Checked 29 September 2026. Eligibility is IREM Appendix 3 para 4; nomination steps are from the 2024 notification and its corrigenda. The AFA/ADFM rules are the 2019 recruitment rules as reproduced on a third-party site (reported). No notification for the next sitting had been issued on 29 September 2026.
Appendix-3 is one of the Accounts Department examinations in the Indian Railway Establishment Manual (IREM); Appendix-4, for Accounts Stock Verifiers, is another. On the promotion path this guide covers, Appendix-2 gets a clerk into the accountant grades, and Appendix-3 is the main gate to the supervisory posts: para 20 keeps 99% of Sr. SO/A posts and all Traffic and Stores Inspection posts for staff who have passed it. Passing it is also a condition for the Group B post of Assistant Financial Advisor (AFA) or Assistant Divisional Finance Manager (ADFM). This guide covers who may sit, how the Railway Board collects candidates through the railways, the stream preference you cannot change later, and the full ladder with its levels. A checker at the end works out the dates for your own service.
ProSyllabus is an independent study site. We are not affiliated with Indian Railways, the Railway Board or any zonal railway or production unit. Every rule below is quoted or summarised from the Board's published letters, and your Accounts office decides every nomination.
IREM Vol I Appendix 3 para 4.
Who may sit
| Condition | What the IREM says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Qualifying examination | Passed Appendix-2 (IREM), or exempted from it under a general rule or by the Board, or holding a Clerk Grade I post substantively | Para 4(a) (official) |
| Status | Permanent railway servant ("ordinarily") | Para 4 proviso (official) |
| Service | 5 years' continuous service in a Railway Accounts Office, or 3 years for a graduate | Para 4 proviso (official) |
| Date eligibility is reckoned | The date of the notification (2024: 20.02.2024), citing Board letter E(NG)I-2005/PM1/52 dated 22.08.2006 | 2024 notification para 1 (official) |
| Medium | Hindi medium to be indicated when nominated; no change later | 2024 notification (official) |
| Stream preference | Order of preference among Sr. SO/A, Sr. SO/TI and Sr. SO/SI given on the application; treated as final; gives no right to a posting | Para 8(i); Corrigendum 1 para 2.9 (official) |
| Medical | C1 for the Traffic Inspection and Stores Inspection streams | Para 9 (official) |
| Surplus Cash & Pay ministerial staff | May sit after passing Appendix-2, with at least 5 years in Cash & Pay and practical accounts knowledge; same chances and conditions | RBA 12/2023 (official) |
| Age, fee, attempts | No age limit or fee printed; no cap on attempts | Para 3(vi); absence of any fee clause (our reading) |
The IREM still carries two older paragraphs that do not fit the merged scheme. Para 5 refers to C-2 medical staff and an "Appendix III-A" exam. Para 6 exempts Final ICWA holders from "Advanced Commercial Book Keeping", a compulsory subject of the old pattern. Whether para 6 still exempts anyone from anything in the new papers is not stated. Do not rely on it without a written answer from your Accounts office.
How nomination works
The Railway Board issues one central notification. It then falls to each zonal railway and production unit to "call for the names of the candidates, eligible and willing", so the call you must answer is a local one: a circular or letter from your railway or Accounts office, with its own deadline. Watch for that, not only for the Board's notification. The railways send the lists to the Board. In 2024 the steps and deadlines were tight, and the notification said nothing received after the target dates would be considered.
| Step (2024 sitting) | Who | Date in 2024 | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Board notification | Railway Board, Accounts Directorate | 20.02.2024 | A(E)/A3/2024/1/1; eligibility reckoned on this date |
| 2. Call for willing staff | Your zone or production unit | late February 2024 | You give stream preference and medium; both are final |
| 3. Preliminary list to the Board | Signed by a Gazetted officer, forwarded by the FA&CAO or Dy.CAO/G | by 01.03.2024 | Soft copy by email plus a hard copy (Corrigendum 1) |
| 4. Corrections to the format | Railway Board | 26.02.2024 and 29.02.2024 | Corrigendum 2 changed column 7 of the annexure; Corrigendum 3 added PwBD relaxation |
| 5. Admit card | Candidate, via the CBT portal | twice; centres updated 03.06.2024 | Photo attested by your controlling officer |
| 6. Examination | Railway Board through the CBT agency | 18-19.06.2024 | Moved from April by Corrigendum 4 (elections) |
| 7. Posting | Your railway's selection board and PFA | after 09.08.2024 | RBA 25/2024: post qualified staff as Sr. SO/A, TI or SI by vacancy and administrative need |
Dates and owners are from the 2024 notification, its four corrigenda, the model-paper instructions and RBA 25/2024. For the next sitting, RBA 19/2025 (17.06.2025) says accounts examinations will be held as CBTs through an agency engaged by the Railway Recruitment Board. It names the DF/CCA of the Railway Board as nodal officer for Appendix III. Expect the steps to be similar and the portal to differ.
