Checked 29 September 2026. Credit counts from Workday's Exams for Training, FAQ and certification pages; the $800 value from the Workday Rising 2026 FAQ. Contract prices for training credits vary by employer and are not public.
Outside conference promotions such as Workday Rising, the standard HCM Core exam is charged in training credits rather than as a direct cash fee; your employer buys the credits as part of its Workday agreement. The rules are simple: 1 credit for every exam attempt, 4 credits for each recommended course and 0.25 credit for each recertification attempt. What a credit is worth in money is less simple. Workday's own Rising 2026 FAQ says exams bought outside the conference "cost 1 Training Credit ($800 USD) per attempt"; your employer's contract price may be different. This guide lists every charge, prints the one place Workday's figures disagree, shows how the $99 conference deal works, and ends with a calculator that never assumes an exchange rate.
Workday Exams for Training, Workday Pro FAQ, HCM certification page, Rising 2026 FAQ and DevCon 2026 page.
Every charge on the way to HCM Core
| Item | Training credits | USD at $800 per credit (our arithmetic) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrol in the Workday Pro HCM Core programme | 0 | $0 | Workday Pro FAQ (official) |
| Exam attempt (first attempt or any retake) | 1 | $800 | Exams for Training (official) |
| HCM Core for Administrators (recommended) | 4 | $3,200 | HCM certification page (official) |
| HCM Core Supplemental for Administrators (recommended) | 4 | $3,200 | HCM certification page (official) |
| Recertification exam attempt (every 2 years) | 0.25 | $200 | Workday Pro FAQ (official) |
| Exam at Workday Rising 2026, Full or Partner Experience pass | — | $99 per exam | Rising 2026 FAQ (official) |
| Exam at DevCon 2026 | — | $99 per exam, "valued at $800" | DevCon 2026 page (official) |
Credit counts are Workday's. The dollar column multiplies them by the $800 per credit that Workday prints on its Rising FAQ; it is our arithmetic, and your employer's contract rate may differ. The Workday Services catalogue (a Workday document hosted by a partner, reported) prints the same figures for the Services version: exam $800 / 1 credit, courses $3,200 / 4 credits.
Where other pages get this wrong
A retake costs 1 training credit, the same as the first attempt, and you must wait 4 calendar days.
Commonly published instead: "Two attempts, then 0.5 training credits per attempt" (the 2021 exam guide, still widely quoted) and "a re-exam fee of USD 80" (an Indian institute's page).
Workday's current Exams for Training page (updated 23 September 2026) charges 1 training credit per attempt with a mandatory 4-day wait after a fail. At Workday's own $800 per credit, a retake is $800, not $80. No refunds are given for a fail or a no-show.
Scenarios: what certification costs in practice
| Scenario | Training credits | USD at $800 (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|
| Pass first time, no courses | 1 | $800 |
| Fail once, pass on the second attempt | 2 | $1,600 |
| One recommended course + pass first time | 5 | $4,000 |
| Both recommended courses + pass first time | 9 | $7,200 |
| Pass first time + one recertification two years later | 1.25 | $1,000 |
| Pass first time at Workday Rising (pass holder) | 0 | $99 (plus the conference pass) |
Our arithmetic from Workday's credit counts. The courses, not the exam, are the big cost — and Workday says they are optional if you have applied experience.
The pattern is clear: the exam is cheap next to the training. Two recommended courses cost 8 credits, eight times the exam. Workday itself says they are recommended, not required, "if a learner has enough applied experience". If you already configure Workday HCM at work, the cheapest route is to prepare on the task list, sit the exam once and keep the credits. If you are new to the system, a failed attempt costs 1 credit and 4 days, while a course costs 4 — you and your Training Coordinator should weigh that honestly.
Calculator
Workday Pro HCM Core cost calculator (training credits and USD)
Set the attempts, courses, waivers and recertifications you want to budget for. Training credits are what Workday charges; the dollar value defaults to the $800 per credit Workday prints on its Rising FAQ, and you can change it to your employer's contract rate. Add a rupee rate only if you want one — we do not pre-fill it.
Credits from Workday's FAQ, Exams for Training and HCM certification pages; $800 per credit and the $99 Rising price from Workday's Rising FAQ. Workday's July 2025 infographic says the two complimentary waivers a year apply to initial-certification or recertification exams; waivers cannot be used at Rising. Whether a waiver may cover a retake is not stated on the Workday pages we could read. Our arithmetic; taxes, travel and your employer's contract discounts are not included.
Waivers, and one place Workday's figures disagree
| Waiver | Terms Workday publishes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Complimentary exam fee waivers | "Two complimentary exam fee waivers each year — a value of $800 USD"; apply them to initial certification or recertification exams | Workday infographic, Jul 2025 (official) |
| Success Plans customers | "Might be eligible" to waive the Workday Pro exam fee; the infographic says subscribers are "eligible" | Workday Pro FAQ; infographic (official) |
| Legacy certification with no new equivalent | The organisation received a fee waiver to certify in the new programme | Workday Pro FAQ (official) |
| At Workday Rising | Waivers cannot be used for Rising exams | Rising 2026 FAQ (official) |
Here is the conflict. The July 2025 infographic values two waivers together at $800, which would make each one worth about $400 (our arithmetic). The Rising 2026 FAQ and the DevCon page value one exam at $800. Both are Workday documents, and the infographic's wording is ambiguous; we do not guess which was meant, so we print both. The same infographic says the waivers can be applied "toward your initial certification or recertification exams". For planning, use the newer, per-exam figure: $800 for one credit, one attempt.
