M.Tech After GATE GE: IIT, NIT, IIST Cut-offs 2025–2026 and Stipend

Where a GATE Geomatics score is accepted for M.Tech and PhD, with the 2025–2026 figures from CCMT, IIT Bombay, IIT Roorkee, IIT (ISM), IIT BHU and IISc — each labelled floor, closing or normalised.

M.Tech After GATE GE: IIT, NIT, IIST Cut-offs 2025–2026 and StipendOpen the full article →

Checked 28 September 2026. From the official 2025–2026 admission documents and CCMT opening/closing scores. Every closing figure is pooled across the GATE papers a programme accepts; none is GE-only. 2027 cut-offs will differ. Marks equivalents are our arithmetic.

GATE Geomatics is first of all an admissions paper, and it opens more doors than its small field suggests. 39 CCMT programme groups listed GE in 2026, six of them geoinformatics programmes at NITs and IIST. IIT Bombay, IIT Roorkee, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad and IIT BHU run geomatics M.Techs that take GE, and IISc accepts it for research. This guide collects the 2025–2026 figures from each institute’s own documents. Each is labelled for what it is, because a minimum to apply, a last score admitted and IIT Roorkee’s normalised marks are three different things. One fact governs all of them: no published figure is GE-only. Every closing score pools all the GATE papers a programme accepts.

39
CCMT 2026 groups listing the GE paper (6 in geoinformatics)
360–451
last-round OPEN closing scores of the geoinformatics groups, 2026
≈ 25–30
marks those scores meant on the 2026 GE field (ours)
₹12,400
monthly stipend for GATE-qualified M.Tech students at the IITs

CCMT 2026 seat mapping and opening/closing scores; IIT brochures. The marks equivalent is our inversion of the official score formula.

Where other pages get this wrong

IIT Kanpur publishes no GATE cut-off for its M.Tech in Geoinformatics; its civil engineering admissions page says admission is on GATE score only and gives no paper list or cut-off. IIT Kharagpur lists no programme that accepts the GATE GE paper (the “GE” in its tables is Genetic Engineering).

Commonly published instead: Some aggregator pages quote an IIT Kanpur Geoinformatics cut-off range of “291–498” without a source, and some lists put IIT Kharagpur among GATE GE institutes.

IIT Kanpur civil engineering PG admissions page; IIT Kharagpur JMP 2025 and 2026 eligibility criteria.

The score finder

Which geomatics programmes did your score clear in 2026? works on the full page only.Open it →

Read it against the rank tables. On the 2026 GE field a score of 360 fell in the 301–400 band (ranks 257–407) and 451 in the 401–500 band (ranks 140–246). Those are the scores that cleared the geoinformatics groups’ last CCMT rounds. A GE score in the high 300s to mid 400s, roughly 26–30 marks, reached every CCMT geoinformatics programme by the final round in 2026 (our reading; pooled figures). IIST’s first round (544) needed about 35 marks.

CCMT: the six geoinformatics groups

Institute · programme2025 OPEN (R1 / lowest)2026 OPEN2026 OBC2026 SC2026 EWS
IIST Thiruvananthapuram · Geoinformatics597 / 452544 / 451422 / 391361 / 269418 / 354
MNNIT Allahabad · Geoinformatics442 / 367462 / 409385 / 355341 / 257385 / 335
MANIT Bhopal · Geoinformatics and its Applications423 / 356449 / 363381 / 335295 / 259363 / 363
NIT Warangal · Geoinformatics484 / 356416 / 360360 / 337287 / 225280 / 280
NIT Karnataka · Geoinformatics388 / 351363 / 363306 / 306264 / 246318 / 318
IIEST Shibpur · Water Resources Engg and Geoinformatics371 / 371——222 / 222—

CCMT 2025 and 2026 opening/closing scores (NIC), filtered by us to groups whose GATE-paper column lists GE. Each cell is round-1 closing / lowest closing in any round. Pooled across all eligible papers; IIST’s group accepts 13 papers. CCMT’s own programme code “(GE)” means Geotechnical Engineering, so eligibility was read from the paper column, not the code.

CCMT 2026 OPEN lowest closing score, geoinformatics groups
IIST Geoinformatics451
MNNIT Geoinformatics409
MANIT Geoinformatics363
NITK Geoinformatics363
NIT Warangal Geoinformatics360

From the table above.

The other 33 GE-eligible CCMT groups are not geomatics programmes. They include transportation and water-resources engineering at NIT Warangal and MANIT, atmospheric and ocean sciences and mining at NIT Rourkela, and programmes at DIAT, NIT Trichy, VNIT, PEC and several IIITs. Most also accept CE, so a GE candidate competes with civil engineers there.

The IITs, IISc and IIST

Institute · programmeYearFigureType
IIT Bombay CSRE · GNR Geoinformatics and Natural Resources Engg2025, 2026GN/EWS 350 · OBC 315 · SC/ST 233; 2 GN + 2 OBC seats for GE; 70% GATE + 30% interviewMinimum to apply
IIT Bombay · CE6 Remote Sensing (Civil; papers CE, GE)2025 → 2026600 / 540 / 400 → 550 / 495 / 367Minimum to apply
IIT Roorkee · M.Tech Geospatial Engineering (main disciplines CE/GE)2025; 2026GEN 54.04 (2025); GEN 54.64 · EWS 50.28 · OBC 47.56 · SC 39.31 (2026)Normalised marks, last admitted
IIT Roorkee · Disaster Mitigation and Management (main CE/GE)2025; 2026GEN 53.36; 51.36Normalised marks, last admitted
IIT (ISM) Dhanbad · M.Tech Geomatics2026UR round 1: 593; final round (UR/OBC/EWS/SC/ST): 451 / 431 / 381 / 313 / 262Closing score (pooled)
IIT BHU · Geoinformatics (GATE CE/GE/CS/AR)2025GEN 567 · SC 384Closing score (pooled)
IIT Guwahati · Earth System Science and Engineering2025OPEN 479 · SC 348 · ST 321Closing score (pooled)
IISc research (PhD / M.Tech Research), GE rows, UR2026Civil 900 · Earth Sciences 750 · Divecha Centre 750 · Atmospheric and Oceanic 600 · Water Research 600Shortlisting cut-off