Where other pages get this wrong
The stream preference you give on the application is final, so decide it before you fill the form.
Commonly published instead: Summaries that list eligibility as Appendix-2 plus five years and stop there.
IREM Appendix 3 para 8(i): staff give an order of preference for all three supervisory categories when they fill in the application, and the "option once exercised will be treated as final". It still gives no right to a posting: the railway posts you by administrative need, with a minimum of 4 years in a stream, then a transfer to another stream. Staff with under 3 years of service left may stay. If you are below C1 medical, the TI and SI streams are not open to you (para 9).
When is the next sitting?
Not published. The Board's 2025 and 2026 compendium pages list no Appendix-III notification; we checked the 2026 page to entries of 09.09.2026. The IREM says only that the Board conducts the exam "at regular intervals". The superseded ACS 239 of 2017 said "once each year". A candidate site reports that the AIRF wrote to the Board on 04.08.2026 saying the exam "is required to be conducted annually", and that a notification may bring an exam in late 2026 or early 2027. That is reported; we have not seen the letter or any Board reply. In practice, sittings have been 2016, then 2017 and 2018 combined, a special old-pattern sitting in 2022, and June 2024. That is not annual.
| Source | Says about frequency | Status |
|---|---|---|
| ACS 239, RBA 133/2017 (superseded) | "The examination will be held once each year" | Official, no longer in force |
| IREM Appendix 3 para 3(i) (current) | "conducted by the Railway Board at regular intervals" | Official |
| AIRF letter of 04.08.2026, via appendix3exam.com | "required to be conducted annually"; exam likely in the last quarter of 2026 or the first of 2027 | Reported |
| Sittings actually held | 2016; 2017 and 2018 combined; 2022 special; June 2024 | Official records, our summary |
The ladder: Appendix-2 to Sr. SO/A to AFA
Appendix-3 sits in the middle of the accounts ladder. The designations changed twice recently, so older circulars use different names for the same posts. RBE 82/2024 (23.08.2024, official) renamed the supervisors: SSO/A became Sr. SO/A, Sr. TIA became Sr. SO/TI and Sr. ISA became Senior Section Officer/Stores Inspection, which the letter abbreviates Sr. SO/ST. The IREM writes SSO/SI for the stores stream, and this page uses Sr. SO/SI. The letter says the posts stay Group C, in Level 8, with Level 9 on a non-functional basis after four years in Level 8, citing RBE 39/2021. RBE 20/2025 renamed the grades below them (reported).
| Step | Level | Name now | Gate to the next step |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Accounts Clerk | Not stated in the texts we read | Accounts Clerk | Pass Appendix-2, the IREM examination "for promotion above Accounts Clerks" |
| 2. Junior Accounts Assistant (direct recruit) | Level 5 | Accountant (reported, RBE 20/2025) | Pass Appendix-2 (2 chances within 3 years; see the table below) |
| 3. Accounts Assistant | Level 6 | Sr. Accountant (reported, RBE 20/2025) | 5 years' accounts-office service (3 for a graduate), then pass Appendix-3 |
| 4. Sr. Accounts Assistant | Level 8 | Sr. Accountant (I) (reported, RBE 20/2025) | Holds for staff not yet Appendix-3 qualified; 1% of Sr. SO/A posts are kept for them |
| 5. Supervisor | Level 8; Level 9 non-functional after 4 years | Sr. SO/A, Sr. SO/TI or Sr. SO/SI (official, RBE 82/2024) | Appendix-3 passed; panel by seniority; posting by vacancy |
| 6. Group B officer | Level 9 (Rs 53,100-1,67,800) | Assistant Financial Advisor (HQ) or Assistant Divisional Finance Manager (division) (reported, 2019 RR) | 70% selection or 30% LDCE, both needing Appendix-3 |
Levels for steps 5 and 6 are official (RBE 82/2024) and reported (2019 recruitment rules). The step 2 to 4 names are reported from RBE 20/2025, and step 4's Level 8 is from the same report. The ladder itself, as a sequence, is our summary of these texts. Para 20 of Appendix 3 says 99% of Sr. SO/A posts and all TI and SI posts go to Appendix-3 qualified staff, and that there is no direct recruitment to them.
