Updated : 2 days ago
View Complete Article| Component | Marks | Qualifying |
|---|---|---|
| Section I, 120 objective questions, 120 minutes | 80 | Counted in the 100-mark total |
| Section II, essay, one of three, 40 minutes | 20 | Counted in the 100-mark total |
| Written test total | 100 | 60 per cent general, 55 per cent SC and ST |
| Personal interview | 20 | 8 marks general, 7 marks SC and ST |
| Confirmation test in JMGS-I after probation | Not stated | 50 per cent general, 45 per cent SC, ST and PwD |
The Section I blocks reported are general awareness at 10 marks, general banking through passage-based questions at 20, bank products and services at 20, core banking and IT products at 15, alternate channel products at 10, and the bank's latest financial results at 5. The written total of 100 and the 60 and 55 per cent thresholds are from the most recently documented cycle; the 2020-21 circular carried higher thresholds of 65 and 60 per cent, so this figure has moved and should be checked against the circular for the live cycle.
| What | When | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Eligibility reckoning date used by the circular | 1 April of the promotion year | Confirmed |
| Most recent documented written test | 7 January 2024, morning shift | Closed |
| 2024-25 Trainee Officer circular | Issued to staff; copies circulate on document-sharing sites, not on the public SBI site | Closed |
| Interview stage after the written result | Candidates called in the ratio of two per vacancy, in descending order of merit | Confirmed |
| Probation as Trainee Officer | Two years, with a confirmation test | Confirmed |
| Circular for a 2026-27 cycle | Not in the public domain as of 22 September 2026 | Tentative |
This exam has no public notification page. The binding document is an internal e-Circular from the P&HRD department at Corporate Centre, reaching staff through the bank's own intranet and branch circulation, so the only reliable calendar is the one in that circular. Dates reported by coaching sites for past cycles are recorded here as history, not as a forecast for the next one.
The recurring error is preparing for this as though it were a version of the SBI Clerk or SBI PO paper. It is not. There is no quantitative aptitude or reasoning section in the documented pattern. The written test is almost entirely about the bank the candidate already works in: its products, its core banking system, its alternate channels and its most recent published results.
Of the 80 objective marks reported, only 10 sit under general awareness. Twenty come from passage-based general banking questions, twenty from the bank's own products and services, fifteen from core banking and IT products, ten from alternate channel products and five from the latest financial results. That last block is the one most often skipped and is the easiest to secure, because the numbers are published and finite: quarterly and annual results, deposit and advances growth, the net interest margin, the gross and net non-performing asset ratios. Five marks on a 100-mark paper with a 60 per cent cut-off is not a rounding error.
Section II is a single essay chosen from three options, worth 20 marks against 40 minutes. Its weight per minute is higher than Section I, where 80 marks are spread across 120 minutes and 120 questions. Candidates who spend the first two hours on the objective section and arrive at the essay with a drained hand and no plan lose marks that were the cheapest on the paper. The practical answer is to write two or three full-length timed essays in longhand on likely themes drawn from the bank's own agenda before the day, rather than reading model answers.
The 2020-21 circular set written qualifying marks at 65 per cent for general and 60 per cent for SC and ST candidates, with a separate interview floor of 40 per cent, that is 8 of 20 marks, and 35 per cent, that is 7 of 20, respectively. The most recently documented cycle reports 60 and 55 per cent on the written test. Those are different numbers for the same exam, four years apart. Nothing here should be assumed stable across cycles: the thresholds, the age ceiling, the service requirement and the number of chances are all set afresh in each circular.
Candidates are called for interview in the ratio of two for every vacancy, in descending order of written merit. That means roughly half of those who reach the interview will not be promoted in that cycle even after clearing the written test, and it means the written score determines whether the candidate is called at all. The interview itself carries 20 marks with its own minimum. A candidate who clears the written test at the bare qualifying line may still fall outside the two-per-vacancy call list in a branch network where the vacancy count is small.
Promotion through this channel produces a Trainee Officer, not immediately a confirmed JMGS-I officer. A two-year probation follows, with a confirmation test whose qualifying marks are reported as 50 per cent for general candidates and 45 per cent for SC, ST and PwD candidates. The consequence of failure is asymmetric between the two entry routes: probationary officers recruited directly are terminated on a second failure, whereas Trainee Officers promoted from clerical cadre are reverted to the clerical cadre. Failure at confirmation is recoverable in employment terms but costs the officer cadre position.
Not in the public domain as of 22 September 2026. This notification is issued as an internal e-Circular by the P&HRD department at Corporate Centre and reaches staff through the bank's intranet and branch circulation rather than a public web page. SBI's own careers site carries external recruitment material, such as the Probationary Officer advertisement CRPD/PO/2025-26/04 dated 24 June 2025, and does not publish staff promotion circulars. The circular in force for a staff member's own cycle is the only reliable document.
The 2020-21 circular required four years of service with JAIIB passed, or three years with CAIIB passed, reckoned as on 1 April of the promotion year, together with graduation from a recognised university as on the same date. The age ceiling was 40 years for general candidates and 45 for SC and ST candidates. These parameters are set afresh in each circular, so the figures above describe that cycle and are not a guarantee for the current one.
The publicly available reporting of the pattern does not state a negative marking rule either way, so this page does not claim one. What is documented is the structure: Section I of 120 objective questions across 120 minutes for 80 marks, and Section II of one essay in 40 minutes for 20 marks. Where a rule of this kind is not stated in a source, the circular issued for the cycle is the only place it can be settled.
The 2020-21 circular made all clerical cadre employees eligible with specific exclusions: Record Keepers, Record Keepers-cum-Assistant (Cash), Godown Keepers, Bill Collectors, and Assistants (Cash) who were promoted from the subordinate cadre. Anyone in those categories should read their own cycle's circular closely before assuming the same exclusions carry forward, because the list of eligible and excluded designations is restated in each circular rather than incorporated by reference.
Four chances, or until the candidate reaches the prescribed age limit, whichever comes first, under the 2020-21 circular. Because the age ceiling and the chance count interact, a candidate who becomes eligible late has fewer effective attempts than the headline figure suggests. Staff who qualify JAIIB or CAIIB early therefore open the window earlier and preserve more attempts within the same age ceiling.
They are two distinct routes from clerical cadre to JMGS-I. The Trainee Officer channel is the competitive one, with a written test, an interview at a two-per-vacancy call ratio, and promotion as a Trainee Officer on two years of probation with a confirmation test. The merit and seniority channel is referenced separately in the bank's promotion instructions. Both trace back to the governing circular CDO/P&HRD-IR/102/2015-16 for clerical to JMGS-I promotion.