Checked 25 September 2026. From the GATE 2027 Information Brochure (revised 17 September 2026), the GATE 2027 notices and dates pages, and the 2026 and 2027 EE syllabus PDFs. GATE says all dates are liable to change; the EE paper’s own date and session were not yet published.
GATE 2027 is organised by IIT Madras, and its site says the syllabi “have been revised”. For Electrical Engineering, that is not true in any way that matters. We compared the official 2026 and 2027 EE syllabus PDFs word by word and found exactly two differences: a spelling fix (“Butterwoth” became “Butterworth”) and a line-break hyphen. No topic was added or removed. What did change for 2027 is the calendar, the application process (DigiLocker is now mandatory for Indian nationals), a new paper — Robotics & Automation — that an EE candidate can pair with EE, and the paper count. This guide goes through each change from the official documents.
GATE 2027 IB; our word-level comparison of the 2026 and 2027 EE syllabus PDFs.
Where other pages get this wrong
The GATE 2027 EE syllabus is the same as 2026: no topic was added or removed.
Commonly published instead: “Smart Grid, Electric Vehicles, Energy Storage Systems and Power Electronics applications have been added to EE.”
The 2027 EE syllabus PDF differs from 2026 only by “Butterwoth” → “Butterworth” and a line-break hyphen. “Smart grid”, “electric vehicle”, “energy storage” and “renewable” do not appear anywhere in the 2027 EE syllabus.
The syllabus: two cosmetic edits
| Section | GATE 2026 text | GATE 2027 text | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Power Systems | “Principles of over‐current …” | “Principles of over‐ current …” | PDF line-break artefact |
| 9 Analog and Digital Electronics | “Sallen Key, Butterwoth” | “Sallen Key, Butterworth” | Spelling fix |
| All other sections | — | — | Identical |
Our word-level comparison of the official 2026 (IIT Guwahati) and 2027 (IIT Madras) EE syllabus PDFs; the brochure’s EE appendix is word-for-word the same as the 2027 PDF.
The ten sections are unchanged: Engineering Mathematics, Electric Circuits, Electromagnetic Fields, Signals and Systems, Electrical Machines, Power Systems, Control Systems, Electrical and Electronic Measurements, Analog and Digital Electronics, and Power Electronics. The General Aptitude syllabus changed only in formatting. So every textbook, note set and question bank you used for GATE 2026 is still aligned with the 2027 EE paper — do not spend money or time replacing them.
The paper count: 30, not 31
GATE 2027 adds a new paper, Robotics & Automation (RA). Some coaching pages therefore say there are now 31 papers. The brochure says 30: Textile Engineering (TF) stopped being a separate paper and became section XE9 of Engineering Sciences (XE). The sectional codes of XE, XH and XL were also renamed (for example XE-A became XE0). None of this affects EE’s own paper code or structure.
Eligibility, centres and validity — unchanged in substance
You can sit GATE 2027 if you are in the third or a higher year of an undergraduate degree, or have completed a government-approved degree in engineering, technology, architecture, science, commerce, arts or humanities; for B.E. and B.Tech the brochure says “currently in the third year or higher or already completed”. There is no age limit. There are no international centres in 2027 — candidates living abroad must travel to India to take the test. The paper is computer-based and in English only, run from IIT Madras with zonal offices at IISc and the IITs at Bombay, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras and Roorkee. The score stays valid for three years from the result, which is why many PSUs and CCMT accept scores from earlier years; a paid scorecard costs ₹500 per paper until 31 December 2027, and none is issued from 1 January 2028.
Dates: rescheduled twice
| Event | Date | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Application portal opens | 2 September 2026 | Originally 14 Aug, then 27 Aug |
| Regular close | 27 September 2026 | Was 21 Sep |
| Close with late fee | 5 October 2026 | Was 30 Sep |
| Change category, paper or city; add a paper | Until 21 October 2026 | Rectification window 14–21 Oct |
| Exam-city notification | 4 January 2027 | |
| Exam days | 6, 7, 13, 14, 20, 21 February 2027 | Forenoon 9:30–12:30, afternoon 2:30–5:30 |
| Result | 19 March 2027 | Score valid for three years |
GATE 2027 IB and Important Dates page (older dates struck through there). All dates “liable to change”.
EE’s own date and session were not published by 25 September 2026. For reference, GATE 2026 EE was held on Saturday 14 February 2026 in the forenoon, and EE has been a single-session paper in 2024, 2025 and 2026 — so no cross-session normalisation was needed; marks were converted directly to the GATE score out of 1000 by the standard formula. Whether 2027 EE is single-session again depends on registrations and is not stated.
Fees: unchanged
| Category | Regular period | Extended period |
|---|---|---|
| Female, SC, ST, PwD (40% or more benchmark disability) | ₹1,000 per paper | ₹1,500 per paper |
| All others, including foreign nationals | ₹2,000 per paper | ₹2,500 per paper |
GATE 2027 IB (Table on fees), identical to the GATE 2026 fee table. Two papers cost twice as much. The brochure says the fee is not refundable except when a two-paper combination is withdrawn; the organisers’ notice of 7 September 2026 adds that refunds are processed only for duplicate transactions, on valid proof.