The Group B step: AFA and ADFM
The 2019 recruitment rules for "Assistant Financial Advisor or Assistant Divisional Finance Manager" (GSR 206(E), 09.03.2019) replaced the 1979 rules for Assistant Accounts Officer. We read them only as reproduced on railwayrule.com, so every line below is reported. They list 323 posts (2019, "subject to variation dependent on workload"), Group B gazetted, Level 9, a selection post with two years' probation. They are filled 70% by selection and 30% by LDCE, and both routes require the Appendix-3 pass. The LDCE is covered on our Railway LDCE AFA exam page.
| Route to AFA/ADFM | Who may apply (reported) | What it includes (reported) |
|---|---|---|
| 70% selection | Group C staff of the Accounts Department in Level 6 or above, with 3 years' regular service in Level 6+ in the Accounts Department, who have qualified Appendix-3 | Written test, viva-voce and record of service |
| 30% LDCE | Group C staff of the Accounts Department in Level 6 or above, with 5 years' regular service in Level 6+ in the Accounts Department, who have qualified Appendix-3 | Written test, viva-voce and record of service |
From GSR 206(E) of 09.03.2019 as reproduced on railwayrule.com (reported; the gazette copy was not found). The Level 6 service counts pre-revised grades. Where juniors are eligible, seniors may also be considered if they are short of the qualifying service by no more than half of it or two years, whichever is less, and have completed their probation. How Group B LDCEs are run and marked in the engineering departments is set out in our AEN guides on eligibility and scoring.
Two practical points. First, Appendix-3 is required for both Group B routes, so the exam is worth passing even if you never want a supervisory posting. Second, the LDCE runs on a different clock from Appendix-3: five years' regular service in Level 6 or above in the Accounts Department, not five years' continuous service in a Railway Accounts Office. The checker below keeps the two dates separate. The engineering-side AEN LDCE eligibility guide shows how zones apply the "regular, non-fortuitous" Level 6 rule; the accounts rules use the same words.
Appendix-2 and Appendix-3 compared
| Feature | Appendix-2 | Appendix-3 |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to | Accountant grades (formerly Accounts Assistant) | Sr. SO/A, Sr. SO/TI, Sr. SO/SI (supervisory) |
| Papers | Two objective papers: book-keeping, English and reasoning; General Rules and Procedure | Three objective papers plus a 200-mark subjective paper |
| Pass and exemption | 40% a subject; exemption at 50% | 40% a paper, 45% aggregate; exemption at 60% for 5 attempts |
| Chances | 5 normal; FA&CAO may allow the 6th to 8th, GM the 9th and 10th; direct-recruit JAAs have 2 chances in 3 years; the GM may allow a third within four years (Board letter of 28.06.1995), and RBA 31/2025 lets that third chance be used beyond four years where exams were not held in time, without adding a chance | No cap |
| Conducted by | A single nodal railway, as a CBT, twice a year (RBA 19/2025); RBA 28/2025 of 29.09.2025 named Northern Railway | The Railway Board, centrally; DF/CCA as nodal officer |
| Service needed | 6 months in an accounts office | 5 years in an accounts office (3 for a graduate), after Appendix-2 |
From IREM Appendix 2 and Appendix 3, RBA 19/2025, RBA 28/2025 and RBA 31/2025 (all official).
Check your dates
Can you sit Appendix-3, and where does it lead?
Answer from your service record. The checker applies IREM Appendix 3 para 4 for the examination and, for the next step, the 2019 AFA/ADFM recruitment rules as reproduced on railwayrule.com (reported). It does not cover surplus Cash & Pay ministerial staff, whose route under RBA 12/2023 has its own conditions (see the table above).
