Checked 29 September 2026. From the CSA-XVI notification (01.08.2026, Annexure I) and its vacancy corrigendum of 29.09.2026 (updated Annexure I), the CSA-XV notification and its vacancy corrigenda of 27.10.2025 and 14.11.2025, and our counts of the CSA-XV allotment lists. IBPS calls the figures indicative; they can change.
IBPS’s Common Recruitment Process for Customer Service Associates, CRP CSA-XVI, is what most people still call “IBPS Clerk 2026”. It fills clerical posts in public sector banks for the financial year 2027-28. Annexure I of the notification lists seats bank by bank, State/UT by State/UT and category by category. IBPS does not print a grand total. At notification the columns added up to 11,403 seats (our sum). On 29 September 2026 IBPS issued a corrigendum with an updated Annexure I, “indicative vacancies as on 29.09.2026”, and its columns now come to 11,663 (our sum) across 10 of the 11 participating banks. Union Bank of India still appears with “NR”, not reported.
The more useful question is whether that number will keep moving. It has started to: the 29 September update added 260 seats, all from Bank of Baroda. Last year it moved sharply. CSA-XV was notified with 10,277 seats (our sum) on 1 August 2025 and ended at 15,701 after corrigenda on 27 October and 14 November 2025. This guide sets out both cycles side by side, bank by bank and state by state, and shows why “vacancies will increase” was not true everywhere.
IBPS CSA-XVI notification and its corrigendum of 29.09.2026 (updated Annexure I); CSA-XV notification and corrigenda of 27.10.2025 and 14.11.2025; IBPS calendar 2026-27. Totals are our sums.
Where other pages get this wrong
IBPS prints no grand total for CSA-XVI. 11,663 is the sum of its updated Annexure I columns (11,403 at notification), and last year’s 10,277 was not final.
Commonly published instead: “IBPS Clerk vacancy 2025: 10,277” quoted as the final figure, and a single official total for 2026.
CSA-XV grew to 13,533 on 27.10.2025 and 15,701 on 14.11.2025 through two IBPS corrigenda. For CSA-XVI, every total you see, including ours, is someone’s addition of IBPS’s bank and state columns.
Where 11,663 comes from
Annexure I of the CSA-XVI notification, reissued with the corrigendum of 29.09.2026, is a set of State/UT tables. Each gives, bank by bank, the seats in five vertical categories (SC, ST, OBC, EWS and UR) and then an “out of which” block for persons with benchmark disabilities (HI, OC, VI, ID) and ex-servicemen (ESM, DESM). The horizontal counts sit inside the vertical ones, so they are not added again. Adding the vertical columns of the updated annexure across all banks and states gives the following.
| Category | CSA-XVI seats (29.09.2026) | At notification (01.08.2026) | Share (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|
| SC | 1,936 | 1,910 | 16.6% |
| ST | 962 | 942 | 8.2% |
| OBC (NCL) | 2,863 | 2,815 | 24.5% |
| EWS | 1,024 | 996 | 8.8% |
| UR | 4,878 | 4,740 | 41.8% |
| Total (our sum) | 11,663 | 11,403 | 100% |
| of which PwBD: HI / OC / VI / ID | 146 / 127 / 125 / 96 | 137 / 121 / 121 / 93 | inside the rows above |
| of which ESM / DESM | 1,058 / 419 | 1,051 / 407 | inside the rows above |
The category shares vary a great deal by state, because reservation for ST and SC follows each state’s population. Punjab has 150 SC seats and no ST seats. Chhattisgarh has 82 ST seats out of 265. Lakshadweep and Ladakh are almost entirely UR or ST. The state table further down gives every state’s split.
Bank by bank: CSA-XVI against both CSA-XV figures
| Bank | CSA-XVI updated (29.09.2026) | CSA-XVI notified (01.08.2026) | CSA-XV notified (01.08.2025) | CSA-XV final (14.11.2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canara Bank | 2,500 | 2,500 | 3,000 | 3,000 |
| Punjab National Bank | 2,016 | 2,016 | 1,150 | 2,287 |
| Indian Bank | 1,700 | 1,700 | NR | 1,700 |
| Bank of Baroda | 1,460 | 1,200 | 1,684 | 1,684 |
| Central Bank of India | 1,419 | 1,419 | 2,000 | 2,000 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 780 | 780 | 250 | 250 |
| Bank of India | 500 | 500 | 432 | 1,700 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 500 | 500 | 700 | 700 |
| UCO Bank | 412 | 412 | NR | 419 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 376 | 376 | 461 | 461 |
| Union Bank of India | NR | NR | 600 | 1,500 |
| Total (our sum) | 11,663 | 11,403 | 10,277 | 15,701 |
CSA-XVI Annexure I as updated 29.09.2026 (Bank of Baroda was 1,200 at notification; no other bank changed). NR = not reported by the bank.
