Checked 29 September 2026. From Exam Wing Circulars 10 of 2022 and 01 of 2024, the DGA (I&CA) circular of 2024 and the 2025 and 2026 date sheets. Results are declared office by office; no all-India result or pass count is published. We found one office's 2025 result and no 2026 result. A later Exam Wing instruction would override this page.
The Incentive Examination for Senior Auditors is scored on four rules, printed in Exam Wing circulars and a 2024 field circular: +1 for a right answer, 0.25 off for a wrong one, the total rounded up to the next whole number, and 50 to pass. The round-up rule matters more than it looks, because it turns a raw 49.25 into a recorded 50. This guide sets out each rule with its source, works through what they mean in practice, explains how the paper has been set and marked since it went central in 2025, and says honestly how little is published about results. ProSyllabus is an independent study site, not part of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India or the Indian Audit and Accounts Department. Every rule here is quoted or summarised from the MSO (Administration) and Exam Wing and field-office circulars; your own office and Exam Wing decide individual cases.
Where other pages get this wrong
The pass mark in the Incentive Examination is 50%. The 45% figure applies to the other departmental exams, not this one.
Commonly published instead: 45%, the figure that applies to the Departmental Exam for Auditors, the SAS Preliminary and the other MCQ exams conducted in the same week.
Circular 01 of 2024 says pass and exemption marks are 45% in each paper "except Incentive examination for Sr. Auditors/Sr. Accountants", for which the pass mark is 50%. Circular 10 of 2022 says the same.
Exam Wing Circulars 10 of 2022 and 01 of 2024 (official). Zero for a blank is the plain reading of a +1/−0.25 scheme.
The four rules and where they come from
| Rule | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pass mark | 50% (other departmental exams: 45%) | Circular 10 of 2022, item 1; Circular 01 of 2024, para 3 (official); MSO para 9.8.3 "fifty per cent marks and above" |
| Marks per question | 100 MCQ for 100 marks; "each correct answer carries 1 mark" | DGA (I&CA) circular 2024 (official), which says it in those words; Circular 10 of 2022 gives 100 MCQ |
| Negative marking | "0.25 mark (25 percent) is applicable for each wrong answer of MCQ", introduced "to guard against guess work" | Circular 10 of 2022; Circular 01 of 2024 (official) |
| Rounding | "Fraction (in overall total ...) should be rounded off to the next whole number e.g. 44.25/44.50/44.75 is to be rounded off to 45" | Circular 01 of 2024, para 3 (official) |
| Sectional minimum | None is stated; the pass mark is on the paper as a whole | Our reading: no document we read states a section-wise pass mark for this exam |
What the round-up does
Rounding up to the next whole number means any fractional total is lifted, never cut. On our arithmetic: 50 right and 3 wrong gives 50 minus 0.75, a raw 49.25, recorded as 50, a pass. 50 right and 4 wrong gives exactly 49, recorded as 49, a fail, because 49 is already a whole number and there is nothing to round. So with exactly 50 right answers, up to three wrong answers are free, and the fourth costs you the pass.
The same logic sets the floor at every level of attempts. The rule to remember is that the raw total must be above 49, not 49.5 or 50. Our table below gives the minimum number of right answers for each number of questions attempted.
| Questions attempted | Minimum right answers to pass | Wrong answers at that minimum | Raw total | Recorded total | Accuracy needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 50 | 50 | 0 | 50 | 50 | 100% |
| 53 | 50 | 3 | 49.25 | 50 | 94% |
| 54 | 51 | 3 | 50.25 | 51 | 94% |
| 60 | 52 | 8 | 50 | 50 | 87% |
| 70 | 54 | 16 | 50 | 50 | 77% |
| 80 | 56 | 24 | 50 | 50 | 70% |
| 90 | 58 | 32 | 50 | 50 | 64% |
| 100 | 60 | 40 | 50 | 50 | 60% |
Two things stand out. First, attempting more questions lowers the accuracy you need: at 100 attempts you need 60 right, 60%, while at 60 attempts you need 52 right, 87%. Second, the extra 10 attempts between 90 and 100 cost you only 2 more right answers at the minimum (58 to 60): of those 10, 2 right and 8 wrong keeps you at the pass. The exam rewards covering the paper, provided your chance of being right on a question beats one in five, the break-even worked out below. All of this is our arithmetic on the circular's rules.
