Checked 25 September 2026. From NHRA's Nursing Professionals Qualification Requirements (2020 October v2.2, updated Oct 2022 — still the version NHRA links on 25 Sep 2026). NHRA does not name Indian courses; mappings are our reading.
Bahrain is one of the easier Gulf licences for a diploma-qualified Indian nurse, and the reason is in NHRA's rulebook. Its registered-nurse title, General Nurse, accepts a nursing diploma of at least three academic years as well as a four-year bachelor's — so on the text a GNM qualifies, where the UAE's current rules would place a GNM as an assistant nurse. The other requirements are specific: one year of post-registration experience with six continuous months in the last three years, no more than 65 years of age, and no practice gap of three years or more. This guide sets them out from the Nursing Professionals Qualification Requirements (PQR).
NHRA Nursing PQR (2020 October v2.2), sections 1, 1.2, 1.6 and 5.
The five nursing titles
| Title | Qualification (any one) | Experience (non-Bahrainis) |
|---|---|---|
| General Nurse | Bachelor's in Nursing (4 academic years); or a nursing diploma/associate degree of 3 academic years; or a Diploma in Nursing and Midwifery of 3½ years (overseas programmes) | 1 year after qualification and registration |
| Practical Nurse | A practical nursing programme of 18 months, or a nursing programme of 18 months to under 3 years that does not meet General Nurse | 1 year |
| Specialist Nurse | General Nurse + a 1-year PG diploma in a clinical specialty; or a clinical master's (2 years) or doctorate | 1 year in the specialty |
| Midwife | Midwifery bachelor's; nursing-and-midwifery bachelor's with 9+ months of midwifery; or General Nurse + a PG midwifery diploma | 3 years as a registered midwife |
| Advanced Practice Nurse/Midwife | A formal APN master's or doctorate with at least 500 supervised clinical hours under an APN | 2 years in the specialty |
From NHRA's Nursing PQR, section 5 (condensed). Practical nurses "cannot work independently and shall work under the supervision of a registered nurse or Midwife". NHRA's September 2026 register (our count of its Licensed Nurses List) shows 9,445 General Nurses, 742 Practical Nurses, 246 Midwives, 137 Specialist Nurses and 8 in advanced practice.
Check your own case
Which NHRA title — and are you ready to apply?
From NHRA's Nursing PQR (2020 October v2.2, updated Oct 2022), sections 1, 1.2, 1.6 and 5. The checker tests the 1-year rule for General, Practical and Specialist Nurse; Midwife needs 3 years and Advanced Practice 2. "Gap of 3 years and above" and "no more than 65" are the PQR's words. NHRA decides on application.
Indian qualifications, one by one
| Indian qualification | Likely NHRA title | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| B.Sc Nursing (4 years) | General Nurse | Bachelor's in Nursing, 4 academic years |
| GNM (3 / 3½ years) | General Nurse (our reading) | Nursing diploma of 3+ academic years; or 3½-year nursing-and-midwifery diploma (overseas) |
| GNM + Post-Basic B.Sc | General Nurse | The GNM meets the diploma row; whether GNM + PB counts as a bachelor's is not stated |
| Post-Basic by distance | Not counted itself | "Correspondence or online distance learning are not counted" |
| M.Sc Nursing | Specialist Nurse in a matching specialty (with 1 year in it) | Advanced Practice only for a formal APN programme with 500 supervised APN hours |
| ANM | Practical Nurse (our reading) | Nursing programme of 18 months to under 3 years |
NHRA never names GNM, Post-Basic, ANM or the Indian Nursing Council; the "likely title" column is our reading of the PQR text. NHRA decides on your application.
Where other pages get this wrong
Under NHRA's PQR, a nursing diploma of at least three academic years meets the General Nurse (registered-nurse level) requirement.
Commonly published instead: "GNM nurses can only be practical or assistant nurses in the Gulf."
That is broadly true of the UAE's 2025 rules, where a registered nurse needs a bachelor's — but NHRA's General Nurse row accepts a diploma of three academic years, or a 3½-year nursing-and-midwifery diploma from an overseas programme.
Experience: one year, with six recent months
General and Practical Nurses need at least one year of clinical experience after qualification and registration. Two conditions narrow it. The experience must be relevant to the category and gained in a setting licensed by the regulator in the country of practice; volunteer work, observership and clinical attachments do not count. And "for any required licensed work experience, a continuous recent 6 months of work experience (within the last 3 years) is mandatory." So a nurse who worked two years, then stopped for thirty months, meets the one year but not the recent six months. Bahraini new graduates are exempt from experience at entry level; non-Bahrainis are not.
Where other pages get this wrong
NHRA requires one year of post-registration experience for General and Practical Nurses, including six continuous months within the last three years.
Commonly published instead: "Minimum two years of clinical experience for Indian nurses."
Section 5 of NHRA's Nursing PQR gives 1 year for General and Practical Nurses; 2 years applies to Advanced Practice and 3 years to Midwives.