Two things stand out. First, the pattern of “NR” at notification repeats: last year Indian Bank and UCO Bank reported nothing on 1 August and added 1,700 and 419 seats in October. This year Union Bank of India is the bank with no figure, and it was still “NR” in the update of 29 September 2026. The only bank that changed in that update was Bank of Baroda, from 1,200 to 1,460. Second, Bank of India and Union Bank of India both raised their CSA-XV numbers sharply in November 2025 (432 to 1,700 and 600 to 1,500). Neither of those is a promise about 2026, but both show that the August table is a starting point.
Last year’s precedent: 10,277 became 15,701
| Date | CSA-XV total (our sum) | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 01.08.2025 | 10,277 | Notification; Indian Bank and UCO Bank “NR” |
| 27.10.2025 | 13,533 | Indian Bank 1,700 and UCO 419 added; PNB 1,150 → 2,287; some states cut |
| 14.11.2025 | 15,701 | Bank of India 432 → 1,700; Union Bank 600 → 1,500 |
| 02.03.2026 | 15,223 allotted | Main-round provisional allotment, all States/UTs except Chandigarh (rows in 36 state lists, our count) |
| 15.06.2026 | 3,957 more allotted | Reserve-list phase 1 (rows in 33 state lists, our count) |
| 17.07.2026 | 15 allotted | Chandigarh main round, after a High Court order (main round now 15,238 in all) |
| 15.09.2026 | not counted | Reserve-list phase 2; IBPS printed minimum scores, state lists due by 15.10.2026 |
IBPS CSA-XV notification and corrigenda; CSA-XVI notification and its corrigendum of 29.09.2026. The last two points are a different cycle at its first stages, not a fall.
Read the chart carefully. The drop after the third point is not a cut: 11,403 is CSA-XVI at its first stage, and it should be compared with 10,277, CSA-XV at the same stage. On that like-for-like basis, the new cycle started 1,126 seats higher (our arithmetic). After the 29 September 2026 update it stands at 11,663, which is 1,386 above CSA-XV’s notified total and 4,038 below its final one (our arithmetic). Whether it ends higher than 15,701 depends on what banks report between now and the allotment in March 2027.
The allotment lists are the best check on what the corrigenda meant in practice. IBPS’s state lists show 15,238 main-round provisional allotments (15,223 on 2 March 2026 and 15 in Chandigarh on 17 July 2026; our count) against 15,701 notified seats, and then 3,957 more from the reserve list in June 2026 as banks reported further vacancies. A second reserve-list round followed on 15 September 2026; its state lists were due by 15 October and are not in our count. These are allotments, not appointments: IBPS says an allotment is not an offer of employment, and some allotted candidates will not join. Even so, the allotment record ran past the corrected vacancy figure.
The number moved both ways by state
The corrigenda did not raise every state. On 27 October 2025 Delhi fell from 416 to 279 and Chandigarh from 63 to 15, while Uttar Pradesh went from 1,315 to 2,781. Anyone who read “vacancies increased” and assumed their own state had grown could have been wrong. The table below gives every State/UT, with both CSA-XVI figures and the change of the updated figure against last year’s notified figure (our arithmetic).
