Checked 29 September 2026. From Workday's Exams for Training page (updated 23 September 2026) and Workday Pro FAQ (updated 21 July 2026). Workday edits these pages without notice; the 2021 exam guide is shown only as history.
Search for the Workday Pro HCM Core exam pattern and most answers say the same thing: 50 questions, 100 minutes, 80% to pass, two attempts and then 0.5 training credits a go. Those figures all appear together in Workday's public Workday Pro HCM Core Exam Guide PDF. Its file metadata dates it to 14 October 2021, and the Internet Archive captures we checked from July 2024, August 2025 and June 2026 match the file served today. Workday's current policy page, Exams for Training, last updated on 23 September 2026, says something different: a 2-hour limit, up to 55 items of which 50 are scored, a result that is simply Pass or Fail, 1 training credit for every certification-exam attempt and a 4-calendar-day wait before you can re-enrol after a fail. This guide leads with those current rules, shows the 2021 figures side by side so you can see what changed, and covers the proctoring rules that can end a session, invalidate a result or lead to a failing grade.
Workday Community, Exams for Training (updated 23 September 2026).
Current policy against the 2021 exam guide
| Rule | Current (Exams for Training, 23 Sep 2026) | 2021 exam guide (history) |
|---|---|---|
| Time limit | 2 hours | 100 minutes |
| Items | Up to 55: 50 scored, and some exams add 5 unscored pilot items you cannot identify | 50 questions |
| Pass standard | Not stated on the public Workday pages we reviewed. "Numerical scores aren't provided. Exam results indicate Pass or Fail." | At least 80% (40 out of 50) |
| Question split | Not stated on the public pages; the login-only Exam Guide may give one | HCM Fundamentals 30, Report Writer 10, Business Process Fundamentals 10 |
| Cost per attempt | 1 training credit per certification-exam attempt, first or retake. Exceptions: the recertification exam is 0.25 credit (FAQ); Workday Rising 2026 sells exams at $99 to eligible in-person attendees | Two attempts, then 0.5 training credits per attempt |
| After a fail | Wait 4 calendar days, re-enrol in the exam course | Not stated |
| Training before the exam | Recommended, not required ("with some exceptions" per certification) | "After completing the required training" |
| Recommended courses | HCM Core for Administrators; HCM Core Supplemental for Administrators (4 credits each) | HCM Fundamentals, Report Writer, Business Process Fundamentals |
| Book | Closed book; a calculator is available inside the exam | Not stated |
| Delivery | Proctored online (Guardian Browser) or at a Meazure Learning test centre | Not stated |
Current column: Workday's Exams for Training page, and the HCM certification page for the courses. 2021 column: the HCM Core Exam Guide PDF. The current page is the one Workday updates; where the two disagree, the current page wins.
Where other pages get this wrong
The exam is 2 hours with up to 55 items, and there is no published percentage to pass.
Commonly published instead: "50 questions, 100 minutes, 80% (40 of 50)" and "two attempts, then 0.5 training credits" — the 2021 guide's figures, repeated as current on prep sites and in older notes, including on this site; one institute page even quotes "a re-exam fee of USD 80".
Workday's current policy page sets 2 hours and up to 55 items, reports only Pass or Fail, and charges 1 training credit for every certification-exam attempt. No numerical pass threshold is stated on the current public Workday pages we reviewed; the 80% figure appears only in the 2021 PDF. If you have a Workday Community login, check the current HCM Core Exam Guide before relying on any number. Either way, plan to be comfortable across the whole task list, not to scrape 40 of 50.
Why does the old guide still circulate? Because it is the only public HCM Core exam guide we could find. Workday's current exam guides sit on the Workday Pro Exam Resources page inside Workday Community, which needs a customer or partner login. The public PDF is still hosted on Workday's marketing domain, carries no date on its pages, and so gets copied as if it were current. The Workday Pro FAQ now tells candidates to "visit the Workday Pro Exam Resources page to access an Exam Guide for your certification" — if you have a Community login, read that version before you book.
How the rules changed: a timeline
Workday pages unless marked reported. The September 2024 line is a partner's summary of Workday's announcement; the January 2025 line is one candidate's account.
| Date | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 14 Oct 2021 | HCM Core Exam Guide PDF created (50 Q, 100 min, 80%, 0.5 credit retakes) | Workday exam guide PDF (official) |
| 30 Sep 2024 | Proctored closed-book exams of fifty multiple-choice questions; two-year recertification | Healthcare IT Leaders (reported) |
| Apr 2025 | Active Workday Pro HCM (Legacy) certifications moved to HCM Core (expired ones not migrated) | Workday Pro FAQ (official) |
| 15 Sep 2026 | HCM Core exam in German and Spanish temporarily unavailable | Exams for Training (official) |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Current policy page last updated (the date of the page, not of each rule) | Exams for Training (official) |
| 2 Dec 2026 | Legacy recertification deadline | Workday Pro FAQ (official) |
Pacing: what 2 hours means per item
Two hours for up to 55 items is about 2.2 minutes an item; if your form has only the 50 scored items, it is 2.4 minutes. The 2021 guide's 100 minutes for 50 questions was exactly 2 minutes. Because Workday says "examinees can't tell which items are unscored", treat every item as live and pace for 55. A candidate who sat the exam in January 2025 reported finishing a first pass in about 30 minutes and a second in 15 — one person's experience, but it suggests time is rarely the binding constraint for someone who knows the material.