Net score calculator
Incentive Exam net score calculator
Enter how many of the 100 questions you attempted and how many you expect to be right. The calculator applies +1, −0.25 and the round-up to the next whole number, and compares the result with the 50 needed. Our arithmetic on Circular 01 of 2024.
Circular 10 of 2022 and Circular 01 of 2024 (official). The calculator cannot know your real answers; it shows what a given count scores.
Should you guess?
The negative mark is a quarter of a mark, so a guess pays on average whenever your chance of being right is better than one in five: 0.2 × 1 equals 0.8 × 0.25. The documents we read do not say how many options each question has. If there are four, a blind guess is right one time in four, which is above the break-even, and ruling out even one option makes it clearly worth answering. Treat that as arithmetic on an assumption, not a rule from the circulars, and remember that a string of bad guesses can cost you a pass at the margin: four wrong answers undo one right one.
How the paper is set and marked now
| Step | Before July 2024 | Since the 2025 sitting | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Question paper | Set locally by the Head of Department | Supplied by Exam Wing; password-protected, emailed to the HoD or nominated officer by 12 noon one working day before | MSO 9.8.3; Circular 12 of 2020; Circular 01 of 2024; date sheets 2025, 2026 (official) |
| Where you sit | Your office, on a date it fixed | Your station of posting, on one all-India date | Circular 01 of 2024; date sheets (official) |
| Answering | MCQ from 2022 (descriptive before) | Offline; you mark answers on the question paper itself | Circular 05 of 2026 (official) |
| Answer key | Local | Sent by Exam Wing to offices after the exam; not published | Date sheets 2025, 2026 (official) |
| Evaluation | Existing valuation system | By a different nominated IA&AD office, not the one where you are posted | Circular 01 of 2024; Circular 05 of 2026 (official) |
| Result | Office order | Office order; no all-India list found | Punjab result orders (official); our search |
Two practical consequences follow from the 2026 date sheet. First, Circular 05 of 2026 says candidates "will mark the answer on the question papers itself": there is no separate OMR sheet in the documents we read, so the booklet you hand in is the answer script, and a clear, unambiguous mark on each question matters because someone in another office is reading it against a key, not a machine. Second, the script leaves your office for evaluation elsewhere, and no document we read describes any process for querying a mark, re-totalling or re-evaluation, so the safest reading is to mark cleanly the first time. Both points are our reading of the circular's wording, not instructions from it.
Exam Wing's "Result of IE and SAS" circulars, which appear twice a year, are not results of this exam. They cover the other Incentive Examination, for AAOs and Sr. AOs of A&E offices, held with SAS. If you search for your result there you will not find it.
What results look like
We found result orders from only one office, the Principal Accountant General (Audit), Punjab. They are name-wise lists, so we give counts only, and the counts are ours from the orders.
| Exam | Result order | Declared successful | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 17.04.2023 | 07.07.2023 | 3 | Candidates appeared: not stated |
| 29.04.2024 | 01.07.2024, and a revised order | 7 | The revised order lists the same 7. The first order's subject line says "held on 27/04/2022" while its body says 29/04/2024 |
| 29.04.2025 | 04.09.2025 | 19 | First centralised sitting. The order lists 40 candidates, 19 PASS and 21 FAIL on our count; it cites a DAG (Admn) order of 29.08.2025 |
| 13.05.2026 | Not found | Not published | - |
The "27/04/2022" in the 2024 order's subject line is almost certainly a slip carried over from the 2022 exam, whose date it is; the body of the same order and the revised order both say 29/04/2024. We print both because the order does. One office's counts say little about pass rates elsewhere. The 2023 and 2024 orders list only the successful candidates; the 2025 order is the only one we found that lists everyone, and 19 of the 40 it lists passed (our count). No office publishes a pass percentage.