The $99 conference deal
| Rule | Workday Rising 2026 | DevCon 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Dates | 12–15 October 2026, in person | 1 June 2026 (past) |
| Price | $99 per exam for Full Experience or Partner Experience pass holders | $99 per exam, "valued at $800" |
| Who can buy | Workday customers and partners attending in person | New certifications only; up to 3 exams |
| Exam options | 30 proctored exam titles to choose from; seat capacity is not stated, and walk-ups are accommodated "as space allows" | Not stated |
| Limits | One unique exam per day; no retake of the same title; no on-site retests; 4-day wait after a fail | Not stated |
| Deadlines | Registration and substitutions close 6 October 2026; a free Learning Center account must exist by 8 October 2026 | — |
| On the day | Laptops provided; bring an MFA device; status updated within one business day | — |
| Saving against one standard attempt (our arithmetic) | $701 ($800 minus $99) | $701 |
For an Indian team, Rising is rarely the cheap route: the pass and travel to the United States cost far more than the $701 saved on one exam (our arithmetic: $800 minus $99). It makes sense only if you are going anyway.
Asking your Training Coordinator for a credit
Because the credit comes from your employer, the practical step is a short request, not a payment. Say which exam course you want (Workday Pro HCM Core, or the Services version at a partner), when you plan to sit it, how you have prepared, and whether you need either recommended course. Mention that enrolling in the programme itself costs nothing and needs no approval, so you can start before the credit is agreed. If your organisation has a Success Plans subscription or unused fee waivers, ask whether one can cover the exam; Workday says Success Plans customers might be eligible. Finally, agree in advance what happens after a fail: a second attempt is another credit and a 4-day wait, and it is easier to settle that before the first attempt than after it.
Why there is no rupee price
Workday bills training credits in its customer contracts, and contract prices are negotiated. We found no public INR price for this exam on Workday's current certification and exam pages — standard pricing is stated in training credits — and we do not convert $800 into rupees for you: the rate your employer paid, and whether taxes apply, are in its contract, not on a public page. The calculator above takes your own rupee rate if you want an estimate. If you are an employee, the useful question is not "what does it cost?" but "how many credits does my team have left this year?" — your Training Coordinator can tell you.
Practise it, don't just read it
Before you spend a credit, test the six published units for free.
The ProSyllabus Workday Pro HCM Core library has 6 quizzes of 10 questions covering six topics from the 2021 public exam guide: Navigation, Finding Data and Business Objects; Organizations; Staffing Models; Job Profiles; Business Process Framework; and Introduction to Matrix Reports. They are written from the task list and public descriptions, audited by two AI reviewers question by question, and are not Workday exam items. There are no quizzes yet for Compensation, Jobs and Positions, Security, or the other Business Process and Report Writer units.
How much does the Workday Pro HCM Core exam cost?
1 training credit per attempt outside conference promotions. Workday's Rising 2026 FAQ values one credit at $800, and sells exams at Rising for $99 to eligible in-person attendees.
How much is a retake?
Another training credit, after a 4-calendar-day wait. The old 0.5-credit retake rule is from the 2021 exam guide.
Are the recommended courses mandatory?
No. They cost 4 training credits each and are not required if you have enough applied experience.
How much does recertification cost?
0.25 training credit per attempt, every 2 years.
What is the price in rupees?
We found no public INR price on Workday's current certification and exam pages. Credits are bought under your employer's contract; we do not convert.
Can I get a refund if I fail or miss the exam?
No. Workday gives no refunds for fails or no-shows. You can cancel online exams up to the appointment time and test-centre exams up to 48 hours before.
What is the $99 Workday exam offer?
In-person Full Experience Pass and Partner Experience Pass holders at Workday Rising 2026 (12–15 October) can take proctored exams for $99 each; DevCon 2026 offered the same price.
Can I use a fee waiver at Workday Rising?
No. Waivers cannot be used for Rising exams.
More in this series
- Exam pattern 2026: what changed from the 2021 guide
- Syllabus: the 2021 task list, 22 topics, 78 tasks
- Eligibility: can a fresher get Workday Pro HCM Core certified?
- Salary: Workday HCM consultant pay in India
- Workday HCM Core vs SAP SuccessFactors EC
- Workday Pro HCM Core notice board — alerts and updates
Sources
- official — Workday Community — Exams for Training (updated 23 Sep 2026): current exam policy
- official — Workday Community — Workday Pro FAQ (updated 21 Jul 2026)
- official — Workday Community — Workday Pro Human Capital Management Certifications (updated 31 Jul 2026)
- official — Workday Rising 2026 — Workday Pro Exams page and FAQ
- official — Workday DevCon 2026 — Workday Pro Certifications page and exam policies
- official — Workday — "Become a Certified Workday Expert" infographic (PDF, Jul 2025)
- reported — Workday Services Training & Certification Catalog (Workday-branded document, undated, hosted by partner Evoke, not on a Workday domain — hence reported)
- official — Workday — Workday Pro HCM Core Exam Guide (PDF, created 14 Oct 2021)
- reported — TechPratham — Workday Pro certification eligibility page (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










