Checked 25 September 2026. From the PQR (April 2025), MOHAP service pages (read from Internet Archive captures of Nov 2025–Mar 2026, because mohap.gov.ae was unreachable) and Prometric's MOHAP pages. MOHAP may have published more since its last capture.
Search for the "MOH UAE nursing exam pattern" and you will find the same numbers everywhere: 150 questions, 2 hours 45 minutes, 50% to pass for a registered nurse and 45% for an assistant nurse, and a neat four-domain blueprint. None of it comes from the Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP). We read the unified qualification rulebook every UAE health authority uses, MOHAP's evaluation, licensing and fee pages, and Prometric's MOHAP pages, and none of them publishes a question count, a duration, a blueprint or a reference list for the nursing exam. This guide sets out what is official, so you can plan on facts and treat the rest as guesswork.
Prometric MOHAP page; PQR 1.5 (April 2025); MOHAP evaluation service and infographic.
What is official
| Item | Official position |
|---|---|
| Who licenses | MOHAP, the federal authority; DHA (Dubai), DOH (Abu Dhabi) and the Sharjah Health Authority do the same in their own emirates |
| Rulebook | The Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), 3rd version, April 2025 — shared by MOHAP, DOH, DHA and SHA |
| Vendor | Prometric. In its scheduler MOHAP exams sit under the sponsor "The Centre of Excellence for Applied Research & Training", program "UAE Ministry of Health" |
| Nursing exam names | "Registered Nurse", "Nurse Assistance" (the assistant-nurse exam), "MidWifery", "Midwife Assistant", "Healthcare Assistant Qualifying Exam" |
| Language | "All examinations will be conducted in English" (PQR 1.5.3.1) |
| Format | The PQR says only that exams "may include but not be limited to written, oral, OSCE"; MOHAP says an exam, if required, is scheduled "according to its type (written, oral, or prometric)" |
| Attempts | Three per title across the UAE authorities, with a narrow fourth-attempt route (PQR 1.5.5); at MOHAP, cancelled or missed appointments count as attempts |
| Validity | MOHAP's FAQ: “The validity of the evaluation certificate is 5 years, provided there is no interruption in experience more than two years” |
From PQR sections 1.5 and 3 (April 2025), Prometric's MOHAP page and scheduler, and MOHAP's evaluation pages and infographic (archived captures).
What is not published
| Question candidates ask | MOHAP / Prometric |
|---|---|
| How many questions? | Not published |
| How long is the exam? | Not published |
| What is the pass mark? | Not published in any source we could open (see below) |
| What is the blueprint? | Not published |
| Which books? | Not published |
| Is there negative marking? | Not stated |
| How soon is the result? | Not stated |
| Can I sit it in India? | Prometric's centre search sits behind a CAPTCHA; not verified for this guide |
On the pass mark there is one lead. A search engine indexes a MOHAP PDF titled "Health Professional Evaluation", and its extract says results are "Pass" or "Fail" based on "a minimum passing score of 60%". The PDF itself could not be opened — the MOHAP site was unreachable and the file is not archived — so treat 60% as unverified, and possibly as a rule for every profession rather than nursing specifically. The 50% and 45% figures on coaching sites match DHA's published tables (DHA's registered and assistant nurse exams both pass at 50%; 45% is the figure DHA lists for its now-inactive Assistant Midwife exam), not anything MOHAP has published.
Where other pages get this wrong
MOHAP publishes no question count, duration, blueprint or verifiable pass mark for its nursing exams.
Commonly published instead: "150 MCQs in 2 hours 45 minutes; pass mark 50% for RN and 45% for assistant nurse; Fundamentals 30, Adult 61, Maternal-Child 44, Management 15."
None of these figures appears in the PQR, on MOHAP's evaluation, licensing or fee pages, or on Prometric's MOHAP pages. The pass marks match DHA's tables, and the blueprint closely resembles the 30/60/45/15 split in the Kuwait MOH exam information Prometric publishes — which suggests they were borrowed.
