Checked 29 September 2026. Low for the rules (the residence rule is in 37 CFR 11.6 and the GRB issued August 2026). The open-EAD question, design-bar treatment of permanent residents and whether the Canadian reciprocity route needs the exam are not stated by the USPTO. Re-check the GRB whenever the USPTO issues a new edition.
If you are not a US citizen and you live in India, you cannot sit this exam. The USPTO's General Requirements Bulletin says the registration examination "is not administered to aliens who do not reside in the United States". Of non-citizens, only US lawful permanent residents may apply for registration; others living in the US with qualifying work authorisation can get only limited recognition, and the one foreign-reciprocity clause, 37 CFR 11.6(c), covers Canada alone. That is the whole answer for an Indian engineer, scientist or advocate living in India today, and no degree, coaching course or test-centre booking changes it. This guide sets out the rules word for word, what changes if you are in the US on a green card, an H-1B or a student visa, what the USPTO calls "limited recognition", and the routes that do exist from India. ProSyllabus is an independent study site, not part of the USPTO, its Office of Enrollment and Discipline (OED) or Prometric. Every rule here is quoted or summarised from the USPTO General Requirements Bulletin, the Code of Federal Regulations and USPTO pages, and OED decides every application.
GRB issued August 2026, section III.F; 37 CFR 11.6 and 11.9 (eCFR, current); OED FAQ (19 Feb 2026).
Where other pages get this wrong
A patent agent registered in India cannot be registered in the US through reciprocity. The USPTO recognises only the Canadian Intellectual Property Office.
Commonly published instead: An easy assumption: that 37 CFR 11.6(c), the foreign-reciprocity clause, is open to any country's registered patent agents.
11.6(c) applies only where the home patent office "allows substantially reciprocal privileges to those admitted to practice before the Office". The GRB (August 2026) says: "Presently, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is the only patent office recognized". Even that route is limited to "presenting and prosecuting patent applications of applicants located in such country".
The rules, word for word
| Rule | What it says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| GRB section III.F, first sentence | "An applicant who is not a United States citizen and does not reside in the U.S. is not eligible for registration except as permitted by 37 CFR § 11.6(c)." | Official, GRB issued Aug 2026 |
| GRB section III.F, reciprocity | "Presently, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is the only patent office recognized as allowing substantially reciprocal privileges" | Official, GRB issued Aug 2026 |
| GRB section III.F, the exam itself | "The registration examination is not administered to aliens who do not reside in the United States." | Official, GRB issued Aug 2026 |
| 37 CFR 11.6(a) and (b) | A US citizen may be registered; an alien may be registered only if they "lawfully reside" in the US, and stay registered only while they do (or while qualified under 11.6(c)) | Official, eCFR current |
| 37 CFR 11.6(c) | A foreigner not resident in the US, registered and in good standing before the patent office of their country, may be registered as a patent agent for applicants located in that country, if that office allows substantially reciprocal privileges | Official, eCFR current |
| 37 CFR 11.6(d) | Design patent attorneys and agents: "Any citizen of the United States" | Official, eCFR current |
| 37 CFR 11.9(b) | Limited recognition for someone ineligible to register "because of their immigration status", if the US Government authorises employment or training to prepare or prosecute patent applications; it "shall not be granted or extended to a non-U.S. citizen residing outside the United States" | Official, eCFR current |
| 37 CFR 11.9(a) | "Any individual not registered under § 11.6 may, upon a showing of circumstances that render it necessary or justifiable" and of good moral character, "be given limited recognition by the OED Director" to prosecute "a specified patent application or specified patent applications". No residence condition appears in (a) | Official, eCFR current |
| OED FAQ, where the exam runs | "Prometric test centers in the United States and U.S. Territories" | Official, FAQ updated 19 Feb 2026 |
Read together, these close the ordinary routes for a non-citizen in India. The exam is not given to you. Registration needs lawful residence in the US. Limited recognition under 11.9(b), the kind earned by passing the exam on a work visa, is expressly not granted to someone residing outside the US. The one exception for foreigners abroad, reciprocity, needs a home patent office the USPTO recognises, and India's is not one. None of this depends on your degree, your marks or your experience.
The one narrow exception: 37 CFR 11.9(a). This separate paragraph lets the OED Director give an unregistered individual limited recognition to prosecute a specified patent application or applications, "upon a showing of circumstances that render it necessary or justifiable" and of good moral character. Unlike 11.9(b), its text contains no residence condition. It is discretionary and tied to named applications; it is not a way to sit the exam or to practise generally, and the USPTO publishes no criteria for when it is granted. Treat it as a question for OED about a specific case, not a career route.