The new combination: EE + Robotics & Automation
| Year | Second papers allowed with EE |
|---|---|
| GATE 2026 | DA, EC, IN, PH |
| GATE 2027 (tentative) | DA, EC, IN, PH, RA |
GATE 2026 IB; GATE 2027 IB Table 4 and the two-paper combinations page (“tentative, subject to change”).
RA has a Part B1 “Electrical” option — analog circuits and embedded systems, signals and systems, control systems — chosen during the exam. That overlaps heavily with EE. But RA’s common Part A (60 marks) also covers mechanics, sensors and actuators (including DC, stepper and servo motors), robotics, PLC and CNC automation, and Python programming and data structures, which lie outside EE. An EE student can reuse signals, control and analog preparation for RA, but should budget real time for Part A before paying for a second paper.
Our reading of the GATE 2027 RA and EE syllabi. Part B1: analog and embedded, signals and systems, control — all in EE. Part A: circuits and digital circuits overlap; mechanics, sensors and actuators, robotics, PLC/CNC automation and Python do not.
DigiLocker and other application changes
Three process changes matter for 2027. DigiLocker registration is mandatory for Indian nationals (notice of 1 August 2026); an unverified account is allowed, but documents are then scrutinised after the deadline and originals are checked at the exam hall. The application captures a live photo of your face. And the organisers asked candidates not to delete their DigiLocker account after applying, because all later communication is tied to it (notice of 19 September 2026). PwD compensatory time is now written as 20 minutes per hour, up to one hour for a three-hour paper — the same total as GATE 2026’s wording of one hour.
GATE 2027 application checklist
Tick each step as you finish it.
0 of 9 done
Ticks are saved only in this browser on this device.
Practise it, don't just read it
Because the EE syllabus is unchanged, every topic quiz built for GATE 2026 applies directly to 2027. Use them to find weak sections now, while there are still four months to fix them.
The ProSyllabus GATE EE library has topic quizzes on Fourier series and transforms, transfer functions and block diagrams, state space, the Nyquist criterion, transformers, synchronous machines, rectifiers, nodal and mesh analysis, transients, two-port networks, load flow and power system protection — the first quiz is free.
Did the GATE EE syllabus change for 2027?
No topic was added or removed. The only differences are a spelling fix (Butterworth) and a line-break hyphen.
Were smart grids or electric vehicles added to GATE EE 2027?
No. Those terms do not appear in the 2027 EE syllabus.
How many papers are there in GATE 2027?
Thirty. Robotics & Automation was added and Textile became section XE9 of XE.
Which IIT is organising GATE 2027?
IIT Madras.
When is GATE 2027?
On 6, 7, 13, 14, 20 and 21 February 2027; EE’s own date was not yet published.
When is the GATE 2027 result?
19 March 2027.
What is the last date to apply for GATE 2027?
27 September 2026 without a late fee, 5 October 2026 with it.
What is the GATE 2027 fee for EE?
₹2,000 per paper (₹1,000 for female, SC, ST and PwD candidates) in the regular period; ₹2,500 (₹1,500) in the extended period, per the brochure.
Which second papers can I take with GATE EE 2027?
DA, EC, IN, PH and the new RA (tentative).
Is DigiLocker compulsory for GATE 2027?
Yes, for Indian nationals.
Is GATE EE a single-session paper?
It was in 2024, 2025 and 2026; whether it will be in 2027 is not stated.
How long is a GATE score valid?
Three years from the result date.
Can I use my GATE 2026 study material for 2027?
Yes — the EE syllabus is unchanged.
More in this series
- Marks vs score vs rank, 2023–2026, with calculator
- Negative marking: the MCQ share and what guessing costs
- Previous papers decoded: section counts 2024–2026
- PSU jobs through GATE EE: official vacancies and cut-offs
- M.Tech after GATE EE: CCMT 2026 and IIT cut-offs
- A 19-week GATE EE 2027 revision plan
- GATE Electrical Engineering 2026: exam date, syllabus weightage and PSU guide
- GATE 2026 EE: Power Systems weightage and forenoon strategy
- GATE EE notice board — official updates
Sources
- official — GATE 2027 Information Brochure, IIT Madras (revised 17 Sep 2026)
- official — GATE 2027 — Notifications
- official — GATE 2027 — Important dates
- official — GATE 2027 — Two-paper combinations
- official — GATE 2027 EE syllabus (PDF)
- official — GATE 2026 EE syllabus (PDF, IIT Guwahati)
- official — GATE 2027 Robotics & Automation (RA) syllabus (PDF)
- official — GATE 2026 Information Brochure, IIT Guwahati (PDF)
- reported — Careers360 — GATE 2027 syllabus changes explained (reported; see corrections)
- reported — PW — GATE 2027 syllabus revised (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.
