Pacing calculator: how long per item?
Pick the exam form and how many minutes you want to keep back to revisit flagged items. You cannot tell which items are unscored, so plan for every item on the form.
Our arithmetic on Workday's published time and item counts. The 2021 row is shown only for comparison; it is not the current rule.
| Form | Minutes per item (our arithmetic) | Seconds per item | With 10 minutes kept for review |
|---|---|---|---|
| Current, 55 items in 120 minutes | 2.18 | 131 | 120 seconds |
| Current, 50 items in 120 minutes | 2.40 | 144 | 132 seconds |
| 2021 guide, 50 questions in 100 minutes | 2.00 | 120 | 108 seconds |
What one candidate reported
| Item | Reported (Jan 2025) |
|---|---|
| Questions on the form | 50, all multiple choice |
| Timer | 2 hours (120 minutes), shown top right |
| Screenshot-based items | 5 to 6 items showed a screen, such as a business process definition |
| Time actually used | About 30 minutes for a first pass and 15 for a second: 45 in all |
| Result | Shown immediately on submission |
| Submit button | Ends the exam at once, with no confirmation prompt |
| Identity check | The proctor could not accept a driving licence; a passport worked |
A single candidate's account on note.com, written in Japanese; reported, not Workday policy. It pre-dates the September 2026 page, so it shows a 50-item form without saying whether unscored items were present.
Exam-day rules that end attempts
Proctoring-rule violations can terminate the session, invalidate a result or lead to a failing grade, so these rules are worth checking before exam day. Workday's page is specific, and a breach can mean "exam session terminated", a notification to your manager or Training Coordinator, or revoked results. The summary below is taken from Exams for Training; read the page itself before your appointment.
| Rule | Online exam | Test-centre exam |
|---|---|---|
| Photo ID | Government-issued, not expired, physical (digital only if digitally issued). Your last name must match your government-issued ID exactly | Government-issued with signature; first and last name must match the confirmation notice |
| Accepted IDs | Driver's licence, passport, temporary government ID, other government ID card | Same list |
| Materials | Closed book: no tenant, guides or tools; a calculator is provided inside the exam | Belongings in a storage area; security check before entry |
| Room and screen | Private room, 1 monitor only, room scan, wall behind the monitor cleared, no glass wall behind you | No sweaters or sweatshirts with pockets or pouches |
| Phones and headphones | Not permitted | Stored away |
| Breaks | No leaving your seat or looking off screen repeatedly | Unscheduled breaks allowed; the timer does not stop |
| Arrival | Run the Guardian Browser system test beforehand | Arrive 15 minutes early; up to 30 minutes late gets no extra time; more than 30 minutes late loses the seat |
| Recordings kept | Recorded throughout; retained 60 days | Most sites record; recordings, where made, can be kept up to 1 year |
| Cancel or reschedule | Up to the appointment time, no extra cost | Up to 48 hours before |
| Refunds | None for a fail or a no-show | None for a fail or a no-show |
| Where | Anywhere that meets the system requirements | Meazure Learning: over 1,400 centres in 110 countries; net-new exam enrolments only |
| Accommodations | Request through your Training Coordinator; allow 3 business days | Same |
Two rules deserve a check well before the day. First, the surname rule: for an online exam your last name must match your ID exactly. If the name on your Learning Center account differs from your ID in any way — an initial in place of a surname, a different spelling, a missing part — sort it out first. Workday asks you to submit a Training Case before the exam if you have questions about your name formatting or want to flag a discrepancy. Second, the room rule: a shared flat, a glass-walled office cabin or a second monitor you forgot to unplug can end the session. Book a time when you can guarantee an empty, closed room.
| Requirement (online) | Workday's minimum |
|---|---|
| Operating system | Windows 10 or later, or macOS 11.0 or later |
| Internet | 3 Mbps upload and download; mobile hotspots discouraged |
| Webcam | 640x480 resolution |
| Memory and processor | RAM minimum 7 GB; 4 CPU cores at 2.4 GHz recommended |
| Monitor | 1366x768, one monitor only |
| Microphone | Any except a headphone microphone |
| Software | Guardian Browser, with a system test before the exam |
Results, retakes and what you learn from a fail
You get Pass or Fail, not a number. Workday adds that "a self-service report is available to display the outcome for each topic on the exam", and that the unscored pilot items are not in that coaching report. If you fail a standard HCM Core certification exam, the rule is: wait 4 calendar days after your most recent attempt, re-enrol in the exam course, and pay 1 training credit again. You do not need to retake any course. Failing to meet the proctoring requirements on the day also counts: Workday says it can result in "a failing grade, with a mandatory minimum 4 day waiting period before reenrollment". Your Training Coordinator can see the outcome through the Learning Transcript Report, so plan the retake with them.
