Checked 28 September 2026. From the official 2025–2026 admission documents and CCMT opening/closing scores. Every closing figure is pooled across the GATE papers a programme accepts; none is GE-only. 2027 cut-offs will differ. Marks equivalents are our arithmetic.
GATE Geomatics is first of all an admissions paper, and it opens more doors than its small field suggests. 39 CCMT programme groups listed GE in 2026, six of them geoinformatics programmes at NITs and IIST. IIT Bombay, IIT Roorkee, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad and IIT BHU run geomatics M.Techs that take GE, and IISc accepts it for research. This guide collects the 2025–2026 figures from each institute’s own documents. Each is labelled for what it is, because a minimum to apply, a last score admitted and IIT Roorkee’s normalised marks are three different things. One fact governs all of them: no published figure is GE-only. Every closing score pools all the GATE papers a programme accepts.
CCMT 2026 seat mapping and opening/closing scores; IIT brochures. The marks equivalent is our inversion of the official score formula.
Where other pages get this wrong
IIT Kanpur publishes no GATE cut-off for its M.Tech in Geoinformatics; its civil engineering admissions page says admission is on GATE score only and gives no paper list or cut-off. IIT Kharagpur lists no programme that accepts the GATE GE paper (the “GE” in its tables is Genetic Engineering).
Commonly published instead: Some aggregator pages quote an IIT Kanpur Geoinformatics cut-off range of “291–498” without a source, and some lists put IIT Kharagpur among GATE GE institutes.
IIT Kanpur civil engineering PG admissions page; IIT Kharagpur JMP 2025 and 2026 eligibility criteria.
The score finder
Which geomatics programmes did your score clear in 2026?
Enter a GATE score and your category. The tool compares it with the 2026 figures from CCMT, IIT (ISM) and IIT Bombay for geomatics programmes that accept GE, and shows the marks that score meant on the 2026 GE field.
CCMT and IIT (ISM) figures are the last scores admitted in 2026, pooled across every GATE paper each programme accepts; IIT Bombay’s are minimums to apply, after which there is an interview. Where a category figure was not published the tool says so rather than guessing. The marks figure is our inversion of the official formula on the 2026 GE field (Mq 25, M̄t 53.93).
Read it against the rank tables. On the 2026 GE field a score of 360 fell in the 301–400 band (ranks 257–407) and 451 in the 401–500 band (ranks 140–246). Those are the scores that cleared the geoinformatics groups’ last CCMT rounds. A GE score in the high 300s to mid 400s, roughly 26–30 marks, reached every CCMT geoinformatics programme by the final round in 2026 (our reading; pooled figures). IIST’s first round (544) needed about 35 marks.
CCMT: the six geoinformatics groups
| Institute · programme | 2025 OPEN (R1 / lowest) | 2026 OPEN | 2026 OBC | 2026 SC | 2026 EWS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIST Thiruvananthapuram · Geoinformatics | 597 / 452 | 544 / 451 | 422 / 391 | 361 / 269 | 418 / 354 |
| MNNIT Allahabad · Geoinformatics | 442 / 367 | 462 / 409 | 385 / 355 | 341 / 257 | 385 / 335 |
| MANIT Bhopal · Geoinformatics and its Applications | 423 / 356 | 449 / 363 | 381 / 335 | 295 / 259 | 363 / 363 |
| NIT Warangal · Geoinformatics | 484 / 356 | 416 / 360 | 360 / 337 | 287 / 225 | 280 / 280 |
| NIT Karnataka · Geoinformatics | 388 / 351 | 363 / 363 | 306 / 306 | 264 / 246 | 318 / 318 |
| IIEST Shibpur · Water Resources Engg and Geoinformatics | 371 / 371 | — | — | 222 / 222 | — |
CCMT 2025 and 2026 opening/closing scores (NIC), filtered by us to groups whose GATE-paper column lists GE. Each cell is round-1 closing / lowest closing in any round. Pooled across all eligible papers; IIST’s group accepts 13 papers. CCMT’s own programme code “(GE)” means Geotechnical Engineering, so eligibility was read from the paper column, not the code.
From the table above.
