Checked 25 September 2026. From the CET Cell's B.Design seat matrices (2025-26, 2026-27), vacancy positions, its three-year CAP summary and the Fees Regulating Authority portal. The 2027-28 matrix will be published at CAP.
The list of colleges that fill B.Design seats through Maharashtra's CAP is short, and aggregator sites get it wrong in both directions — "3 colleges" on one, famous private design schools that never use the CET on others. The official answer for 2026-27 is 9 institutes offering 10 courses and 630 sanctioned seats, all unaided: six Design programmes and four women-only Fashion or Interior Design programmes. No government, aided or university-department B.Design seat appears in any CAP seat matrix from 2023-24 to 2026-27. This guide lays out the matrix, the quotas and the fees that are on record.
B.Design seat matrix CAP Round I 2026-27 and vacancy position after CAP IV.
The 2026-27 seat matrix
| Institute (course) | Sanctioned | Maharashtra | Minority | All India | Institute quota |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi | 150 | 97 | 0 | 23 | 30 |
| Mangaldeep College of Engineering (Fashion, women) | 90 | 76 | 0 | 14 | 0 |
| IDEAS, Nagpur | 60 | 45 | 0 | 9 | 6 |
| Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli | 60 | 51 | 0 | 9 | 0 |
| Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Fashion, women) | 60 | 51 | 0 | 9 | 0 |
| Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay (Interior, women) | 60 | 51 | 0 | 9 | 0 |
| Ken Kendre College (Fashion, women) | 60 | 51 | 0 | 9 | 0 |
| Aditya College, Borivali (Hindi linguistic minority) | 30 | 8 | 15 | 1 | 6 |
| G. S. Mandal's MIT, Aurangabad | 30 | 25 | 0 | 5 | 0 |
| Rajarambapu Institute of Technology, Sangli | 30 | 25 | 0 | 5 | 0 |
From the CET Cell's B.Design seat matrix for CAP Round I, 2026-27 (published 30 Jul 2026). Unless named otherwise the course is Design. Courses whose code ends in "F" are "Only For Female". Orphan seats (one each) and EWS/TFWS seats are shown separately in the matrix.
CET Cell seat matrix, CAP Round I 2026-27.
The institutes, one by one
| Institute | Where | Status (matrix) | Round I 2026 General closing |
|---|---|---|---|
| MIT Academy of Engineering | Alandi, Pune | Unaided, autonomous | 108 |
| Aditya College of Art, Architecture and Design | Borivali (W), Mumbai | Unaided, autonomous, Hindi linguistic minority | 110 |
| Walchand College of Engineering | Sangli | Unaided, autonomous | 64 |
| Rajarambapu Institute of Technology (K. E. Society) | Walwa, Sangli | Unaided, autonomous | 74 |
| IDEAS — Institute of Design Education & Architectural Studies | Nagpur | Unaided, autonomous | 77 |
| G. S. Mandal's Maharashtra Institute of Technology | Aurangabad | Unaided, autonomous | 78 |
| Sumanbai Bengal Mahila Mahavidyalay | Not stated in the matrix | Unaided; Fashion and Interior Design, women only | Women-only: Ladies seat closed at a score of 8 (Fashion) and 36 (Interior) |
| Ken Kendre College of Technology and Management | Not stated in the matrix | Unaided; Fashion Design, women only | Women-only: Ladies seat closed at a score of 29 |
| Mangaldeep College of Engineering | Not stated in the matrix | Unaided; Fashion Design, women only | No allotment in any round |
Names, locations and status from the CET Cell's 2026-27 seat matrix; closing merit scores (out of 200, General open State-Level seat) from its Round I cut-off list.
The spread is striking: the two Mumbai and Pune institutes closed around 110 in Round I, while the four in Sangli, Nagpur and Aurangabad closed between 64 and 78. If you can study away from the big cities, the same score buys a much wider choice.