Use the topic report deliberately. It is the only diagnostic Workday gives you, and it tells you which topics to revisit; it will not tell you how close you were. That makes a fail expensive in time as well as credits — another reason to prepare against the whole task list rather than an old pass mark.
Languages: a conflict between two Workday pages
| Page | HCM Core exam languages |
|---|---|
| Exams for Training (23 Sep 2026) | English; French and Japanese translations; German and Spanish "temporarily unavailable" as of 15 September 2026. Proctors communicate only in English |
| Workday Rising 2026 FAQ | Lists the HCM exam in German, Spanish, French and Japanese |
We print both. The policy page is the more recent and more specific; if you need a translated exam, confirm it when you enrol. English is always available.
Booking the exam, step by step
From enrolment to result
- Enrol in the Workday Pro HCM Core programme in the Workday Learning Center. Workday says there is "no cost to enroll" and it "doesn't require Training Coordinator approval".
- When ready, enrol in the exam course inside the programme. This costs 1 training credit per attempt and needs your Training Coordinator's approval.
- Book a proctored appointment in Questionmark; slots can be available the same day.
- For an online exam, install the Guardian Browser and run its system test well before the appointment.
- Sit the exam, read your Pass or Fail, and open the topic report. Customers then return to the programme to activate their benefits.
From the Workday Pro FAQ and Exams for Training. Partners follow the Services certification route, which Workday documents on a login-only page.
Practise it, don't just read it
Six of the published units have ProSyllabus quizzes. Use them to find weak topics before you spend a training credit.
The ProSyllabus Workday Pro HCM Core library has 6 quizzes of 10 questions covering six topics from the 2021 public exam guide: Navigation, Finding Data and Business Objects; Organizations; Staffing Models; Job Profiles; Business Process Framework; and Introduction to Matrix Reports. They are written from the task list and public descriptions, audited by two AI reviewers question by question, and are not Workday exam items. There are no quizzes yet for Compensation, Jobs and Positions, Security, or the other Business Process and Report Writer units.
How long is the Workday Pro HCM Core exam?
Two hours, under Workday's Exams for Training page updated 23 September 2026. The 100 minutes in the public exam guide is from a 2021 document.
How many questions are in the HCM Core exam?
Up to 55 items: 50 scored, and some exams add 5 unscored pilot items that you cannot tell apart from the scored ones.
What is the passing score for Workday Pro HCM Core?
No numerical threshold is stated on the current public Workday pages we reviewed. Results are Pass or Fail with no numeric score. The 80% (40 of 50) figure comes from the 2021 exam guide; candidates with a Community login should check the current Exam Guide.
How much does a retake cost?
For a standard HCM Core certification exam, one training credit, the same as the first attempt, after a mandatory wait of 4 calendar days. Recertification exams are 0.25 credit per attempt. The two-attempts-then-0.5-credits rule is from the 2021 guide.
Is the Workday Pro exam open book?
No. It is closed book: no tenant, guides, reference materials or tools, though a calculator is available inside the exam.
Can I take the exam from home in India?
Yes, online proctored through the Guardian Browser, if your computer and room meet the requirements. Meazure Learning also runs test centres in 110 countries, for new exam enrolments only.
Do I have to finish the recommended courses first?
No. Workday says the courses are recommended and not a requirement if you have enough applied experience, with some exceptions set by each certification.
What ID do I need?
A government-issued, unexpired photo ID such as a passport or driver's licence. For an online exam your last name must match the ID exactly; raise a Training Case beforehand if your name formatting differs.
Will I see my score?
No number, only Pass or Fail, plus a self-service report showing the outcome for each topic.
Where is the current exam guide?
On the Workday Pro Exam Resources page in Workday Community, which needs a customer or partner login. The public PDF is the 2021 edition.
More in this series
Sources
- official — Workday Community — Exams for Training (updated 23 Sep 2026): current exam policy
- official — Workday Community — Workday Pro FAQ (updated 21 Jul 2026)
- official — Workday Community — Workday Pro Human Capital Management Certifications (updated 31 Jul 2026)
- official — Workday — Workday Pro HCM Core Exam Guide (PDF, created 14 Oct 2021)
- reported — Internet Archive (independent archive, not a Workday source) — capture list for the HCM Core Exam Guide PDF: the captures checked from 2024, 2025 and 2026 match
- official — Workday Rising 2026 — Workday Pro Exams page and FAQ
- reported — Healthcare IT Leaders — Workday certification and training changes (30 Sep 2024)
- reported — note.com — a candidate's account of passing HCM Core, Jan 2025 (Japanese)
- reported — TechPratham — Workday Pro certification eligibility page (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










