ProSyllabus Journal

CBIC Confirmation Exam Dates: NACIN Calendar vs the Sittings Held

Every Inspector and PO/Examiner sitting in the NACIN calendars from 2024-25 to 2026-27, set against what was notified and held, with the dates for February 2027 and the steps between.

By ProSyllabus Admin
Updated 2 days agoCBIC Departmental Exam · Exam Dates · Promotion Exams
#CBIC departmental exam date#NACIN calendar departmental examination#Inspector confirmation exam February 2027#Preventive Officer Examiner exam August#NACIN Lucknow Kanpur departmental exam#NACIN Mumbai confirmation exam dates
CBIC Confirmation Exam Dates: NACIN Calendar vs the Sittings Held

Checked 29 September 2026. High. NACIN posts notices, corrigenda and marks without a fixed pattern. Checked against the NACIN pages on 29 September 2026; the 2027-28 calendar is due by 30 April 2027.

NACIN publishes an annual calendar of departmental exams. The 2024 rules require it by 30 April each year (rule 2(5)), and it gives two sittings a year for both confirmation exams: August and February. The calendar is a plan, though, and it has not always held. One February sitting moved to March, one August Inspector sitting moved to September, and the notice for the August 2026 Inspector sitting was posted on CBIC's site rather than NACIN's own page. This guide puts each calendar date next to what happened, says which campus runs which exam, and lists the steps between a notice and your exam day.

Where other pages get this wrong

The February 2026 sittings are over. The next calendar dates are 10 to 12 February 2027 for Inspectors and 3 to 5 February 2027 for Preventive Officers and Examiners. The 2026-27 calendar, dated 26.03.2026, is on NACIN's site.

Commonly published instead: Pages that still show February 2026 as the next sitting, or the 2025-26 calendar as the current one. Our own CBIC notice board, published 22.09.2026, said both.

The 2026-27 calendar, NACIN/II/12/3/2026-EXAM-NACIN-PALASAMUDRAM dated 26.03.2026, lists 5 to 7 August 2026 and 10 to 12 February 2027 for Inspectors, and 19 to 21 August 2026 and 3 to 5 February 2027 for Preventive Officers and Examiners.

10-12 Feb 2027
Inspector confirmation, 2026-27 calendar
3-5 Feb 2027
PO and Examiner confirmation, 2026-27 calendar
30 April
deadline for NACIN's annual schedule under rule 2(5)
2 a year
calendar sittings for each cadre, August and February

NACIN calendar 2026-27; DER 2024 rule 2(5) (official).

Who runs which exam

ExamRun byCalendar months
Confirmation of direct-recruit Inspector of Central Tax and Central ExciseNACIN Zonal Campus Lucknow; the 2024-25 calendar and the results letter of 05.01.2024 say KanpurAugust and February
Confirmation of direct-recruit Preventive Officer and Examiner of Customs (and Appraiser (Expert))NACIN Zonal Campus MumbaiAugust and February
Promotion to Inspector, Preventive Officer or Examiner (a different exam)NACIN ChennaiVaries by year: August 2025 and January 2026; June 2026 and January 2027

Calendar against record, cycle by cycle

CycleInspector: calendarInspector: what happenedPO and Examiner: calendarPO and Examiner: what happened
2023-24Not read by usSeptember 2023 sitting held (result relayed by NACIN Kanpur, 05.01.2024); 26 to 28 Feb 2024 held under the 2008 rulesNot read by usNot found
2024-256 to 9 Aug 2024; 4 to 7 Feb 20257 to 9 Aug 2024 held, statement of marks published; February moved to 19 to 21 Mar 2025, held, statement of marks published21 to 23 Aug 2024; 19 to 21 Feb 2025August: a NACIN Mumbai notice of 28.06.2024 is reported; we did not read it. February moved to 5 to 7 Mar 2025 (Corrigendum 5 and the Mumbai letter of 21.01.2025)
2025-266 to 8 Aug 2025; 11 to 13 Feb 2026August: rescheduled and held 2 to 4 Sep 2025; statement of marks published 30.12.2025. February: held 11 to 13 Feb 2026; statement of marks published 06.07.202620 to 22 Aug 2025; 4 to 6 Feb 2026Both notified
2026-275 to 7 Aug 2026; 10 to 12 Feb 2027August: notified by NACIN ZC Lucknow letter NACIN/TRNG/EXAM/DE/4/2026 (file dated 30.06.2026, posted on CBIC 01.07.2026) for 5 to 7 Aug 2026, requisitions by 30.07.2026; no marks yet. February: not yet due19 to 21 Aug 2026; 3 to 5 Feb 2027August notified (requisitions by 07.08.2026). February: not yet due
What the record shows for each sitting
Aug 2024Feb/Mar 2025Aug/Sep 2025Feb 2026Aug 2026Feb 2027
Inspector (ZC Lucknow)marks outmarks outmarks out (Sep)marks outnotifiedahead
PO and Examiner (ZC Mumbai)reportednotifiednotifiednotifiednotifiedahead

Darkest: a public statement of marks exists. Middle: we read a NACIN notice for the sitting. Light: a notice is reported but we could not read it. Blank: still ahead.

