Checked 25 September 2026. From the PQR, 3rd version, April 2025 (still presented as the current third version on DOH's PQR page when checked on 25 Sep 2026), MOHAP service pages (archived captures) and MOHAP's 2016 letter on nursing diplomas. The PQR does not name Indian qualifications; mappings are marked as our reading.
Every UAE health authority — MOHAP, DHA, DOH and Sharjah — decides nursing eligibility from one document: the Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), 3rd version, April 2025. Its nursing table is short, and it changed two things that matter to Indian nurses. A Registered Nurse needs a bachelor's degree in nursing, and no longer needs any experience. The PQR never mentions GNM, Post-Basic B.Sc or the Indian Nursing Council by name, so the mappings below are our reading of its wording — with MOHAP's own 2016 letter as support where it exists.
PQR, 3rd version, April 2025, sections 1.7, 13.1 and 14.
The four nursing titles
| Title | Qualification (PQR §14) | Experience |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nurse | Bachelor's degree in nursing (minimum 3 years full-time, §13.1.4) | None required (subject to gap-of-practice rules) |
| Assistant Nurse | Diploma of Nursing of at least 18 months | None required |
| Specialty Nurse | RN + clinical master's or a post-graduate clinical specialty qualification (1 year+); or a specialty bachelor's (3 years+) | 1 year (route 1) or 2 years (route 2) in the specialty |
| Nurse Practitioner | RN + clinical master's or doctorate with prescribing, diagnostics and advanced assessment; or national NP certification | 2 years post-qualification as an NP |
From PQR section 14 (April 2025). Assistant nurses "cannot work independently and shall work under a Registered Nurse" (13.1.10). All nurses need at least a valid BLS certificate (the clause after 13.1.10, printed in the PQR as a second 13.1.1) and must submit their academic transcript (13.1.12).
Which MOHAP title does your qualification point to?
From the PQR, 3rd version (April 2025), sections 1.7, 13.1, 14 and 21.4, and MOHAP's licensing page (Jan 2026 capture). The PQR does not name Indian qualifications; MOHAP decides at evaluation.
Indian qualifications, one by one
| Indian qualification | Likely MOHAP title | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| B.Sc Nursing (4 years, regular) | Registered Nurse | PQR §14 and 13.1.4 (bachelor's, 3+ years) |
| GNM (3–3½ year diploma) | Assistant Nurse (our reading) | RN needs a bachelor's; MOHAP's 27 Jun 2016 letter licensed 18-month-to-3-year diplomas as assistant nurses |
| GNM + regular Post-Basic B.Sc (2 years) | Not stated | Whether it meets "minimum three years full-time" is not addressed |
| Post-Basic B.Sc by distance | Not counted | Distance and correspondence qualifications excluded (13.1.3, 1.1.1) |
| M.Sc Nursing | RN; possibly Specialty Nurse | Specialty route 1 with 1 year in the specialty; "clinical master's" not defined for Indian degrees |
| ANM | Not stated | Assistant Nurse needs a "Diploma of Nursing" of 18+ months; ANM is not named |
The PQR names no Indian qualification; the "likely title" column is our reading of its text. MOHAP decides at evaluation.
The GNM point deserves emphasis because so many sites say "B.Sc or GNM" for a registered-nurse post. In June 2016 MOHAP wrote to the Indian Embassy that under its 2014 rules the minimum for a registered nurse was a 3½-year diploma in nursing and midwifery, and diplomas of 18 months to 3 years were "to be licensed as assistant nurses only". The 2025 PQR is stricter still: the RN row now asks for a bachelor's degree. On the text, a GNM without a bachelor's points to Assistant Nurse. A nurse licensed as an assistant nurse who holds a nursing bachelor's may apply for a title upgrade if the assistant-nurse experience has not passed five years (13.1.14).
Experience: none needed — the old two-year rule is gone
The April 2025 PQR says "No experience required" for both Registered Nurse and Assistant Nurse. MOHAP's December 2024 licence page still said "Applicant must have at least two years of experience"; its January 2026 successor no longer lists that condition. MOHAP's FAQ adds that the six-month training once required of new graduates "is no longer required if less than two years have elapsed since their graduation date" — graduates can take the evaluation exam directly within two years of graduating. Experience still counts for how it is measured: from the date of the professional licence in the country of practice, salaried or contractual hands-on clinical work only, with the PQR's definitions setting the minimum acceptable part-time experience at 400 hours a year; teaching, volunteering and observership do not count.
Where other pages get this wrong
Under the April 2025 PQR a Registered Nurse needs no minimum experience to be evaluated by MOHAP.
Commonly published instead: "Minimum 2 years of post-registration experience required for the MOH UAE exam."
The 2-year requirement appeared on MOHAP's licence page in December 2024 and has since gone; PQR section 14 now says "No experience required" for RN and Assistant Nurse, subject to the gap-of-practice rules.
Gap of practice
PQR 1.7, 3rd version, April 2025. Bar length shows CME/CPD credits.
One caution: MOHAP's own pages do not agree with each other. Its November 2025 evaluation page says there should be no gap "for more than three years", in line with the PQR; its January 2026 licensing page says "more than 2 years", with training details acceptable "as per PQR" for longer gaps. If your gap is between two and three years, expect questions and have proof of any recent practice or training ready. Exam exemption, where it would otherwise apply, is lost beyond a 3-year gap (21.4).
