Checked 25 September 2026. From NHRA's Nursing PQR (v2.2, Oct 2022), its licensure-examination guide (titled 2022, file dated May 2025), SCH Decisions 29/2020 and 38/2022, and Prometric's NHRA page (read 25 Sep 2026). NHRA publishes no question count or blueprint.
Almost every nurse who wants a licence in Bahrain — in a government hospital or a private clinic — must pass the Bahrain Nursing Licensure Examination (BNLE) (the exemption is for Bahraini or GCC nationals with a GCC licence), run for the National Health Regulatory Authority (NHRA) by Prometric. NHRA's own documents answer most of the questions candidates ask: how long it is, what the pass mark is, how many attempts you get, how long a pass is valid and which other Gulf exam results NHRA accepts instead. They do not give a question count or a blueprint, and the two official sources disagree on the pass mark. This guide sets out what each source says.
NHRA licensure-examination guide; Nursing PQR §1.5; SCH Decision 29/2020; Prometric NHRA page.
The exam at a glance
| Item | Official position |
|---|---|
| Name | Bahrain Nursing Licensure Examination (BNLE); "All nursing professional applicants must pass NHRA's BNLE" (PQR 1.5) |
| Vendor | Prometric (program "nhra"); NHRA's cost sheet lists Prometric only for nursing (doctors and allied professions have Prometric or Pearson VUE) |
| Exam titles for nurses | General Nurse, Midwife and Ambulance Nurse appear on NHRA's exam list (the General Nurse entry is printed run together with the next item, a layout error in the PDF) |
| Duration | "Seating time is 3 hrs. Actual examination time is 2.5 hrs." (Prometric, all NHRA exams) |
| Pass mark | 50% for nursing, midwifery and allied (NHRA guide); 60% for all Bahrain exams (Prometric page) |
| Attempts | First exam + three more within three years of the first (SCH 29/2020 Art. 3) |
| Result validity | 5 years (PQR 1.5) |
| Booking | Only with an NHRA eligibility code, issued after your licence application is approved; one attempt per code |
| Questions, blueprint, language | Not published |
From NHRA's Nursing PQR, its licensure-examination guide and Prometric's NHRA page. The Prometric line on duration is written for all NHRA exams, not nursing alone.
The pass mark: 50% or 60%?
NHRA's current licensure-examination guide says: "The pass mark for nursing, midwifery, and allied professions is set at 50%. The pass mark for all other professions is set at 60%." Prometric's NHRA page says "The pass grade is set at 60% for all Bahrain licensure examinations" — but the same page still cites Decision 11 of 2015, which SCH Decision 29/2020 annulled, so its text looks out of date. NHRA sets the rules, so its 50% is the better guide; aim well above both. The NHRA guide adds that "if prometric was taken from another center the pass mark will be taken according to that center".
Where other pages get this wrong
NHRA's own guide sets the nursing pass mark at 50%; Prometric's outdated page says 60%.
Commonly published instead: "Pass mark 60–70%" or "65–70%", and "150 MCQs in 3 hours".
No official source gives 65% or 70%. The question count is not published by NHRA or Prometric, and Prometric gives 2½ hours of actual exam time within a 3-hour seating.
Attempts
SCH Decision 29/2020 Art. 3; Decision 38/2022 (Arabic, the researcher's translation); NHRA exam guide "Point 2-3 for Bahrainis only".
The law gives you the first exam and "three more attempts within a period not exceeding three years starting from the date of taking the first examination" — four in all. Since Decision 38/2022, only a Bahraini applicant who fails all four may try twice more, after a training course of at least six months at an NHRA-accredited institution. For an Indian nurse, four attempts in three years is the whole allowance under the current rules — unless she is the non-Bahraini wife of a Bahraini national, whom the PQR treats as Bahraini for exam attempts, experience and discontinuity of practice. Prometric's page still shows the older wording that offered the retraining route to everyone.
Your NHRA exam attempts window
Under SCH Decision 29/2020 you have the first exam and three more attempts within three years of the first. Enter the date of your first attempt and how many you have used.
From SCH Decisions 29/2020 (Art. 3) and 38/2022, the NHRA licensure-examination guide and the nursing PQR. The minimum waiting time between attempts is not published.
Other Gulf results NHRA accepts
| Result | NHRA PQR footnote |
|---|---|
| UAE (DHA and HAAD) Prometric "Registered Nurse" | Accepted |
| Qatar Prometric "Registered Nurse" | Accepted |
| Oman Prometric "Registered Nurse" | Accepted |
| Saudi "Nurse Specialist" | Accepted |
| Saudi "Nurse Technician" | Not accepted |
| Kuwait | "Kuwait Don't have Prometric exam yet" — out of date; Kuwait MOH now has a Prometric RN exam, and NHRA's position on it is not published |
From the footnote on page 9 of NHRA's Nursing PQR. How recent the result must be, and whether a licence in that country is also needed, is not stated — ask NHRA before relying on it.
This is separate from the formal exemption, which the PQR limits to "Bahraini or GCC nationals holding a valid GCC license". An Indian nurse with a DHA or Qatar licence is not exempt as such; what may help is that a passed RN Prometric for one of those authorities appears in NHRA's list of accepted results. No exemption exists for UK, US, Australian or Canadian licences.
