GMAT Online or Test Centre? Why ISB and the IIMs Refuse Home Scores

GMAC says schools accept both formats equally. ISB and the IIM one-year MBAs at Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Calcutta and Lucknow say in writing they do not. The rules, the differences, and a checker.

Author: ProSyllabus Admin

Updated : 1 day ago

Categories: GMAT, MBA admissions, Test day
Tags: GMAT online vs test centre, GMAT online accepted by ISB, IIM PGPX online GMAT, GMAT at home India, GMAT test centre India, GMAT online exam rules
Post ThumbnailView Complete Article

Checked 29 September 2026. School rules are read from each programme's admission page for the 2027-28 intake (IIMB says "for EPGP 2027"). Schools set this per cycle; GMAC's delivery rules change with its policy document (last updated 12 Aug 2026).

The GMAT can be taken at a test centre for US$275 or online, from home, for US$300 (GMAC's base fees with India selected; its payment page says locations can carry local taxes, and the India block shows no tax line). GMAC's help centre says the format, content and scoring are the same and that "business schools accept both formats equally". For an applicant to the five Indian one-year programmes checked here, that sentence is wrong in the case that matters most. ISB's PGP and the one-year programmes at IIM Ahmedabad, IIM Bangalore, IIM Calcutta and IIM Lucknow each state that they do not accept an at-home score. A candidate who takes the easier-to-schedule online test first, scores well and then applies to any of them has to sit again at a centre. Other Indian programmes were not checked; read each one's own rule.

5 of 5
one-year programmes checked (ISB and four IIMs) that refuse at-home scores
US$25
difference in base fee, online vs centre (US$300 vs US$275), before any local tax
Same
content, timing and 205-805 scale in both formats (GMAC)
16 days
minimum gap before a re-sit, whichever format

mba.com payment page (India selected); support.mba.com; ISB, IIMA, IIMB, IIMC and IIML admission pages, read 29 Sep 2026.

Where other pages get this wrong

For ISB and the IIM one-year MBAs, only a test-centre GMAT counts.

Commonly published instead: GMAC's help centre: "Business schools accept both formats equally, and neither option provides a scoring advantage." The same article adds only that "most schools accept both formats" and suggests checking with programs "if you have any concerns".

Five Indian programmes say otherwise in their own admission rules, quoted below. GMAC's statement is about the exam; the schools decide what they accept. If ISB or one of these four IIM programmes is on your list, book a test centre.

What each school writes, word for word

ProgrammeRule on at-home scores (quoted, official)
ISB PGPStarting with the April 2025 intake, ISB does not accept GMAT / GRE - Online or home-based test scores.
IIM Ahmedabad MBA-PGPXOnline GMAT/GRE (Take home) exam scores are not valid, only test centre-based GMAT/GRE scores are valid.
IIM Bangalore EPGPOnline GMAT/GRE score (exam taken at home) will not be accepted for EPGP 2027.
IIM Calcutta MBAExOnline GMAT (Take home) exam scores are not valid, only test centre GMAT scores are valid.
IIM Lucknow IPMXNo, online GMAT/GRE (At Home) scores will not be accepted. Only test center-based GMAT/GRE scores are valid and accepted.

ISB dates its rule: it applies "starting with the April 2025 intake", so a candidate holding an older at-home score needs a new test-centre one. IIM Bangalore's wording is tied to "EPGP 2027", so read the page again for later intakes. IIM Calcutta accepts only the GMAT for MBAEx (no GRE route appears on its policy), and all five also require the score to be recent: see the date checks in the tool below.

Test centre and online: every difference GMAC publishes

PointTest centreOnline
Fee (India selected)US$275US$300
Content, timing, scoringSameSame
Scratch workNote-taking booklet and marker providedDigital whiteboard built into the platform; you may also (or instead) use one approved physical erasable whiteboard up to 12 x 20 in (30 x 50 cm), up to 2 markers, 1 eraser; no paper
ProctorOn site; may speak the local languageLive remote proctor, English only; session may also be reviewed later
AvailabilityDepends on location, seats and local holidays24/7 in many regions
Booking windowTypically up to 6 months aheadTypically up to 6 months ahead
Ages 13 to 17Allowed with written parental or guardian consent before schedulingNot allowed (18 and over only)
EquipmentProvided by the centreYour computer, webcam, microphone, reliable internet; no hotspot, tethering, second display, headphones or earbuds
Check-inAt the centre, with IDArrive 30 minutes early; the Launch button appears about 30 minutes before the slot
Card statement showsVUE*GRAD MGMT TESTTALVIEW.INC
Appointment lengthAbout 2.5 hoursAbout 2.5 hours including check-in; must finish within 3.5 hours or the session may be ended and the fee forfeited
Accepted by the five programmes checked hereYesNo

Sources: mba.com payment page; support.mba.com articles on test centre vs online, calculator and scratch paper, language, where and when, online exam rules and appointment issues; GMAT Policies and Procedures (12 Aug 2026). The last row is the schools' rule, not GMAC's. GMAC also lists mainland China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Sudan as places where the online exam is not available.

