Updates as of September 22, 2026
The West Bengal Circle held the Data Entry Skill Test on 23 September 2026 for candidates shortlisted in the LDCE and CE to Postman, Mail Guard and MTS 2026, under a notice dated 21 September 2026. The shortlist itself was declared on 12 September 2026 in three annexures. The skill test is the stage at which Postman and Mail Guard candidates are separated from MTS-only applicants.
West Bengal Postal Circle (official)The West Bengal Circle notification for the 2026 vacancy year puts provisional vacancies at 144 for Postman and 5 for Mail Guard, 149 in total, covering vacancies earmarked for Gramin Dak Sevaks together with unfilled LDCE vacancies for Postman and Mail Guard for that vacancy year. Age eligibility is 18 to 27, relaxable for reserved categories, with 1 January 2026 as the critical date.
West Bengal Circle notification (official)The governing rules are the Department of Posts Postman and Mail Guard (Group C post) Recruitment Rules, 2018, notified by G.S.R. 899(E) dated 20 September 2018, amended by G.S.R. 157(E) dated 5 March 2020 and by G.S.R. 639(E) dated 30 August 2023. The West Bengal notification cites all three. The 2023 amendment sets the current 50-50 division between the two departmental routes.
West Bengal Circle notification (official)The 2026 cycle ran on a common timetable in the circles that notified together: notification 1 June 2026, applications to the Divisional Office by 22 June, to the Regional Office by 24 June, admit cards 6 July and the examination on Sunday 12 July 2026. Postal Study lists Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai and Tiruchirappalli as the Tamil Nadu Circle centres.
Postal StudyAn earlier Andhra Pradesh Circle vacancy statement for the year 2025 describes the Postman and MTS vacancies it lists as falling under a competitive examination limited to GDS, with 25 Postman and 2 Mail Guard vacancies and a 4 per cent reservation for persons with benchmark disabilities. It is a useful indication of the order of magnitude a mid-sized circle notifies in a single year.
Department of Posts, CEPT utilities (official)Conducting circles and notified Postman or Mail Guard vacancies
| Circle | Vacancies notified | Stage reached |
|---|---|---|
| West Bengal | Postman 144, Mail Guard 5, vacancy year 2026 | Shortlist 12 September 2026; DEST 23 September 2026 |
| Andhra Pradesh | Postman 25, Mail Guard 2, vacancy year 2025 | Earlier cycle; 2026 notification issued per Epostal |
| Tamil Nadu | Not stated in the sources read | Examination 12 July 2026 at four centres |
| Gujarat | Not stated in the sources read | Results with division allotment reported by Post Office Coaching |
| Kerala and Uttar Pradesh | Not stated in the sources read | Separate MTS to Postman and Mail Guard track also notified |
| Jammu and Kashmir | None yet | Notification awaited per Epostal |
The Department of Posts notifies this examination circle by circle rather than nationally, so there is no single vacancy figure and no common closing date beyond the block of circles that notified on 1 June 2026. Epostal counts twenty-two circles with 2026 notifications and one, Jammu and Kashmir, still to come. Where a vacancy count is shown as not stated, no source we could read gave one for that circle; do not assume a figure from a neighbouring circle.
Dates and windows
| What | When | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Notification, 2026 vacancy year | 1 June 2026 | Closed |
| Applications to the Divisional Office | 22 June 2026 | Closed |
| Applications reaching the Regional Office | 24 June 2026 | Closed |
| Admit cards | 6 July 2026 | Closed |
| Written examination | Sunday 12 July 2026 | Closed |
| Shortlist for the skill test, West Bengal Circle | 12 September 2026, three annexures | Confirmed |
| Data Entry Skill Test, West Bengal Circle | 23 September 2026 | Confirmed |
| Notification for the 2027 vacancy year | Not issued; the 2026 one appeared on 1 June | Tentative |
These dates are those of the circles that notified together on 1 June 2026, taken from the West Bengal Circle notification and corroborated by Postal Study; the September stages are West Bengal specific. Other circles have run their own post-examination timetables, so a result declared in one circle says nothing about the stage reached in another.
What this means for your preparation
The most consequential thing to understand about this examination is that it is only half of the Postman and Mail Guard cadre's intake. The Recruitment (Amendment) Rules, 2023 divide vacancies equally: 50 per cent by a competitive examination limited to Gramin Dak Sevaks, and 50 per cent by a limited departmental competitive examination for Multi Tasking Staff of the same postal circle. A GDS and an MTS are therefore competing in two different pools for two different halves of the same post.
Fifty per cent for GDS, fifty per cent for MTS
The statutory text reproduced by LegitQuest states that 50 per cent of Postman and Mail Guard vacancies are filled by promotion of Multi Tasking Staff of the recruiting postal circle on the basis of a limited departmental competitive examination, and 50 per cent by direct recruitment on the basis of a competitive examination limited to Gramin Dak Sevaks who have worked regularly for five years. Postal Study reports the same split. Crucially, if not enough eligible GDS come forward, that half reverts to open market recruitment rather than being handed to the MTS pool, which is why circles keep the two counts separate in their notifications.
