Checked 25 September 2026. Regulators update rules often. MOHAP's site could not be opened on the date checked (its figures here are reported), and Kuwait publishes no laboratory exam information.
"The Prometric lab technician exam" is really eight different licensing systems. They test the same core disciplines, but they differ on who can apply, how much experience you need, how the exam is scored and how many attempts you get. This comparison puts them side by side from each regulator's own documents.
The comparison
| Regulator | Titles | Experience | Exam | Pass | Attempts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saudi — SCFHS | Technician; biochemistry/microbiology technician; specialists | 1 year (non-Saudis) | Prometric (also Pearson VUE); 150 MCQ, 3 h | 55% technician; 60% specialist | 3 (third needs reactivation) |
| Dubai — DHA | Technician; Technologist; specialty technologist; Clinical Scientist | None for technician/technologist | Prometric; 150 MCQ, 3 h; USD 240 | Technician and technologist 50%; specialty technologist 50–55%; Clinical Scientist 65% | 3 across UAE + conditional 4th |
| Abu Dhabi — DOH | Unified PQR | Unified PQR | Pearson VUE (via TAMM) | Not published | Shared UAE cap |
| Northern Emirates — MOHAP | Unified PQR | Unified PQR | Prometric | 60% (reported) | Max 3; no-show counts |
| Qatar — DHP | Lab Technician; Technologist (Biomedical); Technologist (Specific) | 2 years | Prometric; 150 MCQ, 3½ h | 50% | 5 consecutive |
| Kuwait — MOH | Not published for lab | Not published | Prometric | Not published | Not published |
| Oman — OMSB | Medical Laboratory Specialist (OEMLS) | Not stated | Pearson VUE or OMSB Muscat; 100 MCQ, 2.5 h; USD 200 | 55% | No maximum stated |
| Bahrain — NHRA | Technician; Technologist; specialty | 2 years (specialty 4) | Prometric | 50% allied (2022 booklet) | 4 within 3 years (then retraining, per the 2022 booklet) |
Where other pages get this wrong
Oman has no diploma-level laboratory exam, and Kuwait publishes no laboratory exam at all.
Commonly published instead: Agency lists that show every Gulf country offering a "Prometric lab technician exam".
OMSB's exam list shows the Omani Examination for Medical Laboratory Specialists (OEMLS), which requires a bachelor's in medical laboratory science — no technician-level exam for diploma holders. Prometric's Kuwait MOH page links a references document covering internal medicine, general practice and nursing only. Oman's exam is also delivered by Pearson VUE, not Prometric.
Official figures. Bahrain's 2022 booklet gives 50% for allied professions while an older Prometric page says 60%; MOHAP's 60% is reported only.
Oman states no maximum (Pearson VUE page).
What each exam costs and how it is delivered
| Regulator | Delivery | Published cost |
|---|---|---|
| Saudi — SCFHS | Prometric (SCFHS also lists Pearson VUE) | Classification + registration SAR 860 technician / SAR 1,340 specialist (exam track); exam seat fee not published |
| Dubai — DHA | Prometric | USD 240 per exam title |
| Abu Dhabi — DOH | Pearson VUE, booked through TAMM | Not published |
| Northern Emirates — MOHAP | Prometric | USD 130 (reported; not verified on MOHAP's site) |
| Qatar — DHP | Prometric | Not published |
| Kuwait — MOH | Prometric | Not published |
| Oman — OMSB | Pearson VUE or OMSB's Muscat centre | USD 200 |
| Bahrain — NHRA | Prometric | Not published |
Where a regulator publishes no fee, the figure you see on a booking page or an agency quote is the one to trust — and it may include verification, which every regulator requires separately. Budget for primary-source verification (DataFlow, where the regulator names it) on top of the exam fee in every country.