Good standing, licence and verification
Three checks sit alongside the qualification rules. You need a valid licence or registration in your home country and/or the country of your last employment (13.1.8) — for an Indian nurse, the state nursing council registration. You need a Good Standing Certificate from the regulator of the country or countries of last employment, not older than six months when you apply. And your documents are verified with the issuing institutions (primary source verification, through DataFlow for MOHAP). Honorary, correspondence and distance-learning qualifications, and "equivalency" certificates, are not counted at all.
| Check | Rule | For an Indian nurse |
|---|---|---|
| Home registration | Valid licence/registration in the home country and/or country of last employment (PQR 13.1.8) | State nursing council registration, kept current |
| Good Standing Certificate | Not older than 6 months at the time of applying (PQR 1.3.3) | From the state nursing council (and any foreign regulator you worked under) |
| Primary source verification | Documents verified with the source (PQR 1.4); DataFlow for MOHAP | College, university, council and employers must respond |
| Excluded qualifications | Honorary, correspondence, distance-learning and equivalency qualifications (13.1.3, 1.1.1) | A distance-mode degree will not count |
From the PQR (April 2025). The right-hand column is our application to an Indian applicant.
Documents MOHAP asks for
| Document | Notes |
|---|---|
| Qualification certificate and academic transcript | Transcript is mandatory (PQR 13.1.12) |
| Experience certificate, home licence, good conduct certificate | "Optional for new graduates" on MOHAP's evaluation page |
| Good Standing Certificate | From the regulator of your country of last employment, not older than 6 months (PQR 1.3.3) |
| BLS certificate | Minimum valid BLS (13.1.11) |
| Passport | Valid |
| Previous DataFlow reports | Unlocked copies, if any |
| Translations | Certificates not in English must be legally translated |
From MOHAP's evaluation page (Nov 2025 capture) and the PQR. No age limit for nurses and no general English-test requirement for Indian nurses was found; an English test (IELTS 5.0 / OET C and equivalents) applies only on the 20-country exemption route.
Practise it, don't just read it
Eligibility settled, the exam is next. Timed topic quizzes are the quickest way to test your readiness.
The ProSyllabus MOH UAE nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing, Pharmacology, Maternal and Newborn, Paediatric and Community Health Nursing, Infection Prevention and UAE Health Regulations — the first one is free.
Can GNM nurses take the MOH UAE exam?
Yes, but on the April 2025 PQR's wording a GNM diploma points to the Assistant Nurse title, because Registered Nurse requires a bachelor's degree. MOHAP decides at evaluation.
Is experience required for the MOH UAE nursing exam?
Not for Registered Nurse or Assistant Nurse under the April 2025 PQR, subject to the gap-of-practice rules.
Is Post-Basic B.Sc Nursing accepted by MOHAP?
The PQR requires a bachelor's of at least three years' full-time study and excludes distance learning. Whether a regular 2-year Post-Basic after GNM qualifies is not stated — ask MOHAP.
What is the maximum gap allowed for MOH UAE nurses?
The PQR adds CME and training requirements for gaps of 3–5 years and bars non-UAE nationals with a gap of over 5 years. One MOHAP page says 2 years; another says 3.
Is IELTS required for MOH UAE nurses?
Not as a general rule for Indian nurses. An English test applies on the 20-country exemption route; PQR 1.5.3.1 says all examinations are conducted in English.
Is there an age limit for MOH UAE nurses?
No age limit for nurses was found in the PQR or on MOHAP's pages.
Can new graduates apply to MOHAP?
Yes. MOHAP says new graduates within two years of graduation can take the evaluation exam directly, without the old six-month training.
Can an assistant nurse upgrade to registered nurse in the UAE?
Yes, with a nursing bachelor's, if the assistant-nurse experience has not exceeded five years (PQR 13.1.14), through a new evaluation and MOHAP's change-of-title service.
More in this series
- MOH UAE nursing exam: what MOHAP publishes
- MOHAP nurse licence process and fees
- MOH UAE nursing attempts, exemptions, transfer
- Indian nurses to the UAE: emigration clearance
- MOH UAE nursing notice board — official updates
- DHA registered nurse exam: pattern, pass mark and references
- DHA vs Kuwait vs DOH nursing exams compared
- Indian nurses and Kuwait: emigration clearance
Sources
- official — Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), 3rd version, April 2025 (DHA-hosted)
- official — DOH Abu Dhabi — PQR page (third version)
- official — MOHAP — Evaluation of Health Professional (service page, archived 16 Nov 2025)
- official — MOHAP — Healthcare Professional Evaluation, with FAQ (archived 15 Jun 2025)
- official — MOHAP — healthcare professional evaluation infographic (Feb 2025, archived)
- official — MOHAP — licence for nursing and medical professionals (archived 4 Dec 2024)
- official — MOHAP — Licensing and Re-licensing of a Health Professional (archived 21 Jan 2026)
- official — MEA OM of 27 Jul 2016 enclosing MOHAP's letter of 27 Jun 2016 on 3-year nursing diplomas
- official — MOHAP — Change Title of Licensed Health Professional (archived 21 Jan 2026)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









