ProSyllabus Journal

Who Could Sit PRAGATII (Ind-SAT): 13 Countries, Then All, and NRI/OCI Rules

Ind-SAT 2020 covered 13 listed countries, India included, for SII applicants by 30 April 2020; PRAGATII 2021 opened to all. Where NRIs, OCI holders and Indians abroad stand today, with a checker.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 3 days agoPRAGATII (Ind-SAT) · Study in India · Eligibility
#PRAGATII eligibility#Ind-SAT eligible countries#Study in India NRI#Study in India OCI#DASA eligibility OCI PIO#Ind-SAT 2020 countries
Who Could Sit PRAGATII (Ind-SAT): 13 Countries, Then All, and NRI/OCI Rules

Checked 29 September 2026. Historic eligibility from archived Study in India pages (2020–2022) and PIB (2020); today's rules from the live Study in India FAQ and Eligibility page, the DASA UG and PG 2026 documents, the ICCR 2026-27 guidelines and scholarship pages, the MEA SPDC 2025-26 guidelines and the University of Allahabad 2026-27 rules, all checked 29 Sep 2026.

Who was allowed to sit PRAGATII changed every year it ran. Ind-SAT 2020 was a pilot for candidates from 13 listed countries in Asia and Africa, India included, who had already applied on the Study in India portal by 30 April 2020; PIB later reported that candidates from 12 foreign countries appeared. PRAGATII 2021 opened to "students from all countries". For 2022, the page asked only for a complete application with documents and said the exam would be held online "throughout the world" — no country list was published. None of this matters for a new applicant any more, because the exam has not been held since 2022. What does matter is the question underneath: does your passport status let you use Study in India, DASA or an ICCR scholarship? This guide answers both, with a checker at the end.

Status on 29 September 2026

No PRAGATII (Ind-SAT) has been held since 31 July 2022, and no official page has announced another. The official PRAGATII exam page now redirects to the Study in India home page. Nothing in this guide describes a 2026 sitting; where we give current information, it is about the routes that still exist.

13
countries on the official 2020 list, India included; PIB: candidates from 12 foreign countries appeared
30 Apr 2020
cut-off for an SII application to sit Ind-SAT 2020
All
countries eligible for PRAGATII 2021
233
SII IDs dropped from the 2020 scholarship for unverified documents

Sources: archived Study in India pages, 2020–2021; PIB, 23 Jul 2020.

Eligibility, year by year

SittingWho could sitExtra conditionSource
Ind-SAT 2020 (22 Jul 2020)Candidates from the 13 countries on the official list, India included (PIB later reported candidates from 12 foreign countries appeared)SII application submitted before 30 April 2020SII Ind-SAT page (archived Jun 2020); PIB 23 Jul 2020
PRAGATII 2021 (25 Jul 2021)"Students from all countries"Application submitted before the last dateSII PRAGATII page (archived Jul 2021)
PRAGATII 2022 (31 Jul 2022)No country list published; exam "held in online mode throughout the world"Complete form (registration and choice filling) with required documentsSII scholarship page (archived Nov 2022)
2023 onwardsNo sitting held—SII pages 2023–2026

The scholarship, not admission, was what PRAGATII decided. Even in 2020 the rules said that a scholarship did not guarantee admission: institutes made the final admission decision on their own criteria, and students who skipped the exam could still get an institute's tuition fee waiver.

The 2020 pilot: countries and exam times

The 2020 page published a shift for each country, in local time, for the originally planned date. Its official list had 13 countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Mauritius, Nepal, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. PIB's report the day after the exam named the 12 foreign countries whose candidates appeared. The page speaks of "candidates from" these countries; it does not set a citizenship test, so we do not read one into it.

