Checked 26 September 2026. From SBI advertisements 2023-24 to 2026-27 (identical pattern) and the Main “Acquaint Yourself” booklet of November 2025. SBI’s own Junior Associate careers page describes an older pattern.
The SBI Junior Associate exam has been identical for four cycles: a one-hour prelims that only shortlists, a Main that decides the merit list on its own, and a local language test for those who need it. There is no interview. Two details are widely missed: the prelims has no minimum qualifying marks at all, and in the Main one test carries 60 marks for 50 questions, so its penalty per wrong answer is higher. SBI’s own Junior Associate careers page still describes an older pattern with an interview; the advertisement governs.
SBI advertisement CRPD/CR/2026-27/17.
Where other pages get this wrong
The SBI Clerk prelims has no minimum qualifying marks — neither sectional nor aggregate; about ten times the vacancies are shortlisted on rank.
Commonly published instead: SBI’s own old careers page: “Candidates have to qualify in each of the three tests”, a 20-times shortlist and an interview; aggregator pages: “clear the overall cut-off”.
SBI advertisement 2026-27: “No minimum qualifying marks are prescribed for individual test OR for aggregate score”; no interview in the selection process.
Prelims
| Section | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 min |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 min |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 min |
| Total | 100 | 100 | 1 hour, separately timed |
SBI advertisement 2026-27 (same in 2023-24, 2024-25 and 2025-26). English is in English only; the other sections in English, Hindi and the state’s language(s). “Section wise marks will not be maintained.”
Because each section has its own 20-minute clock, time cannot be borrowed from English to spend on numerical ability. And because there is no minimum, the prelims is a pure ranking: SBI calls about ten times the vacancies in each state and category to the Main, in descending order of the aggregate. Prelims marks are not added to the final merit.
Main
| Test | Questions | Marks | Time | Marks per question |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General/Financial Awareness | 50 | 50 | 35 min | 1 |
| General English | 40 | 40 | 35 min | 1 |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 50 | 50 | 45 min | 1 |
| Reasoning Ability & Computer Aptitude | 50 | 60 | 45 min | 1.2 |
| Total | 190 | 200 | 2 h 40 min |
SBI advertisement 2026-27 and Main booklet (Nov 2025). Marks per question are our arithmetic, assuming equal marks within a test. A minimum aggregate is set by the Bank (5% lower for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD/ex-servicemen); there is no sectional minimum and section marks are not maintained.
SBI advertisement 2026-27.
Negative marking and rounding
SBI deducts a quarter of the marks assigned to a question for each wrong answer, in both the prelims and the Main. That is 0.25 for every 1-mark question and 0.30 in Reasoning & Computer Aptitude, where a question is worth 1.2 marks (our arithmetic). The Main booklet adds a rule that changes small numbers: “If the total of the penalty for test is in fraction, it will be rounded off to the nearest integer.” The penalty is totalled for each test and then rounded, so one wrong answer (0.25) rounds to zero, while three (0.75) round to one. SBI does not say how an exact .5 is rounded.
| Wrong answers in a 1-mark test | Face-value penalty | Rounded penalty |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0.25 | 0 |
| 2 | 0.50 | Not stated by SBI |
| 3 | 0.75 | 1 |
| 5 | 1.25 | 1 |
| 7 | 1.75 | 2 |
Our arithmetic from the Main booklet’s rounding rule. This table is for the 1-mark tests. In Reasoning & Computer Aptitude a wrong answer costs 0.30, so the steps differ: 1 wrong = 0.30 → 0; 2 wrong = 0.60 → 1; 3 wrong = 0.90 → 1; 5 wrong = 1.50 → not stated by SBI.
Note where the rounding sentence is printed: in the Main “Acquaint Yourself” booklet (November 2025). The prelims booklet we could read — the 2026-27 special drive’s — says only that a quarter of the marks is deducted per wrong answer and prints no rounding rule. The advertisement is the same. We therefore apply rounding to the Main only; SBI has not said whether the prelims works the same way.
