Checked 29 September 2026. Italian steps from DM 1005/2026, its Tabella A and B, the university calls and the MUR circular for 2026/27; Indian conditions from the NMC FMGL Regulations 2021 and the NMC FAQ. NMC rules change by notification; re-check them before you pre-enrol.
For an Indian student, IMAT is two decisions, not one. The first is Italian: can you get a seat in an English-taught Medicine course? The second is Indian: will that degree let you practise in India? The Italian side is well documented. The Indian side depends on the National Medical Commission's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate (FMGL) Regulations 2021, and one of its conditions has not been tested against the Italian course structure in any official document we could find. This guide takes both halves in order and marks clearly what is settled and what is not.
Tabella A and B of DM 1005/2026 (the IMAT subtotal is ours); NMC FMGL Regulations 2021, regulation 4.
Part 1: the Italian route, step by step
As an Indian citizen living in India, you are a "non-EU citizen resident abroad". You are ranked only at the one university where you pre-enrol, against other non-EU applicants who chose it. The sequence for the 2026/27 intake was as follows.
| Step | What | When (2026 cycle) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pre-enrol on Universitaly for one university and course; request the study visa | By the university's deadline — Ancona: 9 Sep 2026 | Ancona call; MUR circular |
| 2 | Register for IMAT on Universitaly and pay the fee | 26 Aug – 9 Sep 2026, 15:00 Italian time | DM 1005/2026 |
| 3 | University-specific steps (e.g. Bologna's Studenti Online registration) | Bologna: 10 Sep – 5 Oct 2026, 13:00 | Bologna call |
| 4 | Sit the test — India is a test country | 29 Sep 2026, 13:30 Italian time (17:00 India, our conversion) | DM 1005/2026; Tabella A |
| 5 | Local ranking at your university; any score above zero is eligible | By 26 Oct 2026 | DM 1005/2026; Parma call |
| 6 | Enrol in the university's non-EU window | Parma 27 Oct – 10 Nov; Bologna by 29 Oct; Ancona 26 Oct – 4 Nov 2026 | University calls |
| 7 | Apply for the type-D study visa | By 30 Nov 2026 at the latest (a university may set an earlier date) | MUR circular |
Two eligibility points sit underneath these steps. The MUR circular requires a school-leaving qualification obtained after at least 12 years of schooling, which the Indian Class 12 pattern meets. And universities may ask for English at B2 level at enrolment: Parma does, with exemptions where English is an official language of the country of origin or where the student has had at least one school year taught in English.
| Requirement | Rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Years of schooling | At least 12 years (fewer: see the circular's annexes) | MUR circular |
| English at enrolment (Parma) | B2; exempt if English is an official language of your country, or after one school year taught in English | Parma call |
| Italian (Catania) | B2 Italian by the third year, before clinical internships | Catania course page |
| New for 2026/27 | Universities may validate pre-enrolments only up to their foreign-student places plus 20% | MUR circular |
The last row is new this year. A university can now validate pre-enrolments only up to its foreign-student places plus 20%; the circular does not say they are validated in order of arrival, so check your university's own rule. Only candidates whose pre-enrolment has been validated can apply for the study visa.
Catania's course page is a useful reminder that "taught in English" does not mean you can avoid Italian. Clinical training involves Italian patients, and Catania requires B2 Italian by the third year, before clinical internships. Other universities may set their own Italian requirement, so check each one, and start Italian early.
Where in India is the test held?
Tabella A of the decree lists 26 test countries — 25 abroad plus Italy — and India is one of them. It does not name a city. The ministry later published a correction notice to Tabella A (26 August 2026); the ministry's site blocks automated access, so we could not check whether India's row changed. Several prep and agency sites name New Delhi, and some add Chennai. We could not find either city in any official document, so we print both claims as reported. The venue address is published later through a ministry notice (the decree says test addresses come in a subsequent MUR notice), and your admission details on Universitaly are what count.
| Claim | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| India is a test country | Official | Tabella A, DM 1005/2026 |
| The Indian centre is in New Delhi | Reported only | LeapScholar, Edu-Mentor |
| There is also a centre in Chennai | Reported only; some reports say New Delhi only | Agency pages; earlier ProSyllabus update |
What does it cost to sit?