CountryPG shift (local time)UG shift (local time)
Bangladesh1:00–2:30 PM1:00–2:30 PM (shift 1)
Bhutan1:00–2:30 PM4:00–5:30 PM (shift 2)
Ethiopia10:00–11:30 AM1:00–2:30 PM (shift 2)
India12:30–2:00 PM12:30–2:00 PM (shift 1)
Indonesia2:00–3:30 PM2:00–3:30 PM (shift 1)
Kenya10:00–11:30 AM1:00–2:30 PM (shift 2)
Mauritius11:00 AM–12:30 PM11:00 AM–12:30 PM (shift 1)
Nepal12:45–2:15 PM12:45–2:15 PM (shift 1)
Rwanda9:00–10:30 AM12:00–1:30 PM (shift 2)
Sri Lanka12:30–2:00 PM3:30–5:00 PM (shift 2)
Tanzania10:00–11:30 AM1:00–2:30 PM (shift 2)
Uganda10:00–11:30 AM1:00–2:30 PM (shift 2)
Zambia9:00–10:30 AM12:00–1:30 PM (shift 2)
Who could sit, by year
2020202120222023–26
13 listed countriesYesYesNo listNo exam
Every other countryNoYesNo listNo exam
NRIs (scholarship)Not statedNot statedNot statedNo exam

Darker = clearly eligible. "No list" = the 2022 page gave no country list.

Our reading of the archived pages. The live FAQ says NRIs cannot get the SII Scholarship; it does not say from which year.

The 2020 proctoring accepted any one of six photo IDs: a passport, a driving licence, a local-government photo ID, an institute photo ID, an employer photo ID or a citizenship ID card. After the exam, students also had to have their documents verified: the Study in India site published a list of 233 SII IDs that had missed the 28 August 2020 deadline, each marked "Document Not Verified", and said they were no longer eligible for the scholarship.

Rule (2020)Official detail
Accepted photo IDsPassport; driving licence; local-government photo ID; institute photo ID; employer photo ID; citizenship ID card
Document deadline after the exam28 August 2020
Students dropped for unverified documents233 SII IDs, each "Document Not Verified"
Scholarship vs admissionA scholarship did not guarantee admission; institutes decided on their own criteria

Where each passport status stands today

PRAGATII is gone, but the status question matters for every route that replaced it. The table below is built only from what each official source says. "Not stated" means the source is silent, not that you are excluded.

StatusStudy in India admissionOld SII ScholarshipDASA UG / PGICCR scholarship
Foreign nationalYesYes (closed after 2022-23)Yes / YesYes, if your country is on a scheme; not for medical, paramedical, law or integrated courses
OCI or PIO card holder (foreign passport)Not stated by SII; the University of Allahabad treats them as foreign nationalsNot statedYes / YesOnly with schooling up to Class XII completed abroad; for PG, no study in India in the preceding 3 academic years (5 for a PhD)
NRI (Indian citizen abroad)Yes ("NRIs are now eligible")NoUG: yes, with the same rule as other Indian nationals abroad (at least 2 years including 11th and 12th, within the last 8 years) / PG: any one of four routes — UG degree from abroad; NRI status for the last 3 years after an Indian UG degree; UG degree from a CFTI under DASA; or 11th and 12th abroadNot stated
Indian citizen who studied abroadNot statedNot statedUG: at least 2 years abroad including 11th and 12th, within the last 8 years / PG: yes if 11th and 12th were abroad (one of the four routes)Not stated

