ProSyllabus Journal

Alerts and Updates for CU-CET (Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test)

Where the University of Calicut's own PG entrance stands in late September 2026, which registrations are still open, and why this test is not the national CUET

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 2 days agoExam Updates
#CU-CET (Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test)#News
Alerts and Updates for CU-CET (Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test)

Updates as of September 22, 2026

First, a disambiguation. CU-CET here is the Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test, run by the University of Calicut's own Directorate of Admissions for its teaching departments, affiliated colleges and self-financing centres. It is not CUET, the national test used by central universities, and a CUET score does not substitute for it. Calicut also styles the test CUCAT in some listings.

AglaSem CUCAT (aggregator)

The CU-CET 2026 rank list has been published. The Directorate of Admissions site carries a CU-CET 2026 Rank List entry in its notifications alongside seat vacancy information, which places the cycle in its allotment and vacancy-filling stage rather than its testing stage.

Directorate of Admissions, Calicut

M.P.Ed. registration has been extended. The admissions site states that the last date of online registration was extended to September 22, 2026, which makes it the one CU-CET-linked registration still open as this page is written. Updated eligibility criteria have also been issued for M.P.Ed. and for M.Sc. Statistics.

Directorate of Admissions, Calicut

A late registration route is live. Student registration for the 2026 entrance cycle is being handled through a student login and late registration portal at entrance.uoc.ac.in, and seat vacancy lists are being published alongside it, including vacancies arising from sixth-semester exits in MA Development Studies.

Directorate of Admissions, Calicut

Two fee documents matter at this stage. The Directorate has issued fee concession eligibility guidelines for SEBC, SC, ST and OEC candidates, and separate guidelines implementing the UGC Fee Refund Policy for 2026-27, which governs what a candidate recovers on withdrawing after allotment.

Directorate of Admissions, Calicut

CU-CET 2026 at a glance

ItemDetailSource
Conducting bodyDirectorate of Admissions, University of Calicut (not a national agency)Official
ScopeOver 40 postgraduate and integrated programmes across arts, science, commerce, law and physical educationOfficial notification
Registration feeRupees 680 per programme for General and Rupees 300 for SC and ST; Rupees 920 and Rupees 435 respectively for LLM; Rupees 100 extra per additional programmeOfficial notification
Mode and durationOffline OMR paper of 2 hours, mainly multiple choice with descriptive questions in some coursesAs reported by AglaSem
MediumEnglish and MalayalamAs reported by AglaSem
Application ruleOnline applications only; multiple applications lead to disqualification and fees are not refunded in any circumstancesOfficial notification

Fees and programme count are read from the official CU-CET 2026 notification PDF published by the Directorate of Admissions. The mode, duration and medium rows come from an aggregator and are labelled accordingly, because the exam-pattern detail sits in the prospectus rather than in the notification itself. The disqualification rule for multiple applications is stated in the notification in those terms.

Dates and windows

WhatWhenStatus
Online registration opensMarch 23, 2026Closed
Registration closes (as printed in the notification)April 16, 2026, 5.00 pmClosed
Extended application deadlineApril 25, 2026, 5.00 pm, as reported by AglaSemClosed
Entrance examinationsMay 14, 15 and 16, 2026Closed
CU-CET 2026 rank list publishedListed in the Directorate's notifications; exact publication date not stated on the pageConfirmed
M.P.Ed. online registration, extended last dateSeptember 22, 2026Confirmed
Late registration and seat vacancy fillingRunning through the entrance.uoc.ac.in student portalRolling

The opening date, printed closing date and the three examination days are taken from the official CU-CET 2026 notification. The April 25 extension is reported by AglaSem rather than read on an official page and is marked as such. Programme-specific deadlines such as the M.P.Ed. one move independently of the main schedule, so check the notification list for your own course.

What this means for your preparation

The error that costs candidates a year here is confusing two tests whose abbreviations nearly collide. CU-CET is Calicut University's own centralised entrance, set and marked by its Directorate of Admissions for its own PG and integrated programmes. CUET is the separate national test used by central universities. Registering for one does not register you for the other, and there is no score transfer between them.

CU-CET is not CUET, and the names mislead

Both abbreviations expand to something close to common or centralised entrance test, and Calicut's is also written CUCAT in some listings, which multiplies the confusion. The practical test is the portal: Calicut's entrance material lives at admission.uoc.ac.in and entrance.uoc.ac.in, under the Directorate of Admissions, with helplines on 0494 240 7016 and 7017. If you are applying to a University of Calicut teaching department, an affiliated college or a university self-financing centre for a PG or integrated programme, this is the test that decides your rank. A national CUET scorecard does not enter that rank list.

September is a vacancy game, not an entrance one

The testing stage closed in mid-May and the rank list is out. What remains live is the tail of the cycle: seat vacancy publication, late registration through the student portal, and programme-specific extensions such as the M.P.Ed. registration deadline of September 22, 2026. Candidates without an allotment should be reading the vacancy notifications rather than waiting for a fresh general notification, because vacancies of the kind the Directorate has published for MA Development Studies, arising from sixth-semester exits, appear and are filled quickly. Watching the notifications list on the Directorate site daily is the only reliable way to catch them.

