ProSyllabus Journal

Oman Nursing Exam for Indian Nurses: GNM, B.Sc or Post-Basic — Which Paper?

Which OMSB paper an Indian GNM, B.Sc or Post-Basic B.Sc nurse sits, what each requires, the 3- and 4-year experience rules for private jobs, and where OMSB is silent.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 1 week agoOman Nursing · Eligibility · Indian Nurses
#Oman nursing exam for GNM#OMSB exam eligibility#Oman nurse experience requirement#Oman nursing post basic BSc#Indian nurses Oman license#OMSB diploma nursing exam
Oman Nursing Exam for Indian Nurses: GNM, B.Sc or Post-Basic — Which Paper?

Checked 25 September 2026. From OMSB's April 2026 booklets and the MOH private-sector nursing SOP (3rd edition, Nov 2025). OMSB publishes no India-specific mapping; ours is labelled.

For an Indian nurse the first Oman question is not how hard the exam is but which exam. OMSB sets two papers — one for bachelor's degrees, one for diplomas — with different blueprints and different pass marks: 60% and 50%. Neither booklet mentions GNM or Post-Basic B.Sc, so this guide sets out the official rules, our reading of where Indian qualifications fit, and the separate experience rules the Ministry of Health applies before a private-sector licence.

2
nursing papers: BSN and Diploma
None
experience needed to sit either paper (booklets set none)
3 / 4 years
experience for a private licence: bachelor / diploma
Not stated
which paper a Post-Basic B.Sc sits

OMSB booklets (April 2026); MOH DGPHE nursing SOP v3 (Nov 2025).

What the booklets require

PaperQualification (booklet)Pass mark
OEN – BSN"Bachelor's Degree in Nursing from recognized local or international colleges"60%
OEN – Diploma"Diploma in Nursing Science from recognized local or international colleges"50%

Neither booklet sets an experience requirement or a home-registration requirement to sit the exam. Those come later, at licensing — and they differ between the government and private sectors.

Where Indian qualifications most likely fit

Indian qualificationLikely paperWhyConfidence
B.Sc Nursing (four years)OEN – BSN (60%)A bachelor's degree in nursingHigh
GNM (three-year diploma)OEN – Diploma (50%)A diploma in nursingOur reading; OMSB names no Indian programme
Post-Basic B.Sc NursingProbably OEN – BSNA bachelor's degree built on a diploma; MOH's viva form lists "PBScN" as a qualification categoryNot stated by OMSB
M.Sc NursingOEN – BSNHolds a bachelor's degreeOur reading
ANMNeitherNot a Diploma in Nursing ScienceOur reading

Our reading of the booklets. The OMSB registration process is where the paper is assigned; if you hold a Post-Basic B.Sc, ask OMSB which paper your file is registered for before you pay.

Which Oman paper — and can you get a private licence?

The Post-Basic B.Sc question

Post-Basic B.Sc nurses are the group the booklets leave most exposed. Their degree is a bachelor's in nursing, which points to the BSN paper and its 60% pass mark; their training began as a diploma, which is how some recruiters describe them. The one official clue is MOH's viva form, whose qualification field lists "MScN/BScN, PBScN, Diploma" as separate categories — so MOH at least recognises Post-Basic B.Sc as its own qualification. For the private-sector experience rule, a Post-Basic B.Sc holder is most naturally a bachelor (three years), but the years you worked before the degree may or may not be counted. Ask OMSB which paper your registration is for, and your employer how your experience will be counted, before you book.

Government jobs and private jobs

RuleGovernment (MOH) facilitiesPrivate hospitals and clinics
Who licensesMinistry of Health, through its registration and licensing directorateMOH's Directorate General of Private Health Establishments (DGPHE)
ExamOMSB paper (OMSB: "to be able to work for the MOH… the candidates must sit")Pearson VUE test (OMSB paper) or another approved test
Experience for expatriatesNot published on MOH's public pagesBachelor 3 years; diploma 4 years
InterviewNot publishedMOH viva (RO 50), up to three attempts
Licence validity3 years (Decision 231/2024, our translation)2 years (same)

Licence validity from Ministerial Decision 231/2024 (Arabic; our translation); the rest from OMSB's testing page and MOH's private-sector SOP. The SOP's "Pearson Vue Test" is the OMSB paper booked through Pearson VUE; "any other approved test" is not defined, so check with the employer before relying on anything else. Most Indian nurses recruited to Oman join private facilities, which is why the private-sector rules are the better documented.

The private-sector experience rule

Requirement (MOH private-sector SOP, Nov 2025)Detail
Experience certificateDiploma at least 4 years; bachelor at least 3 years
Exam"Pearson Vue Test (or any other approved test by concerned authority)"
VerificationCertificate validation (DataFlow report)
CertificatesHigher-secondary certificate, nursing mark sheet, nursing degree or diploma
Home registrationNursing registration from the professional council — listed as optional
OtherClinic's letter requesting entry, CV, police clearance, passport copy

Where other pages get this wrong

Private-sector Oman licences ask for three or four years' experience — not "2 years".

Commonly published instead: "Diploma in Nursing (minimum 3 years) plus minimum 2 years' clinical experience."

The MOH private-sector nursing SOP (3rd edition, November 2025) asks for an experience certificate of at least four years for diploma holders and three for bachelor's holders. OMSB sets no experience condition for sitting the exam itself.

The 2021 edition of the same SOP described experience as "including internship" and required council registration; the 2025 edition drops "including internship" from the line we read and makes registration optional. If your count relies on your internship year, confirm with the employer. For government-sector jobs, MOH publishes no expatriate experience requirement on its public pages.