The decree does not state a fee amount. Article 5 says the fee is paid to the ministry through CINECA and that €65 of it goes, per hosted candidate, to each Italian university that hosts the test. Several sites report the fee as €130. We print that as reported and do not convert it; the amount shown on Universitaly at payment is the figure that counts.
| Fee fact | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Fee paid to MUR via CINECA | Not stated in the decree | Official (DM art. 5) |
| Share to each Italian host university, per hosted candidate | €65 | Official (DM art. 5) |
| Registration fee, as reported | €130 | Reported (LeapScholar, Edu-Mentor) |
| First tuition instalment, Parma and Ancona | €156 | Official (university calls) |
Part 2: will the degree count in India?
For anyone who started a foreign medical course on or after 18 November 2021, the FMGL Regulations 2021 decide whether the degree leads to permanent registration in India. (Those who started earlier fall under the Screening Test Regulations 2002.) Regulation 4 lists the conditions. We set them out in full, then add NEET, which the NMC requires separately.
| Condition | FMGL 2021 | Italian LM-41 course |
|---|---|---|
| Course length | At least 54 months | Six years — meets it |
| Internship abroad | Twelve months in the same foreign institution, in addition to the course (Schedule-I (i)(b)) | Open question for each programme — see below |
| Language | Medium of instruction English | English-taught — meets it |
| Subjects | The Schedule-I subjects, commensurate with Indian MBBS | Check the university's curriculum |
| Licence abroad | Registered to practise in the country of the degree, on par with its citizens | Confirm with the university |
| Same country | No part of the training or internship in another country (Schedule-I (iii)) | Verify for your course. Tirana joint degree: raises the question, in our reading |
| Same institution | Entire course, training and internship in the same foreign institution (Schedule-I (iii)) | Verify for your course, in writing |
| Time limit | Course completed within 10 years of joining | Depends on you |
| Internship in India | 12 months supervised (reg. 4(c)) | Done after returning; check the current NMC notice for the order |
| Licensing test | National Exit Test, or another test the NMC mandates (reg. 4(d)) | Done after returning; the regulation lists it separately from 4(c) without fixing an order |
| NEET-UG | Required for Indians taking a foreign medical degree from May 2018 on (NMC FAQ) | Must be qualified |
NMC FMGL 2021 self-check for an Italian degree
Built on regulation 4 and Schedule-I of the NMC FMGL Regulations 2021 and the NMC FAQ on NEET. This is a reading aid, not a ruling: only the NMC decides, course by course. Every "not sure" is a question to put to the NMC and the university in writing before you enrol.
The internship question
Schedule-I (i)(b) of FMGL 2021 requires an "internship of twelve months in addition to such course" in the same foreign institution. The rule itself is clear. What is open is whether a given Italian programme contains such a distinct twelve-month internship: the Italian six-year Medicine degree builds its clinical training into the course, and programmes differ. We have not found an NMC or Italian document that settles it for Italian courses. We are not saying the degree fails; we are saying no official source we found says it passes, so it has to be verified course by course.
What to do about it before you commit
- Write to your chosen university's international office and ask how its course meets FMGL 2021 regulation 4(a)(ii) and Schedule-I, and keep the reply.
- Ask the university to confirm in writing that the whole course, training and internship are done in the institution awarding the degree, in Italy.
- Check the NMC's notices for any public statement on Italian degrees or on countries with integrated internships.
- Ask how and when graduates are registered to practise in Italy, and whether that is on par with Italian graduates (regulation 4(b)).
- Treat any agency that calls the degree "NMC approved" without citing an NMC document as unverified.
Where other pages get this wrong
An Italian medical degree is not automatically valid in India.
Commonly published instead: Agency pages often describe Italian degrees as "NMC approved" or "recognised by NMC".
FMGL 2021 does not approve universities by name. It sets conditions that each graduate must meet, and one of them — a twelve-month internship in addition to the course — has not been officially tested against Italian programmes in any document we found.
