Updated : 32 minutes ago
View Complete ArticleChecked 28 September 2026. Starting salary and post-scheme ranges are official (Civil Service Careers). Year-by-year rates are reported by Civil Service World and the FDA union for the 2025-26 award; no 2026-27 award had been published when this was checked. Pay awards are negotiated yearly.
The Fast Stream advertises a starting salary of £31,554 and an earning potential of £45,000 to £55,000. Both figures are official, and neither tells you what you will be paid in year two or three, or in London. This guide puts together the official figures, the year-by-year rates reported for the 2025-26 pay award, and each scheme's own statement of pay after the scheme. Everything reported, rather than official, is marked.
Where other pages get this wrong
£31,554 is year-one pay outside London. Pay steps up each year only if you stay "on trajectory", and London posts carry an 8% allowance.
Commonly published instead: a single Fast Stream salary figure, or the £45,000 to £55,000 range presented as pay during the scheme.
According to Civil Service World (reported), the 2025-26 award set four spot rates, one per scheme year, from £31,554 to £40,098 nationally and £34,078 to £43,306 in London. You move to the next year's rate only if you pass your assessments. The £45,000 to £55,000 figure is the Fast Stream page's earning potential after the scheme, which follows promotion at the end.
Civil Service Careers Fast Stream page; Civil Service World, 22 Aug 2025.
| Scheme year | Outside London | London (with 8% allowance) | Rise on 2024-25 | Running total, outside London (our arithmetic) | Running total, London (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 | £31,554 | £34,078 | 1.18% | £31,554 | £34,078 |
| Year 2 | £35,000 | £37,800 | 6.41% | £66,554 | £71,878 |
| Year 3 | £38,001 | £41,041 | 3.61% | £104,555 | £112,919 |
| Year 4 | £40,098 | £43,306 | 3.25% | £144,653 | £156,225 |
Spot rates as reported by Civil Service World on 22 August 2025 for the centralised 2025-26 Fast Stream pay award. The running totals are our own sums of gross annual pay, before tax and pension contributions, assuming you stay on trajectory. They exclude the one-off £350 bonus and any later award.
Reported by Civil Service World, 22 Aug 2025. London rates are 8% higher.
| Scheme year | 2024-25 outside London | 2024-25 London | 2025-26 outside London | 2025-26 London | Rise |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 | £31,186 | £33,681 | £31,554 | £34,078 | 1.18% |
| Year 2 | £32,892 | £35,523 | £35,000 | £37,800 | 6.41% |
| Year 3 | £36,677 | £39,611 | £38,001 | £41,041 | 3.61% |
| Year 4 | £38,836 | £41,943 | £40,098 | £43,306 | 3.25% |
| Detail of the award (reported) | Figure or rule |
|---|---|
| Average increase allowed under the 2025-26 remit | 3.75%, weighted towards second years |
| Previous award | 6.75% over two years, covering 2023-24 and 2024-25 |
| FDA members on the Fast Stream voting to accept | 93% |
| Backdated to | 1 August 2025 |
| Condition for moving to the next year's rate | Pass your assessments and be considered on trajectory |
| On-trajectory bonus | One-off £350 at the autumn review |
| "Mark time" fast streamers (paid above the Fast Stream rate) | One-off non-consolidated, non-pensionable payment of 3.25% of salary |
| Not covered by the award | Diplomatic and Development schemes (employed by the FCDO) and non-centralised fast streamers (employed by departments) |
The biggest rise went to year two, at 6.41%. The FDA union said this followed feedback that second-year fast streamers were the most dissatisfied with pay and the most likely to consider leaving. Year one rose only 1.18%. The award is conditional: the rates are for fast streamers who progress. If you are not judged on trajectory you do not move up to the next year's rate. No 2026-27 award had been reported when this guide was checked.
| Point in the year | What the sources say | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Start dates for the 2026 intake | 7 September or 28 September 2026 (official) | Official |
| Start month wording | The Fast Stream home page says September; the starting page says September or October | Official, two pages differ |
| Moving to the next year's spot rate | In November, for eligible fast streamers | Reported |
| Backdating | To the anniversary of your starting month on the programme (September or October) | Reported |
| New starters | Join directly on the new spot rates from their start date | Reported |
Pay moves once a year, on the scheme year rather than the calendar year. According to Civil Service World (reported), eligible fast streamers move to the rate for their rotation year in November, backdated to the anniversary of the month they started. Two official pages describe the start month differently: the Fast Stream home page says September, while the page on starting the Fast Stream says September or October. The 2026 intake had two start dates, both in September. So the first rise normally arrives about a year after you join, and only if your end-of-year assessment finds you on trajectory.
