Checked 25 September 2026. From DOH Circular 151/2024 (Licensing Service Catalogue and Licensing Procedural Manual, published August 2024), the Unified PQR (April 2025) and Pearson VUE's DOH pages read on 25 September 2026. DOH may change an exam's format without a new circular, so check the exam details shown to you in TAMM before you book.
Nurses who want to work in Abu Dhabi are licensed by the Department of Health – Abu Dhabi (DOH), the regulator previously known as the Health Authority – Abu Dhabi (HAAD) — which is why the exam is still widely searched as the "HAAD exam". Most of what is written about it online is copied from coaching pages, and much of it is wrong. DOH itself does publish the essentials, though not on a page anyone would find: they are in the Licensing Service Catalogue attached to DOH Circular 151 of 2024. This guide sets out exactly what that document and DOH's other official pages say about the exam, and marks clearly what DOH does not publish.
Where other pages get this wrong
DOH does not publish a pass mark for its nursing exams.
Commonly published instead: "DOH/HAAD nursing pass mark: 60%", "60–70%", or "80% for nurses from India and 60% for others".
DOH's own FAQ answers "How many questions must be answered correctly in the exam to pass?" with "This depends on the cut-score set internally by DOH". Results are announced only as PASS or FAIL, "without details of the result (e.g., attained score/percentage)". No DOH document sets a different pass mark by nationality.
DOH Circular 151/2024 — Licensing Service Catalogue, nurses page and examination step.
The four DOH nursing and midwifery computer-based tests
DOH decides which exam you sit from the title you apply for. For four nursing and midwifery titles the exam is a computer-based test (CBT) of multiple-choice questions, delivered by Pearson VUE. The nurses page of DOH's service catalogue gives the question count, duration and fee for each:
| Title | Exam type | Questions | Duration | DOH fee (2024) | Time per question |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered Nurse | CBT | 150 MCQs | 3 hours | AED 540 | 1.2 minutes |
| Assistant Nurse | CBT | 100 MCQs | 2 hours | AED 500 | 1.2 minutes |
| School Nurse | CBT | 100 MCQs | 2 hours | AED 500 | 1.2 minutes |
| Registered Midwife | CBT | 100 MCQs | 2 hours | AED 500 | 1.2 minutes |
Questions, duration and fee from the DOH Licensing Service Catalogue (Circular 151/2024), nurses and midwives page. Time per question is our arithmetic.
The same page lists titles that are assessed by an oral exam instead, for AED 50: Nurse Practitioner, Certified Anesthesia Nurse, Community Nurse, Critical Care Nurse, Homecare Nurse, Pediatric Nurse, Mental Nurse, Neonatal Nurse and Assistant Midwife. DOH's examination step gives oral and OSCE exams 45 to 60 minutes, and the PQR says an oral exam has at least five scenarios or questions. Some titles have "an additional component, which will be stated once the credentials are approved", so the TAMM screen after credentialing is the final word on your own exam.
DOH Circular 151/2024: nurses page (CBT) and examination step (oral and OSCE).
The exam codes on Pearson VUE
Pearson VUE lists DOH exams under a program still called "HAAD". On 25 September 2026 its public exam list (a page that loads only in a browser; we read it there) showed these nursing and midwifery exams — two codes each for the Registered Nurse, Practical/Assistant Nurse and School Nurse exams:
| Code | Name on Pearson's list |
|---|---|
| DOH-RN_OP · HAAD-RN | DOH Licensure Examination for Registered Nurse(s) |
| DOH-PN_OP · PN | DOH Licensure Examination for Practical Nurse/Assistance Nurse |
| DOH-SN_OP · SN | DOH Licensure Examination for School Nurse |
| HAAD-RM | DOH Licensure Examination for Registered Midwife |
Pearson does not say which code of each pair is current. You do not choose it yourself: after you pay in TAMM, the "Book Pearson Vue Exam" link takes you to Pearson with the exam DOH has approved for you. "Practical Nurse" is not a DOH licence title — the PQR title is Assistant Nurse — so on our reading the PN exam is the Assistant Nurse exam.
