ProSyllabus Journal

Qatar Pharmacist Eligibility: Degree, 2 Years' Experience and Scope

DHP's own table of pharmacy scopes — Pharmacist, Clinical Pharmacist, Industrial Pharmacist, Technician, Technologist — with the degree, experience and exam each needs, and where Indian degrees fit.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 3 days agoQatar Pharmacist · Eligibility · Indian Pharmacists
#Qatar pharmacist eligibility#QCHP pharmacist experience requirement#Qatar pharmacist license for Indian B.Pharm#Qatar clinical pharmacist PharmD#Qatar pharmacy technician D.Pharm#DHP pharmacist scope of practice
Qatar Pharmacist Eligibility: Degree, 2 Years' Experience and Scope

Checked 25 September 2026. From DHP's Guidelines for Pharmacists (Sep 2025), Table No. 1, read with circular DHP/2025/24 (30 Dec 2025), which annulled the circulars behind the table's exemption rows. DHP names no Indian degree; the mapping is our reading.

Qatar licenses pharmacy professionals by scope of practice, and DHP's Guidelines for Pharmacists set out each scope in one table: the degree, the years of experience and whether the Prometric exam is required. That table is the whole of the eligibility rule. This guide reproduces it, marks the rows a December 2025 circular has undercut, and sets out where an Indian B.Pharm, Pharm.D or D.Pharm most likely lands.

2 years
post-graduate experience for Pharmacist and Clinical Pharmacist
1 year
for a Pharmacy Technician (two-year diploma)
Licensed
experience must be covered by a registration licence
Not stated
how DHP treats an integrated Indian Pharm.D

DHP Guidelines for Pharmacists (Sep 2025).

DHP's scope table

ScopeAcademic requirementExperienceQualifying exam
PharmacistBachelor's degree in pharmacy2 years post-graduatePrometric required
PharmacistBachelor's in pharmacy + master's in a pharmacy-related field2 years post-graduate"Exempted from prometric" — see the warning below
Clinical PharmacistBachelor's in pharmacy + PharmD (including rotations internship)2 years post-graduatePrometric required
Clinical PharmacistBachelor's in pharmacy + master's in clinical pharmacy2 years post-graduate"Exempted from prometric" — see the warning below
Industrial PharmacistBachelor's degree in pharmacy2 years post-graduateGMP exam (at the Pharmacy and Drug Control Department)
Pharmacy TechnicianDiploma in pharmacy, minimum two years1 year post-graduateNot applicable
Pharmacy TechnologistBachelor of Science in Pharmacy Technology (minimum four years)2 years post-graduateNot applicable

From Table No. 1 of DHP's Guidelines for Pharmacists (September 2025). Every scope also needs a registration licence from the country where the experience was gained.

Where other pages get this wrong

The master's-degree exemption in DHP's own table may no longer apply.

Commonly published instead: "Pharmacists with a master's degree are exempt from the Qatar Prometric exam."

The September 2025 guidelines footnote those rows to circular 13/2023. Circular DHP/2025/24, dated 30 December 2025, annulled 13/2023 and now limits qualifying-exam exemptions to Qataris, offspring of Qatari women and graduates of institutions in Qatar. Plan on sitting the exam unless DHP confirms an exemption for you in writing.

Where Indian qualifications most likely land

Indian qualificationLikely scopeWhyExperience
B.Pharm (four years)PharmacistA bachelor's degree in pharmacy2 years
D.Pharm (two years)Pharmacy Technician"Diploma in pharmacy program minimum of two years"1 year
B.Pharm + Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate)Possibly Clinical PharmacistA bachelor's plus a PharmD "including rotations internship" matches the wording; not confirmed2 years
Pharm.D (six-year integrated)Not statedThe table's route is "bachelor's + PharmD"; an integrated Pharm.D has no separate bachelor's2 years
B.Pharm + M.PharmPharmacist (exam now likely required)The master's row's exemption rests on an annulled circular2 years
B.Pharm + M.Pharm (Pharmacy Practice)Possibly Clinical PharmacistIf DHP reads it as a "master's in clinical pharmacy"2 years

Our reading of DHP's table; Pharm.D programme lengths are from the PCI Pharm.D Regulations 2008, and B.Pharm and D.Pharm lengths are the standard Indian ones. DHP does not say whether "post-graduate" experience runs from the bachelor's or the highest degree — count licensed experience after you became registrable and confirm with DHP. DHP's guidelines also say the evaluation "does not oblige" it to grant any specific title, and that a case-by-case assessment may be used.

