MAH B.Des CET Colleges and Seats: The 2026 Seat Matrix and Fees

Every institute in Maharashtra's 2026 B.Design CAP — 9 institutes, 10 courses, 630 seats — with state, All India and institute quotas, the fees on record and how many seats stayed empty.

Author: ProSyllabus Admin

Updated : 2 hours ago

Categories: MAH B.Des CET, Design Entrance, Colleges
Tags: MAH B.Des CET colleges, MAH B.Design CET seat matrix, B.Des colleges in Maharashtra through CET, MIT Academy of Engineering B.Des fees, MAH B.Des CET seats, Walchand B.Des admission
Post ThumbnailView Complete Article

Checked 25 September 2026. From the CET Cell's B.Design seat matrices (2025-26, 2026-27), vacancy positions, its three-year CAP summary and the Fees Regulating Authority portal. The 2027-28 matrix will be published at CAP.

The list of colleges that fill B.Design seats through Maharashtra's CAP is short, and aggregator sites get it wrong in both directions — "3 colleges" on one, famous private design schools that never use the CET on others. The official answer for 2026-27 is 9 institutes offering 10 courses and 630 sanctioned seats, all unaided: six Design programmes and four women-only Fashion or Interior Design programmes. No government, aided or university-department B.Design seat appears in any CAP seat matrix from 2023-24 to 2026-27. This guide lays out the matrix, the quotas and the fees that are on record.

9 / 10
institutes / courses in the 2026-27 CAP
630
sanctioned seats, 588 of them in CAP
All unaided
no government or aided B.Design seat
369
CAP seats still vacant after Round IV, 2026

B.Design seat matrix CAP Round I 2026-27 and vacancy position after CAP IV.

The 2026-27 seat matrix

Institute (course)SanctionedMaharashtraMinorityAll IndiaInstitute quota
MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi1509702330
Mangaldeep College of Engineering (Fashion, women)90760140
IDEAS, Nagpur6045096
Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli6051090
Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Fashion, women)6051090
Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Interior, women)6051090
Ken Kendre College (Fashion, women)6051090
Aditya College, Borivali (Hindi linguistic minority)3081516
G. S. Mandal's MIT, Aurangabad3025050
Rajarambapu Institute of Technology, Sangli3025050

From the CET Cell's B.Design seat matrix for CAP Round I, 2026-27 (published 30 Jul 2026). Unless named otherwise the course is Design. Courses whose code ends in "F" are "Only For Female". Orphan seats (one each) and EWS/TFWS seats are shown separately in the matrix.

Who the seats are for (2026-27)
MaharashtraMinorityAll IndiaInstitute quota
MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi
97
23
30
Mangaldeep College of Engineering (Fashion, women)
76
14
IDEAS, Nagpur
45
9
6
Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli
51
9
Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Fashion, women)
51
9
Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Interior, women)
51
9
Ken Kendre College (Fashion, women)
51
9
Aditya College, Borivali (Hindi linguistic minority)
8
15
1
6
G. S. Mandal's MIT, Aurangabad
25
5
Rajarambapu Institute of Technology, Sangli
25
5

CET Cell seat matrix, CAP Round I 2026-27.

The institutes, one by one

InstituteWhereStatus (matrix)Round I 2026 General closing
MIT Academy of EngineeringAlandi, PuneUnaided, autonomous108
Aditya College of Art, Architecture and DesignBorivali (W), MumbaiUnaided, autonomous, Hindi linguistic minority110
Walchand College of EngineeringSangliUnaided, autonomous64
Rajarambapu Institute of Technology (K. E. Society)Walwa, SangliUnaided, autonomous74
IDEAS — Institute of Design Education & Architectural StudiesNagpurUnaided, autonomous77
G. S. Mandal's Maharashtra Institute of TechnologyAurangabadUnaided, autonomous78
Sumanbai Bengal Mahila MahavidyalayNot stated in the matrixUnaided; Fashion and Interior Design, women onlyWomen-only: Ladies seat closed at a score of 8 (Fashion) and 36 (Interior)
Ken Kendre College of Technology and ManagementNot stated in the matrixUnaided; Fashion Design, women onlyWomen-only: Ladies seat closed at a score of 29
Mangaldeep College of EngineeringNot stated in the matrixUnaided; Fashion Design, women onlyNo allotment in any round

Names, locations and status from the CET Cell's 2026-27 seat matrix; closing merit scores (out of 200, General open State-Level seat) from its Round I cut-off list.