| State/UT | XV notified (01.08.2025) | XV final (14.11.2025) | XVI notified (01.08.2026) | XVI updated (29.09.2026) | XVI updated minus XV notified (ours) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uttar Pradesh | 1,315 | 2,781 | 1,731 | 1,752 | +437 |
| Karnataka | 1,170 | 1,386 | 1,414 | 1,458 | +288 |
| Maharashtra | 1,117 | 1,634 | 1,051 | 1,062 | -55 |
| West Bengal | 540 | 1,086 | 946 | 951 | +411 |
| Gujarat | 753 | 1,109 | 698 | 761 | +8 |
| Tamil Nadu | 894 | 1,217 | 675 | 698 | -196 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 601 | 958 | 570 | 576 | -25 |
| Bihar | 308 | 760 | 491 | 491 | +183 |
| Punjab | 276 | 383 | 481 | 487 | +211 |
| Delhi | 416 | 279 | 415 | 421 | +5 |
| Rajasthan | 328 | 408 | 392 | 410 | +82 |
| Assam | 204 | 397 | 349 | 354 | +150 |
| Odisha | 249 | 572 | 337 | 345 | +96 |
| Chhattisgarh | 214 | 314 | 265 | 265 | +51 |
| Haryana | 144 | 188 | 196 | 199 | +55 |
| Telangana | 261 | 362 | 191 | 200 | -61 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 367 | 462 | 186 | 198 | -169 |
| Jharkhand | 106 | 268 | 182 | 182 | +76 |
| Uttarakhand | 102 | 103 | 145 | 146 | +44 |
| Kerala | 330 | 354 | 108 | 121 | -209 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 114 | 134 | 97 | 97 | -17 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 61 | 76 | 67 | 68 | +7 |
| Tripura | 32 | 56 | 64 | 65 | +33 |
| Goa | 87 | 104 | 61 | 61 | -26 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 22 | 41 | 45 | 45 | +23 |
| Manipur | 31 | 48 | 42 | 42 | +11 |
| Nagaland | 27 | 34 | 31 | 31 | +4 |
| Sikkim | 20 | 25 | 28 | 28 | +8 |
| Puducherry | 19 | 26 | 26 | 27 | +8 |
| DNH and Daman & Diu | 35 | 44 | 25 | 25 | -10 |
| Meghalaya | 18 | 17 | 22 | 22 | +4 |
| Chandigarh | 63 | 15 | 20 | 20 | -43 |
| Andaman & Nicobar | 13 | 16 | 18 | 19 | +6 |
| Mizoram | 28 | 29 | 17 | 19 | -9 |
| Lakshadweep | 7 | 7 | 11 | 11 | +4 |
| Ladakh | 5 | 8 | 6 | 6 | +1 |
The 29 September update raised 22 of the 36 rows and lowered none (our count), all through Bank of Baroda; the largest additions were Gujarat (698 to 761), Karnataka (1,414 to 1,458), Tamil Nadu (675 to 698) and Uttar Pradesh (1,731 to 1,752). On the like-for-like comparison, 25 of the 36 rows are now higher than last year’s notified figure (our count; 23 at notification, Gujarat and Delhi having crossed over). The big risers are Uttar Pradesh (+437), West Bengal (+411), Karnataka (+288), Punjab (+211) and Bihar (+183). The big fallers are Kerala (−209), Tamil Nadu (−196), Andhra Pradesh (−169) and Telangana (−61). Against last year’s final figure the picture is gloomier almost everywhere, because the final figure includes the October and November additions that CSA-XVI has not had yet.
Your state’s split by category (updated 29.09.2026)
| State/UT | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uttar Pradesh | 375 | 18 | 515 | 165 | 679 | 1,752 |
| Karnataka | 231 | 101 | 391 | 143 | 592 | 1,458 |
| Maharashtra | 120 | 96 | 294 | 95 | 457 | 1,062 |
| West Bengal | 236 | 49 | 227 | 83 | 356 | 951 |
| Gujarat | 55 | 113 | 206 | 68 | 319 | 761 |
| Tamil Nadu | 140 | 5 | 216 | 59 | 278 | 698 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 91 | 114 | 99 | 49 | 223 | 576 |
| Bihar | 89 | 1 | 146 | 42 | 213 | 491 |
| Punjab | 150 | 0 | 107 | 40 | 190 | 487 |
| Delhi | 65 | 36 | 127 | 36 | 157 | 421 |
| Rajasthan | 69 | 57 | 86 | 35 | 163 | 410 |
| Assam | 26 | 41 | 99 | 31 | 157 | 354 |
| Odisha | 55 | 73 | 40 | 30 | 147 | 345 |
| Chhattisgarh | 33 | 82 | 13 | 23 | 114 | 265 |
| Haryana | 40 | 0 | 56 | 15 | 88 | 199 |
| Telangana | 31 | 19 | 48 | 18 | 84 | 200 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 34 | 11 | 55 | 16 | 82 | 198 |
| Jharkhand | 19 | 45 | 21 | 14 | 83 | 182 |
| Uttarakhand | 25 | 2 | 17 | 11 | 91 | 146 |
| Kerala | 10 | 0 | 32 | 11 | 68 | 121 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 25 | 4 | 18 | 8 | 42 | 97 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 2 | 6 | 17 | 4 | 39 | 68 |
| Tripura | 10 | 17 | 0 | 5 | 33 | 65 |
| Goa | 0 | 5 | 10 | 5 | 41 | 61 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 0 | 19 | 0 | 4 | 22 | 45 |
| Manipur | 0 | 12 | 3 | 3 | 24 | 42 |
| Nagaland | 0 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 18 | 31 |
| Sikkim | 0 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 17 | 28 |
| Puducherry | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 20 | 27 |
| DNH and Daman & Diu | 0 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 16 | 25 |
| Meghalaya | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 22 |
| Chandigarh | 4 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 11 | 20 |
| Andaman & Nicobar | 0 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 12 | 19 |
| Mizoram | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 19 |
| Lakshadweep | 0 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 11 |
| Ladakh | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
CSA-XVI prints Dadra & Nagar Haveli (18) and Daman & Diu (7) as two rows; they are combined here as 25 so they can be compared with CSA-XV, which printed one row for the merged UT.
