Checked 1 October 2026. The 7,565 figure is the indicative Annexure I dated 27 August 2026 for vacancies of 2027–28. IBPS says actual bank-reported vacancies at provisional allotment govern; Union Bank had not reported a number.
IBPS’s revised Annexure I for CRP PO/MT-XVI lists 7,565 indicative vacancies as of 27 August 2026. The original detailed notification had listed 6,715. The increase is 850, our arithmetic over IBPS’s two totals. This is the number candidates should use when discussing the published 2026 recruitment round, while preserving the word indicative: IBPS says final provisional allotment depends on vacancies banks actually report for 2027–28.
IBPS original notification and revised Annexure I dated 27 August 2026.
Every participating bank in the revised Annexure I
| Bank | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 285 | 142 | 513 | 190 | 770 | 1,900 |
| Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 165 | 82 | 297 | 110 | 446 | 1,100 |
| Canara Bank | 225 | 112 | 405 | 150 | 608 | 1,500 |
| Central Bank of India | 75 | 37 | 135 | 50 | 203 | 500 |
| Indian Bank | 122 | 60 | 199 | 52 | 217 | 650 |
| Indian Overseas Bank | 84 | 41 | 148 | 54 | 223 | 550 |
| Punjab National Bank | 76 | 38 | 136 | 50 | 204 | 504 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 24 | 13 | 47 | 15 | 62 | 161 |
| UCO Bank | 30 | 15 | 54 | 20 | 81 | 200 |
| Union Bank of India | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR | NR |
| TOTAL | 1,161 | 577 | 2,069 | 741 | 3,017 | 7,565 |
IBPS revised Annexure I, 27 August 2026. Union Bank is NR and cannot be plotted as zero.
The row total is not the only useful number. A candidate from a reserved category needs to look at the category column for each bank, because the distribution is not identical to the all-bank total. Bank of Baroda has 1,900 reported seats, including 285 SC, 142 ST, 513 OBC, 190 EWS and 770 UR. Canara Bank has 1,500, with 225 SC, 112 ST, 405 OBC, 150 EWS and 608 UR. Indian Bank appears in the revised list with 650 after being marked NR in the original notification. UCO Bank likewise appears with 200. These changes explain the net increase without needing a speculative “extra recruitment” announcement.
NR is not the numeral zero. It means “Not Reported” in the annexure. Union Bank of India still appears as a participating bank, but its category columns and total are NR in the 27 August file. Converting NR to zero would misstate what IBPS published, and treating it as a hidden positive number would invent vacancies. The correct reading is that the published total sums banks with a reported figure; future updates may change the total. Likewise, the footnote says rows may include backlog vacancies for some banks without identifying a separate bank-by-bank backlog count. Do not add an assumed backlog number on top.
How the 850-seat change happened
| Publication | All-bank total | Important limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Original detailed notification, 1 July 2026 | 6,715 | Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank marked NR |
| Revised Annexure I, 27 August 2026 | 7,565 | Union Bank remains NR; all numbers indicative |
| Difference, our arithmetic | +850 | Not a promise that final allotment will contain 850 extra posts |
The arithmetic is direct: Indian Bank now contributes 650 and UCO Bank 200, and those two newly reported rows sum to 850. The other reported bank totals in the two documents are unchanged. This does not prove that only these banks will recruit more people by the final allotment. It proves only what changed between the two published snapshots. The later corrigendum explicitly states that updated Annexure I vacancies are indicative and anticipated as communicated by participating banks. It also says all other terms of the 1 July notification remain unchanged.
The recruitment name creates a common year mistake. CRP PO/MT-XVI is conducted during 2026, but its annexure calls these vacancies of 2027–28. The 7,565 figure belongs to this XVI recruitment and that stated vacancy year. A search result for “IBPS PO 2026 vacancy” may pull in the preceding XV cycle, which had a different allotment year. Match the Roman numeral, notice date and annexure date before comparing figures. This page is intentionally under a stable URL so it can be refreshed when IBPS publishes a later annexure rather than creating a confusing new slug for every update.
What category totals actually tell you
| Category | Indicative | Share |
|---|---|---|
| UR | 3,017 | 39.9% (our arithmetic) |
| OBC (NCL) | 2,069 | 27.4% (our arithmetic) |
| SC | 1,161 | 15.3% (our arithmetic) |
| EWS | 741 | 9.8% (our arithmetic) |
| ST | 577 | 7.6% (our arithmetic) |
| Total | 7,565 | 100% |
Category shares are our sums divided by 7,565 and rounded to one decimal place. They are a way to understand the published table, not a category-wise selection probability. Candidates may compete under applicable unreserved norms, and actual allotment depends on marks, preference, reservation rules, bank-reported vacancies and document verification. The notice states that a reserved-category candidate selected on General norms may be provisionally allotted under UR without reducing a reserved post; the candidate still has to produce the applicable category certificate. Therefore the UR column is not simply a pool exclusively for applicants who registered as General.