Your situation, and what the rules give you
| Your situation | Can you sit the exam? | What you can get | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indian citizen living in India | No | No registration and no 11.9(b) limited recognition while you live in India; only the discretionary, application-specific 11.9(a) | GRB III.F; 37 CFR 11.6, 11.9(a), 11.9(b) |
| OCI card holder | Decided by your actual citizenship and residence, not by the OCI card | An OCI holder is a foreign national under Indian law; a US-citizen OCI holder follows the US-citizen row below, anyone else follows their own citizenship and residence | Our reading; GRB III.F |
| Registered Indian patent agent living in India | No | No reciprocity: only Canada is recognised | GRB III.F; 37 CFR 11.6(c) |
| Indian citizen who is a US lawful permanent resident (green card) | Yes | Registration as a patent agent (or patent attorney with a US State bar certificate) | GRB III.F; USPTO limited-recognition page |
| Indian citizen in the US on H-1B or L-1 | Yes, if the work authorisation covers preparing and prosecuting patent applications | Limited recognition only, for as long as that status and job last | GRB III.F; 37 CFR 11.9(b); 8 CFR 274a.12(b) |
| Indian citizen in the US on F-1 OPT or an H-4 EAD | Not stated by the USPTO | Ask OED before paying | Not found in any USPTO source read |
| Approval of your status or work permit still pending | No, not yet | Admission is denied while approval is pending | GRB III.F |
| US citizen living in India | Yes, but only at a centre in the US or a US Territory | Full registration | 37 CFR 11.6(a), (b); OED FAQ |
Can you sit the USPTO registration exam? The residence and status checker
Answer four questions. The checker applies the residence and immigration rules in the General Requirements Bulletin (section III.F) and 37 CFR 11.6 and 11.9, then the degree gate. Where the USPTO has not said how it treats a situation, the answer says so instead of guessing.
Our reading of GRB section III, 37 CFR 11.6, 11.7 and 11.9 and the USPTO page on limited recognition. OED decides every application; it gives no informal pre-assessment. Not legal or immigration advice.
Registration and limited recognition are not the same thing
A non-citizen who lives in the US on a work visa and passes the same exam does not become a "patent agent". The GRB is explicit: "A qualifying alien within the scope of 8 CFR § 274a.12(b) or (c) is not registered upon passing the examination. Therefore, such qualifying aliens will not be patent attorneys or patent agents." They get limited recognition under 37 CFR 11.9(b) instead. The USPTO calls this its "longstanding practice" and says only US citizens or permanent residents can be registered.
| Point | Registration (11.6) | Limited recognition (11.9(b)) |
|---|---|---|
| Who gets it | US citizens and US lawful permanent residents | Non-citizens residing in the US with qualifying work or training authorisation |
| Exam | Same exam, same pass mark (63 of 90) | Same exam, same pass mark (63 of 90) |
| Title you may use | Patent agent, or patent attorney with a US State bar certificate | Only "having been granted limited recognition"; never "registered" |
| How long it lasts | While you remain qualified (for an alien, while lawfully residing in the US) | "Only for a period consistent with the terms of the immigration status and employment or training authorized" |
| What ends it | For an alien, ceasing to reside in the US unless qualified under 11.6(c) | Automatically, if you stop lawfully residing in the US, lose authorised employment or training, or lose your status |
| Fee on grant | $226 | $226 |
| Upgrade | Not applicable | May apply for registration after becoming a permanent resident or citizen |
The USPTO adds a rule about self-description: anyone with limited recognition must say so in published biographical information and "shall not reference that they are registered to practice in patent matters". Someone who does not comply may have limited recognition revoked.
The H-1B catch: recognition follows the employer
The USPTO describes limited recognition as granted "to aliens who demonstrate that they are authorized to be employed or trained by a specific employer in the capacity of preparing and prosecuting patent applications". 8 CFR 274a.12(b) says H-1B workers (paragraph (b)(9)) and L-1 workers (paragraph (b)(12)) "may be employed only by the petitioner". Our reading of the two together: limited recognition earned on an H-1B is tied to that employer and that role, and 37 CFR 11.9(b) says it terminates automatically if you cease to lawfully reside in the US, cease to maintain the authorised employment or training, or cease to maintain your immigration status. It does not travel back to India with you when you move back.
The paperwork is heavy by design. The GRB asks for a copy of both sides of any work or training authorisation, copies of all documents submitted to and received from the immigration authorities, and any documentation submitted to the US Department of Labor. It says the documents "should specifically show that the immigration authorities have authorized the applicant to be employed or trained in the capacity of representing patent applicants before the USPTO by preparing and prosecuting their patent applications." An approval that is still pending when you apply means you are denied admission.
Not found: whether an open work permit, such as F-1 optional practical training (8 CFR 274a.12(c)(3)) or the H-4 spouse EAD ((c)(26)), meets the "authorized ... to represent a patent applicant" test. No USPTO source we read answers it. Ask OED in writing before paying any fee.