Which Qatar pharmacy scope fits you?

The registration licence from home

Every scope in DHP's table carries the same "other requirement": a registration licence from the country of experience. For a pharmacist who has practised in India that is registration with the State Pharmacy Council under the Pharmacy Act, 1948 (our reading; DHP names no Indian body). The licence has to cover the years of experience you count, because DHP asks for "valid medical/registration licenses accompanying the required years of work experience" — so an unregistered gap in the middle of your two years is a problem. At the licensing stage DHP also needs a certificate of good standing from the registration authority for your most recent required experience.

Industrial Pharmacist and changing scope later

An Industrial Pharmacist needs the same bachelor's and two years' experience as a Pharmacist, but sits a GMP exam run by the Ministry's Pharmacy and Drug Control Department instead of the Prometric exam. The scopes are not interchangeable: DHP's guidelines say that changing from Industrial Pharmacist to Pharmacist needs a valid Prometric pass, and from Pharmacist to Industrial Pharmacist a valid GMP exam, together with a no-objection letter from the employer and verified documents for the new scope. If you may want community or hospital practice later, the Prometric route keeps that door open.

The two-year rule has not moved

DHP's work-experience policy records that the requirement for pharmacists was cut from three years to two, and none of the 2025–26 circulars changes it for a pharmacist recruited from abroad. DHP/2025/24 set a one-year rule only for the offspring and spouses of residents, and exempted Qataris, offspring of Qatari women and Qatar graduates. Coaching pages that quote "one year for PharmD" for everyone are describing a rule that applies to those groups, not to overseas recruits.

The rules around experience

What DHP says about experience

  • Licensed. "Any work experience not covered by a registration license is not considered."
  • Declared once. Any experience certificate not submitted or mentioned in the CV with the first evaluation "will not be considered in any other evaluation".
  • Documented. Recent official experience certificates, with an issue date, signed and stamped by the facility, plus the licences covering those years.
  • From a licensed facility. A practitioner who has worked in a facility without a licence is not eligible.
  • A break in practice is handled under circular 14/2021 and may mean supervised training.

DHP Guidelines for Pharmacists (Sep 2025).

The "declared once" rule is the one that catches people. List every relevant job in the CV you submit with the first evaluation, even short ones; a certificate you add later will not be considered in any later evaluation.

Applying before you have a job

DHP lets a pharmacist start without an employer: its guidelines refer to a "Primary Evaluation Request Without Employer" (circular DHP/2024/22). The evaluation checks your qualification, experience and verification report against the scope table and, if approved, issues a preliminary evaluation — valid for six months. That validity is the reason to time it carefully. Pass the exam first (its certificate is an evaluation document), apply for evaluation when a job is in sight, and move to the licence within the six months; otherwise the evaluation has to be done again. DHP also warns that an evaluation "does not oblige" it to grant any specific scope.

If you lack experience

DHP's route for applicants short of experience or with a break in practice is training under supervision — but its guidelines limit it to Qataris and residents under family sponsorship. Circular DHP/2025/24 also sets one year of experience for offspring and spouses of residents, who may complete it through supervised training approved by DHP. A pharmacist recruited from India does not fall in either group, so the two-year requirement in DHP's table is the one that applies.

GroupExperience (pharmacy)Source
Qataris and offspring of Qatari women (graduated abroad)ExemptDHP/2025/24 §2.2
Offspring and spouses of residents (graduated abroad)1 year; may be completed under DHP-approved supervisionDHP/2025/24 §2.2
Graduates of institutions in QatarExemptDHP/2025/24 §1.2
Pharmacist recruited from abroad2 years post-graduateGuidelines for Pharmacists, Table No. 1

Practise it, don't just read it

You can prepare for the NPQE while you build the two years. The exam must be passed before you apply for evaluation.

