Updates as of September 21, 2026
No fresh AAO LDCE cycle is notified as of 21 September 2026. The most recent notified cycle remains AAO LDCE 2024, held from 8 to 11 January 2025, and on 4 July 2026 the Department of Posts published the marks of 14 candidates from it. Nothing later surfaced in departmental postings.
PO Tools BlogResults of AAO LDCE 2024 were declared in May 2025. Promotion and posting orders dated 9 May 2025, number 301/08/2024/PACE/3602-3666, promoted 442 officials to Assistant Accounts Officer at Level 8 of the Seventh CPC matrix, with a two year probation and subject to CAT Lucknow OA No. 815/2024.
PO Tools BlogAnswer keys for all six papers of AAO LDCE 2024 were released under an Office Memorandum dated 2 December 2025 issued by the Department of Posts, Ministry of Communications, and forwarded to the Office of the Controller General of Communication Accounts in New Delhi for publication.
PostalstudyUnder the notification dated 19 September 2024, the exam was open to Group C officials of the Department of Posts or Department of Telecommunications holding a bachelor's degree, with the qualifying service set in the IP and TAFS Group B Recruitment Rules 2018. Junior and Senior Accountants in PAOs were ineligible.
PostalstudyThe exam runs to six papers: financial rules, procedures and book-keeping; service rules; postal accounts; telecom accounts, USOF and taxation; logical, analytical, quantitative and language skills; and information technology. Confirm marks and duration against the notification issued for your own cycle before preparing.
PostalstudyAAO LDCE at a glance
| Paper | What it covers | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Paper-I | Financial rules and procedures, and book-keeping | 3 hours |
| Paper-II | Service rules | 3 hours |
| Paper-III | Postal accounts | 3 hours |
| Paper-IV | Telecom accounts, USOF and taxation | 3 hours |
| Paper-V | Logical, analytical and quantitative abilities, and language skills | 3 hours |
| Paper-VI | Information technology | 3 hours |
The 2024 notification carried the syllabus at Annexure F and ran the six papers across four days, with Paper-VI liable to be held on more than one date or shift depending on the number of candidates; marks per paper are not stated on the notification pages read here.
Dates and windows
| What | When | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Next notification | Not yet issued as of 21 September 2026 | Awaited |
| AAO LDCE 2024 papers | 8 to 11 January 2025 | Past |
| AAO LDCE 2024 promotion and posting orders | 9 May 2025 | Past |
| AAO LDCE 2024 answer keys | Office Memorandum dated 2 December 2025 | Past |
| Marks of 14 candidates published | 4 July 2026 | Past |
The 2024 cycle is finished and nothing later has been notified, so no application window is open at present.
Source: Department of Posts — AAO LDCE 2024 notification (hosted by CGCA) · PO Tools Blog — AAO LDCE 2024 marks of 14 candidates published · PO Tools Blog — AAO promotion and posting orders dated 9 May 2025 · Postalstudy — AAO LDCE 2024 answer keys released under OM dated 2 December 2025 · Postalstudy — Postal LDCE AAO Exam 2024 notification
What this means for your preparation
No cycle is open, which is exactly the stretch in which the accounts papers can be built rather than revised. Four of the six papers are rules and accounts subjects that take months to hold in memory and a fortnight to lose.
Four of the six papers are rules and accounts
Papers I to IV are financial rules and procedures with book-keeping, service rules, postal accounts, and telecom accounts with USOF and taxation — four of the six papers, three hours each. They are the bulk of the examination and the part that cannot be compressed into a few weeks. Treat them as the standing work and fit the reasoning and information technology papers around them.
Paper-VI is a practical, and practicals are not read for
Paper-VI is information technology, three hours, and the 2022 notification allowed for it to be held on more than one date or shift depending on candidate numbers — which is what a paper with a practical component looks like when it is scheduled. A paper that asks you to do something rather than describe it has to be prepared for at a keyboard, not from notes.
The eligibility bar is a degree as well as service
The 2024 notification opened the examination to Group C officials of the Department of Posts or the Department of Telecommunications holding a bachelor’s degree from a recognised university, with qualifying service as laid down in the IP&TAFS Group B Recruitment Rules dated 2 April 2018, and expressly excluded Junior and Senior Accountants in Postal Accounts Offices. Confirm your own position before committing a year to this.
Use the 2024 cycle as the instrument while there is no date
Answer keys for all six papers of AAO LDCE 2024 were released under an Office Memorandum dated 2 December 2025, and the marks of 14 candidates were published on 4 July 2026. A released key is the most reliable statement of what the paper actually expects that exists outside the syllabus annexure, and it is available now at no cost.
Common questions
Is an AAO LDCE cycle open right now?
No. As of 21 September 2026 the most recent notified cycle remains AAO LDCE 2024, held from 8 to 11 January 2025. Results were declared in May 2025, answer keys were released under an Office Memorandum dated 2 December 2025, and the marks of 14 candidates were published on 4 July 2026. No later notification has surfaced.
How many papers are there and how long is each?
Six papers of three hours each: financial rules and procedures with book-keeping; service rules; postal accounts; telecom accounts, USOF and taxation; logical, analytical and quantitative abilities with language skills; and information technology. The 2024 notification ran them over four days, with Paper-VI liable to be split across more than one date or shift.
Are books allowed in the AAO examination?
The 2022 notification stated that no books or manuals are permitted in the examination hall and that possession of any material, notes or diary amounts to unfair means. The study site postalstudies.com describes Papers I to IV as open book, which contradicts that. Check the notification issued for your own cycle before assuming either.
Who can apply for the AAO LDCE?
Under the 2024 notification, Group C officials of the Department of Posts or the Department of Telecommunications holding a bachelor’s degree from a recognised university, with qualifying service as laid down in the IP&TAFS Group B Recruitment Rules dated 2 April 2018. Junior Accountants and Senior Accountants in Postal Accounts Offices were not eligible.
Where does the AAO syllabus come from?
The notification carries it at Annexure F, which sets out the syllabus for all six papers. That annexure is the authority rather than any coaching summary. Marks per paper and any qualifying percentage are not stated on the notification pages read here, so take those from the notification issued for your own cycle.