What each source actually says

  • Study in India (live FAQ and Eligibility page): "NRIs are now eligible to apply … However, they will not be eligible for the SII Scholarship." OCI and PIO holders are not mentioned.
  • University of Allahabad (2026-27): foreign nationals include PIO and OCI card holders who have taken the nationality of a foreign country; of its 20% supernumerary seats, 10% are for foreign nationals and 10% for NRIs.
  • DASA UG 2026: for foreign nationals, NRIs and OCI/PIO holders, admitted on JEE (Main) 2026 ranks; no reservation except CIWG, which is only for NRIs with a parent working in specified Gulf countries.
  • DASA PG 2026: M.Tech, M.Arch, M.Plan, M.Des and MURP (by GRE) and MBA (by GMAT). Open to foreign nationals and OCI/PIO holders with an undergraduate degree from any country; Indian nationals qualify through any one of four routes — a degree from outside India, NRI status held for the last 3 years after an Indian degree, a degree from a CFTI under the DASA Scheme, or 11th and 12th completed abroad.
  • ICCR (2026-27 guidelines): apply on the A2A portal and submit through the Indian Embassy in your country. No scholarships for medical science, paramedical courses such as nursing and physiotherapy, law, or integrated courses such as the 5-year BA LLB. PIO/OCI applicants must have completed schooling up to Class XII abroad, and must not have studied in India in the preceding three academic years for PG or five for a PhD.
  • SPDC (MEA, 2025-26 guidelines): undergraduate scholarships for children of NRIs, PIOs and OCIs, extended to all countries in 2022-23; age 17 to 21; 11th and 12th passed abroad.
RouteOfficial eligibility wordingCondition for Indian nationals
DASA UG 2026Foreign nationals, NRIs, OCIs / PIOs; JEE (Main) 2026 ranksAt least 2 years of education abroad, including 11th and 12th, in the last 8 years
DASA PG 2026Foreign nationals, OCI/PIOs with an undergraduate degree from any country (including India); M.Tech, M.Arch, M.Plan, M.Des, MURP by GRE and MBA by GMATUG degree abroad; or NRI status for the last 3 years after an Indian UG degree; or a UG degree from a CFTI under DASA; or an Indian UG degree with 11th and 12th abroad
DASA CIWG seatsOnly NRIs with either or both parents working in specified Gulf countriesOCI/PIO holders are not eligible for CIWG
Study in IndiaForeign students; NRIs now eligibleNRIs not eligible for the SII Scholarship
ICCR (2026-27)Apply through the Indian Mission in your country. PIO/OCI applicants: schooling up to Class XII abroad; no study in India in the preceding 3 academic years for PG (5 for PhD)Not stated
SPDC (MEA, 2025-26)Children of NRIs, PIOs and OCIs, and of Indian workers in 17 ECR countries; age 17 to 21; at least 60% in 10+2NRI children qualify; 11th and 12th passed abroad (except ECR workers' children who studied in India)

Check your own routes

Which routes are open to you? Eligibility checker

Pick your passport status, level and field. The answer uses only the official rules in the tables on this page; where a source is silent, it says so rather than guessing.

Our summary of the official rules. PRAGATII itself is not an option: no sitting has been held since 31 July 2022. Always confirm with the institute before you apply.

Where other pages get this wrong

Anyone can still sit PRAGATII.

Commonly published instead: pages listing PRAGATII 2025 or 2026 eligibility, age limits or an application window.

No sitting has been held since 31 July 2022, and the scholarship it decided was awarded for 2022-23 only. There is no current eligibility to meet.

Where other pages get this wrong

NRIs could win the SII Scholarship.

Commonly published instead: pages that say NRIs and foreign nationals had equal access to the scholarship.

The live Study in India FAQ says NRIs may apply for admission but are not eligible for the SII Scholarship.

Practise it, don't just read it

The free quizzes on this page still cover the aptitude skills PRAGATII tested.

The ProSyllabus PRAGATII library has ten topic quizzes across the three old sections: Verbal (sentence correction, reading-comprehension inference), Quantitative (percentages, averages, time-speed-distance, simple and compound interest, number series) and Logical (syllogisms, coding-decoding, blood relations).

Start a PRAGATII quiz →

Which countries could take Ind-SAT 2020?

The official page listed 13: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Mauritius, Nepal, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. Candidates needed an SII application submitted before 30 April 2020. PIB later reported that candidates from the 12 foreign countries on that list appeared.

Was PRAGATII open to all countries?

In 2021, yes: the official page said students from all countries could take it. For 2022 no country list was published. No sitting has been held since 31 July 2022.

Can NRIs apply through Study in India?

Yes. The live FAQ says NRIs are now eligible to apply, but not for the SII Scholarship.

Can OCI card holders apply through Study in India?

The Study in India pages do not mention OCI or PIO holders. Ask the institute. The University of Allahabad counts OCI and PIO holders with a foreign nationality as foreign nationals.

Can OCI or PIO holders get an ICCR scholarship?

