Checked 29 September 2026. From ARDMS's "SPI Requirement & Specialty Examination Prerequisites" (Final 08-2026), the FE Clinical Verification form and Inteleos document rules. ARDMS says prerequisites are subject to change and you must meet those in effect when you apply.
Anyone can buy an FE textbook; not everyone can sit the ARDMS Fetal Echocardiography exam. ARDMS admits candidates through one prerequisite pathway, and "all listed items must be met and completed prior to application submission". For a sonographer or doctor in India or the Gulf, three rules decide most cases: which pathway your education fits, whether your clinical experience counts, and whether someone qualified can sign the FE Clinical Verification form. This guide sets out all of them from ARDMS's August 2026 prerequisites document, with a checker that applies the rules — including the ones that rule a route out. ProSyllabus is an independent study site. We are not affiliated with, or endorsed by, ARDMS or Inteleos; every rule below is quoted or summarised from their published pages, and ARDMS decides every application.
SPI Requirement & Specialty Examination Prerequisites (Final 08-2026); FE Clinical Verification form.
Which ARDMS prerequisite pathway could fit you for FE?
Answer the questions that apply to you. The checker applies the rules in ARDMS's Final 08-2026 prerequisites and the FE Clinical Verification form, including the ones that rule a route out.
Our reading of ARDMS's published rules, not an eligibility decision — ARDMS says eligibility "is not determined by phone, fax, or email" and reviews each application. ARDMS names no Indian degree; start with its online Prerequisite Prep Tool.
The pathways, side by side
| Pathway | Education | Clinical experience | Counts for FE? |
|---|---|---|---|
| SPI Requirement — Early Entry | Physics course ("Physics", "Physical Principles" or "Instrumentation" in the title, grade C or above) or at least 12 ARDMS-accepted CME credits from a physics course, earned within 2 years | None; must apply and take SPI before graduation | No — SPI only |
| 1 — Allied Health | Two-year patient-care allied health programme: 24 full-time months, or 60 semester or 84 quarter credits, with an internship (e.g. sonography, radiologic technologist, RN, PT, OT, respiratory therapist) | 12 months full-time ultrasound/vascular, employment- or education-based | Yes |
| 2 — Accredited Sonography Program | Graduate of a CAAHEP or CMA/HSO programmatically accredited DMS, cardiac or vascular programme | Covered by the programme | Yes, as a graduate (the early Paperless student route does not list FE) |
| 3A — Bachelor's Degree | Bachelor's degree in any major | 12 months full-time ultrasound/vascular, employment- or education-based | Yes |
| 3B — Sonography Bachelor's | Bachelor's (or current student) in sonography or vascular technology, "or foreign equivalent" | Graduates: covered by the programme. Students applying up to one year before completion: 1,680 hours of clinical scanning over at least 12 months within the programme | Yes |
| 5 — Already Credentialed | Active CCI (RCS, RCCS, RVS), ARRT (Sonography, Vascular Sonography, Breast Sonography) or Sonography Canada (CRGS, CRCS, CRVS) credential | Covered by the credential | Yes |
| Physician | MD, DO or MBBS | 500 clinical diagnostic studies in the applied-for specialty over 6 months | Yes |
| Re-applicant | Previously approved for a specialty exam | No additional requirement | Yes, with a valid CV form on file |
From ARDMS's pathway comparison chart (Final 08-2026). There is no Pathway 4 in the current chart. ARDMS adds: "Eligibility is not determined by phone, fax, or email", and step 1 is its online Prerequisite Prep Tool.
Where other pages get this wrong
You do not need RDMS or RDCS before applying for FE, and you can take FE before SPI.
Commonly published instead: "You must hold a current RDMS or RDCS credential before applying" (a prep site page).
ARDMS says FE and SPI must be passed "within five years of each other, in any order", and any full specialty pathway above (1, 2, 3A, 3B, 5, Physician, or the re-applicant route) can qualify you to apply; SPI Early Entry cannot. RDMS (FE) or RDCS (FE) is awarded once both exams are passed and the pathway requirements are met; it is not an entry requirement. You choose RDMS or RDCS when you take FE, and ARDMS says the choice "cannot be switched". Separately, the FE CV form must be signed by someone who holds FE or reads fetal echo — a rule about your sponsor, not about you.
The physician pathway, for MBBS doctors
MBBS is named in ARDMS's chart, which makes the physician pathway the most direct route for a doctor in India or the Gulf. It needs a copy of a current, valid medical licence or registration "from any country", a letter verifying clinical experience, a signed FE CV form, and 500 clinical diagnostic studies in the applied-for specialty over 6 months — for this exam, 500 fetal echocardiography studies. A general obstetric or adult echo caseload does not satisfy a specialty-specific count on the text. The FE CV form carries a note for physicians: "This exam is overseen by APCA's companion council, ARDMS". In other words, doctors take the same ARDMS FE exam as sonographers and earn the same RDMS (FE) or RDCS (FE); there is no separate APCA fetal echo route.
