely inside Saudi Arabia, so for an Indian graduate the safe plan is twelve months of practice after the internship.
Can a D.Pharm holder become a pharmacist in Saudi Arabia?
Not at the Pharmacist grade, which requires a bachelor's in pharmacy under SCFHS's criteria.
Sources
- official — SCFHS — SPLE Applicant Guide (Sep 2025)
- official — SCFHS — Membership Regulation criteria (Aug 2025, Arabic)
- official — SCFHS — professional classification requirements
- official — SCFHS — Mumaris FAQ
- official — SCFHS — procedural guide for classification and registration (Aug 2025, Arabic)
- official — SCFHS fee schedule (2024)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