The ICCR 2026-27 guidelines allow it only if they completed schooling up to Class XII abroad, and, for PG, did not study in India in the preceding three academic years (five for a PhD).

Can OCI or PIO holders apply for DASA?

Yes. DASA UG 2026 and DASA PG 2026 both name OCI and PIO holders as eligible. OCI/PIO holders are not eligible for the CIWG seats, which are for NRIs only.

Can an Indian citizen who studied abroad use DASA?

For UG, yes, with at least two years of education abroad, including 11th and 12th, within the last eight years. For PG, the brochure lists four routes: a UG degree from abroad, NRI status for three years after an Indian degree, a UG degree from a CFTI under DASA, or 11th and 12th completed abroad.

Did a PRAGATII scholarship guarantee admission?

No. The official page said receiving a scholarship did not ensure admission; institutes made the final decision on their own criteria.

What ID was needed for the 2020 online exam?

Any one of: passport, driving licence, local-government photo ID, institute photo ID, employer photo ID or citizenship ID card.

This chapter is part of the PRAGATII (IND-SAT) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Practice Quiz

Test your PRAGATII (IND-SAT) prep

Dual AI-verified questions Real exam pattern 1 free quiz every month, then ₹9 per quiz — or a monthly plan

#1

Number Series Patterns Fundamentals | PRAGATII (IND-SAT)

Start here
10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

6/10avg score
10/10best
#2

Ind-SAT — Sentence Correction

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

7/10avg score
10/10best
#3

Ind-SAT — Coding and Decoding

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

9/10avg score
9/10best
#4

Ind-SAT — Averages

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

6/10avg score
6/10best
#5

Ind-SAT — Time Speed and Distance

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
8/10best
#6

Ind-SAT — Simple and Compound Interest

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#7

Ind-SAT — Blood Relations

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#8

Ind-SAT — Syllogisms

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#9

Ind-SAT — Percentages

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#10

Reading Comprehension Inference Fundamentals | PRAGATII (IND-SAT)

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

More on PRAGATII (IND-SAT)9 guides

After PRAGATII: Study in India vs ICCR vs DASA for Foreign StudentsWith PRAGATII gone, the three major routes: the Study in India portal, ICCR's 4541 scholarship slots for 2026-27 and DASA for NITs. What each pays for, who qualifies, and a route chooser.Study in India Portal: How to Apply, 2026-27 Dates and the 3-Choice RuleThe six official steps from SII ID to FRRO, the minimum of three choices, what the 2026-27 institute notices set as deadlines, and a checklist of every document — no PRAGATII needed.Study in India Scholarship vs Fee Waiver: USD 3500, USD 3200 and G1–G4The PRAGATII-based scholarship (USD 3500, then USD 3200, last for 2022-23) and the institute fee waiver that replaced it — what each covered, the tiers, the conflicting numbers, and a cost calculator.PRAGATII / Ind-SAT Pattern: 90 Questions, 90 Minutes, No Negative MarksThe official 40/25/25 pattern, every syllabus topic the 2020–2022 pages named, what the official PG mock actually asked, and a score estimator — for a test last held on 31 July 2022.Is PRAGATII (Ind-SAT) Still Held? Every Sitting 2020–2026, CheckedThree sittings on record — 22 July 2020, 25 July 2021 and 31 July 2022 — and none since. The official record year by year, the 2022 U-turn, and what a 2026 applicant gets instead.Alerts and Updates for PRAGATII (IND-SAT)Stay up-to-date with the latest news and updates for the PRAGATII (IND-SAT) examLatest News and Alerts for PRAGATII (IND-SAT) Previous Year Papers - Updated on Sun Aug 03 2025Stay informed with the most recent updates, important alerts, and breaking news for PRAGATII (IND-SAT) Previous Year Papers .Parental Advice for PRAGATII (IND-SAT) Exam SuccessTop 10 tips to help your child excel in the PRAGATII (IND-SAT) examLatest News and Alerts for PRAGATII (IND-SAT) - Updated on Tue Dec 31 2024Stay informed with the most recent updates, important alerts, and breaking news for PRAGATII (IND-SAT) .

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article