The ProSyllabus Qatar pharmacist library has topic quizzes for Pharmacology and Mechanisms of Action, Pharmaceutics and Dosage Forms, Pharmacokinetics and Biopharmaceutics, Therapeutics: Cardiovascular and Endocrine, Therapeutics: Infectious Disease and Antimicrobials, Pharmacy Practice, Dispensing and Patient Counseling, Drug Interactions, Adverse Effects and Toxicology and Pharmacy Law, Ethics and Qatar (QCHP) Regulations. Each question comes with an explanation.

Start a Qatar pharmacist quiz →

How much experience is needed for a Qatar pharmacist licence?

Two years of post-graduate experience, covered by a registration licence, for Pharmacist and Clinical Pharmacist. A Pharmacy Technician needs one year.

Can a B.Pharm graduate work as a pharmacist in Qatar?

Yes. DHP's Pharmacist scope requires a bachelor's in pharmacy, two years' post-graduate experience, a registration licence from the country of experience and a pass in the qualifying exam.

Can a D.Pharm holder work in Qatar?

As a Pharmacy Technician: DHP asks for a pharmacy diploma of at least two years and one year's post-graduate experience.

Is a master's degree exempt from the Qatar pharmacist exam?

DHP's September 2025 table says so, but the circular it relies on (13/2023) was annulled by DHP/2025/24 on 30 December 2025, which limits exemptions to Qataris, offspring of Qatari women and graduates of Qatar institutions. Plan on sitting the exam.

Does my Pharm.D internship count as experience in Qatar?

DHP's table counts two years of post-graduate experience covered by a registration licence, and describes the PharmD as "including rotations internship" — so the internship is part of the qualification, not the experience, on our reading.

Did Qatar reduce pharmacist experience to one year?

Only for some groups. Circular DHP/2025/24 sets one year for offspring and spouses of residents; a pharmacist recruited from abroad still needs two years under DHP's scope table.

Can I apply to DHP without a job offer?

Yes. DHP's guidelines describe a primary evaluation request without an employer. The resulting preliminary evaluation is valid for six months.

Is there a separate exam for industrial pharmacists in Qatar?

Yes. DHP's table asks Industrial Pharmacists to pass a GMP exam conducted at the Pharmacy and Drug Control Department, instead of the Prometric exam.

What is a Pharmacy Technologist in Qatar?

A separate scope for holders of a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy Technology of at least four years, with two years' post-graduate experience; DHP's table lists no qualifying exam for it.

Does medical-representative experience count in Qatar?

DHP counts only experience covered by a registration licence, so sales roles without a pharmacist licence will not count.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.

This chapter is part of the QCHP Pharmacist Exam (Qatar) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Practice Quiz

Test your QCHP Pharmacist Exam (Qatar) prep

Dual AI-verified questions Real exam pattern 1 free quiz every month, then ₹9 per quiz — or a monthly plan

#1

QCHP Pharmacist — Pharmacy Practice, Dispensing and Patient Counseling

Start here
10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8.6/10avg score
10/10best
#2

QCHP Pharmacist — Pharmacy Law, Ethics and Qatar (QCHP) Regulations

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

7.8/10avg score
10/10best
#3

QCHP Pharmacist — Pharmacology and Mechanisms of Action

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
10/10best
#4

QCHP Pharmacist — Drug Interactions, Adverse Effects and Toxicology

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
8/10best
#5

QCHP Pharmacist — Therapeutics: Infectious Disease and Antimicrobials

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
8/10best
#6

QCHP Pharmacist — Therapeutics: Cardiovascular and Endocrine

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

9/10avg score
9/10best
#7

QCHP Pharmacist — Pharmacokinetics and Biopharmaceutics

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

9/10avg score
9/10best
#8

QCHP Pharmacist — Pharmaceutics and Dosage Forms

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

8/10avg score
8/10best

More on QCHP Pharmacist Exam (Qatar)5 guides

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article