Indian advocates: patent agent, not patent attorney
Even where you can sit and pass, an Indian law degree and enrolment with a State Bar Council in India do not make you a US "patent attorney". 37 CFR 11.8(b) requires a certificate of good standing from "the bar of the highest court of a State" that is no more than six months old, and the GRB says "An attorney for whom no certificate of good standing is received will be registered as a patent agent or design patent agent." Our reading: an Indian advocate who is not admitted to a US State bar, and who qualifies to register, registers as a patent agent. A law degree on its own also meets none of the scientific and technical categories (A to D); see the degree guide in this series.
Design practitioners: the rule says citizens, a USPTO page adds permanent residents
Since the design patent practitioner bar was created (USPTO notice of 15 November 2023), people with degrees in architecture, applied arts, art teacher education, fine or studio arts, graphic design, industrial design or product design can qualify under Category D for design patent matters only. The rule text, 37 CFR 11.6(d), opens that registration to "Any citizen of the United States". The USPTO's limited-recognition page says only US citizens or permanent residents can be registered and cites 11.6(a), (b) and (d) together. Conflict we cannot resolve: the rule names citizens only; the page implies permanent residents too. We print both and do not say which applies to a green-card holder with a design degree.
Canada, and one point the USPTO does not spell out
The Canadian route has its own application form: PTO-158A, "Application for Registration to Practice Before the United States Patent and Trademark Office Under 37 CFR 11.6(c) by a Foreign Resident", listed in the USPTO's information-collection notice in the Federal Register of 17 July 2026 (91 FR 44829). What the sources we read do not say is whether the exam is required on it: 11.6(c) says a foreign agent registered under it must be "possessed of the qualifications stated in § 11.7", 11.7(b)(1)(ii) makes passing the registration examination one of those qualifications unless it is waived, and the GRB says the exam is not administered to aliens who do not reside in the US. We print that and do not guess. For an Indian reader it makes no difference: India is not a recognised reciprocity country, so the question never arises.
If you live in India: the routes that do exist
| Route | What the USPTO source says | What we did not verify |
|---|---|---|
| Work with a registered US practitioner | OED "maintains a register of active patent practitioners who are eligible to represent others before the USPTO in patent matters"; unauthorised individuals who represent others are subject to USPTO discipline (37 CFR 11.19(a)) | What support work a non-practitioner in India may do for one; that turns on the practitioner's duties under 37 CFR 11.101 and following, which we did not research |
| PCT work before the USPTO as ISA or IPEA | 37 CFR 11.9(c): a person not registered may prosecute an international application before the USPTO as International Searching Authority or International Preliminary Examining Authority if they have the right to practise before the national office where it was filed | Which searching authorities the Indian receiving office lets applicants choose |
| India's own patent agent qualification | Outside the USPTO's rules; not a route into US practice (no reciprocity) | Everything about it: the Indian examination, its eligibility and fees were outside this research. We give no figures |
| Limited recognition for a specified application, 37 CFR 11.9(a) | The OED Director may grant it to an unregistered individual "upon a showing of circumstances that render it necessary or justifiable"; its text has no residence condition | When OED grants it; no criteria are published. Discretionary and case-by-case, not a general route |
| Move to the US with qualifying work status | Limited recognition under 11.9(b), tied to the authorised employment | Whether open EADs qualify |
| Become a US permanent resident or citizen | Registration under 11.6(a) or (b) | Nothing further; the rule is clear |
Using the practitioner register well
- Before you work with or for a US firm on patent filings, check the person who signs is on OED's register of active patent practitioners; the OED FAQ points to it and to historical roster books published since 1883.
- A practitioner with limited recognition must say so; a biography that says "registered" for such a person breaks the USPTO rule on self-description.
- OED will not counsel applicants on patent law, and the USPTO does not recommend courses (GRB IX.D and IX.E); anyone claiming USPTO endorsement for a course is not quoting the USPTO.
Sources: OED FAQ (19 Feb 2026), USPTO Becoming a patent practitioner page (5 May 2026), GRB issued August 2026.
What we could not verify
- Whether an open EAD (F-1 OPT or H-4) is accepted for limited recognition.
- Whether limited recognition is available for design-only (Category D) applicants, and how 11.6(d) treats permanent residents.
- Whether the Canadian reciprocity route (form PTO-158A) requires the registration exam.
- When OED grants limited recognition under 37 CFR 11.9(a); no criteria are published.
- Anything about India's patent agent examination: it is outside the USPTO sources this guide uses.
- Prometric's own USPTO pages, which refused our requests; the test-centre rule here is the USPTO's.
Where a line above is "not stated", the answer is to ask OED (OED@uspto.gov) in writing, not to assume.
ProSyllabus has no US Patent Bar practice quizzes yet, so this guide does not point you to any. Nothing on this page is legal or immigration advice. For your own case, write to OED (OED@uspto.gov), and on visas speak to a US immigration lawyer.