What changed between the 2021 and 2025 procedures

RuleSOP v2 (Dec 2021)SOP v3 (Nov 2025)
Exam named"Prometric (pass grade, no less than 50%)""Pearson Vue Test (or any other approved test by concerned authority)"
Home-council registrationRequiredOptional
ExperienceDescribed as including internshipDiploma at least 4 years, bachelor at least 3 years
Viva attempts after a fail"3 other attempts""2 more attempts"

From the two editions of MOH's private-sector nursing SOP. Advice written before late 2025 — and much of it before the 2023 switch to Pearson VUE — may describe the older rules. MOH's viva form still has a field headed "Prometric"; it was simply never reworded.

Documents to gather before you apply

  • Nursing degree or diploma, with the mark sheet (transcript).
  • Higher-secondary certificate.
  • Experience certificates covering three years (bachelor) or four (diploma).
  • OMSB result — the Pearson VUE score report.
  • DataFlow report verifying qualifications, experience and licences.
  • Police clearance certificate and passport copy.
  • State Nursing Council registration — optional for the private sector, but useful for verification.

From MOH's private-sector nursing SOP (Nov 2025); the employer adds its request letter.

A worked example

CandidatePaperPrivate licence now?
B.Sc Nursing, 2 years in a Kerala hospitalOEN-BSN (60%)Not yet — needs 3 years
B.Sc Nursing, 4 years in ICUOEN-BSN (60%)Yes, on the experience rule
GNM, 3 years in a private hospitalOEN-Diploma (50%), our readingNot yet — needs 4 years
GNM + Post-Basic B.Sc, 5 years in totalProbably OEN-BSN — confirmLikely, if the years are counted as bachelor experience

Illustrations of the booklets and MOH's 2025 private-sector SOP, not decisions. Each candidate can sit the exam now; the experience rule decides when the licence can follow. Sitting early is reasonable only if you will reach the experience threshold soon, since the Pearson-era score validity is not published.

Registration at home

The 2025 SOP lists "nursing registration from the professional council" as optional for the private sector, and OMSB's booklets do not require it to sit the exam. It still helps: DataFlow verifies licences as well as qualifications and experience, and MOH's registration e-service asks for a previous registration or licence. For an Indian nurse that is registration with the State Nursing Council. Keep it current while you are away if you may return to practise in India, and ask the council early for any verification letter, since councils can take weeks to reply.

Practise it, don't just read it

Whichever paper you sit, the clinical domains carry most of the marks. Topic quizzes are a quick check.

The ProSyllabus Oman nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing: Cardiovascular and Respiratory, Medical-Surgical Nursing: Renal, Endocrine and Gastrointestinal, Pharmacology for Nurses, Maternal and Child Health Nursing, Critical Care and Emergency Nursing, Infection Prevention and Control and Professional Practice, Ethics and Oman Health Regulations. Each question comes with an explanation.

Start a Oman nursing quiz →

Can GNM nurses take the Oman OMSB exam?

OMSB's Diploma paper is for holders of a "Diploma in Nursing Science from recognized local or international colleges". GNM is a nursing diploma, so the Diploma paper (50% pass mark) is the likely fit; OMSB names no Indian programme.

Which Oman exam does a Post-Basic B.Sc nurse take?

OMSB does not say. As a bachelor's degree it probably leads to the BSN paper; ask OMSB before paying.

How much experience is needed for an Oman nursing licence?

For a private-sector licence, MOH's 2025 SOP asks for at least three years with a bachelor's and four with a diploma. No experience is required to sit the OMSB exam.

Is Indian Nursing Council registration needed for Oman?

The private-sector SOP lists professional-council registration as optional. DataFlow verification and MOH registration may still ask for your home licence.

Which Oman paper does an M.Sc Nursing holder sit?

The BSN paper, on our reading: an M.Sc holder also holds a bachelor's degree in nursing. MOH's viva form groups MScN with BScN.

Can a Post-Basic B.Sc nurse take the Diploma paper?

The booklets do not say. As a bachelor's degree, the BSN paper is the likely one; OMSB assigns the paper at registration, so ask before paying.

What does "optional" registration mean in the Oman SOP?

The 2025 private-sector SOP lists home professional-council registration as an optional document. Verification and MOH registration may still ask for your licence, so keep it current.

Does my internship count toward Oman experience?

The 2021 SOP described experience as including internship; the 2025 edition gives only the years (three for a bachelor, four for a diploma). Confirm with your employer before counting the internship.

Can I sit the Oman exam before I have the experience?

Yes — the booklets set no experience condition. But the score's validity in the Pearson VUE era is not published, so sitting long before you reach the licensing experience risks having to sit again. Check with OMSB or your employer.

This chapter is part of the OMSB Nursing Exam (Oman Medical Specialty Board) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Practice Quiz

Test your OMSB Nursing Exam (Oman Medical Specialty Board) prep

Dual AI-verified questions Real exam pattern 1 free quiz every month, then ₹9 per quiz — or a monthly plan

#1

OMSB Nursing — Professional Practice, Ethics and Oman Health Regulations

Start here
10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
10/10best
#2

OMSB Nursing — Infection Prevention and Control

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

9/10avg score
10/10best
#3

OMSB Nursing — Pharmacology for Nurses

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

5/10avg score
5/10best
#4

OMSB Nursing — Critical Care and Emergency Nursing

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#5

OMSB Nursing — Maternal and Child Health Nursing

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#6

OMSB Nursing — Medical-Surgical Nursing: Renal, Endocrine and Gastrointestinal

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#7

OMSB Nursing — Medical-Surgical Nursing: Cardiovascular and Respiratory

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#8

OMSB Nursing — Fundamentals of Nursing

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

More on OMSB Nursing Exam (Oman Medical Specialty Board)5 guides

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article