SBI Clerk Main: net score with the penalty rule
Enter right and wrong answers per test. A quarter of the question’s marks is deducted for each wrong answer, and each test’s total penalty is rounded to the nearest whole number.
SBI advertisement 2026-27 and Main booklet (Nov 2025): 190 questions, 200 marks; Reasoning & Computer Aptitude 50 questions for 60 marks (1.2 each — our arithmetic); penalty ¼ of the question’s marks; “If the total of the penalty for test is in fraction, it will be rounded off to the nearest integer.” SBI does not say how an exact .5 is rounded — where a test’s penalty comes to x.5, the tool shows both outcomes. Minimum aggregate only, set by the Bank; no sectional minimum.
SBI’s own careers page is out of date
Many coaching pages still describe the exam from SBI’s “Junior Associate” careers page, which is the first result for many searches. That page describes an older recruitment — it even says age-relaxation certificates are produced “at the time of interview”. Where it and the 2026-27 advertisement disagree, the advertisement governs; it is the document the recruitment runs on.
| Item | SBI careers page (stale) | 2026-27 advertisement |
|---|---|---|
| Prelims timing | “Composite Time of 1 hours” | 20 minutes per section, separately timed |
| Prelims minimum | “Candidates have to qualify in each of the three tests” | No minimum for any test or for the aggregate |
| Main shortlist | 20 times (approx.) the vacancies | About 10 times, subject to availability |
| Interview | Up to 3 candidates per vacancy | None; Main merit plus language test |
| Second prelims section | Quantitative Aptitude | Numerical Ability |
| Fee | ₹600; ₹100 for SC/ST/PWD/XS | ₹750; nil for SC/ST/PwBD/XS/DXS |
| Widows’ age relaxation | 9 years | 7 years |
| Which banks | “SBI and Associate Banks of SBI” | State Bank of India only |
SBI careers page “Junior Associate” (fetched 25 Sep 2026) and advertisement CRPD/CR/2026-27/17.
Normalisation and ties: what SBI does not say
The prelims runs over several days — 26 and 27 September 2026 this year — so candidates in different sessions answer different questions. We searched every Junior Associate advertisement from 2023-24 to 2026-27, the November 2025 Main booklet and the prelims booklets for any statement on normalising or equating scores across sessions, and for a tie-break rule. We found neither. SBI’s PO advertisement (CRPD/PO/2026-27/09), by contrast, ranks candidates tied at the cut-off by age, older first; the Junior Associate advertisement contains no such clause. So any page that tells you how SBI Clerk scores are normalised, or who wins a tie, is going beyond what SBI has published.
What the exam screen allows
| Situation | Rule in SBI’s booklet |
|---|---|
| Finishing early | Answers cannot be submitted before the test time is over |
| Answered and “Marked for Review” | The answer is counted in the evaluation |
| Changing your mind | “Clear Response” removes an answer; a blank question carries no penalty |
| Moving around | Any question within the current test can be opened from the question palette |
| Slow loading | Time lost while a question appears is not deducted |
| Keyboard | Pressing keyboard keys once the exam starts can lock the exam |
| Translation differs from English | The English version prevails |
SBI “Acquaint Yourself” booklet for the 2026-27 special-drive prelims (the regular prelims booklet was not reachable when we checked) and the Main booklet of November 2025. The translation rule reads, in full: “the translated version/language shall be deemed as reference and English version shall prevail” — the two halves pull different ways; we read the operative part as “English version shall prevail”. If you spot a discrepancy during the exam, report it to the invigilator rather than assume either version.