NEET: still required
The NMC FAQ on the Screening Test Regulations states that Indian citizens and Overseas Citizens of India who want to obtain a primary medical qualification from an institution outside India, on or after May 2018, must qualify NEET-UG, and that the NEET result is treated as their eligibility certificate. IMAT does not replace NEET for this purpose. If you are planning to return to India, qualify NEET-UG before you rely on an Italian seat.
| Rule | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|
| NEET-UG needed for a foreign medical degree | Indian citizens and OCIs, qualification obtained on or after May 2018 | NMC FAQ |
| NEET result treated as the eligibility certificate | Same group, if they meet the MBBS eligibility criteria | NMC FAQ |
| Screening Test Regulations 2002 | Those who started a foreign course before 18 Nov 2021 | NMC FAQ |
| FMGL Regulations 2021 | Those who started on or after 18 Nov 2021 | FMGL 2021 |
The Tirana course
Tor Vergata's Tirana course holds 320 of the 845 non-EU seats on IMAT Medicine courses. Tor Vergata's own note describes it as a joint degree between Tor Vergata and the Università Cattolica "Nostra Signora del Buon Consiglio", administered in Tirana by the latter. Schedule-I clause (iii) of FMGL 2021 says no part of the training or internship may be done "in any country other than country from where the primary medical qualification is obtained", and that it must all be in the same institution. Our reading is that a joint degree taught and administered in Albania raises questions under both parts of that clause. If you are considering it, get a written answer from the NMC first.
Practise it, don't just read it
The Italian seat is decided by the IMAT score. Build the biology and chemistry base first.
The ProSyllabus IMAT library has ten topic quizzes: Cell Biology, Genetics, Human Physiology and Biomolecules and Metabolism; Atomic Structure and Bonding and Stoichiometry and Solutions; Mechanics and Electricity and Thermodynamics; Mathematics; and Logical Reasoning and Problem Solving. They use four options per question, where the real paper has five, and there is no reading or general-knowledge quiz yet — treat them as topic drills, not a mock.
Is NEET required for IMAT?
Not for sitting IMAT or getting an Italian seat. But the NMC requires Indian citizens who take a foreign medical degree to have qualified NEET-UG if they want to practise in India.
Is an Italian MBBS valid in India?
Only if the graduate meets every condition of the NMC FMGL Regulations 2021. An English-taught six-year course in Italy meets the length and language conditions; whether a given programme contains the twelve-month internship "in addition to" the course, in the same institution, has to be verified for that programme — no official document we found settles it.
Where is the IMAT exam centre in India?
The decree lists India as a test country but names no city. New Delhi, and sometimes Chennai, are reported by agency sites. The venue comes from a later MUR notice and your Universitaly details.
How much is the IMAT fee?
The decree does not state it; €130 is widely reported. The decree does say €65 per hosted candidate goes to each Italian host university.
Can I apply to more than one Italian university from India?
No. As a non-EU applicant resident abroad you pre-enrol at one university and are ranked only there.
Do I need to learn Italian?
The course is in English, but clinical training involves Italian patients. Catania, for example, requires B2 Italian by the third year, before clinical internships.
Sources
- official — National Medical Commission — Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations, 2021
- official — National Medical Commission — FAQs on the Screening Test Regulations, 2002 (UGMEB public notice)
- official — MUR — Decreto Ministeriale n. 1005 of 6 August 2026 (IMAT 2026 decree), with its annexes
- official — MUR — DM 1005/2026, Tabella A (test countries and Italian host universities; University of Parma copy)
- official — MUR — DM 1005/2026, Tabella B (seats 2026/27; University of Parma copy)
- official — Tor Vergata — explanatory note on enrolment at the Tirana site (joint degree with Università Cattolica "Nostra Signora del Buon Consiglio")
- official — MUR — procedures for international students 2026/27 and 2027/28 (LUMSA copy)
- official — University of Parma — call for Medicine and Surgery 2026/27, English version (PDF)
- official — University of Bologna — how to enrol, call 2026/27, English-certificate annex and test-day notice
- official — Università Politecnica delle Marche (Ancona) — call 2026/27, English version
- official — University of Catania — Medicine and Surgery (English) admission page
- reported — LeapScholar — IMAT exam fees 2026 (reported; see corrections)
- reported — Edu-Mentor — IMAT registration 2026 (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