One application, many programmes, no refunds

The notification is explicit that applications are online only, that submitting multiple applications results in disqualification, and that the fee once remitted is not refunded under any circumstances. The fee structure is built around that single application: Rupees 680 per programme for General candidates, Rupees 300 for SC and ST, with Rupees 920 and Rupees 435 respectively for LLM, plus Rupees 100 for each additional programme. The correct approach is therefore to decide the full set of programmes before submitting once, rather than filing a second application when a new option occurs to you later.

Awaiting results is allowed, originals are not optional

The notification permits candidates who are still awaiting their final qualifying results to apply, but requires original credentials to be produced at the point of admission. That is a narrower permission than it first appears. It removes the barrier to applying but leaves the burden of timely result publication with the candidate, and a missing original at admission ends the claim on the seat regardless of rank. Where a qualifying result is likely to be late, obtain a provisional certificate and mark sheet from the awarding university early rather than at allotment, and check the programme's own eligibility note, since eligibility criteria were revised this cycle for M.Sc. Statistics and M.P.Ed.

Read the two fee documents before withdrawing

The Directorate has published fee concession eligibility guidelines for SEBC, SC, ST and OEC candidates and separate guidelines applying the UGC Fee Refund Policy for 2026-27. These matter most to candidates holding a Calicut allotment while waiting on another institution. What you recover on withdrawal depends on when you withdraw relative to the cut-offs in that refund policy, not on the entrance fee rules, which are non-refundable in all cases. Read the refund document before accepting an allotment you may give up, and read the concession document before paying, since concessions are claimed at payment rather than reimbursed afterwards.

Common questions

Is CU-CET the same as CUET?

No. CU-CET is the Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test, conducted by the University of Calicut's own Directorate of Admissions for its teaching departments, affiliated colleges and self-financing centres. CUET is the separate national entrance used by central universities. The two have no shared application, no shared rank list and no score transfer. Calicut's test is also written CUCAT in some listings, which adds to the confusion. Applications and results for CU-CET are handled at admission.uoc.ac.in and entrance.uoc.ac.in, not through any national agency portal.

Has the CU-CET 2026 result been published?

Yes. The Directorate of Admissions site lists a CU-CET 2026 Rank List among its notifications, and is publishing seat vacancy information alongside it, so the cycle is in the allotment and vacancy-filling stage. The page does not state a separate publication date for the rank list, so no date is claimed here. Candidates should reach the rank list through the notifications section at admission.uoc.ac.in rather than through a third-party link, and check it against the programme they applied for.

Can I still register for anything in late September 2026?

One route remains open. The Directorate states that the last date for M.P.Ed. online registration was extended to September 22, 2026. Beyond that, student registration and late registration are being handled through the portal at entrance.uoc.ac.in, in parallel with published seat vacancy lists. There is no general reopening of the main CU-CET application, which closed before the May examinations. Check the notifications list for your specific programme, since deadlines this late in the cycle are set course by course.

What did CU-CET 2026 cost to apply for?

Per the official notification, registration was Rupees 680 per programme for General candidates and Rupees 300 for SC and ST candidates, rising to Rupees 920 and Rupees 435 respectively for LLM, with Rupees 100 extra per candidate for additional programmes. The notification also states that the fee once remitted is not refunded under any circumstances, and that filing multiple applications results in disqualification. Fee concession guidelines for SEBC, SC, ST and OEC candidates are published separately by the Directorate.

When was the exam held and in what format?

The official notification sets the entrance examinations on May 14, 15 and 16, 2026. On format, an aggregator, AglaSem, reports an offline OMR paper of two hours, predominantly multiple choice with descriptive questions in some courses, offered in English and Malayalam, with negative marking applied per programme-specific guidelines. That format description is not drawn from an official document, so treat it as reported. The prospectus linked from the Directorate's site is the authority on pattern and marking.

Which programmes are covered by CU-CET?

The 2026 notification lists more than forty postgraduate and integrated programmes, spanning master's degrees in arts, science and commerce, LLM, and physical education courses, together with specialised programmes. Aggregator listings additionally mention MCA, MSW, MA Journalism and Mass Communication, M.Sc. Health and Yoga Therapy and M.Sc. Forensic Science. Eligibility was revised this cycle for M.Sc. Statistics and M.P.Ed., so check the programme-specific eligibility note on the Directorate's site rather than relying on last year's prospectus.

This chapter is part of the CU-CET (Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes
Practice Quiz

Test your CU-CET (Calicut University Centralized Entrance Test) prep

Dual AI-verified questions Real exam pattern 1 free quiz every month, then ₹9 per quiz — or a monthly plan

#1

CU-CET Calicut — Commerce

Start here
10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#2

CU-CET Calicut — Computer Science

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#3

CU-CET Calicut — Chemistry

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#4

CU-CET Calicut — Economics

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

#5

CU-CET Calicut — English Language & Literature

10 Qs · ~10 min

Instant score, answer review and weak-topic diagnosis

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article