Alerts and Updates for Bank Promotion Examination (Scale II to Scale III)

MMG Scale-II to MMG Scale-III is run separately by every public sector bank; this page carries the bank-wise feeder rules and cycle dates that could actually be sourced

Author: ProSyllabus Admin

Updated : 3 days ago

Categories: Exam Updates
Tags: Bank Promotion Examination (Scale II to Scale III), News
Post ThumbnailView Complete Article

Scale II to Scale III promotion, bank by bank, as sourced

BankFeeder requirementRural conditionLatest cycle seen
Punjab National Bank, normal non-ruralIn MMG Scale-II on or before 01.04.2021None stated for this channelNotified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025
Punjab National Bank, normal ruralIn MMG Scale-II on or before 01.10.2021Four years rural service, no prior rural incentive carried forwardNotified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025
Punjab National Bank, merit, fast track and technicalIn MMG Scale-II on or before 01.04.2023None stated for these channelsNotified 14.10.2025, test 07.12.2025
Canara Bank, merit channelIn the feeder cadre on or before 01.04.2023 with three years qualifying serviceNot stated in the source seenWillingness 30.09.2025, online test 23.11.2025
Canara Bank, normal channelPromoted to Scale-II by 01.04.2021 with five years qualifying serviceNot stated in the source seenWillingness 30.09.2025, online test 23.11.2025

The two banks that could be sourced use different machinery for the same rung. Punjab National Bank defines eligibility purely by a feeder cut-off date that varies by channel; Canara Bank pairs a feeder date with an explicit years-of-service figure reckoned as on 01 April 2026. Canara Bank also folds Scale-III into one circular with Scale-II and Scale-IV, so a single willingness deadline governs three rungs.

Dates and windows

WhatWhenStatus
PNB promotion notification covering MMGS-II to MMGS-III14 October 2025Closed
PNB willingness window and controlling-office approval14 to 21 October 2025, approval by 23 October 2025Closed
PNB promotion written test07 December 2025Closed
Canara Bank willingness for Scale-II, Scale-III and Scale-IV30 September 2025Closed
Canara Bank online promotion test23 November 2025Closed
Canara Bank eligibility reckoning date01 April 2026Confirmed
Canara Bank retirement cut-off for the cycle31 March 2026Confirmed
Next Scale II to Scale III cycle at any bankNot announced publicly; issued on each bank's intranetTentative

These dates belong to two named banks and to one cycle each. No source reviewed publishes a forward 2026-27 date for a Scale II to Scale III process at any public sector bank, and nothing here should be read as a common calendar.

What this means for your preparation

Officers reaching this rung usually assume the Scale II to Scale III process mirrors the Scale I to Scale II one they already cleared at the same bank. The sourced circulars show it does not. Punjab National Bank moved the rural channel's feeder date from 01 April 2022 at the lower rung to 01 October 2021 here, and withdrew the prior rural incentive that applied below. The rules are rewritten rung by rung and cycle by cycle.

The rural clause changes between rungs at the same bank

At Punjab National Bank the Scale-I to Scale-II normal rural channel worked off a 01 April 2022 feeder date with a four-year rural service requirement, and a three-year variant shifted the date to 01 October 2021. At Scale-II to Scale-III the normal rural channel sits at 01 October 2021 with four years of rural service and, per the source, no prior rural incentive carried forward. An officer who banked rural service against the earlier promotion cannot assume it counts again. Recompute rural service from the current circular's wording rather than from the arithmetic that worked last time.

One circular, three rungs, one deadline

Canara Bank issued a single promotion process document covering MMG Scale-II, MMG Scale-III and SMG Scale-IV, with willingness closing 30 September 2025 and the online test on 23 November 2025 across the set. That structure has a practical consequence: a Scale-II officer marginal on the Scale-III merit channel and comfortable on the normal channel must resolve which channel to opt for inside the same short window, with eligibility reckoned as on 01 April 2026 and a retirement cut-off of 31 March 2026 also in play. There is no separate, later Scale-III window to fall back on.