How the quotas work
| Seat type | Share (unaided, non-minority) | Filled by |
|---|---|---|
| Maharashtra State Level | About 65% of intake in autonomous institutes | CAP, on MAH-B. Design CET merit |
| All India | 15% | CAP — UCEED scorers first, then MAH-CET scorers |
| Institute quota | Up to 20% (incl. up to 5% NRI where applicable) | The institute, from registered, verified candidates |
| Minority (minority institutes) | At least 51% of intake | CAP, among eligible minority candidates |
From the UG/PG technical admission brochure 2026-27 (table A(2)): 65% State Level + 15% All India + 20% institute quota at full quota, with non-autonomous institutes splitting the State Level share by home university. The 2026 matrix shows several institutes with no institute-quota seats — Walchand, Rajarambapu, G. S. Mandal's and Mangaldeep — where the Maharashtra share rises to about 85% (51 of 60, 25 of 30).
The colleges that changed
The list moves every year. In 2025-26 the CAP I matrix had 8 institutes and 510 seats, including Terna Engineering College, Nerul and Sanjeevan Group of Institutions; BRICK School of Architecture, Pune and Mangaldeep joined in later rounds, taking the year to 10 institutes and 660 seats. In 2026-27 Terna, Sanjeevan and BRICK are gone, while Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli and Rajarambapu Institute of Technology, Sangli are new. Earlier still, 2023-24 had only MIT Academy of Engineering and Terna. So a list copied from last year can be wrong — use the seat matrix of your own year, which appears on the CAP portal before Round I.
| Year | Institutes (CAP I matrix) | Admitted (CET Cell summary) |
|---|---|---|
| 2023-24 | MIT AOE (90), Terna (Industrial Design 30 + Design 30) | 91 of 170 |
| 2024-25 | MIT AOE (150), Aditya (30), Terna (30 + 30), IDEAS (60), Sanjeevan (30) | 99 of 381 |
| 2025-26 | 8 in CAP I, 10 by Round III; 660 sanctioned | 160 of 761 (21%) |
| 2026-27 | 9 institutes, 10 courses, 630 sanctioned | Not yet published |
From the archived and current seat matrices and the CET Cell's three-year CAP summary. The summary's 2025-26 intake (761) counts over-and-above seats as well as the 660 sanctioned, and its admitted figure is the final count after all rounds, so it does not match the vacancy list taken just after Round IV (422 of 660 CAP seats empty) — the two measure different things at different times.
Fees on record
Fees Regulating Authority portal, B.Des sub-type: tuition + development fee per year.
Searching the Fees Regulating Authority portal under B.Des, we found only two fee decisions: MIT Academy of Engineering (₹1,53,044 tuition + ₹22,956 development = ₹1,76,000 for 2026-27) and Terna (₹65,000). For the other institutes the portal lists nothing under B.Des, and a CET Cell notice of August 2026 requires every institute to display its approved fees on its website and notice board — so check there, and treat any unofficial fee figure with caution. Hostel, material and exam fees are extra everywhere.
Empty seats — and what they mean for you
CET Cell vacancy positions after CAP IV (2 Sep 2025, 6 Sep 2026).
More than half the CAP seats were still empty after the fourth round in both years, and in 2026 all 90 of Mangaldeep's seats went unfilled. That is not a sign the course is easy to enter everywhere: the few seats at the most sought-after colleges — MIT Academy of Engineering, Aditya, Walchand — fill in the first rounds at high scores, while others fill slowly or not at all. It does mean that a candidate with a modest score and a realistic option list is very likely to find a seat, often in a later round or at the institute-level stage.
Choosing colleges for your option form
- Start from the current year's seat matrix — the list changes every year.
- Check each institute's approved fee on its own website before listing it.
- Note the women-only courses (code ending "F") if they are relevant to you.
