Checked 25 September 2026. From DHP’s Qualifying Examination page, the MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy, circulars 23/2015 (historical), DHP/2025/19 and DHP/2025/24. DHP has not publicly reconciled the two 2025 circulars.
Three questions come up constantly from nurses preparing for Qatar: how many times can I sit the exam, how long does a pass last, and does another qualification exempt me? The answers are published, but partly in a 2019 policy, partly on DHP’s exam page and partly in two 2025 circulars that do not fully agree — and the most repeated “rule” online, a six-month wait after three failures, is from 2015. This guide sets out what applies now, what changed, and where DHP itself leaves a question open.
DHP exam page; MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy; DHP/2025/19 and /24.
Where other pages get this wrong
Nurses may sit the Qatar qualifying exam five consecutive times “whatever the gap between each attempt”.
Commonly published instead: “After three failed attempts you must wait six months.”
DHP Qualifying Examination page. The six-month gap after the third attempt was circular 23/2015; the 2018–19 policy and DHP’s current page carry no gap.
Attempts: then and now
| Rule set | Attempts | Gap |
|---|---|---|
| Circular 23/2015 | 3 consecutive, then 2 more | 6 months mandatory before each of the last two |
| MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy (2018–19) | Maximum 5 in the scope; one more if clearly justified | None stated |
| DHP exam page (read 25 Sep 2026) | 5 consecutive | “whatever the gap between each attempt” |
Circular 23/2015 (historical); MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy 7.5.3–7.5.4; DHP Qualifying Examination page.
What happens after the fifth attempt — or after a sixth granted on justification — is not spelled out by DHP. The practical reading is simple: five attempts is a generous allowance, but each one costs USD 244 and weeks of preparation, and there is no benefit in sitting before you are ready, since no gap is imposed between attempts.
The rounding rule
The exam policy contains an unusual clause: “Exam marks / scores can be rounded provided that the applicant is only 3 marks short of the qualifying mark, on condition that he/she sat for all the 5 attempts and the highest mark can be considered.” In other words, a candidate who has used all five attempts and whose best score is within three marks of the pass line may be passed on that best score. The policy does not say whether “3 marks” means raw marks or percentage points. The clause ties rounding to having sat all five attempts and is silent on a candidate granted a sixth; such a candidate should confirm with DHP. It is a safety net for the end of the road, not a strategy.
How long a pass counts
| Rule | What the policy says |
|---|---|
| Validity of a pass | 3 years |
| Evaluation filed near expiry | “Within one month of the expiry date” — no re-sit (whether before or after is not stated) |
| Re-evaluation | An exam expired within one year is considered once |
| Renewal of a licence | No exam required |
| Left Qatar | No re-sit if the licence can be restored within 5 years |
MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy, 7.5.1 and notes. DHP’s 2025–26 circulars still point to this policy as the qualifying-examination policy.
Until when does my Qatar exam pass count?
MOPH Qualifying Examination Policy, 7.5.1: “Validity of the qualifying exam is 3 years.” Notes to 7.5: an evaluation application submitted “within one month of the expiry date” needs no re-sit (direction not stated); on re-evaluation an exam expired within one year is considered once; no exam is needed at renewal.
Exemptions: two circulars, one open question
In November 2025, circular DHP/2025/19 listed the exams that exempt a practitioner from the Prometric exam. For nurses it lists one: NCLEX-RN, on two conditions — the result must be valid, and after 1 January 2026 no exam is accepted without a verification report from a PSV company. It lists no midwifery exam, no Gulf licence and no Indian registration. One month later, in December 2025, circular DHP/2025/24 stated: “Exemptions apply only to the following categories from the qualifying exam for all healthcare professions …: Qataris; Offspring of Qatari women; Graduates of … higher education institutions in the State of Qatar.” It does not mention DHP/2025/19, and DHP’s exam page still links the NCLEX list.
| Date | Circular | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| 26 Nov 2025 | DHP/2025/19 | NCLEX-RN exempts nurses, if valid and PSV-verified (after 1 Jan 2026) |
| 30 Dec 2025 | DHP/2025/24 | Exemptions apply only to Qataris, children of Qatari women and Qatar graduates; annuls six older circulars |
| 25 Sep 2026 | DHP exam page | Still links the DHP/2025/19 list of exempting certificates |
DHP circulars DHP/2025/19 and DHP/2025/24; DHP Qualifying Examination page.
So an NCLEX-RN holder may be exempt, but the word “only” in the later circular makes it contestable. The safe course is to ask DHP, in writing, before relying on the exemption — and to have the NCLEX result verified by a PSV company either way. Two older provisions are now doubtful: the clinical master’s/PhD exemption in the 2019 policy (§7.3.3), which sits awkwardly with DHP/2025/24’s “only”, and the “NCLEX within five years” wording in DHP’s January 2024 guidelines, which DHP/2025/19 replaced with “must be valid”.
Am I exempt from the Qatar nursing exam?
DHP/2025/19 (26 Nov 2025) lists NCLEX-RN as the only nursing exam that exempts, if valid and verified by a PSV company (mandatory after 1 Jan 2026). DHP/2025/24 (30 Dec 2025): “Exemptions apply only to” Qataris, offspring of Qatari women and graduates of Qatar institutions. The two have not been reconciled publicly.