What is the same in both formats

The exam is 64 questions in 2 hours 15 minutes: Quantitative Reasoning (21 questions), Verbal Reasoning (23) and Data Insights (20), 45 minutes each, in any order you choose, with one optional 10-minute break after the first or second section. You can review any question and change up to three answers per section on the Review & Edit screen, but only if time remains. The on-screen calculator is available in Data Insights only. Answers are not submitted automatically when time runs out: you must click Next and confirm. If you overrun the break, in either format, GMAC may deduct the excess from the next section or treat the exam as abandoned and cancel the score. What differs is the appointment: about 2.5 hours at a centre; online, about 2.5 hours including check-in with a hard limit of 3.5 hours.

If you have already taken it online

Three things to know before you re-sit at a centre

  • You cannot convert a booking from online to test centre or back. GMAC's route is to cancel (cancellation refunds apply) and book again.
  • Online and centre sittings share one allowance: at least 16 days between appointments and at most 5 in a rolling 12 months. An online attempt already used counts.
  • The new GMAT Superscore takes your best section scores across all valid attempts, online or centre, and you cannot opt out of it being sent. The school report shows the date and delivery method of each section score used. None of the five schools has published how it treats a Superscore that includes an online section. Ask before you rely on one.

Sources: support.mba.com on appointment issues, retake policies, and sending Superscores. The last point about school treatment is our observation: nothing was found either way.

There is also a simpler reason to start at a centre: a test-centre score is accepted by all five programmes checked in this guide, and GMAC says schools accept both formats, while the reverse is not true for these five. Check the rule of every other programme on your list. The extra planning (seat availability, travel on the day) costs less than a second US$275 sitting.

Booking a centre slot in India

GMAC does not publish a list of Indian centres on the pages we read; the scheduler on mba.com shows what is available when you search. Its help centre says appointments are typically open up to six months ahead, are available year-round, and may be limited "during peak admissions periods". There is no admit card. You need an original, valid, unexpired ID whose name and date of birth exactly match your mba.com profile; testing outside your country of citizenship requires a passport. An expired passport is refused, and an ID mismatch forfeits the fee. Alternate ID must be approved at least five business days before the appointment.

Deadline to aim forDate (official)Latest test date
IIM Ahmedabad MBA-PGPX Round 2Applications close 23 Nov 2026Earliest accepted test 23 Nov 2021; latest not stated separately
IIM Bangalore EPGP Round 2Applications close 25 Nov 2026, 5 pm IST ("tentative")Score valid on the last date of application
ISB PGP Round 26 Dec 2026On or before the deadline (unofficial score accepted)
ISB PGP Round 317 Jan 2027On or before the deadline (unofficial score accepted)
IIM Calcutta MBAEx Round 2Applications Oct to Dec 2026 (no closing day on the policy page); interviews 19-20 Dec 2026Not stated; score must be from 1 Aug 2023 or later
IIM Lucknow IPMX phase 217 Oct 2026 or 30 Nov 2026 (the page prints both)Score valid till the last date of application
IIM Lucknow IPMX phase 31 Dec 2026 or 20 Jan 2027 (the page prints both)Score valid till the last date of application

Already closed: IIMB Round 1 (17 Aug 2026), IIMA Round 1 (2 Sep 2026), IIML phase 1 (2 Sep 2026) and ISB Round 1 (20 Sep 2026). IIMA's dates are from the timeline graphic on its admission page; IIMB labels its dates tentative. GMAC's policy asks you to leave at least 20 days between the test and a deadline for the official score.

ProSyllabus has no GMAT practice quizzes yet, so this guide does not point you to any. GMAC's own free Official Starter Kit on mba.com includes two full-length practice exams scored the same way as the real test.

ProSyllabus is an independent study site, not part of GMAC or of any school named here. Every rule is quoted or summarised from GMAC (mba.com, gmac.com, support.mba.com) and the schools' own admission pages; they decide every individual case.

Does ISB accept the online GMAT?

No. ISB says that starting with the April 2025 intake it does not accept GMAT or GRE online or home-based test scores. Only a test-centre score counts.

Do the IIMs accept the online GMAT for their one-year MBA?

Not at Ahmedabad (MBA-PGPX), Bangalore (EPGP, stated for EPGP 2027), Calcutta (MBAEx) or Lucknow (IPMX). Each says only a test-centre score is valid.

Is the online GMAT easier or scored differently?

No. GMAC says format, content and scoring are the same, and neither format gives a scoring advantage.

How much more does the online GMAT cost?

US$300 online against US$275 at a test centre, with India selected on mba.com.

Can I switch my booking from online to a test centre?

Not directly. GMAC says you must cancel the appointment, subject to the cancellation refund schedule, and book a new one.

Does an online attempt count towards the five-a-year limit?

Yes. Online and test-centre attempts are combined: at most five in a rolling 12 months, with at least 16 days between appointments.

Can I use paper during the online GMAT?

No. A digital whiteboard is built into the platform, and you may also use one approved physical erasable whiteboard up to 12 x 20 inches, with up to two markers and one eraser. Test centres provide a booklet and marker.

Can a 17-year-old take the GMAT online?

No. Candidates aged 13 to 17 may test only at a test centre, with written parental or guardian consent provided before scheduling.

Is there an admit card for the GMAT?

No. You need an original, valid ID whose name and date of birth exactly match your mba.com profile.

Will a Superscore with an online section be accepted by ISB or the IIMs?

Not published. GMAC's report shows each section's delivery method; none of the five schools has said how it treats a mixed Superscore. Ask the school.

Sources

official = a document published by the conducting body. reported = a news or coaching site we could not check against an original. Where sources disagree this page says so rather than picking one.