| Scheme | Length | Pay after the scheme (official scheme page) |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial | 3.5 years | Not stated |
| Cyber Security | 3 years | £45k to £55k |
| Digital | 3 years | £45k to £55k |
| Diplomatic and Development | 5 years | Not stated |
| Diplomatic and Development Economics | 5 years | Not stated |
| Finance | 4 years | £45k to £55k |
| Government Economics Service | 3.5 years | £45k to £55k |
| Government Operational Research Service | 3.5 years | £50k to £60k |
| Government Policy | 3 years | £45k to £62k |
| Government Social Research | 3.5 years | £45k to £55k |
| Government Statistical Service | 3.5 years | £45k to £62k |
| Human Resources | 3 years | Around £49k to £60k |
| Operational Delivery | 3.5 years | £55,000 earning potential |
| Project Delivery | 3.5 years | £45k to £55k |
| Property | 4 years | Up to £55k |
| Risk Management | 3.5 years | Not stated |
| Science and Engineering | 3 years | Not stated |
From each scheme page. The ranges are earning potential, not a guarantee. Most pages tie them to successful completion and promotion, a few to completion or the first post-scheme role; promotion is not automatic, and several pages tie it to passing a professional qualification. "Not stated" means the scheme page gives no figure. The two diplomatic schemes are FCDO roles with their own pay terms.
Upper end of each range from the scheme pages. Operational Delivery gives a single figure of £55,000. Commercial, D&D, D&D Economics, Risk Management and Science and Engineering state no figure.
| Grade | Average starting salary (official) | Entry routes named |
|---|---|---|
| Administrative Officer or Assistant (AA/AO) | £23,000 | Direct applications, apprenticeships |
| Executive Officer (EO) | £27,000 | Direct applications, apprenticeships |
| Higher Executive Officer (HEO) | £32,000 | Direct applications, graduate Fast Stream programmes |
| Senior Executive Officer (SEO) | £39,000 | Direct applications, completing the Fast Stream |
| Grade 7 | £49,000 | Direct applications |
| Grade 6 | £59,000 | Direct applications |
From the Civil Service grades and pay page. The Fast Stream starts at HEO; the Institute for Government (reported) says fast streamers typically reach Grade 7 in about 3 years (see the table below). On these official averages, a direct-entry HEO starts at about the same pay, £32,000, as a first-year fast streamer. What the Fast Stream offers instead is the route: the grades page names completing the Fast Stream as an entry route to SEO, and the schemes' post-scheme ranges reach Grade 7 averages and above.
| Comparison (reported by the FDA via Civil Service World) | Figure |
|---|---|
| Average fast streamer pay, 2024-25 | £32,890 |
| Median civil service pay | £42,060 |
| Surveyed fast streamers dissatisfied or very dissatisfied with pay | 64% |
| Who mainly compare themselves with mainstream HEO and SEO roles | 76% |
These figures come from an FDA union survey, reported by Civil Service World. They are the union's framing in a pay negotiation, so read them as one side of an argument. They do show that fast streamers themselves compare their pay with direct-entry HEO and SEO roles, not with private-sector graduate schemes.
| Institute for Government (reported) | Figure |
|---|---|
| Fast Stream entry grade | HEO |
| Typical time to reach Grade 7 | About 3 years |
| Item | Amount or rule | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Relocation support | Up to £2,000 on a qualifying move, available only after you have started | Official |
| Statistics scheme bursary | Up to £1,000 in year 3 and/or year 4 for relevant learning | Official |
| Contract | Permanent | Official |
| Summer Internship Programme pay | £452 a week for two months | Official |
Every scheme page also lists the standard Civil Service benefits, including the Civil Service Pension Scheme. The employer pension contribution is a large part of the package, but the Fast Stream pages do not state a rate, so we do not quote one.
Practise it, don't just read it
Salary depends on getting in first, and the first test at the assessment centre is a written analysis of a brief with tables. The ProSyllabus Written Advice and data quizzes practise it.
The ProSyllabus Fast Stream library has 12 quizzes: four on Written Advice Exercise skills (drawing conclusions from a brief, assumptions and inference, evaluating arguments in policy prose, weighing options against stated criteria), five on reading and working with data (tables and charts, percentages and change, multi-step problems, index numbers and real terms, scheduling and capacity), and one each on the Civil Service Code, fact versus inference versus judgement, and summarising a brief faithfully.
The official figure is £31,554. As reported by Civil Service World for the 2025-26 award, the London rate is £34,078, including an 8% London Living Allowance. The Diplomatic and Development schemes are paid on FCDO terms, not these rates.
According to Civil Service World (reported), the 2025-26 rates outside London were £35,000 in year two, £38,001 in year three and £40,098 in year four. London rates were £37,800, £41,041 and £43,306. You only move up if you are judged on trajectory.
The Fast Stream page gives an earning potential of £45,000 to £55,000. Individual scheme pages range up to £62k for Government Policy and the Government Statistical Service, and £50k to £60k for Operational Research. Five schemes state no figure. These ranges follow promotion at the end of the scheme.
Not at first. The official average HEO starting salary is £32,000, about the same as year one on the Fast Stream. The difference is progression: the Fast Stream is built to take you through to promotion, and the grades page names completing it as a route to SEO.
No 2026-27 award had been reported when this guide was checked on 28 September 2026. The latest reported rates are the 2025-26 award, backdated to 1 August 2025.
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.