The circulars that touch the exam, 2024–2026
| Date | Circular | Effect |
|---|---|---|
| 18 Apr 2024 | DHP/2024/10 | Exam fee USD 238, rising to USD 244 from 1 Jan 2026; rescheduling bands |
| 12 Sep 2024 | DHP/2024/22 | Evaluation without an employer; practitioners renew their own licences |
| 16 Feb 2025 | DHP/2025/01 | Nurse and Midwife Technician replace Assistant Nurse and Midwife |
| 14 Jul 2025 | DHP/2025/08 | Good Standing only through the verification report from 1 Aug 2025 |
| 26 Nov 2025 | DHP/2025/19 | NCLEX-RN listed as exempting nurses (valid, PSV-verified) |
| 30 Dec 2025 | DHP/2025/24 | Exemptions only for Qataris, their children and Qatar graduates |
| 17 Aug 2026 | DHP/2026/29 | Nurse Educator criteria rewritten |
DHP circulars index, read 25 September 2026. None of them changed the RGN exam’s format, pass mark or attempts.
Before relying on an NCLEX-RN exemption
Check each point before you skip booking the Qatar exam.
0 of 6 done
Ticks are saved only in this browser on this device.
Planning your attempts
Because DHP imposes no gap between attempts, the only real limits are money, time and the three-year validity of a pass. A pass is worth most when it lands close to the evaluation: sit the exam once verification is under way, so the evaluation can follow while the pass is fresh. And each attempt is a separate Prometric booking at USD 244. Rescheduling costs USD 25 from 30 days out, USD 40 from 5 to 29 days, and the full fee under 5 days or for a no-show — so if timed mocks are not yet comfortably above the 50% cut score (our suggested yardstick, not a DHP rule), moving the date early is the cheaper choice.
Why the rules look inconsistent online
Most of the contradictions nurses meet come from documents of different ages still being quoted side by side. DHP’s nurse guidelines are from January 2024 and predate five circulars; its 2016 nursing regulations describe an internship route that DHP/2025/24 annulled; and the 2015 attempt rule survives in forum posts. When two sources disagree, check the date — and the most recent DHP circular governs.
Practise it, don't just read it
Five attempts are a safety net, not a plan. Our Qatar nursing quizzes follow the blueprint areas so the first attempt counts.
The ProSyllabus Qatar nursing library has topic quizzes on fundamentals, medical-surgical, pharmacology, maternal and newborn, paediatric and critical-care nursing, infection control and professional practice — the first quiz is free.
How many attempts are allowed for the Qatar nursing exam?
Five consecutive attempts at any gap, and one more may be granted with justification.
Is there a 6-month gap after failing the Qatar exam?
Not now — that was the 2015 rule; DHP allows five attempts “whatever the gap”.
How long is the Qatar nursing exam result valid?
Three years.
Does NCLEX exempt nurses from the Qatar exam?
DHP/2025/19 lists NCLEX-RN (valid, PSV-verified), but DHP/2025/24 limits exemptions to Qataris, their children and Qatar graduates — confirm with DHP.
Are master’s-degree nurses exempt from the Qatar exam?
The 2019 policy says so, but DHP/2025/24 limits exemptions to three status groups — plan to sit the exam and confirm with DHP.
Does a DHA or SCFHS licence exempt me in Qatar?
No — DHP/2025/19 lists no Gulf licence for nurses.
What is the Qatar exam rounding rule?
After all five attempts, a best score within 3 marks of the pass mark may be rounded up.
Do I need to retake the exam to renew a Qatar licence?
No — no exam is needed at renewal.
If I left Qatar, must I resit the exam?
Not if the licence can be restored within five years.
What if my pass expires during evaluation?
The policy says an evaluation submitted within one month of the expiry date needs no re-sit; it does not say before or after, so file before expiry.
Does NCLEX-PN exempt me from the Qatar exam?
No — DHP/2025/19 lists NCLEX-RN only.
Is there a separate exemption list for midwives?
DHP/2025/19 lists no midwifery exam.
Sources
- official — DHP — Qualifying Examination (exam table, attempts, Doha centre)
- official — MOPH — Qualifying Examination Policy (attempts, validity, rounding)
- official — QCHP circular 23/2015 — attempts and gaps (historical)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2025/19 — exams that exempt from the qualifying exam (26 Nov 2025)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2025/24 — registration and licensing policy update (30 Dec 2025)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2024/10 — qualifying exam fee (18 Apr 2024)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2024/22 — evaluation without employer; renewal; removal and restoration (12 Sep 2024)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2025/01 — Nurse Technician and Midwife Technician (16 Feb 2025)
- official — DHP circular DHP/2025/08 — Good Standing only through PSV from 1 Aug 2025
- official — DHP circular DHP/2026/29 — Nurse Educator scope and criteria (17 Aug 2026)
- official — DHP — Guidelines for Nurses (January 2024; partly superseded by later circulars)
- official — Prometric — State of Qatar DHP MOPH exams
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