Not published
| Question | Status |
|---|---|
| All-India number who sat or passed | Not published for any year |
| Results of the 2026 sitting | Not found on the CAG site or any field-office page we read. For 2025 we found only the Punjab order |
| Previous question papers or answer keys | None published; keys go to offices after the exam |
| Number of options per question | Not stated |
| Re-evaluation or re-totalling | Not stated for this exam |
| Number of chances | Not published; "existing number of chances will continue", count restarted with central conduct |
What is the pass mark in the CAG Incentive Exam for Senior Auditors?
50 out of 100. The other departmental MCQ exams use 45%, but Circular 01 of 2024 makes the Incentive Exam the exception.
Is there negative marking?
Yes, 0.25 of a mark for each wrong answer. A blank answer scores nothing.
Is 49.25 a pass?
On the rounding rule, yes. Circular 01 of 2024 rounds a fractional total up to the next whole number, so 49.25 is recorded as 50. A raw 49 stays 49.
Is there a section-wise pass mark?
None is stated for this exam. The 50% applies to the paper as a whole.
Who evaluates my answer paper?
Since central conduct, a different nominated IA&AD office, using Exam Wing's answer key.
Where is the result published?
By your own office, as an office order. Exam Wing's IE and SAS result circulars are for the AAO Incentive Exam, not this one.
Are previous year papers available?
No official previous papers or answer keys are published.
Sources
- official — Exam Wing Circular No. 01 of 2024, No. 15/15-Exam/Exam Conducting Centrally/2023 (17.01.2024): four categories of departmental examinations conducted centrally w.e.f. 01.07.2024, incl. the IE for Sr. Auditors/Sr. Accountants "once in a year i.e. April"
- official — Exam Wing Circular No. 10 of 2022, No. 145/07-Exam/Clarification MCQ Pattern/2022 (24.03.2022): 2 hours, no books, 100 MCQ, pass 50% in the IE, negative marking 0.25
- official — Exam Wing Circular No. 01 of 2022 (06.01.2022): change of pattern to MCQ in departmental examinations conducted locally
- official — CAG Manual of Standing Orders (Administration) Vol. I, Third Edition, Chapter 9: para 9.8 (Incentive Examination for Senior Auditors/Senior Accountants) and para 9.9 (Incentive Examination for SOs/AAOs of A&E offices)
- official — O/o Director General of Audit (Industry & Corporate Affairs), New Delhi: circular "Incentive Examination for Sr. Auditor/Assistant Supervisor April 2024" (exam 23.04.2024)
- official — Exam Wing No. 146/06-Exam/OCDEP/2025 (09.04.2025): "Centralised Departmental Incentive Exam for Sr. Auditors/Sr. Accountants 2025", 29.04.2025, 11 AM to 1 PM, offline at field offices
- official — Exam Wing Circular No. 05 of 2026, No. 343/06-Exam/OCDEP/2025 (24.04.2026): date sheet of centralised departmental examinations 11.05.2026 to 14.05.2026 (IE for Sr. Auditors/Sr. Accountants 13.05.2026)
- official — Exam Wing Circular No. 12 of 2020 (20.10.2020): Heads of Department competent to hold the IE for Sr. Auditors/Sr. Accountants locally
- official — O/o Pr. Accountant General (Audit) Punjab: result order of 07.07.2023 for the exam of 17.04.2023 (counts only used here)
- official — O/o Pr. Accountant General (Audit) Punjab: result order of 01.07.2024 for the exam of 29.04.2024 (subject line prints 27/04/2022; counts only used here)
- official — O/o Pr. Accountant General (Audit) Punjab: revised result order for the exam of 29.04.2024 (counts only used here)
- official — O/o Pr. Accountant General (Audit) Punjab: result order of 04.09.2025 for the exam of 29.04.2025 (counts only used here: our count of the order is 40 candidates listed, 19 PASS, 21 FAIL)
- official — Exam Wing "Result of IE and SAS Exam-1 of 2026" (17.08.2026): results of the AAO/Sr. AO Incentive Examination with SAS (the other incentive exam)
official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.