Five years for GDS, three for MTS
The service test differs by route. A Gramin Dak Sevak needs five years of regular engagement, computed as on 1 January of the vacancy year, to enter the competitive examination half. An MTS entering through the promotion half needs either three years of regular service in level 1 of the pay matrix, or a total of five years of regular service including time rendered as a Gramin Dak Sevak, again as on 1 January. That second limb is the one most often missed: a former GDS now serving as MTS can count the earlier engagement towards the five-year total and become eligible sooner than the three-year grade rule alone would allow.
The licence and the language are hard gates
Unlike the MTS competitive examination, this route carries real entry conditions. The West Bengal Circle notification requires the tenth standard with knowledge of the local language to that level, computer proficiency, and a valid licence to drive a two-wheeler or light motor vehicle, with exemption as provided in the rules; persons with benchmark disabilities are exempt from the licence requirement. The rules text adds that GDS applicants need the tenth standard while other candidates need the twelfth. Age in West Bengal is 18 to 27 with relaxations, although Postal Study reports the Tamil Nadu notification setting a ceiling of 50 years as on 1 January 2026 for serving GDS, so the age condition is one to read in your own circle's notice rather than assume.
Three components, and the skill test is last
The West Bengal notification describes Papers I and II as the general papers for Postman and Mail Guard candidates, Paper III as the local language test, optional for those applying only for MTS, and Paper IV as the Data Entry Skill Test, held separately in English for fifteen minutes. Candidates must secure the minimum in Papers I and II combined, then separately in Paper III, before they are called for the skill test. Postal Study's numbering differs, giving Paper I as 150 marks in 90 minutes, Paper II as a 50 mark language test and the DEST as 25 marks over fifteen minutes requiring 1,000 key depressions with tolerances. Treat the components as settled and the numbering as circle specific.
Prepare the delivery side, not the counter side
Postal Study describes the Postman and Mail Guard Paper I syllabus as weighted towards delivery procedures, mail operations, the Postal Manuals Volumes VI and VII and mail exchange protocols, with reasoning and analytical ability carrying more weight than in the MTS paper. That is a meaningful divergence from the MTS syllabus, which leans on post office types, postal products and basic arithmetic. A candidate revising from shared MTS material will under-read the manual chapters that this paper actually tests, and will arrive under-practised on the reasoning section, where the extra marks and the extra thirty minutes of paper time both sit.
Common questions
What percentage of Postman and Mail Guard posts goes to GDS?
Fifty per cent. The Postman and Mail Guard Recruitment (Amendment) Rules, 2023 provide that 50 per cent of vacancies are filled by direct recruitment on the basis of a competitive examination limited to Gramin Dak Sevaks who have served regularly for five years, and the other 50 per cent by promotion of Multi Tasking Staff of the recruiting postal circle through a limited departmental competitive examination. If insufficient eligible GDS candidates come forward, the GDS half reverts to open market recruitment rather than transferring to the MTS half.
How many years of service do I need to apply as a GDS?
Five years of regular engagement as a Gramin Dak Sevak, computed as on the first day of January of the vacancy year, which for the 2026 cycle is 1 January 2026. Both the West Bengal Circle notification and the statutory text state five years for the GDS competitive route. This is longer than the three years required for the separate GDS to MTS competitive examination, which is why some Gramin Dak Sevaks become eligible for the MTS route two years before they become eligible for Postman or Mail Guard.
What service does an MTS need for the Postman and Mail Guard LDCE?
Either three years of regular service in the grade, in level 1 of the pay matrix, as on the first day of January of the vacancy year, or a total of five years of regular service including service rendered regularly as a Gramin Dak Sevak, as on the same date. The second alternative allows an MTS who previously served as a GDS to count that earlier engagement, and is set out in the Recruitment (Amendment) Rules, 2023 as reproduced by LegitQuest and summarised by Postal Study.
Is a driving licence compulsory for the Postman examination?
The West Bengal Circle notification requires a valid licence to drive a two-wheeler or a light motor vehicle, or exemption as provided in the rules, for Postman and Mail Guard applicants. Persons with benchmark disabilities are exempt. Postal Study notes the licence requirement applies to Postman applicants and that MTS applicants face no such condition. Alongside the licence, candidates need the tenth standard with local language knowledge to that level and computer proficiency, none of which applies to the MTS competitive route.
What is the Data Entry Skill Test and who has to take it?
It is the computer skill component taken only by Postman and Mail Guard candidates, and it comes last. The West Bengal Circle notification describes it as a separate paper conducted in English for fifteen minutes, reached only after a candidate has secured the minimum in the general papers and then separately in the local language paper. Postal Study reports it as carrying 25 marks and requiring 1,000 key depressions in the fifteen minutes with tolerances applied. Candidates applying only for MTS are not required to sit it.
When will the next Postman and Mail Guard notification be issued?
No notification for the 2027 vacancy year had appeared in any source we could read as of 22 September 2026. The 2026 notification was issued on 1 June 2026 in the circles that notified together, with applications closing at the Divisional Office on 22 June and the examination held on 12 July 2026. Because the Department of Posts notifies this examination circle by circle, the only reliable place to watch is your own circle's recruitment page, such as the West Bengal Circle page that carries its 2026 notification, shortlist and skill test notices.