Fees: what is on record
MOHAP service-fee PDF (Nov 2021) and evaluation page (Nov 2025 capture). The 2021 sheet also lists a Prometric fee of USD 130; the 2025 page does not say what AED 400 includes.
The newest MOHAP capture (November 2025) prices the evaluation for nurses and midwives at AED 400. The 2021 fee sheet — still linked from MOHAP's 2024 page — split it into AED 250 for the application, AED 300 for exam assignment, USD 130 for Prometric and AED 150 for the certificate. Whether the AED 400 includes the Prometric fee is not stated, and no current Prometric fee for MOHAP nursing is published. DataFlow verification is separate (AED 1,200 for private-sector applicants on MOHAP's December 2024 nursing registration page). MOHAP's licensing page lists the licence fee under the facility's application — see the licence-process guide.
How MOHAP compares with DHA and DOH
| Item | MOHAP | DHA (Dubai) | DOH (Abu Dhabi) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test vendor | Prometric | Prometric | Pearson VUE |
| RN exam code | Not published | RNT0312 | DOH-RN_OP / HAAD-RN (Pearson list) |
| Questions / duration | Not published | 150 questions; 3 hours incl. registration | 150 MCQs; 3 hours (DOH Circular 151/2024) |
| Pass mark | Not published (60% unverified) | 50% (RN and assistant nurse) | Not published ("cut-score set internally") |
| Attempts | 3; cancellations and no-shows count (Prometric) | 3 across authorities; cancelling or not attending is not a failed attempt (DHA assessment manual 4.15) | 3 across authorities (PQR) |
| Qualification rules | PQR April 2025 | PQR April 2025 | PQR April 2025 |
From Prometric's MOHAP pages, DHA's CBT guideline (Sep 2026), DOH's 2024 licensing catalogue (Circular 151/2024), Pearson VUE's DOH page and the PQR. The qualification rules are identical everywhere; the exams are not — which is why DHA's figures cannot be read across to MOHAP.
Who regulates where
MOHAP is the federal authority; the Dubai Health Authority, the Department of Health Abu Dhabi and the Sharjah Health Authority "carry out similar responsibilities" in their own emirates, according to the UAE government portal. Emirates Health Services (EHS) runs federal hospitals, but the evaluation and licensing of health professionals are MOHAP services. MOHAP lists representative offices in Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Umm Al Quwain and Abu Dhabi for its licensing step. A precise official list of which facilities MOHAP licenses, as against Sharjah's own authority, was not found — ask your employer which regulator licenses its staff before you apply.
| Year | MOHAP assessment for nurses and midwives |
|---|---|
| 2022 | "Interview, Prometric (according to specialty)" |
| Feb 2025 | Evaluation infographic: 3 attempts per category; certificate valid 5 years |
| Nov 2025 | Exam "according to its type (written, oral, or prometric)"; AED 400 |
From MOHAP's service pages (archived captures). Whether nurses still face an interview as well as the Prometric test is not stated on the current page.
A national licence?
On 1 February 2025 MOHAP launched a National Licensing Platform "in collaboration and integration with all health authorities", which it said issues "a standardized professional practice license valid across the UAE" with "mutual recognition of evaluations". How far it has replaced separate MOHAP, DHA and DOH applications is not clear from official pages — DHA's September 2026 guideline still runs its own Sheryan and Prometric process. Until the regulators say otherwise, plan for the authority whose emirate you want to work in.
How to prepare when there is no blueprint
A sensible approach
- Prepare for a standard registered-nurse knowledge test in English: fundamentals, adult medical-surgical, maternal and newborn, paediatric, community and mental health, pharmacology and safe practice.
- Use timed multiple-choice practice, because the exam is computer-based at Prometric.
- Do not rely on a coaching site's pass mark; aim well above any figure you have read.