Reading the differences
Three differences matter most in practice. First, experience: the UAE expressly requires none for technician and technologist titles, and Oman's OEMLS states no requirement, while Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Bahrain ask for one or two years. Second, the qualification gate: Oman licenses only bachelor's-level medical laboratory graduates, while Qatar publishes a basic-science route (a science bachelor's or three-year diploma, for Lab Technologist (Specific)). Third, second chances: Qatar allows five consecutive attempts and Bahrain four within three years, against three in the UAE and Saudi Arabia.
What does not differ much is the exam itself. Every published blueprint centres on the same disciplines — microbiology, clinical chemistry, hematology, blood bank and immunology — and the published formats are 150 questions — in 3 hours for SCFHS and DHA, 3½ hours for Qatar — against 100 in 2½ hours for Oman; Bahrain publishes no lab question count. That is good news for anyone keeping two countries open: one preparation serves both.
After you pass
| Regulator | What happens next |
|---|---|
| Dubai — DHA | Licence activated by a licensed employer; the document you receive after the exam states its validity |
| Saudi — SCFHS | Classification issued; registration once resident — check the validity period stated on the classification |
| Qatar — DHP | Licensing through the employer who submitted the application |
| Bahrain — NHRA | Licence processing continues on a pass (NHRA 2022 booklet) |
| Oman — OMSB | The OEMLS is described as an eligibility criterion for employment |
The practical consequence is timing. In Dubai and Saudi Arabia what you receive after passing carries a validity period before a licence must be activated or registration completed, so passing too early, before a realistic job search, can waste it. Where the employer drives the application, as in Qatar, the exam usually comes after an offer rather than before.
One candidate, three years: how the options open up
Because the experience rules differ so much, the realistic order of countries changes as a candidate gains experience. Take a B.Sc. MLT graduate who starts work in an Indian hospital laboratory straight after the degree:
| Point in time | Open under the published rules | Still closed |
|---|---|---|
| Newly qualified | UAE technologist (no experience needed); Oman OEMLS (experience not stated) | Saudi (1 year), Qatar and Bahrain (2 years) |
| After 1 year | UAE; Oman; Saudi Laboratory Technologist classification | Qatar and Bahrain |
| After 2 years | All five with a published lab exam | UAE specialty technologist needs 4 years on a plain B.Sc. MLT |
Two cautions follow from the table. The UAE gap-in-practice rule means an early UAE pass only helps if you keep practising; a gap of more than three years brings extra training. And because the UAE attempt cap is shared across its three regulators, sit a UAE exam when you are ready for it, not as a trial run.
Country notes
Saudi Arabia (SCFHS)
- Classification first, from abroad; at least one year's experience for non-Saudis; separate blueprints for general, biochemistry and microbiology technicians and three specialist exams.
- Classification and registration fees (exam track): SAR 860 technician, SAR 1,340 specialist (SCFHS schedule).
United Arab Emirates (DHA, DOH, MOHAP)
- One rulebook — the Unified PQR — and a shared attempt cap. DHA publishes the most detail: eight lab exam codes with pass marks and a USD 240 fee.
- No experience needed for technician and technologist titles.
Qatar (DHP)
- Three lab titles, including a Lab Technologist (Specific) route for basic-science bachelor's holders.
- Two years of clinical lab experience for overseas candidates; five consecutive attempts; published blueprint item counts (see our blueprint comparison).
Oman (OMSB)
- OEMLS for B.Sc. medical laboratory science graduates: 100 single-best-answer questions, 2 h 30 min, pass 55%, USD 200; Pearson VUE or OMSB's Muscat centre.
Bahrain (NHRA)
- Technician (diploma of 2+ years) and technologist (B.Sc. MLT/MLS), each with 2 years' experience; specialty titles with 4.
- Four attempts within three years of the first; the 2022 booklet then sets retraining of at least six months and two further attempts, a provision it marks for Bahrainis.
Kuwait (MOH)
- Prometric delivers MOH Kuwait exams, but no laboratory exam details are published. Ask the employer or MOH directly before paying anyone.
Which country first?
Where should you apply first?