Guessing
With five options and a penalty of a quarter, a blind guess on a 1-mark question has an expected value of zero: one chance in five of +1, four in five of −0.25. Ruling out even one option makes a guess positive (+0.06), and ruling out two makes it clearly worthwhile (+0.17) — our arithmetic. The Main booklet confirms the five options: “There are five alternative answers to every question”. The rounding rule makes the first wrong answer in a Main test cost nothing (0.25 or 0.30 rounds to zero); a second costs nothing only if an exact 0.5 is rounded down in a 1-mark test, which SBI does not say, and in Reasoning & Computer Aptitude two wrong answers (0.60) already round to 1. That is a side effect, not a strategy; accuracy still wins over volume.
Time per question
| Part | Per question |
|---|---|
| Prelims English | 40 seconds |
| Prelims Numerical / Reasoning | about 34 seconds |
| Main GFA | 42 seconds |
| Main English | about 52 seconds |
| Main Quant / Reasoning & CA | 54 seconds |
Our arithmetic from SBI’s section times. Scribe-eligible candidates get 20 minutes extra per hour. Calculators are not allowed.
Practise it, don't just read it
Prelims sections allow about 34–40 seconds a question. Our SBI Clerk quizzes on simplification, number series and reading comprehension build that speed.
The ProSyllabus SBI Clerk library has topic quizzes on number series, simplification and approximation, reading comprehension, computer aptitude, quantitative aptitude and general English — the first quiz is free.
What is the SBI Clerk exam pattern?
Prelims (100 Q, 1 hour, three 20-minute sections), Main (190 Q, 200 marks, 2 h 40 min) and a local language test.
Is there negative marking in SBI Clerk?
Yes — a quarter of the question’s marks for each wrong answer, in prelims and Main.
Is there a sectional cut-off in SBI Clerk?
No — the prelims has no minimum at all, and the Main has only a minimum aggregate.
Is there an interview in SBI Clerk?
No.
Are SBI Clerk prelims marks counted in the final merit?
No — the final merit is on the Main aggregate only.
How many are called to the SBI Clerk Main?
About ten times the vacancies, state- and category-wise.
What is the penalty in SBI Clerk Reasoning & Computer Aptitude?
0.30 per wrong answer, as each question is worth 1.2 marks (our arithmetic).
How is the SBI Clerk penalty rounded?
Each test’s total penalty is rounded to the nearest integer, per SBI’s Main booklet.
Can I use a calculator in SBI Clerk?
No.
Is the SBI Clerk exam pattern changed in 2026?
No — it is the same as 2023-24 to 2025-26.
Is SBI’s Junior Associate careers page up to date?
No — it describes an older pattern with an interview; the advertisement governs.
Is there normalisation in SBI Clerk?
SBI’s Junior Associate advertisements and booklets do not describe any normalisation of scores across sessions.
What happens if two SBI Clerk candidates have the same marks?
The Junior Associate advertisement gives no tie-break rule (SBI PO uses age; the clerk advertisement does not say).
Is the SBI Clerk penalty rounding applied in prelims?
SBI prints the rounding rule in the Main booklet only; the prelims booklet does not mention it.
Can I submit the SBI Clerk exam early?
No — answers cannot be submitted before the test time is over.
Are marked-for-review answers counted in SBI Clerk?
Yes — an answer selected and marked for review is evaluated.
If the Hindi or regional translation differs, which is correct?
SBI’s booklet says the English version prevails.
More in this series
Sources
- official — SBI — Junior Associates detailed advertisement CRPD/CR/2026-27/17 (11.08.2026)
- official — SBI — Junior Associates Main “Acquaint Yourself” booklet (November 2025)
- official — SBI — Junior Associates advertisement CRPD/CR/2025-26/06 (06.08.2025)
- official — SBI — Junior Associates advertisement CRPD/CR/2024-25/24 (17.12.2024)
- official — SBI — Special drive prelims “Acquaint Yourself” booklet 2026-27
- official — SBI — Junior Associate careers page and FAQ (stale — describes an older pattern)
- official — SBI — PO advertisement CRPD/PO/2026-27/09 (18.06.2026), tie-break clause
- reported — Testbook — SBI Clerk cut off (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










