Checked 29 September 2026. From the Section Supervisor LDCE Scheme 2023, the Section Officer LDCE Scheme 2025 (13.10.2025) and the Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE Scheme 2023 (01.12.2023). The Section Officer rules used here are the Section Officer (Headquarters) Recruitment Rules 2003 as amended in 2008; a later version may exist and would change the feeder and ladder rows.
EPFO runs several departmental competitive exams, and three of them are easy to mix up: the Section Supervisor LDCE, the Section Officer LDCE (new scheme of 13.10.2025) and the Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE (scheme of 01.12.2023). The confusion is made worse by one abbreviation: "SSA" means Social Security Assistant, the feeder grade for Section Supervisor, and also Senior Secretariat Assistant, which is a different post with its own exam. This guide compares the three schemes paper by paper from EPFO's own documents, shows where their syllabi overlap, and is clear about what we could and could not source: in particular, the Section Officer rules we found are a headquarters post's, fed from Assistants at EPF Headquarters, not from Section Supervisors. ProSyllabus is an independent study site, not part of the Employees' Provident Fund Organisation or the Ministry of Labour and Employment. Every rule here is quoted or summarised from EPFO circulars and Gazette notifications; your zonal office and EPFO Head Office decide every individual case.
Where other pages get this wrong
The Section Supervisor LDCE and the Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE are separate exams for separate posts. "SSA" in "SSA with nine years" means Social Security Assistant.
Commonly published instead: Pages and forum posts that treat "EPFO SSA LDCE" and the Section Supervisor LDCE as one exam, or read the Section Supervisor feeder as Senior Secretariat Assistant.
The Section Supervisor Recruitment Rules 2018 name "Social Security Assistant". The Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE has its own scheme of 01.12.2023, made in response to Recruitment Rules of 19.02.2020, and its own three-paper pattern.
The three schemes side by side
| Feature | Section Supervisor LDCE | Section Officer LDCE | Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Post | Section Supervisor, Group B, Level 7 | Section Officer (Headquarters); pay level not stated in the documents we read | Senior Secretariat Assistant |
| Scheme | Scheme 2023, issued 19.01.2024 | Scheme 2025, dated 13.10.2025 (replaces a 2016 scheme) | Scheme 2023, dated 01.12.2023 (replaces the UDC LDCE Scheme 2016) |
| Feeder | Social Security Assistant, nine years' regular service, serving in the zone | Under the 2003 rules as amended on 15.12.2008: Assistants of EPF Headquarters with five years' regular service, and Personal Assistants of EPFO who are graduates with five years. The Scheme 2025 says eligibility is as in the notified Recruitment Rules; a later version than 2008 was not found | Not stated in the scheme we read; set by the Recruitment Rules of 19.02.2020 |
| Papers | 2 papers, 2 hours and 100 marks each, CBT MCQ | 2 papers, 2 hours and 100 marks each, computer based | 2 papers of 2 hours and 100 marks, computer based MCQ, plus a qualifying typing test |
| Paper I | EPF law, MAP and SOPs 70; EPFO services and legal awareness 30 | Part A: Act and Schemes, Code on Social Security 2020, MAP and SOPs 50. Part B: FR/SR, Staff Regulations 2025, Schedule of powers, Staff CCA Rules 1971, residence and seniority rules, NPS, RTI 50 | English 40; FR, SR, GFR and RTI 60 |
| Paper II | Rules, RTI and NPS 60; English 20; numerical ability and reasoning 20 | General service matters 50; CSMOP 30; GFR 2017 and principles of auditing 20 | EPF & MP Act and Schemes 40; arithmetic and numerical ability 40; computer proficiency 20 |
| Other test | None in the 2023 scheme | None stated | Paper III: typing, 10 minutes, 35 wpm English or 30 wpm Hindi, qualifying |
| Minimum marks | 40% in each paper; 35% SC/ST/PwBD | 40% in each paper; 35% SC/ST/PwBD | 40% in each paper; 35% SC/ST/PwBD |
| Merit unit | Each category in each State/Zone | A separate merit list for each category (no regional unit named) | Each category for each Region/Head Office/All India cadre |
| Latest status | Held 22.11.2024 | IBPS took registrations 20.03.2026 to 01.04.2026, jointly with LDC/JSA promotion (portal "epfofeb26", archived copy); a held date is not on the circulars page | Scheduled for 19.01.2024, rescheduled to 29.01.2024 by the letter of 18.01.2024; a held date is not on the circulars page |
The Section Officer and Senior Secretariat Assistant schemes are cited here only for comparison. We read them for their patterns and qualifying rules, not their full annexures, and neither exam is the subject of this guide. The re-totalling rule in the Section Officer scheme is worth noting because it differs in one respect: it says re-totalled marks may go up or down.