Booking: the job offer comes first
You cannot book the BNLE from India on your own. A non-Bahraini opens an application in NHRA's Mehan system only through an invitation from a Bahrain healthcare facility ("Its like an offer letter for the purpose of NHRA application. Without it you cant apply"). Once NHRA approves the application it sends an eligibility code; you use it to book Prometric, one code per attempt, and it is valid for up to four months (Prometric). After the exam you upload the result to Mehan; NHRA's FAQ says a failed result is uploaded through "Modify" to request a retake, and the exam guide that the code is then reactivated within your allowed attempts. Whether Indian Prometric centres offer the NHRA exam could not be checked — the centre search did not load — so confirm it when you book.
How the rules got here
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
| 17 Jun 2020 | SCH Decision 29/2020 replaces the 2015 exam rules: every applicant must pass the NHRA exam; 4 attempts in 3 years |
| Oct 2020 | Current Nursing PQR issued as "2020 October"; version 2.2 last updated October 2022 |
| 17 Jan 2021 | Exam requirement extended to 38 allied professions, including Midwife and Ambulance Nurse (NHRA's current exam guide lists 42 professions in all) |
| Dec 2021 | Online licensing system Mehan goes live |
| 19 Jun 2022 | Decision 38/2022: the retraining route after four fails becomes Bahraini-only |
| 2023 | NHRA reports updating professional exams with Prometric (details not published) |
From SCH Decisions 29/2020, 1/2021 and 38/2022, NHRA circular 37/2021 and its 2023 annual report. Prometric's page still reflects the pre-2020 rules in places, which is why it disagrees with NHRA on the pass mark and on retraining.
Which exam do Practical and Specialist Nurses sit?
NHRA's 42-profession exam list names General Nurse, Midwife and Ambulance Nurse, but not Practical Nurse or Specialist Nurse — while the PQR says "all nursing professional applicants must pass NHRA's BNLE". NHRA does not say which paper a practical or specialist nurse sits, so ask NHRA (or your employer's licensing officer) before you book. Exam codes for the nursing papers are not published either.
What to study
NHRA publishes a reference list rather than a blueprint — nine titles, taken, NHRA says, from the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties list, "intended as a study guide only" and not the sole source of questions. They cover fundamentals, medical-surgical nursing, perioperative care, maternal-newborn nursing and care planning. The study-plan guide turns them into a schedule.
Practise it, don't just read it
With no official blueprint, broad timed practice is the safest preparation. Start with fundamentals and medical-surgical nursing.
The ProSyllabus NHRA nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing (two quizzes), Pharmacology, Maternal and Child Health, Critical Care and Emergency, Infection Prevention and Professional Practice and Bahrain Health Regulations — the first one is free.
What is the pass mark for the NHRA nursing exam?
50% for nursing in NHRA's licensure-examination guide. Prometric's NHRA page says 60% for all Bahrain exams, but cites an annulled 2015 decision.
How long is the NHRA nursing exam?
Prometric gives a seating time of 3 hours and an actual examination time of 2½ hours for NHRA exams.
How many questions are in the NHRA nursing exam?
NHRA and Prometric do not publish a question count. The "150 questions" figure is from coaching sites.
How many attempts are allowed in the Bahrain nursing exam?
Four — the first exam and three more within three years of it. The extra retraining route after four fails is for Bahrainis only.
How long is the NHRA exam result valid?
Five years, according to NHRA's Nursing PQR.
Does NHRA accept DHA or Qatar Prometric results?
NHRA's PQR says DHA, HAAD, Qatar and Oman Prometric "Registered Nurse" results and the Saudi "Nurse Specialist" are accepted. Conditions are not published.
Is the NHRA exam Prometric or Pearson VUE?
Prometric for nurses. NHRA's cost sheet lists Prometric only for nursing; doctors and allied professions have Prometric or Pearson VUE.
Can I take the NHRA exam without a job offer?
No. A non-Bahraini needs an invitation from a Bahrain facility to open the NHRA application, and the exam needs the eligibility code NHRA issues after approval.
Is there negative marking in the NHRA exam?
Not stated in any official source.
Are GCC nationals exempt from the NHRA exam?
Bahraini or GCC nationals holding a valid GCC licence are exempt, according to NHRA's Nursing PQR. Other nationalities are not, whatever their licence.
More in this series
- NHRA nurse eligibility for Indian nurses
- NHRA nurse licence process and fees
- NHRA nurse renewal, CPD, BLS and transfer
- NHRA nursing exam study plan and references
- NHRA Bahrain nursing notice board — official updates
- Gulf nursing licences compared: Saudi, UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain
- Indian nurses and emigration clearance: the 2025 rules
Sources
- official — NHRA — Nursing Professionals Qualification Requirements, 2020 October v2.2 (updated Oct 2022)
- official — NHRA — Licensure Examination guide (updated)
- official — SCH Decision No. 29 of 2020 — licensure examination system
- official — SCH Decision No. 38 of 2022 — amending Art. 3 of 29/2020 (Arabic)
- official — SCH Resolution No. 1 of 2021 — replacing Art. 5 of 29/2020
- official — Prometric — National Health Regulatory Authority (NHRA)
- official — NHRA — Approximate Cost for New License (Aug 2022)
- official — NHRA — Bahrain Nursing Licensure Examination References (v1.0)
- official — NHRA — New License Application Process for Non-Bahrainis
- official — NHRA — Frequently Asked Questions (Mehan)
- official — NHRA — Health Profession Regulation Section
- official — NHRA — Annual Report 2023
- reported — eNursing Portal — Bahrain nursing licensing exam (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