The other 33 GE-eligible CCMT groups are not geomatics programmes. They include transportation and water-resources engineering at NIT Warangal and MANIT, atmospheric and ocean sciences and mining at NIT Rourkela, and programmes at DIAT, NIT Trichy, VNIT, PEC and several IIITs. Most also accept CE, so a GE candidate competes with civil engineers there.
The IITs, IISc and IIST
| Institute · programme | Year | Figure | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Bombay CSRE · GNR Geoinformatics and Natural Resources Engg | 2025, 2026 | GN/EWS 350 · OBC 315 · SC/ST 233; 2 GN + 2 OBC seats for GE; 70% GATE + 30% interview | Minimum to apply |
| IIT Bombay · CE6 Remote Sensing (Civil; papers CE, GE) | 2025 → 2026 | 600 / 540 / 400 → 550 / 495 / 367 | Minimum to apply |
| IIT Roorkee · M.Tech Geospatial Engineering (main disciplines CE/GE) | 2025; 2026 | GEN 54.04 (2025); GEN 54.64 · EWS 50.28 · OBC 47.56 · SC 39.31 (2026) | Normalised marks, last admitted |
| IIT Roorkee · Disaster Mitigation and Management (main CE/GE) | 2025; 2026 | GEN 53.36; 51.36 | Normalised marks, last admitted |
| IIT (ISM) Dhanbad · M.Tech Geomatics | 2026 | UR round 1: 593; final round (UR/OBC/EWS/SC/ST): 451 / 431 / 381 / 313 / 262 | Closing score (pooled) |
| IIT BHU · Geoinformatics (GATE CE/GE/CS/AR) | 2025 | GEN 567 · SC 384 | Closing score (pooled) |
| IIT Guwahati · Earth System Science and Engineering | 2025 | OPEN 479 · SC 348 · ST 321 | Closing score (pooled) |
| IISc research (PhD / M.Tech Research), GE rows, UR | 2026 | Civil 900 · Earth Sciences 750 · Divecha Centre 750 · Atmospheric and Oceanic 600 · Water Research 600 | Shortlisting cut-off |
Each institute’s official 2025/2026 document (links below). IIT Roorkee publishes normalised marks (marks ÷ paper maximum × 100), not scores. IIT Madras has no geomatics programme and uses GE only in multi-paper rows.
Three things stand out. IIT Bombay’s GNR floor is only 350, the general qualifying score, but it is a floor, and 30% of selection is an interview. IIT Roorkee’s Geospatial M.Tech closed at about 54–55 normalised marks for GEN, which for GE (a 100-mark paper) is about 55 marks. Only 9 GE candidates scored 50 or more in 2026, so this pooled figure was set mostly by other papers’ candidates. And IIT (ISM)’s Geomatics programme fell from 593 in round 1 to 451 by the last round, so it pays to stay in the rounds.
| Score | GE marks, 2026 field (ours) | 2026 rank band (official) | Example 2026 figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| 350 | 25.0 | 301–400: ranks 257–407 | IIT Bombay GNR floor |
| 363 | 25.7 | 301–400: ranks 257–407 | NITK, MANIT last round |
| 451 | 30.3 | 401–500: ranks 140–246 | IIST last round; IIT (ISM) final round |
| 550 | 35.5 | 501–600: ranks 65–137 | IIT Bombay CE6 floor |
| 593 | 37.8 | 501–600: ranks 65–137 | IIT (ISM) round 1 |
Marks by inverting the official formula on the 2026 GE field (our arithmetic); rank bands from the official 2026 report. Figures are pooled: many applicants in these lists wrote CE or another paper.
Not through GATE: IIRS and IIT Kharagpur
Two well-known names do not work the way candidates expect. IIRS Dehradun’s M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS (an Andhra University degree, 60 seats, fee ₹1,64,000 for the 2024–26 batch) admits through its own entrance test and interview, not GATE; GATE-qualified students there get an AICTE fellowship, amount not stated. IIT Kharagpur lists no programme that accepts the GE paper. And IIT Kanpur’s Geoinformatics M.Tech says only “GATE score”, with no paper list or cut-off published.