Practise it, don't just read it
The disciplines are the same everywhere — the library quizzes follow them.
The ProSyllabus lab-technician library has eight topic quizzes that line up with the Gulf blueprints: Clinical Chemistry, Hematology, Clinical Microbiology, Blood Banking and Immunohematology, Immunology and Serology, Clinical Parasitology and Urinalysis, Histopathology and Cytology, and Laboratory Safety, Quality Control and Ethics. Each explains every option.
Which Gulf country is best for lab technicians from India?
It depends on your qualification and experience. The UAE requires no experience for technician and technologist titles; Saudi Arabia asks for one year; Qatar and Bahrain for two. Oman licenses only B.Sc. medical laboratory science graduates through its OEMLS exam.
Is the Oman lab exam conducted by Prometric?
No. OMSB exams, including the OEMLS for medical laboratory scientists, are delivered by Pearson VUE or at OMSB's own centre in Muscat. The OEMLS has 100 questions in 2.5 hours with a 55% pass mark.
Is there a Kuwait Prometric exam for lab technicians?
Prometric delivers Kuwait MOH exams, but no laboratory exam details are published: the references document on Prometric's Kuwait page covers only internal medicine, general practice and nursing.
How many attempts are allowed for the Qatar lab exam?
Five consecutive attempts, according to Qatar's Department of Healthcare Professions. The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions and a 50% pass mark.
Is there one exam for all UAE emirates?
The qualification rules are unified — DHA, DOH, MOHAP and the Sharjah Health Authority publish one PQR — and exam attempts are counted across the authorities. Under PQR §3, a valid licence from one authority exempts you from the others' exams, provided you have not exceeded the permitted attempts and hold a valid good-standing certificate and full verification; the new authority still issues its own licence.
What is the pass mark for the Bahrain lab exam?
NHRA's 2022 licensure booklet sets 50% for nursing, midwifery and allied professions, which include laboratory staff, and 60% for other professions. An older Prometric page gives 60% for everyone; the NHRA booklet is the more recent official source.
Which Gulf lab exams are delivered by Pearson VUE?
Abu Dhabi's DOH exams (booked through TAMM) and Oman's OMSB exams, including the OEMLS. Saudi Arabia's SCFHS lists Pearson VUE alongside Prometric for classification exams. The others use Prometric.
How long is the Oman OEMLS exam?
100 single-best-answer questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, with a 55% pass mark and a USD 200 fee, according to OMSB's August 2025 booklet.
Does Saudi Arabia need experience for lab technicians?
Yes. SCFHS requires at least one year of experience for non-Saudi applicants for professional classification.
More in this series
- DMLT, B.Sc. MLT or M.Sc.: which Gulf lab title you get
- The Saudi (SCFHS) lab exam blueprints, section by section
- Dubai (DHA) lab exams: titles, codes and pass marks
- What every Gulf lab exam tests — blueprints compared
- A 10-week lab exam study plan, with worked calculations
- Lab technician exam notice board — official updates
- Gulf nursing licences compared (for comparison)
Sources
- official — SCFHS Laboratory – Technician blueprint (2024)
- official — SCFHS professional classification requirements
- official — SCFHS fee schedule
- official — Prometric SCFHS FAQ (2022)
- official — DHA computer-based test guideline (updated Sep 2026)
- official — UAE Unified PQR, April 2025
- official — Pearson VUE — DOH Abu Dhabi
- official — Prometric — UAE Ministry of Health and Prevention
- official — Qatar DHP qualifying examination
- official — Qatar DHP allied health blueprint
- official — Qatar DHP laboratory scopes (2021)
- official — Prometric — Kuwait MOH
- official — OMSB examinations list
- official — Pearson VUE — OMSB
- official — OMSB OEMLS booklet (Aug 2025)
- official — NHRA licensure examination booklet (2022)
- official — NHRA allied healthcare licensing standards (2017)
- official — Prometric — NHRA Bahrain
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.