Where the syllabi overlap
| Section Supervisor | Section Officer | Senior Secretariat Asst | |
|---|---|---|---|
| EPF Act and Schemes | 70, with MAP and SOPs | 50, with CoSS, MAP, SOPs | 40 |
| MAP and SOPs | in the 70 | in the 50 | not a heading |
| EPFO services, legal awareness | 30 | not a heading | not a heading |
| Code on Social Security 2020 | not named | in Paper I Part A | not named |
| Service rules (FR/SR, staff regulations, CCS) | in the 60 | 50 + 50 | in the 60 |
| GFR | chapters in the 60 | 20, with auditing | in the 60 |
| RTI | in the 60 | in Paper I Part B | in the 60 |
| NPS | in the 60 | in Paper I Part B | not a heading |
| Office procedure (CSMOP) | not a heading | 30 | not a heading |
| English | 20 | not a heading | 40 |
| Numerical ability, reasoning | 20 | not a heading | 40, arithmetic |
| Computer proficiency, typing | none | none | 20 + typing test |
Darker cells carry more marks. "Not a heading" means the subject does not appear in that scheme's pattern table; it may still appear inside another section's annexure.
From the three schemes' pattern tables (official). Shading is our summary of the printed marks.
Read across the grid and the three exams sort themselves. Section Supervisor is the most EPF-heavy of the three: 70 marks on the Act, the schemes and the accounting manual, and another 30 on the services and legal awareness a zonal office handles. Section Officer leans towards administration: all of Paper II is service matters, office procedure and financial rules, and it is the only one of the three that names the Code on Social Security 2020 and the Staff Regulations 2025. The Senior Secretariat Assistant exam is the most skills-based, with 40 marks of English, 40 of arithmetic, 20 of computer proficiency and a typing test.
For a Social Security Assistant preparing for Section Supervisor, the overlap with Section Officer is real but partial. Service rules, RTI, NPS and GFR appear in both. MAP and SOPs appear in both, though the Section Supervisor annexure prescribes particular MAP paragraphs and the two schemes' coverage may differ. The EPFO services list and legal awareness are headings only in the Section Supervisor pattern. Preparing for one does not prepare you for the other.
The ladder, as far as EPFO's documents show it
| Post | Group and pay | How it is filled | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social Security Assistant | Group C; Level 5 (Rs 29,200-92,300) | Mainly direct recruitment. The 2003 rules gave 85% direct recruitment and 15% promotion by a departmental qualifying exam or skill test; EPFO's rules page also lists a 2021 amendment, which we could not open, so the current split is not confirmed here | SSA advertisement of 24.03.2023 (official); SSA Recruitment Rules 2003 and EPFO rules page (official) |
| Section Supervisor | Group B; Level 7 (Rs 44,900-1,42,400); selection post; 2,698 posts in the 2018 rules, subject to variation | 66 2/3% by seniority (subject to rejection of the unfit), 33 1/3% by this LDCE; both from Social Security Assistants with nine years | Recruitment Rules 2018 (official) |
| Section Officer (Headquarters) | Not stated in the documents we read; 86 posts in the 2008 amendment | 50% by promotion of Assistants of EPF Headquarters with six years; 50% by departmental competitive examination of Assistants of EPF Headquarters with five years and graduate Personal Assistants of EPFO with five years | Section Officer (HQ) RR 2003 as amended 15.12.2008 (official); Scheme 2025 (official) |
| Senior Secretariat Assistant | Not found in the documents we read | Partly by its own LDCE (Scheme 2023; the circulars page describes a 25% examination quota) | Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE Scheme 2023; circulars page (official) |
On the rules we found, Section Officer is not the next rung above Section Supervisor. The Section Officer (Headquarters) Recruitment Rules 2003, as amended by the Gazette notification of 15.12.2008, fill the post from Assistants of EPF Headquarters and graduate Personal Assistants; Section Supervisors are not named as a feeder. A later version of those rules may exist, but we could not find or open one, so we give no pay level and print the 2008 feeder as the latest we could read. EPFO's archived rules page lists the 2003 Social Security Assistant rules and a 2021 amendment we could not open, so treat the 85/15 split as the 2003 position. The Section Supervisor post itself descends from the "Section Supervisor (Head Clerk) (Regional Offices)" post of the 1992 rules.
Which exam is yours
A quick sort
- You are a Social Security Assistant in a zonal or regional office with nine years in the grade: the Section Supervisor LDCE. Start with our eligibility guide.
- You are in the secretariat or headquarters stream and the Senior Secretariat Assistant post is your next step: that exam has its own page, EPFO Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE. Check its feeder in the 2020 Recruitment Rules.
- You are an Assistant at EPF Headquarters, or a graduate Personal Assistant: the Section Officer LDCE may be yours. Read the Scheme 2025 and check your eligibility under the current Section Officer Recruitment Rules with ASD; the latest version we could read is the 2008 amendment.
- You are not yet in EPFO: none of these is open to you. Direct recruitment to EPFO posts is a separate process; see our UPSC EPFO guide for the officer-level route.
Our summary of the three schemes (official). Your zonal office or ASD at Head Office decides eligibility.