Our summary of the NACIN and CBIC pages and notices as seen on 29.09.2026. "Notified" is not "held": we print held only where marks are public.

Two August Inspector sittings need care. The August 2025 one was moved: NACIN's Annexure-I schedules it for 2 to 4 September 2025 (official). It was held on those dates: NACIN ZC Lucknow's statement of marks for 2 to 4 September 2025 was posted on CBIC's Departmental Examinations list on 30.12.2025. The February 2026 sitting's statement followed on 06.07.2026. For August 2026, NACIN ZC Lucknow's letter NACIN/TRNG/EXAM/DE/4/2026 (file dated 30.06.2026, posted on CBIC on 01.07.2026) notified the sitting for 5 to 7 August 2026: requisitions to reach Lucknow by 30.07.2026, Paper-I emailed to nodal officers on 04.08.2026 with the password 40 minutes before the start, six written papers under DER 2024. It also asked Commissionerates to check the February 2026 result, then "expected to be declared shortly", before nominating. No statement of marks for August 2026 had been posted by 29.09.2026, so we say notified, not held. For the August 2024 PO and Examiner sitting, a NACIN Mumbai letter of 28.06.2024 is reported; we did not read it. If you were due to sit in any of these, your Commissionerate's nomination letter is the record.

From notice to exam day

Candidates do not apply to NACIN. You apply to your own Commissionerate, which checks eligibility and sends NACIN a requisition: the number of candidates and papers for each centre. NACIN then emails the papers to a nominated nodal officer. These are the steps with the dates from two recent sittings.

StepInspector, Feb 2026 sittingPO and Examiner, Aug 2026 sitting
NACIN notice to Cadre Controlling AuthoritiesEmailed 09.01.2026 (NACIN/TRNG/EXAM/DE/1/2026)Issued by NACIN ZC Mumbai under the 2026-27 calendar dated 26.03.2026
Your application to the CommissionerateBy 23.01.2026 in the Bengaluru zoneSet by each Commissionerate; not in the NACIN notice
Requisition from the Commissionerate to NACINBy 30.01.2026By 07.08.2026, to nacenmum@nic.in
Test mail to nodal officersNot stated17.08.2026
Question papers emailedPaper-I on 10.02.2026The day before each exam day: 18, 19 and 20.08.2026
PasswordNot stated in the letter we read; the March 2025 notice gave it 40 minutes before the startBy SMS to the nodal officer, 40 minutes before the start
Exam11 to 13.02.202619 to 21.08.2026
ResultStatement of marks sent to Commissionerates and posted on CBIC on 06.07.2026; the Cadre Controlling Authority declares the resultDeclared by the Cadre Controlling Authority

The March 2025 Inspector notice states the rule plainly: requisitions received after the due date "shall not be entertained". Miss your Commissionerate's internal date and you may not be nominated for that sitting. How the department then records that sitting against your chances is not stated in the rules or notices we read; ask your Cadre Controlling Authority.

Conflicts we could not resolve

Both sides, as the documents print them

  • Kanpur or Lucknow. The 2024-25 calendar gives the Inspector exam to "NACIN-Zonal Campus, Kanpur", and the September 2023 result came from NACIN Kanpur. The 2025-26 and 2026-27 calendars and the notices from 2025 name Lucknow. The March 2025 notice from Lucknow still uses a nacen.kn-up email address and says the campus has held the Inspector confirmation exam "since June, 2006". Corrigendum 1 to the 2026-27 calendar still lists Kanpur among the addresses it is copied to. We read this as the same campus function under a new name and place, and we write "Lucknow (formerly Kanpur)".
  • February moved to March, 2025. Corrigendum 5 (17.01.2025) moved the Inspector sitting from 4 to 7 February to 19 to 21 March 2025, and the PO and Examiner sitting from 19 to 21 February to 5 to 7 March. NACIN Mumbai's letter of 09.12.2024 had given February; its letter of 21.01.2025 applied the corrigendum and moved the sitting to March, and its letter of 14.02.2025 circulated the Board letter. It was one sitting each, rescheduled.
  • The August Inspector sittings. The 2025-26 calendar gives 6 to 8 August 2025; NACIN's Annexure-I gives 2 to 4 September 2025. The 2026-27 calendar gives 5 to 7 August 2026, and NACIN Lucknow's letter of 30.06.2026 kept those dates; the letter is on CBIC's site, not NACIN's page. See above.
  • Computer-based papers. Rule 2(2) says the exams "shall be Computer Based Examinations", introduced in a graded manner. The 2026-27 calendar says NACIN "has finalized a Technology Partner" and will use computer-based papers "wherever feasible", especially for objective papers. Every notice we read, up to August 2026, still emails PDFs for written answers.
  • "Once" or twice. In the 2026-27 calendar the frequency column for the promotion exam to Inspector says "Once", but the same row gives two dates: 17 to 19 June 2026 and 6 to 8 January 2027. We print the dates.