- Book only when ready — at MOHAP a cancelled or missed booking uses one of your three attempts.
Our advice, in the absence of an official blueprint. The topic areas are the standard ones for registered-nurse practice, not a MOHAP list.
Practise it, don't just read it
With no official blueprint, broad timed practice is the safest preparation. Start with fundamentals and medical-surgical nursing.
The ProSyllabus MOH UAE nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing, Pharmacology, Maternal and Newborn, Paediatric and Community Health Nursing, Infection Prevention and UAE Health Regulations — the first one is free.
How many questions are in the MOH UAE nursing exam?
MOHAP and Prometric do not publish a question count. The "150 questions" figure on coaching sites comes from DHA's exam, not MOHAP.
What is the pass mark for the MOH UAE nursing exam?
Not published in any source we could verify. A search-engine extract of a MOHAP PDF mentions 60%, but the document could not be opened. The 50%/45% figures online are DHA's.
Is the MOH UAE exam Prometric or Pearson VUE?
Prometric. DOH (Abu Dhabi) uses Pearson VUE.
Is there negative marking in the MOH UAE nursing exam?
No official source states either way.
What is the MOH UAE nursing exam fee?
MOHAP's November 2025 evaluation page lists AED 400 for nurses and midwives. A 2021 fee sheet listed a USD 130 Prometric fee; no current Prometric figure is published.
How many attempts are allowed in the MOH UAE exam?
Three per title across the UAE authorities, and at MOHAP a cancelled or missed booking counts as one. The PQR allows a narrow fourth attempt (1.5.5) — see the attempts guide.
In which language is the MOH UAE nursing exam?
English — the PQR says all examinations are conducted in English.
How long is the MOHAP evaluation valid?
Five years, provided there is no break in experience of more than two years.
Can I take the MOH UAE exam in India?
Prometric runs centres in many countries, but its centre search for MOHAP is behind a CAPTCHA and we could not verify Indian availability. Check it when booking.
More in this series
- MOH UAE nurse eligibility for Indian nurses
- MOHAP nurse licence process and fees
- MOH UAE nursing attempts, exemptions, transfer
- Indian nurses to the UAE: emigration clearance
- MOH UAE nursing notice board — official updates
- DHA registered nurse exam: pattern, pass mark and references
- DHA vs Kuwait vs DOH nursing exams compared
- Indian nurses and Kuwait: emigration clearance
Sources
- official — Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), 3rd version, April 2025 (DHA-hosted)
- official — DOH Abu Dhabi — PQR page (third version)
- official — Prometric — UAE Ministry of Health and Prevention
- official — Prometric — ProScheduler, program "UAE Ministry of Health"
- official — MOHAP — Evaluation of Health Professional (service page, archived 16 Nov 2025)
- official — MOHAP — Healthcare Professional Evaluation, with FAQ (archived 15 Jun 2025)
- official — MOHAP — healthcare professional evaluation infographic (Feb 2025, archived)
- official — MOHAP — Health Professional Evaluation service fees (Nov 2021, archived)
- official — MOHAP — renewal of registration certificate, nursing and midwifery (archived 4 Dec 2024)
- official — MOHAP — Licensing and Re-licensing of a Health Professional (archived 21 Jan 2026)
- official — DHA — Healthcare Professional Licensing Assessment Guideline (CBT), Sep 2026
- official — DHA — Manual for Professional Assessment (Oral/CBT), v1.1, May 2025
- official — Prometric — Kuwait MOH exam page (RN blueprint)
- official — Pearson VUE — Department of Health Abu Dhabi
- official — DOH Circular 151/2024 — Licensing Service Catalogue and Procedural Manual
- official — MOHAP — unified national platform for health licences (news, 1 Feb 2025, archived)
- official — u.ae — health regulatory authorities (archived 16 Apr 2026)
- reported — eNursing Portal — MOH nursing exam UAE (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