IBPS Clerk seats in your state: CSA-XV vs CSA-XVI
CSA-XV: notification of 01.08.2025 and corrigendum 2 of 14.11.2025. CSA-XVI: Annexure I of the 01.08.2026 notification and the updated Annexure I of the 29.09.2026 corrigendum; category split and differences use the updated figure. Differences and percentages are our arithmetic. IBPS calls the XVI figures “indicative”; allotment uses the vacancies banks actually report.
So, will the CSA-XVI vacancies increase?
Nobody outside the banks knows, and IBPS says as much. The notification calls the figures “indicative and anticipated as communicated by the Participating Banks” and says provisional allotment will be made on “the actual vacancies reported”. It lists the reasons numbers move: business volume, growth, branch expansion and structural changes. That is the honest answer, and it cuts both ways.
What the record does show is this. In CSA-XV, two banks that reported nothing in August reported large numbers by October. Three more banks revised upwards. The total rose 53% (our arithmetic) between notification and the second corrigendum. Then the first reserve-list round added nearly 4,000 more allotments, and a second round followed in September 2026. In CSA-XVI one bank, Union Bank of India, again reported nothing at the notification stage, and still shows “NR” in the update of 29 September 2026. That update is the first CSA-XVI vacancy corrigendum: it added 260 seats, all from Bank of Baroda (1,200 to 1,460), a rise of about 2.3% on the notified total (our arithmetic). Last year’s two corrigenda came on 27 October and 14 November, so this one is earlier and, so far, much smaller.
What you should not do is plan on a particular total. A corrigendum can move seats between states as well as add them, as Delhi and Chandigarh found last year. Your preparation target is the same either way: a Mains score high enough for your state and category, which the score guide in this series covers with IBPS’s own figures.
Key dates for this cycle
| Stage | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | 01.08.2026 to 21.08.2026, extended to 28.08.2026 | Notification; corrigendum |
| Pre-Exam Training | September 2026; call letters live on ibps.in | Notification; IBPS CSA-XVI page |
| Vacancy update | 29.09.2026: Annexure I reissued; 11,663 indicative seats (our sum), up from 11,403 | Corrigendum and updated Annexure I, 29.09.2026 |
| Prelims | 10 and 11 October 2026 | IBPS calendar 2026-27 (notification: “October, 2026”) |
| Prelims result | November 2026 (tentative) | Notification |
| Mains | 27 December 2026 | IBPS calendar 2026-27 (notification: “December, 2026”) |
| Provisional allotment | March 2027 (tentative) | Notification |
The age and qualification dates did not move with the registration extension: age is reckoned on 1 August 2026 and graduation must be complete by 21 August 2026. The extension corrigendum changed only the registration and fee dates, and the vacancy corrigendum of 29.09.2026 says all other terms of the notification remain unchanged.
Practise it, don't just read it
Seat counts decide how far down the list IBPS goes; your Mains score decides where you are on it. Start with reading comprehension, which appears in both the Prelims and the Mains.
The ProSyllabus IBPS Clerk library is small so far: one live quiz, Reading Comprehension Passages Fundamentals (English, 10 questions), which is free to try.
How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk 2026?
The CSA-XVI Annexure I, as updated on 29.09.2026, lists 11,663 indicative seats across 10 banks (11,403 at notification). Those are our sums; IBPS prints bank and state tables but no grand total.
Is 11,663 the official IBPS Clerk vacancy total?