Where other pages get this wrong
Physicians qualify for FE through ARDMS's own physician prerequisite, not an APCA credential route.
Commonly published instead: "Physicians may apply under a physician-specific prerequisite through APCA".
The physician pathway sits inside ARDMS's SPI and specialty prerequisites: MD, DO or MBBS plus 500 studies over 6 months. APCA is Inteleos's physician council for other credentials; the FE CV form says the FE exam is overseen by ARDMS. The application itself is made in your Inteleos portal, the same as for sonographers.
What counts as clinical experience, and what does not
| Rule (Pathways 1 and 3A) | ARDMS text |
|---|---|
| Minimum, employment-based | 12 months and 1,680 hours in an ultrasound/vascular clinical setting |
| Minimum, education-based | Formal full-time ultrasound/vascular programme of at least 12 months and 1,680 total hours, with a clinical internship or externship |
| Full-time | 35 hours a week, at least 48 weeks a year; part-time is prorated |
| Where | Hospitals, clinics or private practices only |
| Not accepted | Volunteer, unpaid, barter, instructorship or veterinarian experience |
| Not counted | Non-diagnostic ultrasound such as 3D/4D scans |
| Overlap | Education and clinical experience timeframes cannot overlap |
| Pathway 1 with a DMS/CVT programme | 12 additional months of clinical experience outside the programme |
From the "Clinical experience — Pathways 1 and 3A only" notes. The unpaid rule matters in India, where observerships and unpaid training posts are common: on ARDMS's text they do not count toward the 12 months.
The FE Clinical Verification form: the real bottleneck abroad
Every pathway except Pathway 2 (within a year of graduating) and some Pathway 3B students needs a signed FE Clinical Verification (CV) form. It lists 12 core clinical skills, from selecting the transducer and adjusting presets to recognising abnormal patterns and performing measurements, and the sponsor initials each one by hand. The applicant "must be evaluated while scanning actual patients. Simulation is not acceptable." The limiting rule is who can sign: an active RDMS (FE) or RDCS (FE) registrant, or a reporting physician "specifically trained to interpret Fetal Echocardiography ultrasound studies". In the 2024 practice analysis only 3% of the FE population it surveyed (current RDMS and RDCS registrants, physicians excluded) was international, so FE-registered sponsors are likely to be scarce outside the US; that is our inference, not an ARDMS statement. A physician specifically trained to interpret fetal echo who has watched you scan is the other permitted signer.
| CV form and letter rule | Detail |
|---|---|
| Who can sign the CV form | Active RDMS (FE) or RDCS (FE) registrant, or a physician specifically trained to interpret fetal echo |
| How the skills are shown | Directly observed, on real patients; simulation not accepted |
| Signatures | Handwritten initials for each of the 12 skills and a handwritten signature |
| Relatives | A relative of the applicant cannot sign |
| Validity | One year from the sponsor's signature |
| Editions used here | FE CV form dated 2022-08; prerequisites document Final 08-2026 |
| Sponsor ID on the form | ARDMS/APCA number, or physician licence number and state or country |
| Experience letters | Official letterhead, dated, start and end dates, specialties; hand-signed ("stamped or digital signatures will not be accepted") |
| Employer letters | State full- or part-time and total paid hours |
| Audits | An approved application may be subject to a post-approval audit; if it fails, ARDMS may cancel the approval with a partial refund |
From the FE CV form (form dated 2022-08), the prerequisites document and Inteleos's document-requirements page.
Foreign education, names and translations
Rules that bite applicants from India and the Gulf
- Course-by-course evaluation: on Pathways 1, 3A, 3B and the SPI Requirement, "all foreign degrees or transcripts must be accompanied by a formal course-by-course evaluation from a Foreign Education Transcript Evaluation Organization". ARDMS does not name the organisations in this document.
- Credits, not years: Pathway 1 is measured in US-equivalent semester or quarter credits; transcripts in clock hours must be converted.
- Names: the name on every document must match the application exactly, or you add legal proof of the change.
- Language: documents not in English need a notarised English translation.
- No Indian degree is named. Whether a B.Sc. in medical imaging technology, a cardiac care technology degree or a diploma maps to Pathway 1, 3A or 3B is decided by ARDMS after evaluation; we found no official list and do not guess one.
From the prerequisites document (Final 08-2026). MBBS is the one Indian-style qualification ARDMS names, under the physician pathway.
