Checked 28 September 2026. Admission rules are from the institutes’ official pages as checked on 28 Sep 2026 and change every cycle. The list of GATE-using recruiters is from the GATE 2027 brochure. Rank equivalents are our arithmetic.
Engineering candidates write GATE partly for PSU jobs. An economist writing XH-C1 should know first that no PSU, RBI, Indian Economic Service or ministry recruits through the GATE Economics score. The PSUs the GATE brochure lists are engineering and technical recruiters, the RBI’s economist grade (DEPR) has its own exam, and the IES is recruited through UPSC’s own exam. What the score does open is postgraduate study: one M.A. decided on GATE alone, and a handful of PhD programmes that accept GATE as an eligibility route or funding condition. This guide sets out each one from the institutes’ own pages. At the end, a short chooser tells you whether GATE, UGC-NET or both fit your plan.
GATE 2027 brochure; IIT Madras, IIT Kanpur, IIT Delhi and IIT Bombay admission pages.
Where other pages get this wrong
No PSU hires through the GATE Economics score. The PSUs listed in the GATE 2027 brochure as users of GATE scores are engineering and technical recruiters, and no PSU, RBI, IES or ministry notification using XH-C1 was found.
Commonly published instead: Ecoholics’ “GATE Economics syllabus” page says “public sector undertakings (PSUs) like IOCL, NTPC, ONGC, etc.” hire through the GATE score, in an Economics context. HaqSe Economics lists “PSU eligibility” and “GATE score used for PSU recruitment” for GATE Economics. Econtweets says “IITs, NITs, and PSUs” use the score for shortlisting.
GATE 2027 Information Brochure, §5.3.2 (PSU recruitment); PSU recruitment notices, which ask for engineering GATE papers.
Admission: the IIT Madras M.A.
The one programme that admits purely on the GATE Economics score is IIT Madras’s two-year M.A. Its Economics stream (HS3) has 25 seats and accepts only XH-C1. Development Studies (HS2) sets aside 5 seats for XH-C1, and the new Public Policy stream (HS4) takes any XH section. The general-category closing score for Economics was 621 in 2026, 737 in 2025 and 621 in 2024. The M.A. carries no stipend, and the first-semester payment in 2026-27 was ₹61,402 for GEN/OBC/EWS. Our IIT Madras guide has every category’s cut-off and a score checker.
PhD: where GATE counts, and how
At PhD level GATE is usually one of several ways to become eligible or funded, alongside UGC-NET/JRF, and each department words it differently. Read the exact line for the department you want.
| Institute and department | What it says about GATE | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| IIT Kanpur, Humanities and Social Sciences | Eligible with JRF/NET or “a GATE All India Rank (AIR) within the top 5% of candidates who appeared for the XH paper”; then a written test and interview, weighted 60:40 | A rank-based condition, not a score |
| IIT Kanpur, Economic Sciences | Master’s in Economics or an allied field (≥55%) or a 4-year B.Tech/BS, plus a valid GATE score or JRF/NET (waived for IIT/IISER/NIT master’s graduates with CPI ≥ 8); Mathematics required in the UG degree | Any valid GATE score is a route in; the paper is not specified |
| IIT Delhi, Humanities and Social Sciences | Full-time PhD needs UGC-NET/JRF or GATE “in any discipline”, with a master’s (60%, SC/ST 55%) or B.Tech; “a qualified GATE score and a 3-year UG degree” is not enough; no self-financed full-time route | GATE works only with a master’s |
| IIT Bombay, Humanities and Social Sciences | Eligibility by degree (e.g. M.A. 55%); “Candidates having UGC-NET Lectureship (LS)/ GATE are also eligible for Teaching Assistantship” | GATE is a funding route, not a filter |
Official department pages as checked on 28 Sep 2026 (links below). Rules are set per admission cycle; re-read them when applications open.
What does “top 5% of XH candidates” mean in practice? If it is read as 5% of those who appeared for Economics, it was about the top 147 of 2,952 in 2026. Rank 147 fell in the 500–600 score band on the official 2026 table (ranks 95–171), or roughly 45–50 marks by our conversion. If it means all XH sections combined, the number is larger. IIT Kanpur’s page does not say which, and that is our reading, not theirs, so ask the department before relying on it.
Fellowship money
A GATE score does not pay anything by itself. Assistantships and fellowships come with admission to a centrally funded institute, and the GATE brochure notes that qualifying in GATE is a minimum requirement for various government fellowships. The one figure we could confirm on an official page is IIT Kanpur Economic Sciences’: ₹37,000 a month for the first two years and ₹42,000 a month for the next three for PhD scholars. We found no primary Ministry of Education circular for these amounts, so treat other rupee figures you read as reported.
| Route | Monthly support | Source |
|---|---|---|
| IIT Madras M.A. (GATE XH) | None (Non-HTTA seats) | IIT Madras 2026 brochure |
| IIT Kanpur Economic Sciences PhD | ₹37,000 (years 1–2), ₹42,000 (years 3–5) | IIT Kanpur Economic Sciences PhD page |
| IIT Bombay HSS PhD with NET-LS or GATE | Teaching Assistantship (amount not stated on the page) | IIT Bombay HSS PhD page |
| IIT Delhi HSS full-time PhD | Fellowship with teaching-assistant duty; no self-financed full-time route (amount not stated on the page) | IIT Delhi HSS admission FAQ |
Official pages as checked on 28 Sep 2026.