No official total exists. 11,663 is the sum of the updated Annexure I columns: SC 1,936, ST 962, OBC 2,863, EWS 1,024 and UR 4,878.
What changed in the IBPS Clerk vacancy corrigendum of 29 September 2026?
IBPS reissued Annexure I with indicative vacancies as on 29.09.2026. Only Bank of Baroda changed, from 1,200 to 1,460 seats, which raised 22 State/UT rows and the total from 11,403 to 11,663 (our sums). Gujarat (698 to 761) and Karnataka (1,414 to 1,458) gained most. The corrigendum says all other terms of the notification are unchanged.
Will IBPS Clerk 2026 vacancies increase?
They already have, slightly: the corrigendum of 29.09.2026 raised the total from 11,403 to 11,663 (our sums). Last year the total rose from 10,277 to 15,701 through corrigenda on 27.10.2025 and 14.11.2025, and Union Bank of India has still not reported CSA-XVI seats, so further changes would not be unusual. None is promised.
Which bank has the most IBPS Clerk vacancies in 2026?
Canara Bank with 2,500, then Punjab National Bank with 2,016 and Indian Bank with 1,700.
Why does Union Bank show NR?
NR means not reported: the bank had not given IBPS a figure when the notification was issued, and it was still NR in the update of 29.09.2026.
Which state has the most IBPS Clerk seats in 2026?
Uttar Pradesh with 1,752, then Karnataka with 1,458 and Maharashtra with 1,062 (Annexure I as updated 29.09.2026).
Did every state gain seats in last year’s corrigenda?
No. Delhi fell from 416 to 279 and Chandigarh from 63 to 15 on 27.10.2025, while Uttar Pradesh rose from 1,315 to 2,781.
How many candidates were actually allotted in CSA-XV?
By our count of IBPS’s state lists: 15,238 in the main round (15,223 on 02.03.2026 plus 15 in Chandigarh on 17.07.2026) and 3,957 more in reserve-list phase 1 of 15.06.2026. Reserve-list phase 2 (15.09.2026) is not included; its lists were due by 15.10.2026. These are provisional allotments, not a count of people who joined.
Are PwBD and ex-servicemen seats extra?
No. They are printed as “out of which” and sit inside the SC, ST, OBC, EWS and UR counts.
Can I still apply for IBPS Clerk 2026?
No. Registration closed on 28 August 2026 after the extension.
When is the IBPS Clerk 2026 Prelims?
10 and 11 October 2026 according to the IBPS calendar; the notification says October 2026.
Is IBPS Clerk now called Customer Service Associate?
Yes, and it has been since CRP Clerks-XIV: IBPS renamed the post by a corrigendum dated 28.10.2024.
More in this series
- Mains scores that got an IBPS Clerk seat, by state
- IBPS Clerk Mains 2026: 160 questions, 125 minutes
- IBPS Clerk reserve list: how it works, state by state
- IBPS Clerk: choosing your state and the language rule
- IBPS Clerk vs SBI Clerk 2026
- IBPS Clerk notice board — official updates
- SBI Clerk 2026-27: two notifications
Sources
- official — IBPS — CRP CSA-XVI detailed notification (vacancies of 2027-28)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XVI corrigendum dated 29.09.2026: indicative vacancies updated in Annexure I
- official — IBPS — CSA-XVI Annexure I, updated vacancies as on 29.09.2026 (indicative)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XVI corrigendum: registration extended to 28.08.2026
- official — IBPS — Tentative calendar of online examinations 2026-27
- official — IBPS — CSA-XVI short advertisement
- official — IBPS — CRP-CSA-XVI page (PET call letters)
- official — IBPS — CRP CSA-XV detailed notification (re-issued 12.9.2025)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV vacancy corrigendum (27.10.2025)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV bank-wise, state-wise vacancies (27.10.2025)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV vacancy corrigendum 2 (14.11.2025)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV bank-wise, state-wise vacancies (14.11.2025)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV provisional allotment notice (02.03.2026), Annexure B maximum and minimum scores
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV Chandigarh provisional allotment notice (17.07.2026)
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV reserve list phase 1 notice (15.06.2026), minimum scores
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV reserve list phase 2 notice (15.09.2026), minimum scores
- official — IBPS — CSA-XV state-wise provisional allotment lists (e.g. Uttar Pradesh; counted, no names used)
- official — IBPS — CRP Clerks-XIV corrigendum 28.10.2024 (post renamed Customer Service Associate)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.