The annexure also has four PwBD columns—hearing impairment, orthopaedically challenged, visual impairment and intellectual disability. These are labelled “Out of Which.” Their 86, 80, 77 and 91 totals are horizontal figures inside the overall category totals, not additional vacancies to add to 7,565. Applicants relying on a PwBD category should read the notification’s eligibility and certificate provisions, because suitability and documentation matter as much as the count. The table above focuses on the five main community columns to keep the total transparent; the official annexure remains the source for the horizontal detail.
How to think about bank preferences
A high vacancy row can improve the chance that a bank is represented in allotment, but it does not guarantee a particular candidate will receive that bank. The PO/MT-XVI notification describes provisional allotment as merit-cum-preference subject to reservation policy, bank criteria and administrative requirements. A candidate’s relative score matters, and so does how other candidates rank banks. Publishing a “safe score for Bank of Baroda” from the vacancy table alone would be unjustified.
Build a preference order you would genuinely accept. Consider location and transfer expectations, the work and training you want, and whether you are willing to join if offered that bank. The notification says that once provisional allotment is made, requests for change are not entertained; a request for change can cancel candidature. The issue is more serious than choosing the apparently easiest row. A candidate who lists a bank only to exploit a large vacancy number may be disappointed if that preference becomes the actual allotment.
The final advertised numbers may move again. IBPS says provisional allotment is based on actual vacancies supplied by banks in the financial year, and its approximate reserve list is not a guaranteed appointment list. A bank may report fewer vacancies than indicated, or later vacancies may be used through reserve-list allotments. Read any later official corrigendum before making a final decision. This article’s as-of date is part of the data; a screenshot without its date is incomplete evidence.
A candidate’s source-check workflow
Use the official IBPS PO/MT-XVI update page first. Open the most recent item labelled updated vacancies, then read its Annexure I rather than relying on a social-media graphic. Confirm the document date at the top and the total row at the bottom. Check whether a bank is NR before copying it into a spreadsheet. If you see two different totals online, identify which annexure each writer used. The original 6,715 and revised 7,565 are both genuine figures, but they answer different as-of dates.
If you maintain your own preference sheet, keep one column for the bank, one for the main-category count, one for the date of the annexure and one for personal preference. Avoid ranking banks purely by posted seats because the notification never says seats are allocated to candidates solely in proportion to vacancies. Re-check the final official instructions when IBPS opens the preference or allotment process. Save the original PDF and the revised PDF so any later update can be compared without relying on a search snippet that may remain cached.
Worked examples: reading the same vacancy figure correctly
Suppose an OBC (NCL) candidate sees 2,069 in the total OBC column and 513 in Bank of Baroda’s row. The defensible statement is that the 27 August annexure indicates 2,069 OBC (NCL) seats across banks that reported, of which Bank of Baroda indicates 513. It does not mean the candidate has a 513-in-2,069 chance of Bank of Baroda. Selection depends on scores, the field, bank preference order and applicable reservation rules. Nor can that candidate simply claim an OBC seat without the prescribed non-creamy-layer documentation at the interview and later verification stage.
Now suppose a general-category candidate compares Bank of India and Central Bank of India. Both currently show 500 overall and 203 UR. Those identical rows do not mean the banks are interchangeable choices. A preference list expresses willingness to join a specific organisation, and an allotment request cannot be revised merely because two rows looked alike. Research the banks themselves using their official career and service information before ranking them. The annexure is a vacancy source, not a guide to culture, posting location or work conditions.
Finally, imagine a spreadsheet that puts Union Bank at zero because the cell contains letters. Its grand total will still reproduce 7,565, creating the illusion that the bank has no vacancies. A better sheet uses an explicit “not reported” status and leaves the numeric cell blank. If a later official annexure provides a figure, you can add it and date the revision. This small data-handling choice protects the article from a much larger false claim.
How many IBPS PO vacancies are there in 2026?
The PO/MT-XVI revised Annexure I dated 27 August 2026 lists 7,565 indicative vacancies for 2027–28 allotment.
Why do some pages say 6,715?
6,715 was the total in the original 1 July notice. The 27 August annexure adds reported Indian Bank and UCO Bank rows, raising the published total by 850.
Which bank has the most reported seats?
Bank of Baroda has 1,900 in the 27 August annexure, followed by Canara Bank with 1,500.
Is Union Bank hiring no POs?
The current annexure says NR, meaning Not Reported. That is not the same as zero.
Are the PwBD columns extra vacancies?
No. The annexure labels them “Out of Which,” so they sit within the reported totals.
Will the final allotment have exactly 7,565 places?
Not necessarily. IBPS calls the figures indicative and says final provisional allotment is based on actual bank-reported vacancies.
Sources
- official — IBPS — CRP PO/MT-XVI detailed notification (1 July 2026)
- official — IBPS — revised Annexure I, vacancies as on 27 August 2026
- official — IBPS — vacancy corrigendum dated 27 August 2026
- official — IBPS — PO/MT-XVI official updates (result, scores, Main handout)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