A self-check, not a decision. Your Accounts office verifies eligibility, and the 2024 notification reckoned it on the date of the notification. The Group B lines use rules we read only on a third-party site (reported); the gazette copy was not found.
| Your situation | Result on 29.09.2026 (ours) |
|---|---|
| Passed Appendix-2, permanent, non-graduate, accounts office since 01.07.2019 | Eligible: 5 years complete on 01.07.2024 |
| Passed Appendix-2, permanent, graduate, accounts office since 01.07.2024 | Not yet: 3 years complete on 01.07.2027. Eligible for a notification dated on or after that day |
| Not yet passed Appendix-2, 8 years in the accounts office | Not eligible: pass Appendix-2 first (or hold Clerk Grade I substantively) |
| Eligible, medical category below C1 | Eligible to sit on service. C1 is prescribed for TI and SI; ask your Accounts office how a below-C1 application is handled before listing preferences |
| Appendix-3 passed, regular Level 6 since 01.04.2021 | AFA/ADFM 70% selection open from 01.04.2024 and 30% LDCE from 01.04.2026 (reported rules) |
Worked cases for readers whose browser does not run the checker, computed on the IREM rules and, for the last row, the reported 2019 recruitment rules. The real test date is the date of the next notification, which has not been published.
Who is eligible for the Appendix-3 IREM exam?
A permanent railway servant who has passed Appendix-2 (or is exempted from it, or holds Clerk Grade I substantively) and has 5 years' continuous service in a Railway Accounts Office, or 3 years if a graduate.
On what date is eligibility counted?
In 2024 it was counted on the date of the notification, 20.02.2024. The next notification had not been issued on 29 September 2026.
Can I change my stream preference later?
No. The order of preference among Sr. SO/A, Sr. SO/TI and Sr. SO/SI given on the application is treated as final, though it does not guarantee a posting.
What is the Appendix-3 exam fee?
None is printed in any notification we read. It is a departmental examination nominated through your railway.
What post do I get after passing Appendix-3?
Senior Section Officer in the Accounts, Traffic Inspection or Stores Inspection stream (RBE 82/2024), in Level 8 with non-functional Level 9 after four years, when a panel vacancy reaches you.
Is Appendix-3 needed for AFA or ADFM?
Yes, by the 2019 recruitment rules as reported: both the 70% selection (3 years in Level 6+) and the 30% LDCE (5 years in Level 6+) require the Appendix-3 pass.
When is the next Appendix-3 exam?
Not announced. The Board had issued no notification up to its 2026 compendium entries of 09.09.2026. An AIRF letter reported in August 2026 asks for one; that is not a date.
Can Cash & Pay staff sit Appendix-3?
Surplus ministerial staff of Cash & Pay may, under RBA 12/2023, after passing Appendix-2, with at least 5 years in Cash & Pay and working knowledge of an accounts office.
Sources
- official — Railway Board — IREM Vol I, Appendix 3 (current text incorporating ACS 282 and 288)
- official — Railway Board — IREM Vol I, Appendix 2 (current text)
- official — Railway Board — Appendix-3 notification A(E)/A3/2024/1/1 dated 20.02.2024 (original annexure)
- official — Railway Board — 2024 notification with Corrigenda 1 to 3 (24.02, 26.02 and 29.02.2024)
- official — Railway Board — Corrigendum 4 dated 19.03.2024: exam moved to 18-19.06.2024
- official — Railway Board — model Papers I to III and model subjective paper, A(E)/A3/2024/1/2 dated 01.05.2024
- official — Railway Board — RBA 25/2024 dated 09.08.2024: posting of Appendix-3 qualified staff after unification
- official — Railway Board — RBE 82/2024 dated 23.08.2024: revised designations Sr. SO/A, Sr. SO/TI, Sr. SO/ST
- official — Railway Board — RBA 19/2025 dated 17.06.2025: accounts departmental exams in CBT mode through an agency engaged by RRB
- official — Railway Board — RBA 12/2023 dated 11.04.2023: Cash & Pay ministerial staff allowed to sit Appendix-2 and Appendix-3
- official — Railway Board — RBA 133/2017, ACS 239 dated 25.09.2017 (old pattern, superseded)
- official — Railway Board — Accounts Directorate compendium pages 2017 to 2026 (2026 page checked to entries of 09.09.2026)
- reported — appendix3exam.com — report of an AIRF letter dated 04.08.2026 asking for the exam (reported)
- reported — railwayrule.com — RBE 39/2021, SSO/A in Level 8 with non-functional Level 9 after four years (reported)
- reported — railwayrule.com — AFA/ADFM Group B recruitment rules, GSR 206(E) dated 09.03.2019 (reported; the gazette copy was not found)
- reported — staffnews.in — RBE 20/2025 dated 10.03.2025, revised designations of accounts staff (reported)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