Two years separate the merit and normal routes

Both sourced banks put roughly a two-year gap between the fast route and the seniority route at this rung. Canara Bank requires three years of qualifying service for the merit channel against five for the normal channel; Punjab National Bank sets 01 April 2023 for merit, fast track and technical against 01 April 2021 for normal non-rural. The merit route is therefore available to officers with barely half the service of their normal-channel peers, but it competes on test performance rather than seniority. Deciding between the two is a judgement about the paper, not about waiting.

The paper moves from operations to credit and risk

The only description of syllabus emphasis that could be sourced holds that Scale-II to Scale-III weighs advanced banking operations, credit management and risk assessment, where Scale-I to Scale-II weighs day-to-day operational knowledge, customer service and basic banking law. That is consistent with the role: Scale-III typically carries larger sanctioning powers. It is a coaching-site characterisation rather than an official syllabus, and no question count, duration or negative-marking rule for a Scale-II to Scale-III paper could be sourced from any bank, so the credit and risk emphasis should be treated as direction, not specification.

Verify against the intranet copy, not a search result

Promotion circulars are issued on staff systems. Punjab National Bank routed willingness through its HRMS portal and Union Bank of India used its internal employee portal for a separate exercise, so the versions reachable by public search are secondhand reproductions on coaching sites. None of the reproductions located here carried the pattern or qualifying-mark sections at all. Before acting on any figure on this page, open your own bank's current circular and confirm the feeder date, the channel definition and the reckoning date as it is written there.

Common questions

How many years in Scale II are needed for promotion to Scale III?

It varies by bank and channel. Canara Bank required three years of qualifying service for the merit channel and five years for the normal channel, with the normal channel also requiring promotion to Scale-II by 01 April 2021 and everything reckoned as on 01 April 2026. Punjab National Bank instead used feeder cut-off dates: 01 April 2021 for normal non-rural, 01 October 2021 for normal rural and 01 April 2023 for merit, fast track and technical.

Does rural service count towards Scale II to Scale III promotion?

At Punjab National Bank it defines a separate channel. The Scale-II to Scale-III normal rural route was set at a feeder date of 01 October 2021 with four years of rural service required, and the source states that no prior rural incentive is carried forward at this rung, unlike the position at Scale-I to Scale-II. The Canara Bank source seen does not state a rural condition for Scale-III. Confirm the clause in your own bank's circular.

Is the Scale II to Scale III syllabus different from Scale I to Scale II?

According to the one source that addresses it, yes. Scale-II to Scale-III is described as emphasising advanced banking operations, credit management and risk assessment, while Scale-I to Scale-II is described as focused on operational knowledge, customer service and basic banking laws. This is a coaching-site characterisation, not an official syllabus document, and no bank-issued syllabus for the Scale-II to Scale-III paper could be sourced in this review.

When was the last Scale II to Scale III promotion test held?

Two cycles could be dated. Canara Bank held its online promotion test, covering Scale-II, Scale-III and Scale-IV together, on 23 November 2025 after closing willingness on 30 September 2025. Punjab National Bank held its promotion written test on 07 December 2025, following a notification dated 14 October 2025 and a willingness window of 14 to 21 October 2025. No source reviewed announces the next cycle at either bank.

Is the Bank of India MMGS-III notice a promotion exam?

No. Bank of India's notice dated 01 August 2026 under Project 2026-27/02, with applications from 10 to 25 September 2026, is open-market recruitment into Scales I to IV. Its scheme, a 25-mark qualifying English test, a 100-mark professional knowledge paper over 100 composite minutes, one-fourth negative marking and a 60:40 test-to-interview weighting, describes that recruitment and does not describe internal promotion at Bank of India or anywhere else.

Where do I find my bank's Scale II to Scale III circular?

On the bank's internal HR system. Punjab National Bank collected promotion willingness through its HRMS portal and Union Bank of India used its internal employee portal for a separate promotion exercise, which is why these documents rarely appear on a bank's public recruitment page. Copies circulating on open coaching sites are reproductions and, in this review, omitted the pattern and qualifying-mark sections entirely. Treat the intranet version as the operative document.