What DOH publishes — and what it does not
| Question | DOH's position | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who delivers the exam? | Pearson VUE, booked from TAMM after DOH approves your credentials | Pearson VUE DOH page; Circular 151/2024 |
| Language | "All examinations will be conducted in English" | PQR 1.5.3.1; Circular 151/2024 |
| Question count and time | RN 150 MCQs / 3 h; AN, School Nurse, Midwife 100 MCQs / 2 h | Circular 151/2024, nurses page |
| Pass mark | Not published — "the cut-score set internally by DOH" | Circular 151/2024, FAQ 3.5 |
| Score report | None — PASS or FAIL only | Licensing Procedural Manual |
| Result time | CBT within 24 hours; oral/OSCE within 5 working days, on TAMM | Circular 151/2024, examination step |
| Blueprint or topic weights | Not published; e-mail exam@doh.gov.ae for "the available study materials" | Circular 151/2024, FAQ 3.6 |
| Negative marking | Not stated anywhere | — |
| Adaptive (NCLEX-style) or fixed | Not stated; the fee table gives a fixed "150 MCQs" | Circular 151/2024 |
| Attempts | 3 across the UAE authorities, then one final attempt with a different authority; every attempt must be declared | PQR 1.5.4–1.5.6 |
| Time to pass once approved | 6 months, then the application closes (the exam step's validity) | Circular 151/2024 |
| How long a pass lasts | 5 years, unless you fall into a gap of practice | Circular 151/2024, FAQ 3.8 |
Two practical consequences follow. First, because nobody outside DOH knows the cut score, the only safe target in practice is a comfortable margin: aim for consistently high scores in timed mocks rather than a number you read online. Second, because a fail is reported without a score, you will not learn which area let you down. Keep your own record of which topics felt weak straight after the exam — it is the only feedback you will get.
How the result reaches you
The result appears on TAMM, Abu Dhabi's government services portal, where the licence application lives — not on Pearson VUE. DOH's FAQ gives the path: in the Health circle, open "Licenses for Health Professionals", find your application (its number starts with HPREG or HPACT), choose View, then Additional Details, and look on page 3 or 4. A pass moves the application on to linking with an employer and security clearance; a fail lets you book again inside the same six-month window, with no waiting period (see the attempts guide in this series).
Pace yourself: 1.2 minutes a question
Both CBTs give you exactly the same pace — 180 minutes for 150 questions, 120 for 100 — so a timed mock should train 72 seconds a question. Use the check below during a practice set to see whether you are ahead or behind.
Are you on pace? A mock-exam timer check
Pick your DOH exam, then enter how many minutes you have used and how many questions you have answered in a timed mock. The check uses the question count and duration in DOH's own licensing manual.
From DOH Circular 151/2024 (nurses page): Registered Nurse 150 MCQs in 3 hours; Assistant Nurse, School Nurse and Registered Midwife 100 MCQs in 2 hours. Both work out to 1.2 minutes a question. Whether time for check-in or a tutorial sits inside those hours is not stated.
The figures most often copied wrongly
| Claim you will see | What DOH says |
|---|---|
| "Pass mark 60%", "60–70%", "80% for Indian nurses" | No pass mark is published: "cut-score set internally by DOH" |
| "100 questions in 150 minutes" | RN: 150 MCQs in 3 hours. AN/School Nurse/Midwife: 100 MCQs in 2 hours |
| "150 MCQs in 120–150 minutes" | The RN exam is 3 hours |
| "Exam fee AED 260–350" or "USD 95" | AED 540 (RN) or AED 500 (AN), per the 2024 catalogue |
| "HAAD Prometric exam" | DOH exams are booked with Pearson VUE from TAMM |
| "Results in 48 hours" | CBT results within 24 hours, on TAMM |
| "Adaptive, like NCLEX" | No DOH document says so |
| "Wait 3 months after a fail" | That was the 2012 HAAD standard; the 2024 manual allows the next attempt with "no restriction on duration" |
Claims as they appear on coaching and aggregator pages listed under Sources (marked "reported"). Official positions from DOH Circular 151/2024 and the Unified PQR.
What the exam is likely to test
DOH gives no content outline, so any list of exam topics is an inference. The best official guide to what DOH expects each title to do is its Scope of Practice – Nursing (2022). It is specific about the line between the two main titles: Assistant Nurses give care "as delegated and supervised by the registered nurse" and "are not expected to have a role in preparation, administration or documentation of medications", while Registered Nurses assess, diagnose, plan, implement and evaluate care — including inserting and managing intravenous and urinary catheters, recognising abnormal vital signs and performing basic life support. On our reading, questions for the RN exam will lean on that full nursing-process role, and the AN exam on safe basic care, observation and reporting. The preparation guide in this series turns that into a study plan.