Gulf licensing: what we could and could not confirm
The UAE's Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (April 2025), §21.22 Sonographer, Criteria 1, says applicants "who have a valid license & GSC issued by countries/licensing authorities listed below, will be exempted from licensure examination" provided the qualification is recent or there is no gap in practice, and the list includes "USA (American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) OR The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT))". The same document lists ARDMS among recognised sonography registrations. That is the extent of what we could source. How the UAE authorities treat an ARDMS credential held by someone trained and working in India, and which title an FE-only holder receives, we did not find stated. We found no official statement on ARDMS from Saudi Arabia's SCFHS, Qatar, Oman, Kuwait or any Indian regulator, so this guide makes no claim either way.
| Question | What we found | Status |
|---|---|---|
| UAE PQR mentions ARDMS for sonographers | Yes — §21.22 Criteria 1 list and the §18.21.2 registrations list | official |
| Licence title for an FE-only ARDMS holder in the UAE | Not stated | not found |
| Saudi, Qatar, Oman, Kuwait recognition of ARDMS | Not researched to an official source | not found |
| Indian regulator recognition of ARDMS | None found | not found |
| ARDMS test centres near New Delhi | Pearson locator for the ARDMS client showed 30 locations near New Delhi on 29 September 2026 | official |
| ARDMS test centres in Gulf cities | Not captured | not found |
| International share of the FE population in the 2024 practice analysis (current RDMS/RDCS registrants, physicians excluded) | 3% | official |
| Edition of the UAE document quoted | Unified PQR, April 2025 | official |
The Pearson locator lists sites for ARDMS as a client; it does not say every site seats the windowed FE exam. Check seat availability for FE when you schedule.
Step by step, once you think you qualify
| Step | What to do |
|---|---|
| 1 | Run ARDMS's online Prerequisite Prep Tool and read the notes for its recommended pathway |
| 2 | Order a course-by-course evaluation if your education is from outside the US (Pathways 1, 3A, 3B) |
| 3 | Get a hand-signed experience letter on letterhead with dates and paid hours |
| 4 | Arrange your FE CV form sponsor and have them observe you scan real patients |
| 5 | Apply in your Inteleos portal inside an FE application window and pay USD 300 |
| 6 | Wait for the Exam Confirmation Letter, then schedule within 30 days (Inteleos's rule for windowed exams) and inside the exam window shown on the letter |
Steps from Inteleos's application process and scheduling pages. The cost and timeline guide in this series gives the 2026 windows and the full fee picture.
Can an MBBS doctor from India take the ARDMS fetal echo exam?
ARDMS names MBBS in its physician pathway: a current licence or registration from any country, 500 fetal echo diagnostic studies over 6 months, a clinical-experience letter and a signed FE CV form.
Do I need RDMS or RDCS before FE?
No. You apply through a full specialty pathway and can pass FE and SPI in either order within the five-year rule. You choose RDMS or RDCS when you take FE (ARDMS says it cannot be switched), and the credential is awarded once both exams are passed and the pathway requirements are met.
Does unpaid or observership experience count?
Not on Pathways 1 and 3A. ARDMS says volunteer, unpaid, barter, instructorship or veterinarian experience is not accepted.
Who can sign the FE Clinical Verification form?
An active RDMS (FE) or RDCS (FE) registrant, or a physician specifically trained to interpret fetal echocardiography, who observed you scanning real patients. A relative cannot sign.
Is my Indian B.Sc. accepted?
ARDMS does not name Indian degrees. Foreign degrees on Pathways 1, 3A and 3B need a course-by-course evaluation, and ARDMS decides the pathway after review.
Can I qualify for FE through the SPI Early Entry route?
No. SPI Early Entry (a physics course or 12 CME credits) qualifies you for the SPI exam only.
How long is a CV form valid?
One year from the date of the sponsor's signature.
Are digital signatures accepted on letters?
No. Inteleos says letters must be hand-signed; stamped or digital signatures are not accepted.
Does ARDMS certification give me a UAE licence?
The UAE PQR lists ARDMS under its sonographer licensing exemption and recognised registrations, with conditions. It does not state how an FE-only holder is titled, and we found no official statement for other Gulf countries.
Can ARDMS confirm my eligibility by email before I apply?
No. ARDMS says eligibility is not determined by phone, fax or email; it reviews the application.
Sources
- official — ARDMS — SPI Requirement & Specialty Examination Prerequisites, Final 08-2026 (PDF)
- official — Inteleos — Prerequisites (Prerequisite Prep Tool and PDFs)
- official — ARDMS — Fetal Echocardiography Clinical Verification (CV) form (PDF)
- official — Inteleos — Application letters and CV requirements
- official — Inteleos — Application Process
- official — Inteleos — Schedule or change an exam
- official — Inteleos — Paperless Applications for Students (AB, OB/GYN, AE, VT; on-demand exams only)
- official — Inteleos / ARDMS — Fetal Echocardiography (FE) exam page (windows, fee, format, scoring, pass rates)
- official — ARDMS — Fetal Echocardiography Practice Analysis Detailed Report, approved 24 April 2024 (PDF)
- official — UAE — Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), April 2025, §21.22 Sonographer (PDF)
- official — Pearson VUE — test-centre locator, client ARDMS
- reported — Prepry — Fetal Echo exam guide (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