The promotion exam runs on its own timetable

The promotion exam to Inspector, for Executive Assistants, Stenographers Grade-I, Women Searchers and Draftsmen, is run by NACIN Chennai on different dates. It uses the same syllabus blocks, so the two exams are easy to confuse.

CyclePromotion to Inspector (NACIN Chennai): calendarWhat the NACIN page shows
2024-2524 to 26 Jul 2024; 22 to 24 Jan 2025Items for January 2025 and April 2025. Corrigendum 5 also changed this exam's entries; the scanned text is too garbled to read the new dates
2025-2618 to 20 Jun 2025; 7 to 9 Jan 2026Notices for July 2025, August 2025 (NACIN Chennai notice of 16.07.2025) and January 2026
2026-2717 to 19 Jun 2026; 6 to 8 Jan 2027Notice dated 28.04.2026 for 17 to 19 Jun 2026: nominations by 25.05.2026, roll numbers by mail on 10.06.2026

What to do before February 2027

Our suggestions, not NACIN's

  • Ask your Commissionerate in December for its internal application date. In the February 2026 cycle, Bengaluru's was 23 January, three weeks before the exam.
  • If your normal period under rule 5 ends before February 2027 (your probation, or two years if you were not appointed on probation), ask the competent authority for your additional chance in time for the sitting.
  • Get Hindi and law-degree exemptions recorded before the requisition goes to NACIN.
  • Watch the NACIN Departmental Examination (Officers) page from early January for the Inspector notice. In the February 2026 cycle it was emailed on 9 January.
  • Look for the 2027-28 calendar by 30 April 2027 (rule 2(5)). It will set the next dates; if NACIN keeps its recent pattern, they will fall around August 2027 and February 2028, but that is a pattern, not a rule.

The papers themselves are covered in the Inspector guide and the PO and Examiner guide, and chances in the chances guide. New notices are posted on our CBIC departmental exam notice board.

When is the next CBIC Inspector confirmation exam?

The 2026-27 NACIN calendar gives 10 to 12 February 2027. The notice for it had not been posted when we checked on 29 September 2026.

When is the next Preventive Officer and Examiner exam?

The 2026-27 calendar gives 3 to 5 February 2027. The last notified sitting was 19 to 21 August 2026.

Was the August 2026 Inspector exam held?

It was notified: NACIN ZC Lucknow's letter NACIN/TRNG/EXAM/DE/4/2026, posted on CBIC on 01.07.2026, fixed 5 to 7 August 2026 with requisitions due by 30.07.2026. No statement of marks had been posted by 29 September 2026, so we cannot yet confirm that it was held. For the two sittings before it, marks were posted four to five months after the exam (30.12.2025 for September 2025, 06.07.2026 for February 2026; the gap is our arithmetic). Ask your Commissionerate.

Is it NACIN Kanpur or NACIN Lucknow?

The 2024-25 calendar and older letters say Kanpur; the calendars from 2025-26 on and the recent notices say Lucknow. We treat them as the same zonal campus, now at Lucknow.

How do I apply?

Through your own Commissionerate or Directorate, which sends a requisition to NACIN. Candidates do not apply to NACIN directly, and a candidate who is not in the requisition cannot sit.

Is the exam online now?

Not as far as the notices show. The rules and the 2026-27 calendar promise computer-based papers, but the notices up to August 2026 still email password-protected PDFs to nodal officers, and answers are written.

Why did the February 2025 exam happen in March?

Corrigendum 5 to the 2024-25 calendar, dated 17.01.2025, moved both confirmation sittings to March 2025. The 2024 rules had come into force on 18.12.2024, and the Board clarified the change from the 2008 rules on 13.02.2025. The corrigendum itself gives no reason.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.

This chapter is part of the CBIC Departmental Examination (Inspectors / Preventive Officers / Examiners) Board ExaminationExplore every chapter — summary, notes, extra questions & MCQ quizzes

More on CBIC Departmental Examination (Inspectors / Preventive Officers / Examiners)5 guides

Group Discussions

No forum posts available.

Share this article