Practise it, don't just read it
With no published blueprint, the fastest way to find your weak areas is timed topic practice at the exam's pace of 1.2 minutes a question.
The ProSyllabus DOH nursing library has topic quizzes for Fundamentals of Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing (cardiovascular and respiratory; renal, endocrine and gastrointestinal), Pharmacology for Nurses, Maternal and Child Health, Critical Care and Emergency, Infection Prevention and Control and Professional Practice and Abu Dhabi Health Regulations — the first one is free.
How many questions are in the DOH nursing exam?
The Registered Nurse exam has 150 multiple-choice questions; the Assistant Nurse, School Nurse and Registered Midwife exams have 100, according to DOH's 2024 Licensing Service Catalogue.
How long is the DOH exam for nurses?
Three hours for Registered Nurse and two hours for Assistant Nurse, School Nurse and Registered Midwife.
What is the passing score for the DOH nursing exam?
DOH does not publish one. Its FAQ says the pass depends on "the cut-score set internally by DOH", and results show only PASS or FAIL.
Is the HAAD exam the same as the DOH exam?
Yes. HAAD (Health Authority – Abu Dhabi) is the former name of the Department of Health – Abu Dhabi, and Pearson VUE still lists the exams under a program called HAAD.
Is the DOH exam on Prometric or Pearson VUE?
Pearson VUE. You pay in TAMM and then follow the "Book Pearson Vue Exam" link. Dubai (DHA) and MOHAP use Prometric.
What is the DOH nursing exam fee?
AED 540 for Registered Nurse and AED 500 for Assistant Nurse, School Nurse and Registered Midwife, per attempt, in DOH's 2024 catalogue.
How soon do I get my DOH exam result?
Within 24 hours for a computer-based test, as PASS or FAIL on TAMM. Oral and OSCE results take up to 5 working days.
Is there negative marking in the DOH nursing exam?
No DOH document mentions negative marking either way.
Does DOH give a score or percentage after the exam?
No. DOH's procedural manual says the result shows "pass" or "fail" without the score or percentage.
Is the DOH exam in English?
Yes. The PQR and DOH's catalogue say all examinations are conducted in English, and no translator is allowed at an oral exam.
Is there an official DOH nursing syllabus?
No blueprint is published. DOH's FAQ tells candidates to e-mail exam@doh.gov.ae for the available study materials.
Which exam does a nurse practitioner or critical care nurse sit for DOH?
An oral exam, AED 50, according to DOH's catalogue — along with community, homecare, paediatric, mental health and neonatal nurses and assistant midwives.
More in this series
- Eligibility: GNM, B.Sc, Post-Basic — RN or Assistant Nurse
- From TAMM to licence: the DOH process and every fee
- Attempts, retakes, validity and exemptions
- Exam centres in India, booking and emigration clearance
- Preparation: study material, a plan and DOH vs DHA vs MOHAP
- DOH Abu Dhabi nursing notice board — official updates
- DHA vs Kuwait vs DOH nursing exams compared
- DHA nurse eligibility: GNM, B.Sc, Post-Basic and M.Sc
Sources
- official — DOH Circular 151/2024 — Licensing Service Catalogue and Licensing Procedural Manual (Aug 2024)
- official — Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), 3rd version, April 2025 — DOH copy
- official — DOH — Frequently asked questions
- official — Pearson VUE — Abu Dhabi Department of Health (DOH)
- official — Pearson VUE — exam list for program HAAD
- official — DOH — Scope of Practice: Nursing (Nov 2022)
- official — HAAD Standard for Licensing Examinations (2012) — superseded, historical
- official — DHA — Computer-based test guideline (updated Sep 2026)
- official — Prometric — UAE Ministry of Health and Prevention
- reported — Collegedunia — DOH exam (reported; see corrections)
- reported — Neethu's Academy — HAAD exam for nurses (reported; see corrections)
- reported — Tiju's Academy — HAAD licence process for nurses (reported; see corrections)
- reported — Interface — HAAD for nursing (reported; see corrections)
- reported — eNursing Portal — DOH/HAAD nursing licence exam (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