The spread is striking: the two Mumbai and Pune institutes closed around 110 in Round I, while the four in Sangli, Nagpur and Aurangabad closed between 64 and 78. If you can study away from the big cities, the same score buys a much wider choice.

How the quotas work

Seat typeShare (unaided, non-minority)Filled by
Maharashtra State LevelAbout 65% of intake in autonomous institutesCAP, on MAH-B. Design CET merit
All India15%CAP — UCEED scorers first, then MAH-CET scorers
Institute quotaUp to 20% (incl. up to 5% NRI where applicable)The institute, from registered, verified candidates
Minority (minority institutes)At least 51% of intakeCAP, among eligible minority candidates

From the UG/PG technical admission brochure 2026-27 (table A(2)): 65% State Level + 15% All India + 20% institute quota at full quota, with non-autonomous institutes splitting the State Level share by home university. The 2026 matrix shows several institutes with no institute-quota seats — Walchand, Rajarambapu, G. S. Mandal's and Mangaldeep — where the Maharashtra share rises to about 85% (51 of 60, 25 of 30).

The colleges that changed

The list moves every year. In 2025-26 the CAP I matrix had 8 institutes and 510 seats, including Terna Engineering College, Nerul and Sanjeevan Group of Institutions; BRICK School of Architecture, Pune and Mangaldeep joined in later rounds, taking the year to 10 institutes and 660 seats. In 2026-27 Terna, Sanjeevan and BRICK are gone, while Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli and Rajarambapu Institute of Technology, Sangli are new. Earlier still, 2023-24 had only MIT Academy of Engineering and Terna. So a list copied from last year can be wrong — use the seat matrix of your own year, which appears on the CAP portal before Round I.

YearInstitutes (CAP I matrix)Admitted (CET Cell summary)
2023-24MIT AOE (90), Terna (Industrial Design 30 + Design 30)91 of 170
2024-25MIT AOE (150), Aditya (30), Terna (30 + 30), IDEAS (60), Sanjeevan (30)99 of 381
2025-268 in CAP I, 10 by Round III; 660 sanctioned160 of 761 (21%)
2026-279 institutes, 10 courses, 630 sanctionedNot yet published

From the archived and current seat matrices and the CET Cell's three-year CAP summary. The summary's 2025-26 intake (761) counts over-and-above seats as well as the 660 sanctioned, and its admitted figure is the final count after all rounds, so it does not match the vacancy list taken just after Round IV (422 of 660 CAP seats empty) — the two measure different things at different times.

Fees on record

Annual fee approved by the Fees Regulating Authority (₹)
MIT Academy of Engineering, 2026-27₹1,76,000
MIT Academy of Engineering, 2025-26₹1,60,000
Terna Engineering College, 2025-26₹65,000

Fees Regulating Authority portal, B.Des sub-type: tuition + development fee per year.

Searching the Fees Regulating Authority portal under B.Des, we found only two fee decisions: MIT Academy of Engineering (₹1,53,044 tuition + ₹22,956 development = ₹1,76,000 for 2026-27) and Terna (₹65,000). For the other institutes the portal lists nothing under B.Des, and a CET Cell notice of August 2026 requires every institute to display its approved fees on its website and notice board — so check there, and treat any unofficial fee figure with caution. Hostel, material and exam fees are extra everywhere.

Empty seats — and what they mean for you

CAP seats still vacant after Round IV
2025-26 (of 660 sanctioned)422
2026-27 (of 630 sanctioned)369

CET Cell vacancy positions after CAP IV (2 Sep 2025, 6 Sep 2026).