Stipend and PhD routes
| Institute | M.Tech stipend (GATE-qualified) |
|---|---|
| IIT Bombay | ₹12,400 a month for up to 24 months (8 hours a week of duties) |
| IIT Kharagpur, IIT BHU, IIT Madras | ₹12,400 a month |
| IIT Roorkee | “As per MoE norms” |
| IIST, IIRS | AICTE fellowship; amount not stated |
Institute M.Tech brochures 2026. PhD and MS (Research) programmes that accept GE include IIT Bombay CSRE, IIT Roorkee Civil (Geomatics group), IIT BHU Geoinformatics and IISc (floors above).
Your M.Tech application checklist
Tick each once done. Portals open after the GATE result on 19 March 2027.
0 of 9 done
Ticks are saved only in this browser on this device.
Practise it, don't just read it
A GE mark in the mid-30s to low 40s opened most of these doors in 2026. GNSS and datums are a steady 10 marks of Part A; try our Coordinate Systems and Datums quiz.
The ProSyllabus GATE Geomatics library has three topic quizzes today: Map Projections and Distortions and Coordinate Systems and Datums (Part B1 Maps and Part A GNSS ground) and Microwave Remote Sensing Principles (Part A Remote Sensing), each with a worked explanation for every option.
Which IITs accept GATE Geomatics for M.Tech?
From the 2025–2026 documents: IIT Bombay (CSRE Geoinformatics and CE6 Remote Sensing), IIT Roorkee (Geospatial Engineering; Disaster Mitigation), IIT (ISM) Dhanbad (Geomatics), IIT BHU (Geoinformatics) and IIT Guwahati (Earth System Science). IIT Kharagpur lists none.
What is the IIT Bombay CSRE cut-off for GATE GE?
For the GNR Geoinformatics and Natural Resources programme, the 2025 and 2026 minimum to apply was 350 (GN/EWS), 315 (OBC) and 233 (SC/ST), followed by an interview (70% GATE, 30% interview).
What GATE GE score is needed for an NIT?
In CCMT 2026 the geoinformatics groups at NIT Warangal, NIT Karnataka, MANIT and MNNIT closed their last rounds at OPEN scores of 360–409. These are pooled across all eligible GATE papers.
Does IIRS Dehradun admit through GATE?
No. IIRS’s M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS admits through its own entrance test and interview. GATE-qualified students receive an AICTE fellowship.
Is there a GE-only cut-off for M.Tech?
No. Every published closing score (CCMT, COAP, institute lists) is pooled across all the GATE papers a programme accepts.
What stipend do M.Tech students get with GATE?
₹12,400 a month at IIT Bombay, IIT Kharagpur, IIT BHU and IIT Madras for GATE-qualified M.Tech students; IIT Roorkee pays “as per MoE norms”.
More in this series
- GATE Geomatics 2027 syllabus: every change
- GATE Geomatics marks vs score vs rank + calculator
- GATE GE previous year papers: topic counts for Part A, B1, B2
- GATE Geomatics Part B1 or B2: how to choose
- Jobs after GATE Geomatics: who hires, through which exam
- GATE Geomatics notice board — official updates
- GATE Geomatics Engineering: the complete guide
- GATE Geomatics paper analysis
- GATE Geomatics cut-off, colleges and placements
Sources
- official — CCMT 2025–2026 — seat mapping and opening/closing scores (NIC)
- official — IIT Bombay — minimum qualifying GATE cut-off 2026 (PDF)
- official — IIT Bombay — minimum qualifying GATE cut-off 2025 (PDF)
- official — IIT Bombay, Centre of Studies in Resources Engineering — admissions and seat distribution
- official — IIT Roorkee — M.Tech admission 2026 (brochure and normalised last-admitted marks)
- official — IIT (ISM) Dhanbad — M.Tech admission and closing scores
- official — IIT (BHU) — M.Tech admission through COAP 2025, GATE cut-off scores (PDF)
- official — IISc — cut-off report and GATE score of previous years
- official — IIST Thiruvananthapuram — PG admission 2026 notification
- official — IIRS Dehradun (ISRO) — M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS (course flyer; own entrance test)
- official — GATE 2026 Statistical and Performance Report (IIT Guwahati, PDF)
- official — GATE 2027 Information Brochure, IIT Madras (revised 27 Sep 2026)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.