Can an Indian citizen living in India take the US Patent Bar exam?
No. The USPTO General Requirements Bulletin says the registration examination is not administered to aliens who do not reside in the United States, and among non-citizens only US lawful permanent residents may apply for registration; other non-citizens living in the US with qualifying work authorisation get limited recognition. The reciprocity route under 37 CFR 11.6(c) covers Canada only.
Does India have reciprocity with the USPTO?
No. The GRB issued in August 2026 says the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is presently the only patent office recognised as allowing substantially reciprocal privileges.
Can I take the USPTO exam at a Prometric centre in India?
No. The OED FAQ says the exam is administered at Prometric test centres in the United States and US Territories.
Can I sit the patent bar on an H-1B visa?
Yes, if your work authorisation covers preparing and prosecuting patent applications. You would receive limited recognition under 37 CFR 11.9(b), not registration, and it ends automatically if you cease to lawfully reside in the US or lose that status or authorised employment.
Can a green card holder become a registered patent agent?
Yes. The GRB says lawful permanent residents of the United States may apply for registration.
Can I take the exam on F-1 OPT or an H-4 EAD?
The USPTO does not say. Limited recognition requires authorisation to be employed or trained in preparing or prosecuting patent applications; whether an open work permit meets that test is not stated in any USPTO source we read. Ask OED before paying.
Does limited recognition continue if I return to India?
No. 37 CFR 11.9(b) says it terminates automatically if you cease to lawfully reside in the US, and it is not granted or extended to a non-US citizen residing outside the US.
Can an Indian advocate become a US patent attorney?
Not through an Indian bar enrolment. A US patent attorney must file a certificate of good standing from the highest court of a US State; without one, a qualifying applicant is registered as a patent agent.
Is there any USPTO route for someone who stays in India?
Not registration, and not the 11.9(b) limited recognition that follows the exam. Two narrow routes exist. 37 CFR 11.9(a) lets the OED Director grant limited recognition for specified patent applications where that is shown to be necessary or justifiable; it is discretionary and case by case. And 37 CFR 11.9(c) lets a person entitled to practise before the national office where a PCT international application was filed act before the USPTO as searching or preliminary examining authority for that application.
What does an OCI card change?
Nothing for this exam. An OCI card holder is a foreign national under Indian law, not an Indian citizen, and the card says nothing about US status. What counts is your actual citizenship and residence: a US-citizen OCI holder can sit as a US citizen; a non-US citizen living in India cannot.
Sources
- official — USPTO OED — General Requirements Bulletin for Admission to the Examination for Registration to Practice in Patent Cases, "Issued August 2026" (PDF created 11 Aug 2026): section III (Categories A-D, eligibility of aliens), IV-VII (application, fees, review), IX-XI (the examination, test administration, reapplying), XIV (after passing)
- official — eCFR — 37 CFR 11.6, Registration of attorneys and agents (current text; Title 37 up to date as of 25 Sep 2026; last amended 88 FR 78650, 16 Nov 2023, per the eCFR source note)
- official — eCFR — 37 CFR 11.9, Limited recognition in patent matters (current text: 11.9(b) for aliens in the US; 11.9(c) for PCT international applications)
- official — eCFR — 37 CFR 11.7, Requirements for registration (current text, including 11.7(b)(2): 30/90-day waits and the five-attempt limit; added 88 FR 45086, 14 Jul 2023, per the eCFR source note)
- official — eCFR — 37 CFR 11.8, Oath and registration fee (current text: two years to register after passing; certificate of good standing no more than six months old)
- official — eCFR — 8 CFR 274a.12, Classes of aliens authorized to accept employment (H-1B at (b)(9) and L-1 at (b)(12) "may be employed only by the petitioner"; F-1 practical training at (c)(3); certain H-4 spouses at (c)(26))
- official — USPTO — Becoming a patent practitioner (last updated 5 May 2026): application and registration process, fee table including the Prometric fee of $221, retake waiver "for the next twelve months and until further notice", limited recognition
- official — USPTO — OED Frequently Asked Questions (last updated 19 Feb 2026): Prometric test centres "in the United States and U.S. Territories", transcripts and translations, extensions, review sessions, finding a registered practitioner
- official — USPTO — Notice on the creation and implementation of a design patent practitioner bar (15 Nov 2023)
- official — USPTO — Patent and trademark practitioners landing page (last updated 9 Jul 2026): OED administers the exam and keeps the roster of current patent practitioners
- official — Federal Register — information collection 0651-0012, "Admission to Practice and Roster of Registered Patent Attorneys and Agents", notice, 91 FR 44829, 17 Jul 2026: lists form PTO-158A, "Application for Registration ... Under 37 CFR 11.6(c) by a Foreign Resident"
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.