What this comparison cannot tell you
| Question | Status |
|---|---|
| Is Section Officer above Section Supervisor? | Not on the rules we could read: the 2008 Section Officer (HQ) rules do not name Section Supervisors as a feeder. A later version, if any, could not be opened |
| Will the Section Supervisor syllabus adopt the Staff Regulations 2025 and the Code on Social Security, as the Section Officer scheme did? | Not published. The up-to-date clause requires current versions of the rules already listed, which on our reading is relevant to the staff regulations; it does not by itself add a new statute such as the Code on Social Security 2020 |
| Will all three exams move to IBPS? | PIB reported IBPS approved as an agency for EPFO promotion exams (02.03.2026); IBPS ran a joint 2026 registration (20.03.2026 to 01.04.2026) for the Section Officer and LDC/JSA promotion exams; nothing is published for Section Supervisor or Senior Secretariat Assistant |
| Can the same person sit two of these exams? | Depends on each post's feeder rules; not addressed in the schemes |
What does SSA mean in EPFO?
Two things. Social Security Assistant is the Group C grade from which Section Supervisors are promoted. Senior Secretariat Assistant is a different post with its own LDCE scheme of 01.12.2023.
Is the Section Supervisor LDCE the same as the Section Officer LDCE?
No. They are different posts with different schemes. Section Supervisor runs under the 2023 scheme; Section Officer under a scheme dated 13.10.2025 that replaced a 2016 scheme.
Which syllabus is heavier on EPF law?
Section Supervisor. Its Paper I gives 70 marks to the Act, the schemes, the accounting manual and SOPs, and 30 to EPFO services and legal awareness. Section Officer gives 50 marks to the Act, schemes, Code on Social Security, MAP and SOPs.
Do all three exams have the same pass marks?
The minimum is the same in all three schemes we read: 40% in each paper, or 35% for SC, ST and PwBD. The Senior Secretariat Assistant exam also has a qualifying typing test.
Is Section Officer a promotion from Section Supervisor?
Not on the rules we could read. The Section Officer (Headquarters) Recruitment Rules 2003, as amended in 2008, fill the post from Assistants of EPF Headquarters and graduate Personal Assistants, not from Section Supervisors. A later version may exist; check with ASD at Head Office.
What is the pay level of Section Supervisor?
Level 7, Rs 44,900 to 1,42,400, Group B, under the Recruitment Rules 2018.
Does the Section Supervisor exam have a typing or computer test?
The 2023 scheme has none. The 2017 scheme said a Computer Proficiency Test might be required before promotion; whether that still applies is not published.
Sources
- official — EPF Section Supervisor LDCE Scheme, 2023: No. A-34018/3/2022-EXAM-84 dated 19.01.2024, with the syllabus annexure
- official — EPF Section Officer LDCE Scheme, 2025: No. RC-RCORC(RC)/5/2025-EPFO-HQ/RC/674 dated 13.10.2025 (listed 22/10/2025). A different post
- official — EPF Senior Secretariat Assistant LDCE Scheme, 2023, dated 01.12.2023 (listed 14/12/2023). A different post
- official — EPFO Section Officer (Headquarters) Recruitment Rules, 2003, as amended by the notification of 15.12.2008 (Gazette): 86 posts; 50% by promotion of Assistants of EPF Headquarters with six years, 50% by departmental competitive examination of Assistants of EPF Headquarters with five years, and graduate Personal Assistants of EPFO with five years (Wayback copy)
- official — EPFO Section Supervisor Recruitment Rules, 2018: No. HRD/2/2017/RR/SS dated 30.01.2019, Gazette of India Extraordinary No. 38 of 31.01.2019
- official — EPFO Social Security Assistant Recruitment Rules, 2003 (Wayback copy of the EPFO RR page)
- official — EPFO Recruitment Rules page (Wayback copy of 02.01.2025), which lists an "Amendment (2021)" under the Social Security Assistant rules; the amendment file itself was not archived and could not be read
- official — EPFO advertisement for Social Security Assistant, 24.03.2023 (A-12024/3/2021-EXAM/188): pay Level 5, Rs 29,200-92,300 (Wayback copy)
- official — SSA LDCE (25% examination quota) of 19.01.2024 rescheduled to 29.01.2024 "due to technical reasons": A-32016/1/2022-EXAM-82 dated 18.01.2024
- official — EPF Section Supervisor LDCE Scheme, 2017 (superseded): Exam.3(1)2017/SS, in force 11.12.2017
- official — EPFO Section Supervisor (Head Clerk) (Regional Offices) Recruitment Rules, 1992, as annexed to the notice of 20.05.2019
- official — EPFO "Link for SO exam" on the IBPS registration site, 2026 (Wayback copy)
- official — IBPS registration portal for EPFO (ibpsreg.ibps.in/epfofeb26), "Promotion to the post of Section Officer, Lower Division Clerk & Junior Secretariat Assistant": online registration 20.03.2026 to 01.04.2026, printing until 16.04.2026 (Wayback copy of 28.03.2026; the live page returned HTTP 500 on 29.09.2026)
- official — PIB, Ministry of Labour and Employment, 02.03.2026 (Release ID 2234502): 239th meeting of the Central Board of Trustees, IBPS approved as an exam agency for EPFO
- official — PIB, Ministry of Labour and Employment, 21.11.2025 (Release ID 2192463): the four Labour Codes, including the Code on Social Security 2020, made effective from 21 November 2025
- official — EPFO circulars page (live list, read 29 September 2026)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.