- Mix two or three reach colleges with several where last year's Round I closed well below your score — see the cut-off guide.
| If your score is about | Round I 2026 would have admitted you to | Sensible first preference |
|---|---|---|
| 105 (General, man) | Walchand, G. S. Mandal's, IDEAS, Rajarambapu — not MIT AOE (108) or Aditya (110) | The one of those four you most want; MIT AOE and Aditya only if a Round I freeze there is what you want |
| 70 (General, man) | Walchand only (closed at 64); Rajarambapu closed just above you, at 74 | Walchand, with Rajarambapu, IDEAS and G. S. Mandal's listed for later rounds |
| 100 (woman) | Walchand, IDEAS, G. S. Mandal's, Rajarambapu (via General or Ladies seats) and the women-only courses | Your favourite of those; list MIT AOE and Aditya for later rounds |
Worked examples on the 2026 Round I closing scores (General / Ladies open, State Level). A new year's closing scores will differ.
Practise it, don't just read it
A higher score widens your college list more than anything else. Part C quizzes are the quickest place to gain marks.
The ProSyllabus MAH B.Des CET library has quizzes for Design Awareness and General Knowledge, Principles of Design and Art History, Visual and Spatial Reasoning and Logical and Analytical Reasoning — the Part C ground. The first one is free.
How many colleges accept MAH B.Des CET?
In 2026-27, 9 institutes offering 10 B.Design courses and 630 sanctioned seats took part in Maharashtra CAP, all unaided.
Which is the best college through MAH B.Des CET?
The CET Cell does not rank colleges. By demand, MIT Academy of Engineering (Alandi) and Aditya College (Borivali) closed highest in Round I 2026: General seats at 108 and 110, Ladies seats at 126 and 122.
What is the fee of MIT Academy of Engineering B.Des?
₹1,76,000 a year for 2026-27 (₹1,53,044 tuition + ₹22,956 development), as approved by the Fees Regulating Authority.
Are there government B.Des colleges through MAH CET?
No government, aided or university-department B.Design seat appears in the CAP seat matrices for 2023 to 2026; all are unaided.
How many All India seats are there in MAH B.Des?
93 in the 2026-27 seat matrix — about 15% of intake at non-minority institutes.
Does MIT-VPU or MIT Institute of Design admit through MAH B.Des CET?
No. The MIT institutes in the CAP matrix are MIT Academy of Engineering, Alandi and G. S. Mandal's MIT, Aurangabad.
Are there women-only B.Des courses in MAH CAP?
Yes. In 2026-27 the Fashion Design courses at Mangaldeep, Sumanbai and Ken Kendre and Interior Design at Sumanbai are coded "Only For Female".
How many seats were vacant in MAH B.Des 2026?
369 CAP seats after Round IV, according to the CET Cell's vacancy position of 6 September 2026.
Which B.Des colleges in Maharashtra are outside Mumbai and Pune?
In 2026-27: Walchand College of Engineering and Rajarambapu Institute of Technology in Sangli, IDEAS in Nagpur and G. S. Mandal's MIT in Aurangabad — all with lower Round I closing scores than the Mumbai and Pune institutes.
Is Terna still in MAH B.Des CAP?
Terna Engineering College took part in 2023-24 to 2025-26 but is not in the 2026-27 seat matrix. Check each year's matrix.
Sources
- official — B.Design CAP 2026-27 — seat matrix, CAP Round I
- official — B.Design CAP 2025-26 — seat matrix, CAP Round I
- official — B.Design CAP — archived seat matrices 2023-24 and 2024-25
- official — B.Design CAP 2026-27 — vacancy position after CAP Round IV
- official — B.Design CAP 2025-26 — vacancy position after CAP Round IV
- official — CET Cell — CAP admission status, last three years
- official — CET Cell — Information Brochure for UG & PG technical admissions 2026-27 (2 Jul 2026)
- official — Fees Regulating Authority — B.Des fee report 2026-27
- official — B.Design CAP portal 2026-27
- official — B.Design CAP portal 2025-26
- official — B.Design CAP 2026-27 — cut-off list, Maharashtra seats, Round I
- reported — Careers360 — MAH B.Design CET (reported; see corrections)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.