Each institute’s official 2025/2026 document (links below). IIT Roorkee publishes normalised marks (marks ÷ paper maximum × 100), not scores. IIT Madras has no geomatics programme and uses GE only in multi-paper rows.

Three things stand out. IIT Bombay’s GNR floor is only 350, the general qualifying score, but it is a floor, and 30% of selection is an interview. IIT Roorkee’s Geospatial M.Tech closed at about 54–55 normalised marks for GEN, which for GE (a 100-mark paper) is about 55 marks. Only 9 GE candidates scored 50 or more in 2026, so this pooled figure was set mostly by other papers’ candidates. And IIT (ISM)’s Geomatics programme fell from 593 in round 1 to 451 by the last round, so it pays to stay in the rounds.

ScoreGE marks, 2026 field (ours)2026 rank band (official)Example 2026 figure
35025.0301–400: ranks 257–407IIT Bombay GNR floor
36325.7301–400: ranks 257–407NITK, MANIT last round
45130.3401–500: ranks 140–246IIST last round; IIT (ISM) final round
55035.5501–600: ranks 65–137IIT Bombay CE6 floor
59337.8501–600: ranks 65–137IIT (ISM) round 1

Marks by inverting the official formula on the 2026 GE field (our arithmetic); rank bands from the official 2026 report. Figures are pooled: many applicants in these lists wrote CE or another paper.

Not through GATE: IIRS and IIT Kharagpur

Two well-known names do not work the way candidates expect. IIRS Dehradun’s M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS (an Andhra University degree, 60 seats, fee ₹1,64,000 for the 2024–26 batch) admits through its own entrance test and interview, not GATE; GATE-qualified students there get an AICTE fellowship, amount not stated. IIT Kharagpur lists no programme that accepts the GE paper. And IIT Kanpur’s Geoinformatics M.Tech says only “GATE score”, with no paper list or cut-off published.

Stipend and PhD routes

InstituteM.Tech stipend (GATE-qualified)
IIT Bombay₹12,400 a month for up to 24 months (8 hours a week of duties)
IIT Kharagpur, IIT BHU, IIT Madras₹12,400 a month
IIT Roorkee“As per MoE norms”
IIST, IIRSAICTE fellowship; amount not stated

Institute M.Tech brochures 2026. PhD and MS (Research) programmes that accept GE include IIT Bombay CSRE, IIT Roorkee Civil (Geomatics group), IIT BHU Geoinformatics and IISc (floors above).

Your M.Tech application checklist works on the full page only.Open it →

Practise it, don't just read it

A GE mark in the mid-30s to low 40s opened most of these doors in 2026. GNSS and datums are a steady 10 marks of Part A; try our Coordinate Systems and Datums quiz.

The ProSyllabus GATE Geomatics library has three topic quizzes today: Map Projections and Distortions and Coordinate Systems and Datums (Part B1 Maps and Part A GNSS ground) and Microwave Remote Sensing Principles (Part A Remote Sensing), each with a worked explanation for every option.

Start a GATE Geomatics quiz →

Which IITs accept GATE Geomatics for M.Tech?

From the 2025–2026 documents: IIT Bombay (CSRE Geoinformatics and CE6 Remote Sensing), IIT Roorkee (Geospatial Engineering; Disaster Mitigation), IIT (ISM) Dhanbad (Geomatics), IIT BHU (Geoinformatics) and IIT Guwahati (Earth System Science). IIT Kharagpur lists none.

What is the IIT Bombay CSRE cut-off for GATE GE?

For the GNR Geoinformatics and Natural Resources programme, the 2025 and 2026 minimum to apply was 350 (GN/EWS), 315 (OBC) and 233 (SC/ST), followed by an interview (70% GATE, 30% interview).

What GATE GE score is needed for an NIT?

In CCMT 2026 the geoinformatics groups at NIT Warangal, NIT Karnataka, MANIT and MNNIT closed their last rounds at OPEN scores of 360–409. These are pooled across all eligible GATE papers.

Does IIRS Dehradun admit through GATE?

No. IIRS’s M.Tech in Remote Sensing and GIS admits through its own entrance test and interview. GATE-qualified students receive an AICTE fellowship.

Is there a GE-only cut-off for M.Tech?

No. Every published closing score (CCMT, COAP, institute lists) is pooled across all the GATE papers a programme accepts.

What stipend do M.Tech students get with GATE?

₹12,400 a month at IIT Bombay, IIT Kharagpur, IIT BHU and IIT Madras for GATE-qualified M.Tech students; IIT Roorkee pays “as per MoE norms”.

Exam pagePreparing for GATE Geomatics Engineering?Syllabus, exam pattern, dates and every guide we have on GATE Geomatics Engineering, in one place.Open the GATE Geomatics Engineering page →