Jobs: what does and does not use the score
| Employer or route | Uses GATE Economics? | How they recruit economists or officers |
|---|---|---|
| PSUs (IOCL, NTPC, ONGC, BHEL, SAIL and others) | No | GATE only for engineering disciplines; management and finance roles through their own processes |
| RBI Grade B (DEPR, economists) | No | RBI’s own examination |
| Indian Economic Service | No | UPSC’s IES/ISS examination |
| Assistant professor (colleges, universities) | No | UGC-NET (with a master’s) or a PhD |
GATE 2027 brochure list of recruiters; our search of recruitment notices found none that names GATE XH-C1.
Timing: GATE, NET and applications
The calendar matters as much as the rules. GATE is written once a year, in February, and its result comes in March, in time for M.A. and PhD applications that open in spring for the July intake. UGC-NET is held twice a year, so a candidate who misses one cycle has a second chance within months. A GATE score stays valid for three years, which means a strong GATE 2027 result can still be used for applications in 2028 and 2029, provided the institute accepts older scores. Each brochure states which GATE years it accepts, so check it when applications open. If you are in the final year of a bachelor’s degree, a GATE 2027 score can serve the intake right after you graduate and, where the brochure accepts older scores, the following ones too.
Should you write GATE Economics?
GATE Economics, UGC-NET or both? Three questions
Two practical points. First, eligibility is wide: anyone in the third year of a bachelor’s degree in any discipline, including B.A. and B.Com., may write GATE, with no age limit. Second, if you also like statistics, the only second paper you can pair with XH is ST (Statistics). It has its own admissions, and it is heavy on the probability and inference that Section 3 already asks.
Practise it, don't just read it
Whichever route you choose, the Economics section is the same 60 marks. Microeconomics is where to start: it carried the most marks in every paper from 2023 to 2026.
The ProSyllabus GATE Economics library has one topic quiz today: Production Function and Returns (Microeconomics, XH1.1), with a worked explanation for every option. For every other section, work from the official past papers and keys linked in our previous-papers guide.
Do PSUs recruit through GATE Economics?
No. The PSUs that use GATE scores recruit engineers through engineering papers. No PSU, RBI, Indian Economic Service or ministry notification using GATE XH-C1 was found.
What can I do with a GATE Economics score?
Apply for IIT Madras’s two-year M.A. (Economics, Development Studies or Public Policy), which admits on GATE scores alone. Use it for PhD eligibility or funding at departments that accept GATE, such as IIT Kanpur, IIT Delhi and IIT Bombay HSS or IIT Kanpur Economic Sciences, under each one’s conditions.
Is GATE Economics accepted for PhD at IIT Kanpur?
IIT Kanpur’s HSS department accepts a GATE rank within the top 5% of candidates who appeared for the XH paper, or JRF/NET. The Economic Sciences department accepts a valid GATE score or JRF/NET together with a master’s or 4-year degree.
Can a B.A. student write GATE Economics?
Yes. Students in the third or higher year of any bachelor’s degree, including arts and commerce, are eligible for GATE. There is no age limit.
Is GATE Economics better than UGC-NET?
They serve different ends. GATE Economics is the route to IIT Madras’s M.A. and one route to some IIT PhDs; UGC-NET is needed for college teaching and is accepted by most PhD programmes. For a PhD, writing both gives two chances.
How long is a GATE Economics score valid?
Three years from the date of the result.
More in this series
- GATE Economics 2027 syllabus: what changed in XH1
- GATE Economics PYQ: topic-wise weightage 2023–2026
- GATE Economics marks vs score vs rank + calculator
- IIT Madras M.A. Economics through GATE: cut-offs, seats, fees
- GATE Economics 2027 preparation plan, October to February
- GATE XH0 Reasoning and Comprehension: the compulsory 25 marks
- GATE Economics notice board — official updates
- GATE Economics: the complete guide
- GATE Economics paper analysis
- GATE Economics cut-off, rank and colleges
Sources
- official — GATE 2027 Information Brochure, IIT Madras (revised 27 Sep 2026)
- official — IIT Madras HSS — 2-year M.A. programme (streams and GATE XH sections)
- official — IIT Madras — M.Tech./M.Sc./M.A. Admission 2026 Information Brochure (seat table 3.1, Non-HTTA M.A.)
- official — IIT Madras — GATE cut-off scores, M.Tech and M.A., 2026 (PDF)
- official — IIT Madras — fee structure for 2026 admissions, UG and PG (PDF)
- official — IIT Kanpur, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences — PhD admissions
- official — IIT Kanpur, Department of Economic Sciences — PhD admissions
- official — IIT Delhi, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences — admission FAQ
- official — IIT Bombay, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences — PhD eligibility
- official — GATE 2026 Statistical and Performance Report (IIT Guwahati, PDF)
- official — GATE 2027 — Two-paper combinations (XH: ST only)
- reported — Ecoholics — “GATE Economics syllabus” (checked 28 Sep 2026; see correction)
- reported — HaqSe Economics — “How to get into IIT Madras MA Economics via GATE” (checked 28 Sep 2026; see correction)
- reported — Econtweets — “GATE Economics” (checked 28 Sep 2026; see correction)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.