More than half the CAP seats were still empty after the fourth round in both years, and in 2026 all 90 of Mangaldeep's seats went unfilled. That is not a sign the course is easy to enter everywhere: the few seats at the most sought-after colleges — MIT Academy of Engineering, Aditya, Walchand — fill in the first rounds at high scores, while others fill slowly or not at all. It does mean that a candidate with a modest score and a realistic option list is very likely to find a seat, often in a later round or at the institute-level stage.

Choosing colleges for your option form

  • Start from the current year's seat matrix — the list changes every year.
  • Check each institute's approved fee on its own website before listing it.
  • Note the women-only courses (code ending "F") if they are relevant to you.
  • Mix two or three reach colleges with several where last year's Round I closed well below your score — see the cut-off guide.
If your score is aboutRound I 2026 would have admitted you toSensible first preference
105 (General, man)Walchand, G. S. Mandal's, IDEAS, Rajarambapu — not MIT AOE (108) or Aditya (110)The one of those four you most want; MIT AOE and Aditya only if a Round I freeze there is what you want
70 (General, man)Walchand only (closed at 64); Rajarambapu closed just above you, at 74Walchand, with Rajarambapu, IDEAS and G. S. Mandal's listed for later rounds
100 (woman)Walchand, IDEAS, G. S. Mandal's, Rajarambapu (via General or Ladies seats) and the women-only coursesYour favourite of those; list MIT AOE and Aditya for later rounds

Worked examples on the 2026 Round I closing scores (General / Ladies open, State Level). A new year's closing scores will differ.

Practise it, don't just read it

A higher score widens your college list more than anything else. Part C quizzes are the quickest place to gain marks.

The ProSyllabus MAH B.Des CET library has quizzes for Design Awareness and General Knowledge, Principles of Design and Art History, Visual and Spatial Reasoning and Logical and Analytical Reasoning — the Part C ground. The first one is free.

Start a MAH B.Des CET quiz →

How many colleges accept MAH B.Des CET?

In 2026-27, 9 institutes offering 10 B.Design courses and 630 sanctioned seats took part in Maharashtra CAP, all unaided.

Which is the best college through MAH B.Des CET?

The CET Cell does not rank colleges. By demand, MIT Academy of Engineering (Alandi) and Aditya College (Borivali) closed highest in Round I 2026: General seats at 108 and 110, Ladies seats at 126 and 122.

What is the fee of MIT Academy of Engineering B.Des?

₹1,76,000 a year for 2026-27 (₹1,53,044 tuition + ₹22,956 development), as approved by the Fees Regulating Authority.

Are there government B.Des colleges through MAH CET?

No government, aided or university-department B.Design seat appears in the CAP seat matrices for 2023 to 2026; all are unaided.

How many All India seats are there in MAH B.Des?

93 in the 2026-27 seat matrix — about 15% of intake at non-minority institutes.

Does MIT-VPU or MIT Institute of Design admit through MAH B.Des CET?

No. The MIT institutes in the CAP matrix are MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi and G. S. Mandal's MIT, Aurangabad.

Are there women-only B.Des courses in MAH CAP?

Yes. In 2026-27 the Fashion Design courses at Mangaldeep, Sumanbai and Ken Kendre and Interior Design at Sumanbai are coded "Only For Female".

How many seats were vacant in MAH B.Des 2026?

369 CAP seats after Round IV, according to the CET Cell's vacancy position of 6 September 2026.

Which B.Des colleges in Maharashtra are outside Mumbai and Pune?

In 2026-27: Walchand College of Engineering and Rajarambapu Institute of Technology in Sangli, IDEAS in Nagpur and G. S. Mandal's MIT in Aurangabad — all with lower Round I closing scores than the Mumbai and Pune institutes.

Is Terna still in MAH B.Des CAP?

Terna Engineering College took part in 2023-24 to 2025-26 but is not in the 2026-27 seat matrix. Check each year's matrix.