Specialist, midwife and the Bahrain register
For an M.Sc-qualified nurse, the Specialist Nurse title is limited to NHRA's 13 recognised specialties: anaesthesia, cardiac care, community health, emergency, intensive/critical care, mental health and psychiatric, neonatal intensive care, nephrology, occupational health, oncology, operation theatre/perioperative, obstetrics and gynaecology, and paediatric nursing — with at least a year of experience in that specialty after qualification and registration. The Midwife title is harder for Indian nurses: it needs a midwifery bachelor's, a nursing-and-midwifery bachelor's with at least nine months of midwifery, or a post-graduate midwifery diploma, plus three years' practice registered as a midwife. Whether the midwifery content of an Indian B.Sc or GNM meets the nine-month rule is not stated.
| NHRA register (Sep 2026) | Licensed nurses |
|---|---|
| Salmaniya Medical Complex | 2,479 |
| Bahrain Defence Force | 1,480 |
| King Hamad University Hospital | 1,299 |
| Mohammed Bin Khalifa Cardiac Centre | 512 |
| Bahrain Oncology Center | 472 |
| American Mission Hospital (largest private) | 227 |
Our count from NHRA's Licensed Nurses List of September 2026 (about 10,580 entries). NHRA's 2023 annual report puts nurses at 64% non-Bahraini and 69% in the public sector. Government nurses are on the same NHRA register — there is no separate ministry licence.
Age, gap, good standing and verification
| Rule | NHRA PQR |
|---|---|
| Age | Non-Bahraini nurses must be no more than 65 when applying (SCH may exempt certain cases) |
| Gap of practice | Non-Bahrainis cannot apply for a new licence with a clinical gap of 3 years or more. The retraining route is "Bahrainis ONLY" in the PQR; NHRA's gap-of-practice guide extends it to non-Bahrainis with family residence permits in Bahrain |
| Home licence | Valid registration and licence in your home country and/or country of last employment |
| Good Standing Certificate | Not older than 6 months, from the regulator of the country of last employment; plus a declaration of no convictions or investigations |
| Verification | Primary source verification of qualifications, experience, licence and good standing (PQR 1.4); NHRA's licensing pages name DataFlow, QuadraBay and Clean Sheet Group |
| English test | None mentioned in the PQR, the application checklist or the exam guide |
| Health fitness | A certificate from a licensed facility in Bahrain, after the work permit |
From NHRA's Nursing PQR sections 1–1.6, its non-Bahraini application process and gap-of-practice guide. NHRA's DataFlow guide says the back page of the degree is needed for degrees from India (and Afghanistan, Egypt and Pakistan).
NHRA Nursing PQR, section 5.
Practise it, don't just read it
Eligibility settled, the exam is next. Timed topic quizzes show where you stand before you book.
The ProSyllabus NHRA nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing (two quizzes), Pharmacology, Maternal and Child Health, Critical Care and Emergency, Infection Prevention and Professional Practice and Bahrain Health Regulations — the first one is free.
Can GNM nurses work in Bahrain?
Yes. On the wording of NHRA's PQR a nursing diploma of at least three academic years meets the General Nurse title. NHRA does not name GNM; it decides on application.
How much experience is required for NHRA?
One year of clinical experience after qualification and registration for General and Practical Nurses, with six continuous months within the last three years.
What is the age limit for nurses in Bahrain?
Non-Bahraini nurses must be no more than 65 when they apply.
Is IELTS required for the Bahrain nursing licence?
No English test is mentioned in NHRA's nursing PQR, application checklist or exam guide.
What is the gap of practice rule for NHRA?
Non-Bahrainis cannot apply for a new licence if they have a clinical gap of three years or more.
What is a General Nurse in Bahrain?
NHRA's registered-nurse title. NHRA does not use "Registered Nurse" or "Staff Nurse" as licence titles.
Can ANM nurses get an NHRA licence?
On our reading, as a Practical Nurse — the title for nursing programmes of 18 months to under three years.
Which verification companies does NHRA accept?
DataFlow, QuadraBay and Clean Sheet Group, according to NHRA's licensing pages.
Do government hospitals in Bahrain need an NHRA licence?
Yes. NHRA licenses nurses in government and private facilities; Salmaniya, the Bahrain Defence Force and King Hamad University Hospital are the largest employers on its register.
Are non-Bahraini wives of Bahraini nationals treated differently?
Yes. The PQR treats them as Bahraini for experience, the number of exam attempts and discontinuity of practice.
Can an M.Sc nurse become a Specialist Nurse in Bahrain?
In one of NHRA's 13 recognised specialties, with at least one year of experience in it after qualification and registration.
More in this series
- NHRA Bahrain nursing exam: pattern, pass mark, attempts
- NHRA nurse licence process and fees
- NHRA nurse renewal, CPD, BLS and transfer
- NHRA nursing exam study plan and references
- NHRA Bahrain nursing notice board — official updates
- Gulf nursing licences compared: Saudi, UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain
- Indian nurses and emigration clearance: the 2025 rules
Sources
- official — NHRA — Nursing Professionals Qualification Requirements, 2020 October v2.2 (updated Oct 2022)
- official — NHRA — Scope of Nursing and Midwifery Practice & Decision-Making Framework (Nov 2020)
- official — NHRA — New License Application Process for Non-Bahrainis
- official — NHRA — Gap of Practice
- official — NHRA — Primary Source Verification: how to apply (DataFlow)
- official — NHRA — Health Profession Regulation Section
- official — NHRA — Licensed Nurses List, September 2026
- official — NHRA — Annual Report 2023
- official — SCH Decision No. 23 of 2017 — licensing standards (PQR binding)
- official — SCH Decision No. 24 of 2016 — allied health professions list
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









